Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1034

Fisherman's Cottage - Florence, OR

40 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 2 1 Double Bed 0 Bedrooms 1.5 Bathrooms Dog Friendly 
88342 2nd Avenue, Florence, OR 97439

Cozy & well-decorated cabin with close beach access and dog friendly!

Plan a romantic getaway for two or a solo coast retreat at this cute and rustic Florence vacation cottage! Adorably provincial, yet still elegant, this quaint little spot near Heceta Beach features soothing colors and reclaimed wood accents for a relaxing beach vacation year-round.

It's comparable to a hotel room, but even better because you'll have your own little freestanding cabin to enjoy, with a kitchenette and just a short walk down to the shore. A small sitting area has a rich brown leather couch, TV and a DVD player. You can pop some microwave popcorn and settle in for a night of movies and snuggling on the couch.

When it's time to retire, a full sized bed is tucked away in a nook, with a small bathroom just a few steps away. There, you'll have a shower, as well as a sink located just outside of the bathroom for added convenience. If the bathroom is occupied by your companion, there'll be no wait to brush your teeth or wash your face at the end of the day!

When it's time for meals or snacks, this Fisherman's Cottage includes a kitchenette with a microwave, mini-fridge, and a small eating area. Perfect for heating up leftovers, small breakfasts, or enjoying take-out feasts. In the mornings, there's also a coffee maker if you don't feel like making the trek into town for a caffeine fix.

This cottage will comfortably sleep up to two guests, as well as the family dog (though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply). Other amenities include an outdoor fire pit - come back from a dinner out and roast marshmallows for dessert. You can even make s'mores!

Just a short walk away is easy beach access at Driftwood Shores Resort, which also includes the Surfside Restaurant for meals out within easy walking distance of your cottage. Start the day here for breakfast, then head down to the shore and fly a kite or watch for whales in the winter and spring.

For more restaurant choices, make the short six-mile drive to historic Old Town Florence for many other options - fish and chips and chowder at Mo's, crab-encrusted halibut at the Waterfront Depot Restaurant, or caesar salads and grilled Coho salmon at La Pomodori Ristorante. In Old Town, there are also a number of galleries to browse, shops to explore, and even the Siuslaw Pioneer Museum for learning about the area's history.

Just to the south of town, after a short and scenic drive along highway 101, you'll come to the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area. Watch the off-road vehicles navigate the sweeping dunes, hike around, or just capture some great photographs to share with your friends back home.

Just an hour and a half from Eugene or three hours from Portland, this cozy Central Oregon Coast vacation rental is a great escape for two at the scenic South Oregon Coast!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Space Heater

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Media

Internet
Cable

DVD Player

TV

Outdoor

Enclosed Yard

Outdoor Fire

40 Reviews

Christine G. Oct 2018
Clean and cozy cottage.
Jarod T. Sep 2018
It was perfect for my wife and I, so cute and comfortable ­čśŐ
Robert K. Sep 2018
Cozy little place if you like peace and quiet with great access to Heceta Beach
Nancy D. Aug 2018
Such a cute little quaint place. It felt cozy and a little rustic. I loved It! Very close to the ocean too.
Hutch H. Jun 2018
Loved the cottage. Will definitely be back!
Carol A. Mar 2018
This place was as advertised rustic and simple, close to the beach 0.2 miles. Near the Surfside restruant which has a great view and a decent breakfast (Dinne just OK for price). I was able to connect to wireless with my phone but not my comouter. I am a writer and I often have to look things up so I would have liked a stronger signal. I had phone service for texts (Verizon) and my email came through to my phone so that was OK, My dog loved the small yard.
Gregory D. Dec 2017
This place is VERY small! It is not a place to stay at, it's a place to sleep at, at best. The cottage is very close to the beach as well as to Florence but do not plan on spending a lot of time in the house as it's uncomfortable, drafty and not worth the money paid.
John S. Dec 2017
The place is a small, rustic cottage with "coastal" atmosphere. There is no stove, but a microwave, etc. You need both space heaters to warm it up, but the shower is hot and full. No cell or TV reception. It's fine if you don't want a view - it is well set back from the beach. Also, the quoted price does not include cleaning fee, local tax, and reservation 'tax.'
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see this guest was not happier with their experience. We feel the home is accurately represented via pictures and description so our guests can anticipate what their stay will (or will not) entail. Thank you!
Katherine H. Oct 2017
The home was fantastic, the management was sub par.
TIFFANY H. Sep 2017
Leave technology behind, un-plug and relax. Walk to the beach, fly a kite enjoy some good wine around the fire pit. Simple and pleasant and comfortable. We brought our portable BBQ and grilled up some fantastic salmon kabobs with veggies from the farmstand. Did some yoga while listening to the rain on the tin roof, very soothing. I would stay here again
Peter D. Sep 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. We would love to stay there again. A few little updates and landscaping could take this cottahe to the next level of comfort. Overall though its a fun place.
Robert B. Aug 2017
The house was easy to find. The parking was good. It is a short walk to the beach, but not on the beach.
Jami T. Aug 2017
This is a great place to unplug, relax, and get away from it all. I was quite comfortable in this little cottage for two nights during a solo road trip up the coast. It did not feel cramped (except in the bathroom) despite its small size. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Be aware that the large house on the propert is also rented out; when I stayed there, a group of 6 young people (early 20's) stayed and got a little noisy in the evenings. Otherwise, this neighborhood is super quiet. Bring socks; the painted concrete floor is not conducive to bare feet. This really is a sweet little cottage; I would definitely stay again.
Donay C. Jun 2017
We just loved the Fisherman's Cottage! It was a charming little place just perfect for my Son and I.
Everything we needed was so close and yet the cottage was cozy, quiet and pretty. The beach was a short walk away and driving to town or to the Heceta Head Lighthouse was quick.

Our excursions were the Heceta Head Lighthouse, Hobbit Beach, Old Florence, the Museum, fresh crab from the Crab Pot, the Sea Lion Cave, ice cream at BJ's, dinner at Bridgewater, and Homegrown, the bookstore where we purchased books on cds for the drive home, and of course the tide pools near Tokatee Creek, Cape Cove, and walking Heceta Beach. We topped off one day by watching a DVD about Moby Dick on the player at the cottage.

If you are looking for a pretty little place just right for two, on a budget, this is your spot. Just sweep the sand out the door and it's just as cute and tidy as ever.
Brenda W. May 2017
This small cabin is best for guest that like a primitive atmosphere. I was pretty happy there and would stay again. My friend enjoys more amenities like television. There was a television for playing dvds but no cable. Also, limited mobility might be a challenge. The bathroom is very small with a step up. Overall we both enjoyed our stay.
Christina A. May 2017
Upon arrival you first notice, no cell service. At all. I got there when house cleaning crew was finishing up, she let us in 20 minutes early. We walked in and there was garbage on the floor, garbage stuffed in the coffee pot, and a child's dirty diaper under the bed. Shame on who Ever was there before me, and housekeeping I didn't pay a $70 cleaning fee to arrival to a dirty rental. Dust everywhere to boot. After that, found out there were only plates, no bowls, only coffee cups. No pans for the toaster oven so we couldn't even use it without making a huge mess. Microwave was made in the 60's so be prepared that a plate won't fit in it. If you enjoy the wildlife be prepared for spiders, everywhere. Outside, inside, in your food. So. Many. Spiders. The photos they provide arnt updated, no lawn chairs for fire sitting. Decor inside hasn't changed much. I don't know why so many people said the full bed was soft, it was like sleeping on a brick. NO CELL PHONE SERVICE AND THE WIFI BARELY WORKED! Vacasa you need to install a phone in this unit, it is not safe! What if someone has a medical emergency??? After all these disappointments, here is the good. You are definitely alone, the neighbors never bothered us and I never heard them. There are tons of beaches to visit in Florence, the city is lovely. We went out as much as possible to avoid our cold hobbit hole. If they add a phone line, a rug for that cold concrete floor, proper dishes and cooking equipment I would definitely return. I hope this helps future renters, make sure you bring dvds and games.
Manager Response:
We apologize this guest experienced some disappointments with the home. Our new housekeeper felt rushed due to the guest's early arrival and did not complete cleaning the home. She has been further trained and her performance has improved. Additional bowls, glasses, and a pan have been added to the kitchen. The microwave is from the 90s and functions well. The cabin is routinely sprayed for spiders, lawn chairs have been added, the bed is in great shape, and if you have Verizon you will have a good cell signal. Again, we apologize for the disappointments. Thank you!
Jordan R. May 2017
I just needed a place to be by myself with my guitar for a few days. I hope I didn't bother the owners, I tried not to be rude, but writing songs was the purpose of my trip. The cabin was very peaceful and quiet, and I liked how, though it was right next to two houses, the cabin was completely secluded with bushes and fences. It was a picturesque cabin inside and out.
Marguerite N. Apr 2017
Good for a short stay and quick access to the beach. Plus if you want to disconnect from media, staying here will ensure that goal Can't recommend for over 2 people And a dog. Delightful sun pocket with birds birds birds and a little bench make for lovely, quiet moments right outside door in between storms Note that it is very damp and only has space heaters for warmth You will experience the storms with the steel drum effect of rain on the galvanized roofing and siding. If thinking about tiny house living , this repurposed garage will let you know what is important for you within a day
Ellie M. Sep 2016
Tiny fisherman's cabin...kitchen was minimal with just a microwave and toaster oven...tiny refrigerator..teeny tiny windows in cabin...bed wonderfully comfortable...two heaters were great...cozy...
Orion E. Aug 2016
If you are a minimalist but want just what you need for you and your partner to enjoy a quite getaway, then this is it. The bed was ridiculously cozy. the cabin is bigger than it looks from the outside. There is a delightful scent of cedar from the chest at the foot of the bed. It is cute, warmly lit and romantic. The only minor details are: not having the best internet service (but who cares if you're on a get-away), Not much of a kitchen, not actually on the beach (but very close). The minor details do not offset the delightfulness and coziness of the cabin.
Sarah R. Aug 2016
It was a cute place. Had what we needed. Too small to cook inside- but cozy! Internet does not work since the home is basically in a hole- it's like a bunker.
Overall a nice, relaxing location.
Cierra C. May 2016
Awesome place!! Very clean, cute and charming! Perfect for a couple or small family! Wished there was actually WiFi, but still was a great place!!!
Isabelle L. Apr 2016
Overall I loved the property and location and finishing and cleanliness of the house. However I was very disappointed in the wifi. In the listing for the property it says that there is wifi there and I feel very misleads by that. There is a wifi signal but I could do nothing with it I had no internet access. Being able to access the Internet was a huge deciding factor when I was choosing a rental location as I work daily on my online business. I feel that it is false advertising to claim that this property has wifi
Manager Response:
We are so glad that you loved the property and are happy that you were able to stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding the wifi. We will have our property manager check the signal and fix any connectivity issues that there are. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Robin B. Apr 2016
The cottage is cute and has everything to meet your needs. The bathroom is a bit small but functional. Cute place in a convent location with lots to do nearby.
Carmi D. Apr 2016
Was everything I wanted/needed for my trip. Loved the style and was just so easy to book and find love vacasa, this is my second time booking through you and will for sure recommend and look forward to my next trip. Thanks!
Alex M. Mar 2016
Had a wonderful time at the cottage - quiet, even with the neighbors close by, and tranquil. Perfect for a few days away. Very close to the beach, easy access to the dunes and shell collecting. Even ventured into the historic downtown and visited the pioneer museum! We'll definitely be back, and will recommend to friends, too!
Shane H. Mar 2016
This place is great. Very cozy and well decorated. Definitely will be back. Thanks
Shawn N. Nov 2015
We stayed here for an extended weekend and had the best time. The cabin was an adorable little gem, just enough space for the two of us. Everything was clean and tastefully decorated making us feel right at home. Our only hope was that it would be a little more private, less neighbors and more woods, but we were not bothered the entire trip. Overall everything was perfect and we'd love to come back. Thanks vacasa!
Harriet S. Sep 2015
The cottage was exactly as advertised. We enjoyed it because it was so quirky and quaint but also very clean. The bed was really comfortable and the linens and towels were spotless. The location was perfect for us as it was private and quiet but also a really short drive into Florence and a quick walk to the beach.
Elizabeth H. May 2015
Great little bungalow, so perfectly decorated. short walk to the beach, short drive to old town and the dunes. We had a great stay and the fire pit was a nice plus! We had a hard time connecting to the wifi and had no phone service there but that was kind of nice for a change.
Shawna B. Oct 2014
We were very pleased with this rental. Perfect for our small family on a budget. Close to the beaches and town, will absolutely recommend this to others traveling to the area. Vacasas the way to go if looking for a stellar get away. Thanks a million!
Manager Response:
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fisherman's Cottage! We also like that it is close to town and beaches, yet quaint and private as well. We hope to see you again soon!