Virtual Tour
USA Washington Whidbey Island Coupeville Listing #10136

Wonder House - Coupeville, WA

50 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 1 bedroom 2 bathrooms No pets 

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Contemporary waterfront home features beautiful views, near Penn Cove

Make your next family vacation as peaceful and relaxing as it should be with this new, modular home near Coupeville! Oceanfront sights (views from every room!), the beauty of Whidbey Island, and a nice selection of modern comforts all await you.

Nestled on Madrona Way right near Penn Cove, this home is right down the road from Penn Cove Farms, and their delicious selection of mussels, clams, and shellfish. Coupeville, meanwhile, lies to the south, with plenty of restaurants and shops to visit.

Of course, it might be hard to get the motivation to go out when you can simply stay in and marvel at the water views. The large deck provides a breathtaking vantage point for admiring the nearby rocky beach and crashing waves of the cove.

Wake up in the morning to some fresh ocean air before settling in for a lazy day of free WiFi and cable and DVDs on the flatscreen TV. In the den, the double bed is a unique Murphy bed - during the day it's a desk and at night, it converts into a comfy place to sleep.

Don't delay - give your loved ones the getaway they deserve and place your reservation for this Whidbey Island getaway today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen & dining






Water view



Internet : Xfinity


Cable : Xfinity

DVD player

Sound dock


Gas grill : Private


50 reviews

Margaret B. Dec 2020
Lovely house that has a spectacular view. We enjoyed our Thanksgiving get away vacation. We found that when issues occurred there was someone there that day to fix the issue. The only thing that was a significant issue for us was the internet. Do not anticipate that you will have an internet connection. I was anticipating working and had to borrow an office on the island to work. The kitchen has everything you will need.
Chelsea B. Sep 2020
The location of this spot and the view are stunning! The space is beautifully decorated, quiet, and relaxing. It’s easy to drive from this spot to outdoor activities on the island.
Patricia G. Aug 2020
Views are fantastic! House was clean and tidy. Probably not the best place for true R&R though.
You can hear road noise and next store is a parking lot for people to park and then clam dig so there was not as much privacy as I had hoped for. Windows are partially covered so you may want to bring a sleep mask if you want to sleep in. Also, I don’t know if it’s daily but the base was doing drills of some kind so planes flew into the night.
Jackie E. Aug 2020
Loved the location, house could have been great but dishwasher was moldy, heaters didn’t work, linens in master severely frayed, bedside rug filthy, so much scum on shower fixtures I didn’t want to touch them, dishes greasy, fixtures spray water everywhere, garbage disposal doesn’t work, etc. What a waste of possibilities.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Jackie. While we are glad you enjoyed the location of the home, we are so sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you endured. We confirm the dishwasher and heater are in working order and linens have been replaced. Unfortunately, the garbage disposal is not usable and there is a sign on it for our guests. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you in the future.
JEN S. Jul 2020
Beautifully situated on Penn Cove. Breath taking views. Wonderful house. Really suited for two guest or three guests at the most. Second bed is a full and the living room can only comfortably fit three. Owners are lovely.
Matthew H. Jul 2020
This is one of our go to houses when visiting. Clean, new, updated, and right on the beach. A great place to stay.
Larry D. Jul 2020
Loved how close we were to the water! We spent evenings with bonfire on the beach and drinks on the deck. Mornings were spent walking the beach, looking at all the sea life at low tide. Afternoons were spent paddling all around the cove on paddle boards and kayaks. It was relaxing and just what we needed!
Darrell K. Jun 2020
Loved sitting out on the deck in the mornings and evenings and soaking in the peaceful view. Fantastic!
Joshua W. May 2020
Beautiful and peaceful. Jets fly by due to nearby air base. We enjoyed it though. Great view. Although totem pole is not there. A little disappointed but still wonderful trip.
Jori O. May 2020
Exactly what we needed; a wonderful relaxing weekend. The home is settled right on the beach, offering a wonderful and open view of Penn Cove. The beach is layered with vibrant shells. Not necessarily barefoot friendly, but lovely all the same. Plenty of life to view; bird watching, deer that come graze on the grass nearby, and schools of fish that feed come dusk. The home is well stocked, with full amenities. The grill is electric and tabletop on patio, so plan accordingly. The main windows also face east, expect some morning heat. Very convenient and easy to book. Thanks!
Henry D. Mar 2020
Perfect location on the water, my wife needed a place to just relax and this was it, thank you.
Maggie L. Nov 2019
The location of Wonder House is perfect for amazing panoramic views from the wall of windows and 3 sliding glass doors, from the large back deck, and from the private beach as well.
The modern decor is well kept and clean. Love the open floor plan and high ceilings that makes 900 sq ft seem so much bigger. The kitchen is stocked with everything you may need. Comfortable furniture and cozy queen bed with feather comforter are appreciated.
We had an annoying-problem with a fire alarm beeping for about an hour from the 15 ft ceiling. The manager sent someone out with a tall ladder and batteries, thankfully! She was very nice and helped us find the outdoor lighting switches, also.
We highly recommended staying at Wonder House and look forward to coming back next summer with our grandkids.
The showers could use new powerful shower heads for a much needed rinsing soap & shampoo off—But it was great to have 2 baths. The free cable and WiFi was a bonus. Also has a washer and dryer as well.
There was lots to do around Wonder House location, restaurants museums, other interesting towns and the beautiful outdoors of course.
Lisa F. Oct 2019
Inside and out was beautiful. Few things needed fixing but all in all it is an awesome place to stay.
David E. Sep 2019
Easy to find
-Good parking
-Well appointed
-Nice furniture
-Good storage
-Great ventilation with windows
-Amazing view
-Comfortable bed and sheets
-Great towels
-Love the labeling of where things go

Would highly encourage others to stay at this home. A quiet getaway!
Edna W. Sep 2019
Best view of cove. Each sunrise and sunset beautiful and different based on the weather. Lots of quite time and wildlife to observe right from deck or bed.
Keith A. Jun 2019
We had seals at play right outside the home on beautiful Penn Cove. The setting is wonderful--lots of good windows.
Susan M. Mar 2019
I took myself to the Wonder House for a momcation and it was PERFECT! I was able to listen to the waves, look at the mountains and all around relax. I even did a little polar plunge...TWICE!! The bed and pillows were so comfortable that on the day it snowed I didn't even leave it! My husband and I are planning a trip to go back next month! This place is definitely a must if you just wanna get away, relax and recharge.
LaNae L. Jan 2019
What a great find! We came to Whidbey Island for a quiet New Years and lucked out on both weather and lodging!

The house is, as promised, right on the water. Windows cover the backside, allowing for never-ending views. We had two beautiful winter sunrises and could see the top of Mt Baker and the North Cascades.

The house has a well-equipped kitchen—no problem cooking complete meals. And I’ve never seen a pull-out drawer microwave, but now I want one.

The house was very clean and comfortable! The wi-fi can be a bit hit-or-miss, but with those views...put down the phone!
Sue T. Dec 2018
The house is perfectly situated in a peaceful cove and the beach is made up almost entirely of shells. The gentle lapping of the tide coming in is soothing. The inside of the house is modern, well-planned, and feels new. We came to enjoy some ocean time while my husband worked on his thesis, and hoped for a stronger wifi signal - the wifi was a little bit temperamental, but we had books to read and walks to take, and the television offered on-demand shows and movies through Xfinity. I can only imagine how lovely the big deck would be to use in the summertime. I swear the only way you could stay in a home closer to the water than this house would be if you stayed in a houseboat. We loved it!
Cynthia F. Nov 2018
very comfortable home. The toilet next to the bedroom didn't always work.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear our guest was comfortable here! The toilet in this home has different water saving operations, and if guests are not pushing the correct buttons, it may not work as efficiently as one would hope. We will post a sign with instructions so guests will feel confident in using the toilet correctly. Thank you!
Marla O. Oct 2018
Sunrise to die for!! It was spacious, and full of adventure for our 2 little ones. It was cold outside but surprisingly cozy inside. We did not use it but the kitchen was well stocked with supplies. A few things were broken while we were there and the owner had great and quick contact. Would definitely stay here again.
Randy R. Oct 2018
We have been renting vacation homes for the past 15 years and this has to be one of my favorites! My husband and I spent three nights here really soaking up the beautiful view and fantastic fall weather. The home had everything that we needed...extremely well-stocked. It was very clean and organized. We enjoyed the cozy atmosphere that was just perfect for the two of us. We took the ferry to Pt. Townsend for the day and also enjoyed the Farmers' Market in Coupeville and Langley. We walked to the Captain Whidbey for dinner and walked along the quiet beaches. We will be back to spend alot more time here at this wonderful home and location!
Douglas F. Sep 2018
Peaceful and relaxing
rod c. Aug 2018
Loved the location location location.
Debra M. Jul 2018
This home was clean, bright, and comfortable. It had everything we needed for a week's stay. The view of Penn Cove was beautiful. Coupeville is centrally located on Whidbey Island which was great for day trips to explore all parts of the island and Anacortes. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will book this place again if we decide to return to Whidbey Island.
Jodie C. May 2018
We decided to rent a cabin on Whidbey at the last minute and found this little gem. I can't believe it was available knowing how lovely it is! The views and the quiet beach access from the porch is unbeatable. My boys spent hours throwing rocks in the water and swimming. The house itself is perfect for a family of four or a couple looking to get away. It is clean, organized and energy efficient. We are in love with the Wonder House and will be back for sure...Rent it. You won't regret it!
Jamie E. Mar 2018
Couldn't ask for a better place to get away for a weekend!
Gale G. Feb 2018
Quiet and peaceful. Great for a mid-winter getaway. We had the beach to ourselves. The house was clean and fully equipped. We would love to come back.
Lisa G. Jan 2018
Here is a bit of what we experienced. You decide for yourself if you think it's right for you.

Good things: View is truly sublime, both in the evening and morning, especially in nice weather - view of the top of Mt. Baker and other mountains. Lots of water birds around, lovely to watch. Just a gorgeous area all around.

House is smallish, but clean, cozy and new, lots of light, modern everything. Lovely bathrooms/amazing showers! I'm not convinced this house sleeps 4, as is advertised. The murphy bed is smaller than the other bed, and is high off the ground, with no railings - I don't think it would be comfortable for 2 people at all (we were only 3, so it worked out great). Couch was way too soft for us, not comfortable or stable, but some people might like it. We opted for the chairs, for our sitting needs. :)

The little beach - replete with zillions of shells and small stones - is just steps away from the house, and is a mini-heaven for beachcombers (of which I am one). It's not very long, but there's a lot there to comb through and look at, if you're into that kind of thing. Or you can sit on the deck and take it all in from there. It's probably a lovely place to sit and have a cup of coffee or glass of wine (when the weather gets warmer!), though I don't remember seeing any patio furniture. That might get put out when the weather gets warmer.

Whidbey Island is a beautiful place to spend the day or a few days or whatever, so it's nice to have a place to stay, after a day of seeing the island. Good location.

Not-so-good things: Roadway is RIGHT behind the house, so it's impossible to ignore fast-moving traffic noise. That may not bother you - to us it felt incongruous with the serene water view and wildlife on the other side of the house. It felt pretty roadside motel-y. It didn't ruin the stay, but it certainly didn't enhance it.

We didn't got there to watch TV, of course, but once it was dark, well, we did see the 3 TVs and thought, why not see what's on. The cable disconnected often, there was nothing in the house to help us troubleshoot (see below) and made for a frustrating hour or two before we gave up and just read our books, which is what we should've done from the beginning.

WiFi is spotty, and often difficult to connect to, depending on time of day. You might need the Internet, because the information about the house is online, in what they call a "digital binder". There is no physical binder with printed out information, as many hotels and B&Bs often have. We had a hard time getting to the digital binder in order to troubleshoot the cable issues, etc.

If you go in knowing that these tech things likely will not work for you, then I believe you won't waste as much time as we did, and will enjoy your stay much more. :) I don't blame anyone for not having WiFi or good cable in a rural area, but I WOULD have liked to know ahead of time that they don't work that well, is all, so we could have planned for that.

Overall, my experience on this trip was about a three out of five stars. I think if I had known then what I know now, it might have been a four-star rating. Especially if they get a better couch. :)
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest experienced some technical difficulties during their stay. The WiFi and cable can be spotty on the island due to the weather and remoteness. This is the first we have had a complaint of this sort for this home, and when we entered the home we did find the cables in a different location than they should have been. When we replaced them we were unable to replicate any issues. If any problems continue for our guests they are welcome to call us using the numbers provided in the home. We have also printed out a physical copy of the guest binder for guest use in case the WiFi is being difficult and making it challenging to access the digital binder. Thank you!
Phyllis S. Jan 2018
We enjoyed 3 days just getting away from the home routine. One day to tour the island, the second to stay inside watching the wind and waves and just relax. Any kitchen equipment you might need was available. Would love to return to enjoy the summer weather on the beach.
Tamika N. Dec 2017
This house was super cute. It was wonderful to wake up looking at the water and all the ducks/heron/other water creatures each morning. The gentle splash of the water on the shore was very soothing to go to sleep to.

It would be fun to visit during a warmer month to capitalize on the home location and do some standup paddle boarding or kayak or even fish right on the shore.
Wendy J. Nov 2017
This was a really nice small home. Beautiful waterfront experience. Homeowner had several rules to follow, almost felt watched over. Not the kind of restful experience we look for.
Joyce M. Nov 2017
The pictures do not due this property justice! Very nice interior. Well equipped kitchen. Incredible view of Penn Cove located just outside the back door. Mt. Baker was snow covered and visible on the terrific sunny days we had.
Carol H. Sep 2017
The house was beautiful and very updated. Bamboo flooring, stainless appliances and beautiful artwork both inside and out made the house very welcoming. Views of the water were wonderful. Perfect size for my husband and me. Would recommend for 2 to 4 people.
James B. Sep 2017
Our congratulations to the owner on their yard art – many interesting items.
Shala M. Sep 2017
Great property, fantastic location and very clean. Would stay again for sure.
Scott P. Sep 2017
We had a wonderful time and would definitely use vacasa again for our next year's trip.
Darcy H. Aug 2017
Overall a beautiful property and very cosy .
Dee R. Aug 2017
This was one of the most amazing places to visit during our trip. I highly recommend this location for the private beach and who can be upset with the ocean in your backyard. I can't wait to visit again next year.

Elisabeth F. Aug 2017
We loved being able to put our kayaks in the water steps from the deck. Everything about this home was great!