Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Cannon Beach Listing #1232

Rhododendron Grove - Cannon Beach, OR

36 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom Dog-friendly 
532 N Hemlock St., Cannon Beach, OR 97110

Dog-friendly cottage with private hot tub, deck, berry bushes, & beach access!

Retro charm and modern comforts meet in this colorful Cannon Beach vacation rental! You'll instantly dig the laid-back '70s style of this cozy two-bedroom cottage, but features like a brand-new hot tub, berry-picking right in the backyard, and a wonderful location within easy walking distance of the beach and a beautiful city park just might make this unique home your new favorite getaway on the Oregon Coast!

Rhododendron Grove is tucked between downtown Cannon Beach and the wilder attractions of Ecola State Park - the cottage lies exactly halfway (or about three-quarters of a mile) between the beginnings of the shops and restaurants and the park's southern boundary.

With dark paneling, orange accent furniture, and unique artwork, this is definitely one of the grooviest getaways in Cannon Beach. Staying at this lively cottage may take you back in time, but only in a good way, as the owners have been meticulous about keeping their unique retreat clean and comfortable!

The cottage is all one level, with an open floor plan that makes socializing easy. The living area has three sofas for spreading out after dinner, and one is a sleeper to accommodate extra guests. Watch a movie the modern way or the old-fashioned: you'll find a 42-inch flatscreen compatible TV, cable, a DVD player, and even a VHS! For more lo-fi entertainment, grab a board game from the storage closet, or spend each morning journalling at the lovely roll-top writing desk. (You can set up your laptop here as well, the cottage has complimentary WiFi.)

The kitchen is kitschy but fully functional, with all the appliances and cookware you need to prepare meals. There's no dishwasher, but you can teach the kids how you cleaned up after dinner in the good old days! Grab a seat at the breakfast bar while they wash and rinse, there are two orange barstools to choose from, or gather everyone around the dining table, with space for six under the stained glass lighting fixture, for a game of cards and dessert.

During sunny weather, though, you might be tempted to move the group outside! There's a beautiful new cedar deck with an extended picnic table, portable gas grill for barbecues, and a lot of green space to enjoy. Pick berries during the right season from the raspberry, blackberry, and blueberry bushes ringing the property, or take a soak in the hot tub after dinner. Since the cottage is on a double lot, there's a large yard to explore and since it's a dog-friendly rental, you can bring along the family dog (though a nightly fee per dog and minimum fee per stay will apply).

When it's time to hit the hay, there are two bedrooms down the hall. One has a king bed and one has a queen, but both offer large closets, a dresser, and well-stocked bookshelves for late-night reading. The living room's sleeper sofa will fit two more guests, bringing the total occupancy to six. The cottage has one full bath with a shower/tub combo, and a laundry room with a washer/dryer to keep your packing light even during a long stay.

Rhododendron Grove has a very peaceful location, but is still close to all the attractions that bring visitors to Cannon Beach! The beach is less than five minutes' walk away, and the shops and restaurants of downtown are under a mile from your door. The Lumber Yard, on the north end of the main drag in town, is less than a half-mile, so if you don't feel like cooking it's a very quick walk for dinner and a cold craft beer!

Whether you come to Cannon Beach for shopping, gallery-hopping, kite-flying, beach-combing, hiking, or simply relaxing with your family and friends, you deserve an Northern Oregon Coast vacation rental with as much personality as your loved ones! Come experience why the Rhododendron Grove is the perfect retreat in Cannon Beach.

*Please note that there is currently construction going on nearby.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Charter

DVD library

DVD player

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

36 reviews

Heather M. Feb 2019
This was our second time staying here and we just love it. It is a fantastic location, quiet, and the house feels just like home. Lovely 70s decor, and the hot tub is just perfect this time of year.
We are hoping to be able to visit again many times in the future!
Greg J. Jan 2019
Decent size place to stay. Big living room and kitchen. Hot tub was very clean.
Robert D. Oct 2018
Comfy home, great location.
Sandra S. Jul 2018
Walking distant to beach access and Cannon Beach shopping. It is on a quiet street and has a nice deck to enjoy the sun.
Eric F. Jun 2018
Retro is definitely the best word to use. LOL. Hey 60s/seventies look, however, extremely clean and most everything looked like it was brand new. The hot tub and being pet friendly was an extra bonus!
Deborah B. Mar 2018
Best vacation every
Heather M. Feb 2018
When I first walked into this little house, the amount of 70s decor surprised me, but I quickly fell in love with it. It was pleasantly quirky, and very comfortable.

The size was just perfect for the two of us, and may have been comfortable with more.

The beach access was a very close walk, and the town was very accessible to walk to as well. We also got to explore a new part of the area due to the location and hiked up to Ecola State Park and down to Crescent Beach. It was beautiful.

The hot tub was also a great size. It fit the size of the house well--small, and comfortable, but not too small. In winter, the foliage meant it was not *quite* as private from the surrounding houses, but it felt private enough.

The kitchen implements are functional but I would recommend if you plan on cooking a lot to maybe bring a few of your favorite cooking implements with you.

Overall it was fantastic--clean, quite, perfect location, and very comfortable. I hope to come back.
Greg J. Jan 2018
Set back off the main road so it was nice and quiet. The hot tub was a nice way to spend our evening.We will definitely stay here again.
Patricia K. Nov 2017
This property is straight out of the 70’s! We loved the dinette & carpet! A very cozy home base for beach walks and exploring the downtown shops & restaurants in Cannon Beach. Beautiful Ecola Park was a quick drive and well worth it! We appreciated the hot tub and washer/dryer.
Ian D. Nov 2017
I really enjoyed this stay! Everything was amazing!
Barbara C. Sep 2017
Across the street to park and beach! Nice size home with hot tub, clean and nice! nice area.
James L. Jun 2017
This Beachhouse was a perfect place for us to stay for a long weekend. It was very close to restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. It was also only two blocks from the beach. We could not have asked for a nicer stay.
John And Judith K. May 2017
The location is ideal for a walk to a park, to a beach, and to town.
It is dog friendly. You will need to leash your dog when you take the dog outside (no surprise). Furniture inside is very very nice, so you will want to keep your dog off of it.
The deck is large and well furnished for times outside when weather permits.
Rahul S. Apr 2017
We were a group of five that stayed there for two nights. The house was clean, comfortable and in a good location!
Talitha B. Apr 2017
We had such an amazing stay. The beach is just over the hill from the house and we felt comfortable dying our stay.
Channon K. Mar 2017
Quiet neighborhood, park beach across the street and quick drive to town. Loved the 70's vibe of house.
Brad L. Jan 2017
Great location, comfortable house. Kitchen amenities needs serious updating.
Emily J. Dec 2016
We had a great Thanksgiving stay at this property. In town but by the beach too, the location was perfect. Groovy, retro furnishings. Super clean and well cared for. Wonderful hot tub. Fully outfitted kitchen and large dining table. We loved it.
Matt T. Sep 2016
This house is fantastic as a vacation rental. The forest is soooo close and the hot tub was amazing. 5 minute walk to the beach and a brewery is just around he corner. The neighbors were polite and we really felt like we were welcome in the area! Highly
Highly recommend!
Crystal B. Apr 2016
Loved the amenities of this home, beds were comfy, quiet location out side of downtown, 2 blocks from beach, and hot tub with beautiful landscaping. Perfect for the 3 of us! We really enjoyed our stay.
April M. Feb 2016
The furnishings are very vintage but it was really clean and didn't have funky smells. We enjoyed having the hot tub!
Frank J. Feb 2016
Had a great time House was comfy and great beaches for walking Hot tub in the rain was perfect Dark and quiet at night great for sleeping
Heather B. Feb 2016
Cute little place
Kenneth S. Sep 2015
Nice location, nice accommodations. Hot tub was especially nice. Some minor maintenance issues which Eli responded to very efficiently and effectively.
Sharon H. Jun 2015
I was disappointed that there was a giant hill to the beach access and no parking if you drove up that hill. The other access was to an inlet and still a long walk to actually see the Pacific ocean.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that you were disappointed in the beach access, and we hope that you were able to enjoy the beautiful beach when you arrived. We also hope that you enjoyed staying in this home with its beautiful landscaping. Thank you!
Kay B. Apr 2015
We had a fine time in this house. We were expecting an older style and that it was. I found a 1960 road atlas in a drawer which fit in perfectly with the setting. Don't stay here if you expect a modern, well lit, spotless, newly smelling home. We enjoyed it for the older style that it is. One drawback was the one bathroom, we had issues with it at times. It plugged up with no plunger at one point, but Vacasa was timely in bringing one over. The new hot tub was a great addition. Thanks for the great stay.
Tracy S. Mar 2015
Bring extra covers/pillows if utilizing pull out bed; prepare adults/kids for only one television in the main room (none in the bedrooms)-although the internet connection was great. There is only one bathroom and with 6 people can be a challenge. The property manager Eli was great and helped address some issues we had and Vacasa is a wonderful company (we have rented with them in Lincoln city at a wonderful property). The property is definately ultra casual/older home, but the location is quiet and close to the beach.
Manager response:
Thank you for your excellent review! We are glad that this peaceful home worked well for you, despite the one bathroom and single TV! It is a great way to get away from all the noise and technology and spend some quality time at the beach! Our local staff has been notified of the covers/pillows for the pull out bed and are working on making sure those are provided for future guests. We hope you will come stay again! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Heather S. Jan 2015
My friend and I rented this house for the weekend to have some quiet time away from the kids and husbands and to work from our computers on our businesses. We specifically chose this house for the hot tub and location. We knew after hours of working, we would want to soak in the tub! The house did not disappoint! It was comfortable, clean and very peaceful. Although not right on the beach, we were still able to wake up to the sound of the waves and walk downtown and to the beach. One thing that was a little odd was that the landscapers came while we had the doors open and we're working and stayed working for over two hours. I was hoping to soak in some of the gorgeous sun that afternoon but with the guys there, It was a little uncomfortable. Although they were very friendly and polite, it may have been better if they were scheduled when guests were not there. Overall, we had a great experience and recommend this house for future stays. Thanks so much!
Manager response:
We are delighted to see that the home worked out so well for your business and girls' getaway. We apologize that the landscapers made you uncomfortable; they have us scheduled in for regular visits and do not work around reservations, but they are always polite, do great work, and are not there often or for a lengthy amount of time. We are glad that you were able to make use of the hot tub and enjoy waking up to the sounds of the ocean! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!