Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Brightwood Listing #13203

Riverside Retreat - Brightwood, OR

15 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 3 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly  (50 lb weight limit)  4WD/traction may be required in winter
64881 E Riverside Drive, Brightwood, OR 97011

Waterfront home w/ river views, shared pool - close to skiing/hiking - dogs OK!

Fall asleep to the soothing rhythms of the Sandy River at this four-bedroom Brightwood retreat, a dog-friendly home with a tree-lined deck and firepit, lovely river views, and outstanding access to a shared seasonal pool and skiing and hiking on the slopes of Mt. Hood.

This family home is located in a woodland neighborhood between Mt. Hood Highway and the Sandy River, just two miles west of Mt. Hood Village. Enjoy summer excursions to the top of Tom, Dick, and Harry Mountain on the Mirror Lake Trail 13 miles east, and return each winter to ski and snowboard at Mt. Hood Skibowl (15 miles east), Timberline Lodge and Ski Area (21 miles east), and Mt. Hood Meadows (25 miles east).

The living space was designed to bring the outdoors in, with a wall of natural stone and windows and glass doors that frame the surrounding woods. Build an afternoon fire in the wood-burning fireplace; kick back with a good book, a board game, or the free WiFi; and gather with your loved ones on the sofa to watch movies on cable, Netflix, or the Blu-ray/DVD player.

Wake up each morning to walk your dog around the neighborhood, returning home for pancakes at the breakfast bar or dining room table (please note that dogs must be leashed at all times, must be less than 50 lbs., and are subject to a nightly fee). Leave the plates stacked in the dishwasher, bring the newspaper outside to the deck, and sear a few burgers on the charcoal grill when lunchtime rolls around. Spend your evenings making s'mores around the firepit, gazing at the stars above, and dealing hands of poker back inside in the game room.

Find the summer escape or ski retreat you've been dreaming of - begin planning your Mt. Hood vacation today!

*The seasonal pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day, depending on weather.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Children's games

Game room

Gaming system

Children

Pack-N-Play

Baby gates

High chair

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Pool : Shared

Space heater

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Blu-Ray player

Cable

DVD player

Netflix streaming

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Enclosed yard

Firepit

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

15 reviews

Heaven G. Jan 2019
This house was in a nice quiet neighborhood and only about a 3 minute drive from groceries, liquor, and snow gear rental. And about a 20 minute drive from ski bowl. They had everything we needed for cooking, pots, pans, untensils, etc. House was clean aside from one shower which the cleaners must have forgotten, as it had the shampoo and soap half used on the floor inside. Plenty of space for multiple families to share, could definitely fit more people if some are small children that dont mind sharing a bed. Tons of extra blankets in each of the closets, and a whole closet full of games and puzzles. They provided fire starters and a few logs for the fireplace. It was nice to be able to walk down the short trail to see the river, and we would have definitely taken advantage of the firepit and bbq had it not been raining during our stay. It would have been nice to be able to check in a little earlier than 4:00pm, but we managed. We will definitely be back next time we take a family trip to Mt Hood.
Thomas P. Dec 2018
This home is nicely appointed, roomy and easy to get to. Nice walk along the riverbank just out the back door.
DeEarl B. Oct 2018
Very quiet and peaceful neighborhood. Beautiful view, very spacious home.
Allyson B. Sep 2018
The river access was our favorite part! The house was in a great location - close to trails, restaurants, and groceries. We had a family of 8, and had plenty of room for everyone!
Barbara D. Aug 2018
There are many good things about this house. It is big and very well equipped. The upstairs is nice and the living room is very comfortable. However, the VCR upstairs didn't work. The VCR downstairs has a broken door but it works and we could have movie night there but there is not enough comfortable furniture.
The downstairs is a little more worn in but perfectly comfortable. However, the shower downstairs had a lot of mold along the edges of the floor in the shower. The upstairs shower is better but still not great. The kids bedroom smelled moldy and one of the beds had bedding that smelled quite bad. My biggest complaint is no hair dryer. I never bother to carry one because there is always one there. I found one at Mountain Building Supply but then the outlets in the bathrooms didn't work for it! I used it 10 feet from a mirror in a bedroom. The location is excellent in a lovely neighborhood with access to a pool. The view of the river is mostly obstructed by trees but there is a short path from the house. There is also a gat a few houses down past which you can get to the river and a picnic bench. When we arrived there were some things broken including at least one loose and one missing river rock near the back door. There is an adorable small foosball table which is broken and should be taken out. A hazard if you have small children. And, of course the VCR situation. No fault of the house but beware that this is not a good place for elderly or disabled as it requires a flight of stairs to get to the living areas. The owner has put together a nice book of hiking trails and restaurant options and the area is beautiful with close by good places to eat. There is also a poker table and lots of games and a really nice set of poker chips. All in all a good trip but I wouldn't stay here again.
Manager response:
We checked both Blu-Ray players and found them working well, though the downstairs player has been replaced due to the broken door. We inspected for mold in the showers and found some staining that we have advised the owner about, but no mold. We were also able to discover the hair dryer under the bathroom sink where it belongs. The loose rocks have been secured, and we were unaware of, or able to locate after receiving this review, any foosball table on the property. Thank you!
Nicole D. Aug 2018
Our family had loads of fun here. There's plenty of room for everyone and it's really close to the river. The water is moving pretty quickly so stay close if you have little ones. It was really hot when we were there. There isn't AC but they have fans in all the rooms and stays cool pretty good. Plus, swimming pool just down the way! We went every day. We'll definitely come back.
Lois M. Jul 2018
Overall it was a nice size house in an enjoyable area. We liked the pool (that was a 5 minute drive) and the sound of the sandy river off the back porch. The problem we had was how well this was advertised as such a perfect cabin, when it actually is pretty run down. The kitchen was in disarray with drawers falling apart, missing essentials, and broken coffee pot. Beds were uncomfortable. Deck felt unsafe. Downstairs smelt musky and the downstairs shower didn't drain, leaving us all sharing the one upstairs. I would have a hard time recommending this, until some of those issues are improved.
Manager response:
We greatly appreciate this feedback and are sorry to see this was our guest's experience. The kitchen drawer has been glued tight, we have provided all new cookware, the deck board has been replaced, the coffee pot is working, the carpets have been shampooed, and the shower drain cleared. Thank you!
Katie W. May 2018
Being a sterilization technician I am very picky with cleanliness; and upon arrival this cabin smelled clean and looked/felt very clean and organized. Everything was stocked well, the firewood was too wet to burn so be sure to bring your own if wanting a fire. Beautiful quiet location just a short walk to the river. Highly recommended!
Erin M. Mar 2018
Enjoyed our stay with two families fitting in comfortably. House was clean, but a bit more aged than you can tell from the pictures. After a little bit of initial disappointment at the house being not quite as nice as we were expecting we had a nice stay for our ski weekend. Loved being right off the river!
Brenda M. Jan 2018
Good value, well appointed home.