Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1011

Marcia's Mercer Lake Chateau - Florence, OR

66 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 2 Futon 0 Bedrooms  Plus Loft 1 Bathroom Dog Friendly 
88877 Archer Lane, Florence, OR 97439

Beautiful dog-friendly home on the lake! Enjoy great views & a private dock!

Quaint and stylish, this pet-friendly Florence vacation rental is tucked away in the woods and sits directly on Mercer Lake. Marcia's Mercer Lake Chateau is the perfect getaway for you and your family looking to relax in pure serenity!

Mercer Lake is one of the best places for swimming, fishing, or canoeing, and when you're sitting on the beach watching the kids paddle around in the water, you'll be taken back to those simpler times in life. With lake access and a private dock, don't forget to bring your boat! Plus, the beautiful beaches, windswept dunes, and rugged cliffs along the Oregon Coast are just a short drive away.

This home is bright and airy, with an open layout and lofted bedroom. Floor-to-ceiling windows overlook the beautiful lake. Step into the living room from the deck, and you'll find a two comfy futons, a fireplace that's great to gather around after a long day outside, and a television that's perfect for the kids who can't miss their Saturday cartoons! There's also free WiFi, so you can easily stay in touch with loved ones back home.

In the morning, use the spacious kitchen to whip up some chocolate chip pancakes with a side of fresh-cut strawberries. With all the necessities you need to feed your guests, or perhaps just heat up some leftovers from the night before, you will love having this space to work in. And with a convenient dishwasher, clean up is easy - and maybe you'll even have some help clearing the dishes!

The dining room has a beautiful country table with room for six, but you might be tempted to dine al fresco. On the deck overlooking the lake, feel free to relax with a good book while catching some rays, or perhaps enjoy a romantic evening under the stars while treating yourself to a crisp glass of Riesling and a sampling of local Oregon cheeses. Two dogs may join for an additional nightly fee per pet.

When it's time to turn in, head up to the upper-level loft, where you'll find a comfortable queen-sized bed, another television, and a small sitting area where you can fill out your postcards or finish that crossword puzzle while sipping on coffee. Downstairs, the kids will love being able to spread out on the futons while waking up the sunshine trickling in through the trees. There is also one full bathroom with a soaking tub, perfect for relaxing those sore muscles after a day of adventure.

And though you may enjoy the feeling of being away from it all, you'll still have conveniences like a washer and dryer and cable television for your use!

Mercer Lake is the perfect place for fishing. It is open all year and offers some of the best rainbow trout, largemouth bass, yellow perch and bluegill. If you forgot some supplies, no worries, because the Mercer Lake Resort right next door sells bait, tackle, and fishing licenses at their corner store. While you're busy catching dinner, the kids can enjoy the sandy beaches of the lake and a swimming area protected by docks (please be aware the resort does charge some fees for use). This lake is over 340 acres, so you'll never run out of water to explore!

On the days you feel like heading into town, downtown Florence is just a short ten-minute drive from this Oregon Coast vacation rental. Stop into one of the little eateries like the Beachcomber Tavern for fish and chips, or the the Waterfront Depot for their famous crab-crusted halibut, and you won't regret it! Also around town are plenty of charming shops, two golf courses, a casino, and more to explore. You're also less than 15 minutes drive from coastal beaches and other recreational areas.

For a relaxing vacation away from it all, yet with all the modern accommodations to make your stay easy and comfortable, this Central Oregon Coast vacation rental is the perfect place to put your feet up!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board Games

Child Games

Dock

Features

Washer Dryer : Private

Wood Fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable : Charter

DVD Player

TV

VCR

VHS Library

Wireless Router

Outdoor

Gas Grill : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water View

Water Front

66 Reviews

jennifer p. Nov 2018
Loved the house and surroundings. Only suggestion is get rid of all the crappy non stick pans which stick now & a cookie sheet would be nice. Other than that we will definitely be planning a trip back
Tom S. Oct 2018
Great location in the woods on a lake. House was clean and roomy. The deck and the dock were nice. We sat outside in the evening and enjoyed the view. Also we were happy it was dog friendly. There were a few smaller things the owners could improve.
Alesha N. Oct 2018
Loved our visit :) was a quiet, wonderful place to just relax and decompress. Would definitely recommend.
Jenna Lee A. Sep 2018
Very clean and nicely built. Love all the big windows, the huge bathroom and well equipped kitchen. The view is nice even if a bit far off and the upper deck is nice to sit and look.
Shawn W. Aug 2018
Great venue for my wife and three kids. Bring yellow jacket spray. The hornets here are fierce.
Craig B. Aug 2018
It was clean, tidy, and accessible. Everything was as described.
Frank P. Jul 2018
All in all great place,but the steps to the lake are terrible and you had to jump to the dock ( missing a board) my wife and I tethered ourselves together and yodel our way down also the futons are rough to get out of when using as a couch On the plus side we had a problem with the garbage and the owner came right out to take care of it and yes I would go back to the Chateau
Manager Response:
We have the step scheduled for repair and apologize for any concerns or issues it caused our guests. Thank you!
Allan R S. May 2018
Loved it , very nice place ,has a old charm
Diaa Eldin A. Apr 2018
Can not be closer to the nature more than this
Having your own dock while staying there
Can not complain
Easy to find using the provided map
Clean clean clean
Get your own barbequer
Samantha E. Feb 2018
We had a great time for our last Oregon coast 101 trip. It was Valentine's day, and both our birthdays, and for 2 night it was pretty perfect. Great little place for a couple. If you have kids, be prepaired to wake early, the bedroom is a loft. We didnt mind though. My favorite part was waking up to seeing a small part of the lake out the window, and the nice bathroom. Perfect if your staying for a couple nights.
Debi L. Dec 2017
Nice quiet area. Great bathroom and nice kitchen. Futon fairly comfortable. Slightly rustic floor. Daughter sprained her ankle coming down the stairs carrying her suitcase. There is a hole under the carpet at the corner of the stairs.
Manager Response:
We are very sorry to see one of our guests sustained an injury while staying with us. We have checked the stairs and were unable to find any safety issues. We did, however, get the hole patched up in the floor. Thank you!
Lyssette G. Nov 2017
It was perfect all around. I took my boyfriend as a surprise and although we did not go out on the dock we were very happy and cozy. I proposed to him as it was the place i came to when my heart was broken over a year ago and then i received my first hello from him via,text while staying here. 1 yr later we have been inseperable and he said Yes!! Perfect place to create memories.
Manager Response:
Hi Lyssette, My goodness, all of us at Vacasa are so happy to be a part of this special moment in your life! We wish you nothing but happiness and can't wait to hopefully host you in the many years to come.
Hilary N. Oct 2017
Good news first - the house is physically as advertised -- a really lovely little cabin under old cedars, a large, semi luxurious bathroom, decent kitchen, gorgeous wall of windows. Nice deck, and its own dock down a narrow windy trail.

Be aware, there is no separate bedroom -- the loft is open to the main room and the cabin is small enough that if one of you gets up early, you're both up. Not much separation of space.

The mattress is terrible. The cabin should not be rented out again until it is replaced. The "queen" mattress is topped with a 3" memory foam topper that is several inches narrower than the mattress, making the bed functionally more like a full -- and creating a sort of slope on the edges of the bed that feels precarious when you sleep. After two nights of short sleep followed by body pain and ibuprofen, we made up one of the futons downstairs and used it the third night. It was larger, but very hard. Fourth morning I was so short on sleep and hurting and disappointed in our long-looked-forward-to vacation, I was in tears. We decided to go home a day early so we could not waste any more time there being miserable and so we could sleep in our own bed that night.

Less in the control of the owner or vacasa -- but very relevant to prospective guests -- this is a very populated lake. Though screened by trees, there are close neighbors, and lots of accompanying noise. The first afternoon we were there, I was listening to a backhoe/trackhoe -- something large -- and an intermittent chainsaw churning away in the distance. The next day I don't know because we left to spend it at the beach. But the following day, landscapers hit the house on one side of us with leaf blowers and week whackers in the am. So we left to go to lunch. When we came back, I was hoping to spend the afternoon on the dock with my book and sketchpad. Instead, landscapers were at the house on the other side of us and proceeded to spend almost 4 hours with electric hedge clippers sculpting every plant. I gave up and went inside.

So -- if you want a place to use as a hub for coast exploring, or playing in the lake, bring your noisy kids and torture the neighbors for me. But if you are picturing a peaceful or tranquil get away where you can listen to the wind in the cedars or the water lapping on the dock -- this is not the right property. Keep looking.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see this guest was disappointed. The mattress topper is being replaced which we believe will provide more guest comfort. We apologize that we cannot do anything about the neighbor's landscapers.
Lynn B. Oct 2017
We had a wonderful stay at this adorable cabin on the lake. The kitchen was stocked with everything we need to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, the town of Florence was a short drive when we chose to eat out. We made use of the fireplace and had some romantic nights by the fire. The bathroom was nice and spacious (there were no pictures, so I was a little nervous). We had a wonderful visit and would book this one again!
Anna S. Oct 2017
Great lake views from the back, great for fishing (we caught some!) you will get your peace and quiet here for sure! Would have to drive a few miles to get internet but if you're in for some quality time away from work and just relax, unwind and getaway from it all, this one is for you. Could not/Did not connect to the hotline through the landline for a few things and questions that we had though and with no access to internet, we could not call from our phones. Just a note to be taken but no deal breaker there. Crabbing docks were a few minutes away, lovely quaint stores to visit and some fruits and vegetable stands at the marina were nice to visit while awaiting our crab traps and rings to fill up. Yes there were plenty of crabs and fish! So much fun! We'll be back for sure!
Jeanenne R. Aug 2017
We had a great time here with our 10 and 15 years old sons. They loved being in and on the lake and the nearby dunes were also a ton of fun. If you want a fancy vacation house, this probably isn't it but if you want a rustic, cozy, quiet, great place to hang out, read, and relax, check this place out. We made some yummy meals in the kitchen and enjoyed some of the board games in the evenings. The star gazing was amazing and early morning coffee on the dock was perfection. (Note that the canoes in the photos are not available so be prepared to rent or bring your own.) My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!
Kathryn C. Jul 2017
Loved our stay. A kid-friendly, pet-friendly, wooded home with a trail to a deck lower and higher. Enjoyed swimming, reading, bird watching, fishing, board games and close to town with many family activities.
Larissa V. Jul 2017
The house and location are nice. Very relaxing and don't have to worry about noisy neighbors. The walk to the dock is rough. Starts out relaxing on a (narrow) dirt path, then goes to deep steps a mountain goat would love. (No hand holds). The dock is old but charming. The swimming was great. Just watch out for the steps on the ladder. They are slippery and rusting out. The steps rock at a disturbing angle. It shifted as I was getting out and my foot slid off the step, unfortunately I had one foot almost on the dock and hit my ankle and knee going back into the water.
Manager Response:
We apologize for the difficulties this guest experienced getting in the water. The path is a trail through the bushes with a few steep steps down to the dock. The owner will address the dock concerns this winter. Thank you!
Shannon J. Jul 2017
We arrived here mid-week, when just the locals were around. My boys loved this 'fishing cabin'. We settled in and started casting our fishing rods immediately offmour private dock. Plenty of fish caught! Weather was perfect. Water was refreshing. Neighbors were super-friendly. Plenty of great places to eat and visit in Florence. We even went crabbing on the South Jetty. Definitely recommend for kids who love the outdoors!
Sarah C. Jul 2017
My family stayed here for 4 nights and will not return. There were so many things wrong with the property because it is old and dated and needs work. I felt like I wasted my money on this trip. The carpets are really worn and dirty. There are 2 futons and one of them smelled of urine. The blowdryer was broken and could not take a bath because the drain plug did not work. The DVD player stopped working more than once at night while we were watching movies. We were only left 3 dish-washing tabs, 3 laundry tabs, and a 1 trash bag for 5 days- then was asked to start the dishwasher and laundry before leaving. It would have been nice to have at least 5 to equal the number of days for the stay, plus the amount we had to pay to stay here. We won't return and even thought about leaving early.
Manager Response:
This is definitely an older, rustic cabin, and we are working with the owner on improvements. The carpet has been professionally cleaned. The property manager is replacing the blow dryer, DVD player, and drain stop. Our guests are not obligated to start the washer when they leave, but we will ask housekeeping to leave more supplies for longer stays. Thank you!
Robert F. May 2017
Fair lakeview from the house but it is dilapidated, needs work. The dock is nice for boats.
Nancy L. Mar 2017
There's just nothing better than viewing the lake, trees, and birds from this cabin. It's an ever changing view. It was so nice to listen to the sounds of nature everyday. The location is very quiet with the occasional car going by. Mercer Lake is a wonderful place to vacation and this home makes it so easy and comfortable.
Kathryn J. Dec 2016
We really enjoyed this property, it was perfect for one couple and a dog. It was comfortable and cozy, and as a pleasant surprise, was more spacious than it looked in the pictures. The location was secluded but convenient to get to the beach or to town.
Phillip F. Nov 2016
We got this reservation at last minute, but glad we did so. It's close to Florence, so allows for fetching any items forgotten, and has eating out offerings.
Being almost winter (Thanksgiving) we were not able to enjoy the property outside, but it's very quite and peaceful.
The house has all the main essentials, shows some signs of use, but was very clean.
Overall, a nice place to stay, and yes, we likely will consider it for future visits
Taunya R. Nov 2016
We enjoyed our stay. We were able to cook a nice dinner for our family since the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and pans. The house is very cozy. The only thing missing was complimentary coffee. There was a Fred Meyer near by so all was well.
Lyssette G. Oct 2016
It was very quiet and I was able to relax each day and enjoy the view of Lake.
Bonnie F. Oct 2016
Love this location, right on the lake. When we visited, in the fall, it was very quiet. We liked the cabin atmosphere--nothing fancy or too modern, just comfortable.
Paul A. Oct 2016
We've done short getaways here for at least four years and love this place! Quiet, romantic, water view, perfect for just two people.
Darla H. Oct 2016
Great little house. Perfect for couples!
April J. Aug 2016
No down side except the canoes shown are not accessible to guests.
Kathleen W. Aug 2016
My husband and I had a wonderful time at the cabin. It was clean and comfortable. We especially loved the dock at the lake. We ended up spending most of our time there. It was so quiet and peaceful. There were swallows on the lake so not a lot of bugs. We are going to book again at this cabin.
Todd P. Aug 2016
almost perfect weekend
Dana C. Jun 2016
Secluded. Private. Amazing views of the trees and lake. Very quiet. Loved standing on the back deck soaking up the only sound...birds chirping.
WILLIAM B. Jun 2016
A great peaceful place to stay!
Jennifer G. May 2016
Quite, relaxing, decorated in a cute, mismatched, 70s beach house sort of way. Very clean and fully stocked for home cooking.
Pamela A G. May 2016
Wonderful spot for a peaceful stay. Saw an eagle catch a fish from the dock! A first!! Saw a momma duck with a bunch of little ones in tow. This cabin needs a major cleaning though. The setting and quiet spot was very much appreciated. The Heceta beach is a great place to walk the beach.
Jesse F. Feb 2016
secluded, with a beautiful view of the lake, kid friendly place. Great for small family getaway!
Jennifer S. Nov 2015
Seriously, this house was so 80's! It was like visiting a college kid's rental house in 1988, complete with a decent VHS tape collection, no Wi-fi and only occasional cell service, and the furniture that looks like wood but is actually particleboard. Don't worry, there's a landline in case of emergencies.

Overall it was a comfy and clean house that served our needs perfectly, though there was just two of us and two dogs. Having coffee on chilly mornings on the deck was fantastic, with Wrentits and Fox Sparrows chirping at us. The neighborhood was quiet and the location was perfect for easy access to all the fun Florence-area nature spots.

I would definitely rent this place again though not with more than two people. The upstairs bedroom is loft-style so there's no doors and no privacy, except in the bathroom. Why are there no photos of the bathroom? It's great. The soaking tub is pretty nice!

One last thing- the outdoor space is nice and private. The deck and dock are really cool, but I would not bring my mom or anyone who is not 100% confident on their feet. It's a little sketchy, made sketchier on frosty mornings when the deck becomes a slip and slide.

Overall, an ideal place to spend Thanksgiving week!
Bonnie F. Oct 2015
Easy place to relax in any season, and right on the waterfront. Deck, dock, fireplace, and everything we needed for a laid back weekend. Loved the soaking tub!
Carol A. Aug 2015
Mercer Lake is unique in the area in that it is more protected from wind than the other lakes and Florence in general. This is great for all water sports. We love to canoe and it's an ideal paddle!!!!
Joanna C. Aug 2015
Appreciated the peaceful setting and outdoor activities. Home is comfortable and well-equipped with books, games and toys for even the smallest guest. We enjoyed swimming, kayaking and boating. Lakeview is incredible. Thanks for sharing your home with our family!
Janay S. Mar 2015
Quiet little spot with a great view. We were very happy with our spring break location. Thanks for sharing with us.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to have you as guests again!
Roger A. Mar 2015
Very quiet and isolated setting. View and fresh air was a great mental recharge. Close to the town of Florence adding convenience to visit some shops and eating establishments. Probably need some outside cleanup of winter debris on the roof and surrounding area.
Chuck H. Feb 2015
Had a great weekend here. Great location and views. House had everything needed for a great stay.
Johnnie M. Jan 2015
Marcia's Mercer Lake Chateau , SWEET!!!!. I cannot wait to book my next stay. Tranquil, clean, private. Beautiful Lake view.
Renee R. Oct 2014
We loved our visit to this house. It was a beautiful fall weekend and the lake was pretty quiet, except for the owl we could hear echoing across the lake each night. It was awesome! The house is comfortable and well stocked with everything on their list.
Paul A. Aug 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Easy to get to, yet it had a feeling of seclusion and privacy. Great views of the lake throughout the home.
Donna W. Aug 2014
We had a fantastic vacation. We rented a canoe for the week from a place called Bill's which is a little south on 101. The pier is so close to the water that it was easy to slip in the water pull out.. We ate most of our meals on the deck--incredibly peaceful. The view is so beautiful to wake up to.
Manager Response:
Thank you for this review. We have addressed the issue of the outside cleanliness with the proper department to ensure the whole house is properly cleaned for all future guests.