Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Otter Rock Alpine Chalets - Otter Rock, OR Listing #1060

Alpine Chalet #9 Half Loft - Otter Rock, OR

70 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom  plus loft 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options.

  • 7+ days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • 30+ days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee & associated taxes).

Exceptions apply. Read our full policy for details.

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean each home with an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Romantic dog-friendly oceanfront getaway with close beach access!

This versatile one-bedroom Otter Rock vacation rental will enthrall guests of all ages. Build sandcastles or fly kites in the summer, and in the winter experience mesmerizing storms at this charming loft.

Perched on a bluff overlooking the ocean and surrounded by pine trees, this adorable chalet is part of the idyllic Alpine Chalets community Meander down the private trail to explore picturesque Beverly Beach, only steps away from the front door! Devils Punch Bowl State Park is also nearby where you can spend your day digging for shells, wading in the surf, or perusing the tide pools.

This cozy chalet features tall ceilings, wood-paneled walls, and a large picture window to fill the room with natural light. Nestle into the sleeper sofa or plush easy chairs and relax after hours spent walking the long sandy beach or enjoying a day trip to the Oregon Coast Aquarium in Newport, only eight miles away.

The living room includes a TV with cable and a DVD player so you can lounge comfortably during a movie night or a marathon of your favorite shows. Use the wireless Internet access to stay caught up on your emails during your vacation, or research restaurants for a romantic dinner date. Admire the lovely ocean view through the picture window and be calmed by the rhythm of the lulling waves.

The open floor plan downstairs also encompasses a full kitchen and endearing wooden dining table that seats four. While you're out adventuring, pick up some fixings for delicious crab cakes at Local Ocean's seafood market in Newport, and come back to your chalet. The refrigerator, stove-top/oven and microwave are right on hand for meal preparation during breakfast, lunch and dinner. And if there's a sink full of dishes at the end of the night, you can always let them soak while you enjoy a gorgeous sunset from the beach.

When it's time for your adventurous oceanside vacation to fade into dreams, the bedroom is located right off the kitchen. It features a comfortable queen-sized bed and wall-mounted lamps, perfect for reading a few chapters to unwind from the excitement of the day. There is also plenty of space to store your belongings, and a full bathroom with a shower/tub combo is just off the bedroom.

Guests staying upstairs in the loft will sleep soundly in the second queen-sized bed, and be privy to a nice bird's eye view of the lower level. This chalet can comfortably accommodate four guests and is perfect for a family getaway or romantic trip for two! It is also dog-friendly, though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply.

Bask in the sunshine on the sandy beach in summer or catch glimpses of magnificent whales in the winter or spring - no matter what time of year you choose to visit, this darling chalet is an alluring retreat to the Central Oregon Coast! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Please park in the designated parking spot

Water Access: Beach access is only 100 feet from the parking area.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Space heater

House rules

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining





Water view



Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player


70 reviews

Brittany M. Jan 2021
Dust on the walls, ceiling fan, valence curtains in the bedroom & living room, the shelf above the window in the living room was horrifyingly dusty.

Very Dated - The place was built in 1969 and probably hasn’t seen an update since the 80s
Limited Wifi Connection as it is a shared wifi with the rest of the guests
Blinds in the living room where damaged

Furniture was dirty & falling apart - Couch stained my travel bag with a smell like stale cigarettes (We’ve been home 3 days and the stale cigarette smell still hasn’t gone away)

The Furniture layout in the unit is kind of confusing and crowded as well with the amount of furniture (the couch in the unit is honestly beyond gross)

Mold everywhere, in the Bathroom, on bottom of doors/walls
Water damage essentially everywhere specifically there’s a pretty bad spot behind the fridge on the ceiling in the unit - the unit also has a off smell to it, we purchased candles and aerosol spray while we were there to try to combat the musty/mildew scent (If one was to have an allergy to mold or dust I would recommend you steer clear of this unit for the sake of your health)

There were "Damp Rid" moisture wicking buckets EVERYWHERE in the unit, be wary of your pets/children getting into these as they can potentially cause your pet/children serious health issues if ingested, luckily my dog is older and knows better than to get into such things.

The bathroom door knob was janky to say in the least - Got stuck in the bathroom when I first arrived and had to play around with the bathroom doorknob to figure out how to get out of the bathroom
The shower head in the bathroom was just as janky as the doorknob, if you try to adjust the shower head angle (my partner is 6’4” and I’m 5’4” so after they shower I usually have to adjust the shower head for my height) when I attempted to adjust the shower head the entire thing moved and I feared I may had broken something but on closer inspection the shower head itself isnt attached to the wall, there is just a hole that it protrudes out, the bath faucet does essentially the same thing as the shower head (My partner leaned on the bath faucet while they where running me a bath an the entire faucet moved)
Baths are not a thing in this unit unless you manage to find a way to actually plug the drain effectively as the plug in the unit doesn’t work at all (My partner ran a bath for me while I went outside to walk my dog before hopping in an the 15 minutes that it took by the time I came back inside the bath had drained by at least half)
Extremely thin walls, you can hear people packing up their cars to leave in the morning through the walls, if your cabin neighbor has kids running around outside you can hear them clear as day inside the unit.
No View from Alpine unit #9 at all, you basically get to stare at the parking lot & do a lot of people watching
Cabinet doors would not close in the kitchen area, one cabinet was perpetually open for the entire stay, I was actually tempted to go buy tape to tape the cabinet door shut to satisfy my OCD, it was irritating to say in the least
No extra linens provided for the unit, irritating to say in the least since the ad on vacasa for the rental said that the unit would have linens there for guests, there were none, just a extra bed spread & coverlet that where both rather cheap looking to boot
Limited Parking, you can only have a max of two vehicles with you and if you intend on inviting friends over for a barbeque or something you would have to find a different area to meet up as there are no available areas for extra parking.

Close to the beach with private beach access, very easily traveled but it could be a bit of a workout on the way back up (get some steps in while vacationing, we love to see it!)
Close to the highway & easy to find, great for those looking to perhaps explore Newport (basically just using the unit as a place to come back and sleep at night is great)
Dog Friendly! I was so happy my ole boy got to come with and enjoy the vacation with us.

Overall; For the hefty price tag on this unit I was disappointed to say in the least of the state of the “condo” (which is such a glorified term for the unit, it's more like a vintage tiny home than a “condo”) and the amenities offered, I certainly would not return to this unit for another stay.
Manager response:
Hi, Brittany! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. The blinds are slightly warped from the baseboard heater, but they are currently providing privacy. The cabinets are in good shape though we have adjusted the hinges so they close all of the way. The shower head is working, and the tub has a built-in plug. The mold has been removed from the caulking, the bathroom door lock has been replaced, and continued maintenance will be taking place. Thank you!
Khaeris G. Aug 2020
This was a wonderful place to getaway yet feel at home. The kitchen was stocked up with pots, pans, and utensils to cook. The tv was a smart tv so we were able to use Netflix and Hulu which was great! The walk down to the beach was wonderful, however the walk back is a little tough since it’s all incline, so keep that in mind. All in all, we had an amazing time. Would definitely come back.
Kathryn S. Aug 2020
Love the beach access!!!
Leigh D. Jul 2020
It was perfect - very nice location - friendly neighbors and close to the water! Nostalgic!
Doniella C. Jun 2020
This cabin is perfect for a small family or a couple. The location is fantastic, right by the beach. It's easy to get onto Hwy 101 to see local attractions or eat at restaurants.
Wendy F. Jun 2020
The beach is easy to get to, has plenty of room to walk, tide pools. We felt well cared for and had everything we needed.
Amanda S. Oct 2019
We had a wonderful stay! We'll definitely be staying in this cute place again!
Lindsey G. Aug 2019
The beach access can't be beat, and the beach is secluded and beautiful. The area was nice and quiet. The chalet is a bit worn and old - cupboard doors are a bit off, blinds are broken, furniture is very old and damaged/dirty, and some mold in the bathroom. It could also use a good cleaning - lots of cobwebs everywhere. The accommodations were just dumpy for the high price tag. We would come back to the the chalets but stay in a different one that had been updated.
Manager response:
Thanks for your review! We are doing perpetual deep cleans and this home will be cleaned again next turn. We always check for mold and apologize if our new hires missed anything. We have scheduled maintenance to repair blinds and cupboards. We hope to see you again!
April M. Jul 2019
Loved the A frame, cute & cozy. Beautiful views. Definitely be back!!!
Sue M. May 2019
My two best friends and I stayed at Alpine Chalet in unit 9 this past weekend. The Chalet was just the right size for the three of us. It was clean and comfortable and I was pleased to have a full kitchen to work with for preparing out meals. The property is beautifully maintained and in a quiet setting with a view of the ocean and easy access to the beach below. While this is not a 5 star resort, it is definitely a place I would recommend for a nice get away. It is affordable, clean, and private.
Amy T. Apr 2019
Cute cabins close to sites and amenities.
clarence r. Apr 2019
Good place to stay. Plenty of things to fit your needs
Margaret S. Oct 2018
The location: a gem. There is virtually no ambient light around the Alpine Chalets, making the stars simply spectacular. Private access to the beach and a lovely bench perched over the beach with an ocean view. What could be better?
John B. Aug 2018
The chalet was comfortable but needed new Venetian blinds (the middle one sagged on one side and did not close), more dishes in the kitchen (one tall glass & 3 coffee cups plus mismatched dishes), and the bathroom sink did not drain. Would I come back? yes but would hope the place was not as shabby. Very comfortable otherwise.
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback to work with. We have ordered more drinking glasses and coffee cups, plumbing has taken care of the drains, and we are working on the blinds. Thank you!
Lee W. Jun 2018
Overall this Alpine Chalet is great in that its a chalet near the shore and what's better than that? I enjoyed my wk very much. This unit however needs at the very least some basic upgrades like yesterday. Even just new bedspreads and cute pillows from HomeGoods would be a super-cheap upgrade to start. How could anyone neglect their Alpine Chalet when they're just the cutest tiny houses to own and should always be very well maintained. A sense of pride and care is lacking in this unit. It's too bad.
Steve c. May 2018
Alpine Chalets very attractive well maintained clean and seems very well organized. We could not stay as long as planned but would gladly return.
Carmen P. Feb 2018
This was my second stay at the Chalets and I enjoyed them both times, we will be back again soon. It's quite and very private.
Joseph N. Jan 2018
absolutely love this place. shh. don't tell too many people. haha.
Monica A. Nov 2017
Love his place!! It's super cute and in a great location!
Tyler B. Sep 2017
beautiful area, access to nice beach, cabin was fine, served our needs well, dog friendly, for reasonable price.
Robert G. Sep 2017
overall love the place. its quiet and nice for what your paying for. the picnic area is great and the beach is great. my wife and english bulldog can not get enough. I have stayed in much more luxurious places but to have a beach that feels like its all yours and a quiet atmosphere its well worth it.
Beverley P. Aug 2017
Excellent customer service, good location (apart from some Coast Highway traffic noise) and pleasant walks and surroundings. Good basic vacation rental for adults, teens and well behaved dog!
Sandi S. Aug 2017
Quiet family stay minutes away from lovely beach. Great base for exploring the Oregon Coast.
Jason D. Jun 2017
Private beach is awesome and is really close to Newport which is super convenient
Guy W. May 2017
My wife and I stayed here for a week in late May. We had fabulous weather, lovely beach, and a comfortable and clean A frame cabin to call home. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean and tidy and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Valerie N. Apr 2017
We have stayed in loft #9 twice and we just love it. It's cozy and fun and refer to it as our "triangle house" - highly recommend the stay. Thank you!
Heidi J. Apr 2017
My boys especially loved the half loft- it was just a very cool little set up;) it was perfect for us- we took turns sleeping in each bed so we could have the full is homey and cozy and fun!
Joseph S. Mar 2017
Has been a favorite for years. We had not stayed there
for years and were glad to get back to it. The location
is fabulous.
Aaron H. Feb 2017
Cute little cabin that is tucked away in the trees. The views aren't the best but access to the beach is pretty good. They also take dogs which is very convenient.
Megan R. Feb 2017
Cute chalet that's a short walk to the beach and a quick drive to surrounding towns, such as Newport and Depoe Bay.
SARA B. Feb 2017
We had such an amazing time! Maybe it was that we were long overdue for a weekend getaway or maybe it was this precious gem of a location! Alpine Chalets is the perfect funky ocean getaway that is dog friendly, and the ideal place to escape without breaking the bank. We are going to make this a regular occurrence to restore our souls, hearts, and spend precious time together away from the city.
Sharon W. Dec 2016
I loved the tiny. Our needs are simple and this property offered a lot of that! In need of a little TLC - but the bed in the loft was comfortable enough and the appliances
Seemed to work just fine. The location is perfectly placed between Lincoln City and Newport and the sunset view was quite apectacular.
Gary R. Dec 2016
Relaxing, stress free mini vacation at the Alpine Chalet. My wife loved the kitchen accommodations. I enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Our dog loved the walk to the beach (so did I!).
Douglass H. Dec 2016
The beach access is wonderful. ????????????????????
Jason W. Nov 2016
Love the setting and view, but when it comes to the decor itself, there is a difference between quaint, old-timey, and cottage-y and just dated. This skewed towards the dated side (although we did look at all pictures so had full knowledge of what we were getting ourselves into)... I just thought the items in the picture would feel 'fresher'. Had to dust everything and then deep clean the kitchen before I could feel comfortable using the space for food preparations for us both, and when it came to the 'stocked' kitchen (pots/pans/utensils), we were a tad disappointed in the quality/cleanliness, and actually went to a local store (Fred Meyer's) to purchase a set of pots and pans so we could feel safe in knowing the vessels used to prepare all the great meals we had planned were sanitary.

Very quiet place, tranquil, beach was serene, but for future visitors, is a bit close to the main freeway.

We'd stay on the property again, but likely in a different, more updated chalet, and we'd be sure to bring our own kitchen cooking supplies.
Manager response:
The property is dated, but it is not in poor condition. The pots and pans will be replaced shortly. Thanks!
Heather M. Aug 2016
We stay here every year with a large group of friends - we typically rent most of the chalets for the weekend. We stay because the cabins are close to each other but separated and because of the large meadow for gatherings. It could be cute, but I would never, ever stay here if it weren't for our group. The property is in just average condition and the chalet we stay in (dog-friendly) hadn't been updated In the ten years we've been staying there. They have a noticeable septic problem. Proximity to the beach is good, which is a redeeming factor.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see this guest does not enjoy staying at these chalets more. This chalet has had new carpet recently installed, the furnishings are in decent shape, and the exteriors of all the chalets have just been painted. The Property Manager could not detect any septic odors, but he notified the groundskeeper of the complaint so he can keep an eye out for any septic problems.
Heather G. Aug 2016
Wonderful beds, high-quality pillows and linens--clean and fresh. Spacious. Just a little hike through the woods to the beach. Secluded beach with a surfing beach just a short walk north. HIGHLY recommend this experience!
Robert G. Aug 2016
My wife and I are very simple people. When it comes to a trip to the beach we do have to look for pet friendly places,just can't leave the bulldog at home. A lot places offer a lot things but what do u get for that premium price? Look into this place ,price is awesome not a lot of people ,grounds manager is one of the nicest guys I've ever met. Great views from the picnic area and trail to the beach. I'll be back for sure.
Diane N. Aug 2016
You couldn't ask for a better, private beach access.
Glenn M. Aug 2016
very nice
John L. Jul 2016
Corinne M. Jul 2016
Check-in was a little delayed due to (what looked like) our chalet being forgotten about in the cleaning process. Overall a very fun and pleasant experience. Quiet area and well maintained grounds. Will definitely be coming back!
. Jul 2016
The isn't a beach view property-it has nice beach access but if you are wanting to hear or see the beach you won't be able to from most of the rooms.

It's a quaint little area, the chalets are cute, ours was outdated but some of the others looked more updated.

The beach access is nice, the fire pits and picnic tables are on the way to the beach, a little walk down a hill from the chalets. The beach itself is beautiful, there weren't very many people.

We were happy that it was a pet friendly place, our pup had a good time lounging in the room and playing on the beach.
Karl K. Jun 2016
Great beach access (amazing beach!) and right off the 101 for access to everything else on the coast. Came with kids who have pet allergies so was a bit concerned with some reviews on other sites about cleanliness - but #9 was clean and we had no issues at all. There are no food seasonings/firewood/grilling accessories - bring your own. In general, the property/landscaping seemed well maintained. Would definitely recommend these cabins for small families.
Wyatt H. Apr 2016
Not the nicest place but you get what you pay for. Staff is friendly.
William M. Mar 2016
Cozy place right off the beach. Not 5 star quality but worth every penny for location.
Pete K. Jan 2016
An OK place, but not special. Had everything we needed.
Sherry H. Mar 2015
this is a great little place to stay. It's not your high-end resort, but it has everything you need. It is very quaint, and
Karthik U. Feb 2015
My wife, our pet & I enjoyed the stay at the Alpine Chalets Loft #9. It was cozy little cottage, with an extra bed in the attic too! It's a tiny little trek down to the beach, and you can also walk down to the Devil's Punchbowl state park, which is a perfect place for beginners wanting to surf.

It's not too far from the Newport Bay, and there are tons of restaurants that are in and around, that are amazing! Our favorites were the Thai Bay & the Local Ocean Seafoods (these guys even have a market where you can buy the fresh catches). It's a little further down from the overtly crowded Lincoln City, so when you go down to the beach, you're pretty much all by yourself. There is no public access to the beach, so it's absolutely serene!

We'd love to come back here, and next time we'll bring along the materials to get a bonfire going (they have two pits & barbeque grills that are open to all to use!).
Manager response:
Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time spent at this vacation rental. It is definitely in a great location. Glad that you felt it was such a good fit for you, your wife and your pet to stay. We appreciate your comments very much and wonderful 5 star rating. We look forward to hearing from you when you are able to come back!
Peter C. Aug 2014
Our vacation to Otter Rock was truly what family memories are made of. Our dog, 2 kids and my husband and I spent 4 nights in Chalet #9 it was clean and had all the comforts of home,the kids loved sleeping in the loft. They only wished it was bunk beds instead of a queen up there! Amazing location and mikes of beautiful beach, we walked forever on the sand, visited the Yaqui a Head light house. Newport for Undersea gardens, Ripley's believe it or not and mo's seafood yum. Took a day trip to Florence for Dune-bugging. Otter Rock was our favourite of all the beaches we visited my favourite was playing bocce ball on the sand and watching the was great and maintenance man excellent, he showed up within 20 mins of a phone call and fixed a plumbing issue promptly. Excellent service from all aspects of dealing with Vacasa. We definitely go back to Otter Rock again and stay at the alpine chalets and we have already recommended to some friends to do it to!
Manager response:
Thank you for your kind words. Were so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Jayne A. Jul 2014
Had a wonderful time the beach, running from Depot Bay to Newport and just plain hanging out! Fireworks in Newport seen from the bridge were great!! Would definitely return! Thanks so much for a great place to stay. Check out Gracie's Sea Hag in Depot Bay for Marionberry pie---THE BEST!!! Also the Chowder Bowl at Nye beach for chowder and garlic bread----yummmmm!
Guy G. Jul 2014
Good price for coastal rental, super beach access and awesome beach as well.