Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #1068

Zig Zag Chalet - Rhododendron, OR

120 reviews
Max occupancy: 7 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
24726 E Old Smokey Road, Rhododendron, OR 97049

Beautiful dog-friendly chalet with private hot tub, fire pit, & mountain views!

Tucked beneath the trees in the Mt. Hood National Forest, just an hour east of Portland beside the Zig Zag River, lays an intimate updated mountain cabin with room for seven. Not only will your group be ideally located just 20 minutes from the slopes of Mt. Hood Meadows, Mt. Hood SkiBowl, and Timberline, but this quaint Rhododendron vacation rental will keep you warm and cozy year 'round with its private hot tub and fire pit!

Wood-paneled walls and ceilings create a true cabin feel, while modern upgrades and a thoughtful design will have you living the mountain life in style. A gas fireplace within a beautiful stone facade in the sitting room will keep your toes warm and the ambiance inviting as you settle in with a glass of wine and some good conversation. Just above the mantle you'll find a large flat screen TV with cable so you won't have to miss your favorite late night show. Tucked in the corner you'll find a bistro table and chairs - an ideal spot for playing card games, spreading out a trail map, or keeping up with email on your laptop through the WiFi provided.

Around the corner, the compact yet fully equipped kitchen is brand new and ready to take on your homemade meals. Along with the basic necessities - electric stovetop, oven, microwave, and refrigerator - you'll also have a dishwasher to make for easy clean-up, as well as extras perks like a coffee maker, tea kettle and a slow cooker for that braised pork recipe you've been wanting to try. Serve up your specialty on the beautiful wooden table with handmade benches and room for all seven of you.

In the warmer months you may want to move the party outside and grill up some burgers on the gas grill while soaking up that fresh mountain air. Don't forget the s'more fixings! You'll have your own fire pit to roast marshmallows and swap stories around out here too. To top off the night, feel free to relax and star-gaze from the comfort of your private hot tub as you let the cares of your day slip away.

Back indoors, you'll find two full bedrooms and a loft on the second floor. The loft acts as a great kids' space, with a twin-over-full bunk bed and another flat screen cable TV and DVD player for movie night sleepovers. To the left is a small queen bedroom, with a platform bed and flat screen TV, and across the hall you'll find the master bedroom. Along with a plush queen bed and ceiling fan, the master bedroom offers a unique layout, with an in-room sink, stand-up shower, and toilet area for privacy and convenience. Downstairs, you'll find the second full bath and a side laundry room to help keep up with adventure soaked clothes. We know your dog loves the outdoors as much as you do, so your four-legged friend can accompany you on your mountain retreat (though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply).

Though you're nestled in the forest, you won't be too far secluded to experience some mountain culture. Stop by the Zig Zag Inn for some pizza and a milkshake, or head into Skyway Bar & Grill to catch some live music. Coffee lovers will definitely want to stop by Mt. Hood Coffee Roasters (some of the best beans around!)

While a primary reason to visit will naturally be the epic skiing found at Mt. Hood Meadows, SkiBowl, or Timberline, there's plenty to do in and around the Mt. Hood National Forest as well. Golfers (and history buffs) will enjoy rounds at The Courses, Oregon's first golf course, right next door at the Resort at the Mountain in Welches. Hiking trails are numerous throughout the National Forest, and plenty of boating, rafting and fishing opportunities can be found at the Salmon and Zig Zag rivers, as well as Mirror Lake nearby. When the snow falls, snowshoers and cross-country skiers will be in their element with plenty of terrain to traverse within minutes from your cabin. And don't forget the binoculars bird lovers - Rhododendron is home to two of the official Oregon Cascades Birding Trails.

Pack the skis, hiking boots, and clubs, gather up the family and get a head start on your Oregon Cascades getaway. Book this Mt. Hood vacation rental and let nature set the pace for a rejuvenating and adventure-packed mountain escape.

AMENITIES

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Gas fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Sound dock

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

120 reviews

Amy T. Jan 2020
My family of 4 had a fantastic stay at this lovely cabin! It was nicely arranged, we adored the location amidst the trees and not far from the creek. Being walking distance to the Skyway bbq restaurant was a big plus too. We loved the hot tub on the deck, the huge dining room table, the fireplace which really put out a lot of heat, and my boys loved the bunk beds upstairs. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the shower in the master bedroom was leaking/out of order so we couldn't use it (we just used the one downstairs that wasn't quite as convenient), and little things like we could only get 1 if the 3 TVs to work because the remotes seemed to be lost/incorrect for the sets. All in all, we loved it and will most likely be back!
Manager response:
Hi, Amy! We appreciate your review. The shower has been repaired, and we have verified all TVs and remotes work fine. We hope to see you again!
Abby B. Dec 2019
Had a wonderful time in this charming little cabin. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that we had 3 people stop by during our stay (hot tub repair person and two cleaning people). They were friendly but we didn’t expect it.
Nichole S. Nov 2019
We loved everything about this little gem!
Vickie E. Oct 2019
We loved this cabin and atmosphere! Everything you need available nice backyard for fire and hot tub! Private quiet and comfy beds with steaming TV and WiFi. Close to parks and national forest; hood river just a short drive. We will be back for sure we had a wonderful time!
Jenna B. Sep 2019
We loved this little cabin. It’s in a great, quiet little neighborhood. We felt like we were out in the woods, but nothing was too far away when we needed something!
Cindy D. Sep 2019
This home was fully equipped with modern conveniences, freshly painted and spotless! We had one question/issue at check-in, and our question was answered and assistance provided by two folks on the phone and especially the local caretaker, who lived down the street. The area is quiet, peaceful, and just lovely.
Brad I. Sep 2019
Entire family loved our stay!
Maureen N. Jul 2019
Great location for hiking near Mt. Hood. Picnic table with fire pit area behind the house was enjoyed! Master suite, bunk beds, and second bedroom are cozy! Highly recommend!
Catherine W. Jul 2019
Cute place! Great fire pit! Close to a great bbq place with fabulous outdoor seating you could walk to from the cabin! Perfect summer getaway!
Allison K. Jun 2019
Cozy, third year in a row we've come back here for a weekend away. It's the perfect size for five adults, without getting in each other's way.
Jessica D. Apr 2019
CON: tv didn’t have a lot of channels. It took forever for us to figure out the Roku stick.

PROS: We loved how well kept the cabin was and how updated the inside was. It looks small from the outside but it was not so in the inside! Pillows were AMAZINGLY comfortable. Hot tub was amazing.

Tip: don’t watch tv with the fireplace on. It overheats the tv!
pati k. Jan 2019
Adorable house with a great layout! Loved the beds, the bedding and the hot tub! Beautiful yard and easy to get to.
Pamela B. Nov 2018
Loved the hot tub! The trees, the location, the comfy down comforters! Very cute and cozy home with enough room for a small family.
Rebecca K. Nov 2018
perfect size
well-stocked kitchen
awesome fire pit and hot tub
just needed fire wood
SMARAN C. Oct 2018
Inside it’s great awesome maintenance. Lot of privacy and peaceful environment good customer support my kids were running and jumping all day.
Joan G. Sep 2018
The place was a cozy cabin in the woods with a lovely fireplace and a wonderful hot tub that we enjoyed each evening after a long day of sight seeing.
The staff at Vacasa was very attentive and delivered wash clothes when we needed them. We reported a leak in the upstairs shower causing water in the downstairs bathroom ceiling. We were told it would be fixed after we left.

One suggestion: A small lamp with a nightstand in the smaller bedroom would be helpful.
Manager response:
We’ve confirmed the local manager has caulked the shower, which should prevent further leaking. Thank you.
karen s. Jul 2018
Great place, well equipped and perfectly quiet for us. Bigger than you can imagine and lots of space for kids to run wild.
Lindsay B. Jun 2018
This is a decent little place. I stayed 2 nights with a friend and my dog and it was quite comfortable for us.

The floor on the back half of the house slants quite a bit, which made a little funnly to move around sometimes. The extra bathroom upstairs in the Master Bedroom is great. Both bathrooms are modern and good sized.

It's on a nice lot with a great fire pit and a decent hot tub. The inside has modern technology amenities throughout - fast wi-fi, 2 tvs, cable & roku.

The kitchen could have been better equipped. We had a hard time finding a few things we needed.

The grill outside is great and there was a 2nd propane tank in case one became empty.

The location was good, close to Welches and only about 20 min to Gov't Camp. We ate at the Huckleberry Inn twice, try the huckleberry pancakes! There are many hiking trails near hear as well.

If you walk past the house, you'll find the Zig Zag river just down the road with a nice place to sit for a minute.

I might stay here again, but not sure about taking a big group and wish it was priced a little better.
Allison K. Jun 2018
This is the second year in a row we've been to the cabin for a spring woods trip and it's great. Just right size for a half dozen folks and pretty surroundings.
Tonya M. Apr 2018
Our family spent two nights in this cozy little cabin. The hot tub was lovely even in the pouring rain. The house has heaters in every room and plenty of towels. We felt so relaxed and pampered in this lovely home. We will definitely come back again.
Debi H. Mar 2018
I love this house and will be coming back again.
Denise A. Feb 2018
I don't think the pictures did this place justice. I was a bit concerned because we had 3 adults and 4 kids, so we maxed out the occupancy. But there was plenty of room thanks to the smart floor plan and we had a great time, even when it rained more than snowed. Can't wait to stay here again.
Marisa L. Feb 2018
Nicely updated, renovated and cute cabin. Pretty well equipped. Loved the fireplace. The location is a turnoff.
Tim Y. Feb 2018
The cabin is perfect very clean and spacious and location and setting cozy
Elizabeth F. Jan 2018
Super cozy cabin, great location. A little quirky DIY remodel but it totally was great.
Loved popping in the hot tub before and after skiing. Loved the dining table for meals and games.
Rachel G. Dec 2017
Beautiful place.
Julie B. Oct 2017
We had a great time at this cabin in the woods. The house was clean, warm and cosy. Everrything we needed was there and well cared for. The hot tub was clean and the fire pit was ready to go with wood. It was a relaxing, wonderful place to be.
Claudia H. Oct 2017
Lovely house
Shelby M. Oct 2017
The house is great! It fit 5 of us comfortably. The house looks small from pictures and the outside however it feels very spacious on the inside! Great wifi if you are a student or working away from home as all 5 of us were using the wifi at once doing homework and had no issues. Great place to stay! Would recommend to all my friends.
Diliana V. Sep 2017
The cabin is well-equipped, clean and cozy with beautiful decor and comfortable furniture. Within close proximity to all mt. Hood has to offer. Wouldn't change anything about our stay. Had a great weekend and would recommend the zig zag chalet.
Kara M. Sep 2017
The little chalet was perfect! Our kids loved the loft and had fun watching cartoons from bed on Saturday morning! We didn't get to try out the fire put due to fire ban conditions, but the backyard was cute and private. Easy walk to the zig zag river. Perfectly clean and comfy!
Jeff G. Aug 2017
We will definitely stay here again
Luke D. Aug 2017
Property was great; clean and comfortable. Beautiful location, close to everything we wanted to do. Only complaint was with the check-in staff. We called at about 2:30 to see if an early check in was possible because we saw the housekeeping staff leaving. We were told that they couldn't bother to check on our specific reservation or property because they manage over 5,500 properties. Love the property, love the location, but customer service could definitely use some work.
Brian M. Aug 2017
We stayed here for three nights prior to our trip to Madras to view the solar eclipse. The property is as advertised: clean, quite, well-maintained and convenient to Mt. Hood. My wife and I backpacked one evening while the other couple stayed at the cabin. The Zigzag Mountain Trail is very convenient to the cabin, but is a challenge. Otherwise, the Zigzag area has a Wildlife Service ranger station just down the road, and an outfitter and well-stocked grocery store not much further away.

As for the cabin, the renovation was definitely a DIY project (cabinets open into light fixtures, doors open to cover light switches, etc.) but this adds to the cabin's charm. The dining room table is absolutely gorgeous! The cabin is getting a bit long in the tooth (caulking is cracking and separating, oven storage drawers are coming off tracks) and the WiFi was a bit wonky at times if this is important to you, but there are no safety issues and it was certainly clean upon arrival. The outdoor grill works great and the kitchen is stocked with basic supplies.

Communication with the rental company was great. Everything worked as described, and we would recommend this location to anyone wanting to access the great outdoors in the Mt. Hood area while maintaining a clean, quiet homebase for cleaning up and cooking before heading back out.
Cathy W. Aug 2017
This was a very nice place, location great for all activities we wanted to enjoy. Like how close it is to Ranger station, Mt. Hood, trails & lakes. Great set up lots of space downstairs in living area & sleeping spaces.
Debbie L. Jul 2017
Quiet, clean and comfortable. Hiking trails all close by and beautiful. Very kid and pet friendly. Love the sound of the river when sitting around the fire pit.
Barbara H. May 2017
Comfortable and cozy cottage close to all the activities in the Mt. Hood area. Cottage is clean and well appointed. Beds very comfor table. Very quiet neighborhood with a large outdoor area. Would definitely stay here again.
Krystal S. Apr 2017
Our stay in this cabin was beyond amazing! The place was decorated so lovely and minimal. Every chair, couch, bed and benches were so comfortable. The place was super clean, plenty of towels, toilet paper and even soaps! The kitchen was stocked with everything you'd need to cook anything. The gas fireplace warmed up the home along with plenty of heaters throughout the house. The hot tub was super clean, hot and jets were powerful also was not over chemicaled! I could go on an on about how lovely this place was, we can't wait to come back!!
K T. Apr 2017
The cabin was very comfortable and our kids loved playing in the yard around it!
Melissa D. Apr 2017
This cabin was amazing. We have decided to make it a year thing. It was quiet, clean and just what we needed.
Amanda O. Apr 2017
So Cozy!! We loved this little cabin and will be back to stay again.
Molly B. Mar 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cabin. It is so warm and inviting and everything is perfect for a weekend getaway with friends or family. The dining room table is a great size for everyone to eat together and play games and there is plenty of seating in the living room for good conversations by the fire. We really enjoyed the hot tub, fire pit, and all of the amenities packed into this cozy little place. Just perfect!
Laura Stevenson Y. Mar 2017
We had a delightful stay at the Zig Zag cabin! We went to ski, but unfortunately, it was raining - but we made the most of it. We did drive to Timberline Lodge (just a 20 minute drive near the summit of Mt. Hood) for lunch - well worth exploring, even if we didn't get the chance to ski. We stopped in the village of Government Camp (just 10 minutes east on US 26) and enjoyed the local historical museum there.

The cabin is in an intriguing neighborhood; we enjoyed our walks along the Zig Zag River. The cabin was ideal, cozy and extremely comfortable. It was a perfect place to get away from it all with my husband and our daughter. We enjoyed the hot tub right out the back door, and the peace and quiet in the mossy woods. The cabin was well-equipped with everything we needed. We looked at more expensive homes before we settled on Zig Zag cabin and we honestly feel like we didn't miss out on anything the more expensive cabins provided. We would highly recommend Zig Zag cabin!
Robyn D. Feb 2017
Comfortable home near skiing and hiking.
Kristina B. Feb 2017
We have stayed here twice and enjoyed it very much. The décor is very cute. It's a small cabin but cozy and comfortable.
Ted W. Jan 2017
We had a wonderful joyfilled stay at this chalet.
Les H. Dec 2016
This was our first year not being at home for Christmas. Our two adult sons (18 and 20) joined us to just have a quick get away and relax. The cabin was perfect. We had an amazing time and will be back.
Leanne S. Dec 2016
Decorated really cute, amazing dinning room table for games and family meals. Located near services, restaurants and the mountain, but feels like you are away from everything.
Erin M. Dec 2016
We loved staying in this cabin, everything is in great shape and very cozy. The hot tub is amazing! While there are neighbors around, there are plenty of trees so it feels so secluded. If you are coming here with large groups keep in mind the living room is small so a little hard to fit everyone in there for sitting around the fire. Would definitely stay here again!!
Rustica C. Oct 2016
Convenient location; very comfortable; quiet area. a great getaway.
Steven S. Sep 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. Beds are very comfortable and the area is very quiet.
Marla C. Sep 2016
Very close to a lot of hiking trails, yet secluded, quite and nice. Just a short drive to grocery, restaurants and Mt. Hood. We all loved the cabin and had a fabulous time.
Sarah J. Sep 2016
Overall we were very happy at our stay in the ZigZag Chalet. We had close access to the trails that we wanted to do and the hot tub felt amazing after several hours of hiking. The area was very quiet and free of light pollution which made for awesome nights sleep! All of the bathrooms and the kitchen were well maintained and clean.The beds were comfortable as well as the linens. Would definitely stay again if I ever get to come back to this really awesome state!
Vallerie R. Sep 2016
Great location and great place. The property was very clean and updated.
Raquel L. Aug 2016
This property is cute and nicely decorated. The hot tub was a plus (or so I thought). Too bad the housekeeping services ruined it all. We arrived finding out the house wasn't entirely clean as it should be (at first, it appeared everything was ok). Floors weren't cleaned --- there were dust and dirt on the floor. I asked my kids and hubby to remove their shoes to keep the house clean and that's when we felt all the dust and dirt on our feet --- gross! Housekeeping left a full load of towels in the dryer and the towels in the main washroom were damp and the bathroom rug was wet! Eeew! They even put extra towels inside the sink drawer that were damp ---- what were they THINKING?!?!?!
Instead of relaxing upon our arrival, I had to fold and put away towels, load the dryer and clean the floors. Remind me again why I went on a holiday, please?
When my husband and son used the hot tub, they couldn't last longer than 5 minutes because the backyard stinks (smells like animal poop) so nope, no one among us ever set foot at the backyard after that. A total waste of paying for the "hot tub fee" and "cleaning fee."
It's our first time to use Vacasa and initially I was impressed with their services. Until we got here and oddly enough, no one returned my email even when I voiced out the problems after I've received a "welcome email" from them encouraging me to reach out if something isn't right (how ironic!) I'm thinking that all the emails I received were automated and there's really no live person concerned enough to rectify our situation, genuinely wanting us to enjoy our time. Just too sad!
Manager response:
We are incredibly disappointed to see that this guest was so dissatisfied with their stay. The Property Manager has done follow-up training with housekeeping on how we expect our homes to be prepared for our guests. The yard is open and wildlife is abundant, but our staff keeps the yard up, so smell should not have been an issue. The Property Manager will make sure everything is tidy so it can be more enjoyable. Thank you!
Julie R. Aug 2016
My family stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely wonderful, kid-friendly with bunk beds. Only thing that could have made it better for the kids is to have Netflix on one of the 3 TVs. The cabin was adorable, so clean and modernized with super comfortable mattresses and bedding. LOVED the kitchen and big table. We had everything we needed. The backyard was a little more rustic but had a nice deck with a great BBQ and a hot tub. Such a quiet little neighborhood, it was a perfect vacation and will definitely return.
Thorin K. Jul 2016
This was a great little modern cabin in a nice, quiet location. Has everything you need, close to the park and town. Cabin is clearly either new or renovated recently, so it's clean, has modern lighting, nice cozy furniture, and newish appliances.
Karen C. Jul 2016
I spent 3 nights here with my husband and twin 10 year old daughters. IT WAS THE BEST GET AWAY I'VE EVER HAD! Being from the city, this was exactly what I needed! Green, green, and more green! The chalet is adorable and the scenery is amazing! My girls loved doing s'mores in the fire pit and watching chipmunks chase each other among the trees. I found my happy place early each morning with the short walk to the river. So much greenery!! Beds were very comfy, great long wood table for games and meals. I definitely hope to be back (and stay longer!)
Tim H. Jun 2016
We started in San Francisco then travelled up the coast. We saw and expiernced many great things. We stayed two days in the Mount Hood area at this great little cottage. It was by far the best two days of the trip
Hillary T. May 2016
I actually rented this cabin as a place to stay during a business event, but I would love to bring my family there! It is clean, spacious and well maintained. I loved stepping out in the morning and taking in the smell of pines and watching nearby deer walk by. I would love to come back for vacation and take advantage of the hot tub, fire pit and grill.
Martine N. May 2016
We had the absolute best experience at Vacasa's rental on Old Smokey Road. Everything from the size of the house, the ability to have our dog with us, the amazing outdoor space, and proximity to the mountain couldn't have been more perfect.

The house was so clean, tidy and cozy. We felt 100% at home! This house is an absolute must for any family or group of friends looking to have an amazing getaway near Mt. Hood.
Supriya B. Apr 2016
Cute little cabin in the woods just a short distance away from the river. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. The neighborhood is quiet. The cabin is easy to access and just a short distance of Hwy 26, so it is easy to drive to from Portland.

My kids loved the woods around the cabin. There are trails to the river and through the woods that are right outside the cabin. Also, the fire pit was a hit with smores.

There is a grocery store (Thriftway I think) just a few minutes down the road to buy any food provisions.

There were a couple of minor issues that were annoying, but not enough to detract from out stay. One of which is that it is not the best for toddlers. The cadet wall heaters are dangerous to little inquisitive hands and the stair case is quite steep and open on one side so a toddler could easily fall.
Brett D. Apr 2016
.
Kara L. Mar 2016
Our family of four had a fantastic time at this cabin. We can't wait to go back!
Meg D. Feb 2016
Excellent get away spot!
Megan L. Feb 2016
I love this house. It's a cute well appointed cabin. The decor and furnishings gives it a modern twist on a mountain cabin. The kitchen is well stocked with most everything you could need.

The beds were comfortable and the unique dining room table was large enough for our group. We can't wait to stay here again.
Jacques V. Jan 2016
Great location, close to the mountain, close to stores, yet secluded and surrounded by stunning nature
Phillip F. Jan 2016
When we arrived the cabin late our first night it smelt very bad, we relized morning of day 2 that we had no fresh towels in any bedroom or kitchen we were puzzeled by this. We finally opend the washer to find it full off all the towels and it was the source of the awful smell. We then tried to run the washer to find out it did not work. We also had no hot water and the master bathrooms shower did not work as well the sink and drawers were full of hair. NOT GOOD. After a hour my boyfriend figured out the hot water was shut off and that was why the shower was not working. This unfortunatly did not fix the washing machine. We could not stand the smell any longer so we hand washed all the dirty laundry from the previous tenants and dried them so we could have towels to take a shower. This took our whole second day of vacation.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will follow-up with housekeeping regarding the cleanliness. The Property Manager is working on a permanent fix for the washing machine and has ensured that there is no longer a damp smell to the home. This guest was given a free night due to these issues. This is a great cabin to stay in and has a very nice hot tub as well!
Bryon A. Nov 2015
While the cabin is a little small, it is very thoughtfully laid out and has everything you could want or need for a cozy retreat on Mt. Hood. We had our 15-month old baby with us, and enjoyed the ability to let her sleep upstairs while the rest of us (4 adults) enjoyed the VERY cozy gas fireplace, or lounged in the hot tub, or sat around on the beautiful wood table playing cards. Overall, we had a wonderful time and were even a little sad to leave. Full disclosure though, it's new construction, and some corners were cut. Some doors stick (master bedroom) while others won't latch (door to mud room) ... then there are the cabinet doors in the kitchen that hang slightly open. There are cute accents (seriously, that table!), but there is also a healthy dose of IKEA. And, as other reviews have mentioned, there was no pack-n-play though one is listed in the binder. Anyway, for the price and location (30 mins from Timberline, steps from Zig Zag River), we will definitely be back. One last word of advice: turn the dial in the fireplace to "pilot", then PUSH the dial in while holding the "ignite" button. Once the pilot is lit, you can release the dial and just adjust to your comfort. This level of description wasn't provided and it took us a while to figure out. Oh, and you might want to crack a window or at least close the bedroom doors upstairs, because things get real cozy REAL fast. Enjoy!
Sara R. Nov 2015
The owners of this property clearly put a lot of time and love into the selection of not only the renovations, but even the decor - all the way down to the backyard. This cabin was incredibly cozy, well heated (every room has a heater) and most importantly CLEAN! We were all blown away by the price we paid to get all that we did. The kitchen was fully stocked, bathrooms nice, and the water was consistently warm - in fact it goes from cold to boiling really fast, so be careful!

The cable and bluray player were nice amenities. The house had a couple of houses immediately next door but one appeared abandoned and the other one didn't have any residents in it. It was in a small and cozy neighborhood buried in the woods and far enough to not hear the highway. The beds were a little hard but it didn't cause me any pain or issues.

I can't say enough about how much fun we had. We will definitely be back this winter. I almost don't want to tell friends or family about this place because it's like a little hidden cottage in the woods!
Alvin C. Oct 2015
Perfect gate-away vacation house. The property is clean, cozy and convenient located (trillium & lost lake & dining choice). It was perfect for 4 adults and one cat visiting. We loved the outdoor hot tub and barn fire setup, will come back again!
Kristy O. Sep 2015
We really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin was perfect for our family of 5. Will be coming back!
Kristen W. Aug 2015
The zig zag chalet felt like home the second we pulled in the drive! It was easy to find, and everything that was communicated to me, as in where the keys were etc... lined up perfectly! The cabin was very clean, and smelled beautiful when you first walk in! Beautiful simply beautiful... I loved every minute we were there, I will definitely be back in the future! Thank you!
Patrick W. Jul 2015
Loved everything about this cozy little home nestled in the woods. It is perfect for a small family, we just brought a gate to keep our grandson downstairs or up depending on our activities. The walk to the creek down the road was a perfect short walk to tire him out a few times a day. Think we'll check it out this winter as well. Like that it is only an hour from house with a small well stocked grocery close by for items we forgot or decided on last minute!
Pamela C. Jun 2015
Quiet, clean, comfortable house. We were there during a heat wave and were able to stay comfortable with the ceiling fans and a new box fan they purchased for us. Thank you! We would definitely stay again.
Rebecca M. May 2015
My guests and I could not get over how clean and how well maintained this home was. It truly was a place we expect to come back to again and again. We were exceptionally happy with all the accommodations.
BRANDON F. May 2015
I would rent again. No complaints
Marilyn L. Apr 2015
Everything was lovely, warm and inviting. Thanks for such superb accommodations. We did get lost using your directions, however. Why not add: first left after Lolo Pass Road? We will happily stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for some peace and quiet. iPod station - yeah! Blender - double yeah!
Manager response:
Thanks for the suggestion! We hope to see you again!
Sabrina W. Mar 2015
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this property. This is our second vacasa rental and we've been very pleased both times. But this house was just PERFECT for us. We loved the updated amenities, everything was well placed and they had EVERYTHING we could want. We will absolutely be back. The cabin was very important as the weekend we booked wound up raining for our entire stay but we had a marvelous time anyway, a testament to the quality of this property.

The one trick with this property is the fireplace: The fireplace works great but it is tricky to get started. You need to push and hold down the pilot, spark it, then turn to the desired temp. Once you get it you're golden.

Thanks Vacasa!
Kyra S. Mar 2015
We stayed here for my husband's 30th birthday with our closest friends. The recent remodel is lovely. We had such a great time in the hot tub and sitting next to the fire inside and out. We enjoyed short walks to the beautiful zig zag river. We were bumbed to find no snow on our skiing trip but, being able to relax and play games in such a relaxing environment made up. We would love to stay here in future trips to Mt. Hood.
Manager response:
We are so happy that you loved the location and hot tub. We wish your husband many more memorable birthdays to come, and can't wait for you to visit Vacasa again!
Collin S. Feb 2015
We booked the cabin with the intention of skiing but with minimal snow we ended up doing some great hiking. The cabin was very comfortable and well planned out. The dinning room table was great for sitting around eating dinner and playing games. Unfortunately the hot tube had some maintenance issues and we were not able to fully enjoy it. Overall we would recommend the cabin to others.
Lorel B. Jan 2015
We found the cabin very cozy and appointed with almost everything you need. (could have used a scrubby for washing dishes). The neighborhood was nice to walk around. We had a great time skiing x country and found a lot of beautiful trails just up the road.We definitely reccommend this property.
Megan C. Dec 2014
This is a perfect getaway cabin. Very clean and cozy with everything we could need. I will be back!
Nick G. Nov 2014
Had a great stay, wish we could have stayed longer.
Marissa H. Oct 2014
Pretty cabin in the woods. Comfortable beds and clean hot tub. The cabin is well appointed and easy to get to. A great weekend getaway.
Jocelyn T. Sep 2014
We loved our stay at the Zig Zag Chalet -- it was the perfect retreat for us and our dog. The cabin appears to be recently renovated, with a great layout and pleasant design. We found everything we needed there -- from kitchen amenities to towels and blankets to basic toiletries. The fire pit was perfect for roasting marshmallows, and the hot tub was the perfect treat after a long day of hiking. We'll definitely be back.
Sarah K. Aug 2014
We were very pleased with the ZigZag Chalet. Everything was very clean and well decorated. The design of the chalet was well thought out. The hot tub was clean and very private feeling. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean and nice. We would highly recommend this little gem in the woods!
Manager response:
Thank you for the very nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit again soon!
Marvin W. Aug 2014
Had a little trouble locating the site originally, but once we got there we loved it. Extremely clean and well furnished.
Bruce A. May 2014
Having a crock pot in the kitchen was a plus. We went exploring for the day and when we got back to the cabin the smell of the Pot Roast cooking filled the air. Our dogs enjoyed the nice outdoor space behind the cabin. We are looking forward to returning soon. THANKS!
Jennifer C. Apr 2014
Very thoughtful design went into this cabin renovation. The wood walls, cork flooring, window treatments, great lighting and comfortable furnishings made this house feel so cozy and warm yet crisp and modern. We all slept soundly and comfortably with the quiet rush of the Zig Zag river off in the distance which also had the added benefit of drowning out any highway noise that we might have heard. Despite it's location in a relatively dense rural neighborhood just off the highway the house feels private and the dirt roads are fun to explore under the cover of tall pines. We walked down to the river and sat on an old log for awhile just taking in the warm sun, fresh air and the surrounding pine covered hillsides. This is definitely a cabin I would recommend to a small family or couple without hesitation. Can't wait for summer and a return visit!
Manager response:
Thanks for giving us your feedback. We're glad you appreciated the interior of the cabin and found it to be a comfortable and cozy place for a getaway! Hearing the river from the home is a pleasure, and sitting by the river in the sun sounds so inviting. Please do come visit again.
Dawn J. Mar 2014
This is one of the nicest rentals I have ever stayed in. It was great for our kids and so sweet to be able to bring our dogs. Thank you for such a nice place to get away with our family.
Krysti F. Mar 2014
Perfect log cabin with all the cozy updates you'd want. Simple patterns, color schemes...plush bedding. Loved everything about it! Especially the fireplace and log table/end tables. Hot tub was just right. The mud room is so convenient for winter weather and storing all of your wet ski/snowboard items. A word to the wise..........it was hard to find Tamarack St in the dark!! Once you do, directions are easy. Highly recommend!
Nicole B. Feb 2014
We really enjoyed staying at this cabin. It is absolutely adorable in the inside, and everything we needed was provided for us in the cabin. It has a great cabin rustic feel to it & would love to come back again!
MK R. Jan 2014
We loved this cabin and had a lot of fun. The cabin is very fun and comfortable and the bedding/linens are great! We loved all the cozy blankets that they had for us to use in the living room and the big rustic wood table makes gathering around with a group perfect for games!
Christina O. Jan 2014
nicely remodeled comfortable cabin