Virtual Tour
USA California The Northern California Coast Elk Listing #1333

Safe At Anchor - Elk, CA

101 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 Bedrooms 1.5 Bathrooms Dog Friendly  (45 lb weight limit) 

Dog-friendly home w/private hot tub & spectacular ocean views - close to beach!

Please Note: Due to the nature of the home, we are unable to accommodate children under 12. Also note that the wood stove is the primary method of heating for the main floor. Thank you!

Safe At Anchor is a cozy, dog-friendly two-bedroom Elk vacation rental at the end of a road. The picturesque ocean view is center stage in the living room, and this Mendocino County vacation home has a charming rustic ambiance that invites you to have a seat and leave the cares of the world behind...at least for a few days. Plus, you'll have your own private hot tub!

Just to the east of California's picturesque Highway 1, you'll be near both the Navarro River and the Pacific Ocean. The charming little town of Elk is just five miles south and is filled with a couple of popular restaurants and a relaxing, rejuvenating day spa. And from here, Mendocino is only a 20 minute drive away for gallery browsing and a number of different restaurant choices.

Inside this Elk getaway, the efficient wood burning stove provides plenty of heat for the main floor. The living room houses an impressive, eclectic reading library, along with CDs and a stereo for your enjoyment. In the evening, you'll have a 46-inch flat screen TV, satellite service (including HBO, Cinemax, and the Red Zone), and a DVD player for the evening's entertainment.

The galley kitchen is fully equipped with many conveniences and appliances, including a food processor, coffee grinder, blender, and waffle iron. You'll also have WiFi in case you need to find a recipe online. And you could even bring a few dogs (though a small nightly pet fee applies and there is a maximum weight limit of 60 pounds).

The queen bedroom boasts another 46-inch TV with views of the redwoods through the windows (both this bedroom and the living room TVs have Dish service). The beautiful recycled barn-siding adds to the warmth and craftsmanship you can see throughout the house.

Downstairs, through an exterior entry, is another bedroom with a king sized bed, a basic half bath, and another TV (all of the TVs also have DVD players). There are two levels to the ocean-facing deck, one for the outdoor table with chairs and a gas grill, the other deck has the hot tub, along with a great view. The second bath is located just under the home.

A family getaway with all of the comforts of a private Mendocino County retreat paired with modern conveniences, await you at this Elk vacation home. Come prepared to leave your worries behind while you enjoy gorgeous ocean views and short driving distances to great restaurants, the Navarro Beach, and the idyllic, coastal town of Elk.

Plan a stay at this cute and cozy Northern California Coast vacation getaway and enjoy a relaxing vacation less than three hours north of San Francisco.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Children

Not Suitable For Children

Features

Fireplace

Washer Dryer : Private

Space Heater

Wood Stove

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Dish Network

DVD Library

DVD Player

Stereo

TV

Wireless Router

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water View

101 Reviews

Joseph M. Sep 2018
We loved the view, enjoyed the peace and tranquility.
Kevin B. May 2018
.
Tammie K. Apr 2018
We all loved the cabin. The view was amazing, the cabin was very comfortable, clean and had everything you could need for some time away. We would definitely stay here again.
Elizabeth M P. Mar 2018
The location was great. The view amazing and very relaxing.
Tyler E. Feb 2018
Loved the cabin. A bit pricey, but I guess that is the going rate in these parts. Everything we needed was included. The view was fantastic. The downstairs room has a musty smell, but our young teenage kids stink anyways so it was perfect for them. The ONLY disappointment was that the hot tub had WAY too much chlorine in it to actually be able to enjoy it. We would definitely stay here again if we can use the hot tub.
Manager Response:
We appreciate the head's-up and will be much more cautious with the hot tub chemicals. Thank you!
Alexandra N. Feb 2018
This place was so great! Whale watching from the living room window, soaking in the hot tub under the stars, close to the beatiful Navarro River beach. The cabin was small (really best for 2 people) but super cozy, beautifully decorated and stocked with movies, music, and books. Love this house, we will definitely be back.
Angela L. Dec 2017
Amazing cabin loved the small town feel of the surrounding areas. Beautiful coastline and forest. Werefeom Florida so this was a great experience for us.
Colleen W. Dec 2017
Perfect retreat for a writing project !
Amanda B. Dec 2017
Romantic and secluded with amazing views and nearby local stores.
Laura O. Nov 2017
I went here with my mom and sister, and the 3 of us really enjoyed our stay! Safe at Anchor is very cozy and comfortable for 2-4 people. We loved the wood burning stove and the views of the ocean. Everything we needed was included, and the location is great--so close to the little town of Elk and not far from Mendocino and Fort Bragg, which we love. It was very relaxing and fun to stay there. The only real drawback to the house is the musty smell in the lower bedroom... you may want to bring some type of air freshener to make your stay in that room more pleasant (if you use it). Otherwise, the house is great!
John R. Oct 2017
The place had a amazing feel. With a amazing view. Little bit of woods for him and a little bit of ocean for me. It was perfect. The down stairs bedroom was a little musky smelling at first, but the smell got better after it was opened up and was sprayed with girlie stuff.

We loved it.
Laura B. Oct 2017
I took my husband to this quaint little cabin in the woods for a 4 day retreat away from all the hustle and bustle. what a perfect spot to get away. the views are amazing. it wasn't Whale season but we saw a whale in the distance. I could only imagine watching during season. We fully enjoyed the property. never turned on the TV's, relaxed in the hot tub, BBQ'd some nights, warmed up by the wood burning stove and had the most fabulous 4 days. There is so much to do if you are looking for adventure... Elk has a cute Market and quaint pub. Fort Bragg and Mendocino are so close and fun to visit. the beach down below was beautiful and nice to explore. If you just want some R&R this is the place. I hope to come back sometime in the near future.
Kevin L. Oct 2017
Safe at Anchor was our temporary home for 4 nights during our honeymoon. Having never experienced the West Coast, it was the perfect environment to enjoy nature and the views. The view of the ocean through the bay window was phenomenal, and we couldn't have imagined a better location for our honeymoon. It was wonderful to go "off the grid," and we didn't mind the lack of cell phone service. The internet worked flawlessly, so we were still able to communicate when needed. If you are looking for a quiet, cozy, romantic getaway, this is the spot!
Dustin C. Oct 2017
My wife and I enjoyed getting away from the hustle and bustle. The home had everything we needed including beautiful scenery and charming communities to visit nearby. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Corey W. Oct 2017
Wow! What a great find. This cabin is secluded and has an awesome view of the ocean which is about a quarter mile in the distance. There are a few other houses nearby, but unless you're outside on the driveway, you'd never know it. When you're in the cabin or out on the deck or in the hot tub, it is just you, the trees and the ocean. Nearby Albion and Elk are quaint little towns with a few shops and restaurants. Awesome and relaxing retreat.
Irene H. Sep 2017
Safe at Anchor is a lovely, rustic little house where you can come to meditate, write a book or just unwind. It is somewhat secluded though there are a few houses nearby...you just don't see them or hear noise from them.

The hot tub has a lovely water view which you can enjoy morning, noon or at night. It is a special place to go by yourself or with a special person.
Owen S. Aug 2017
Secluded area. Good hot tub pressure (albeit old). Great reading book selections. FUNCTIONAL kitchen.
Updating the deck should be addressed
Heather G. Aug 2017
LoVeD this property. The artwork and decor was neat. Felt very cozy. The huge window in the living room was picture perfect.
Was not impressed with the Vacasa service. Would not rent through this company again.
Bridget L. Aug 2017
The house is wonderful, the area is great. The way the doors are setup makes it easy to lock yourself out. I was locked out and called for help. over 90 minutes later someone returned my call asking me to check for a 2nd lock box (which did not exist).
Kathleen P. Jul 2017
We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed the beauty of the area. The sunsets, the cliffs and the ocean views along HWY 1, as well as views from the cabin, were spectacular. But the cabin itself was just a bit disappointing. The kitchen and full bath lacked in the quality, space and features I expected. Yes I know this is a cabin, but I was still surprised by the teeny tiny shower and the lack of garbage disposal and dishwasher and the low water pressure. Also wasn't thrilled with the location of the second bedroom being outside and downstairs...maybe if we had a couple of teenage boys with us. I guess we are not used to cabin life...a little too isolated and rustic for us. Everyone's different!
Faren M. Jul 2017
Looking out the windows and seeing the Pacific Ocean and the Navarro River from the same spot blew me away. Wonderful property for a weekend getaway! Will definitely return!
Ann K. Jul 2017
Enjoyed our time at this cozy comfortabel cabin in the woods. Beautiful views from the hot tub and convenient location for exploring the area. Well stocked with books, CDs and music. We were disappointed in there being no internet in spite of the advertising, but a great place to unwind and explore the area.
Douglas D. Jun 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Safe At Anchor. The location is amazing and it was nice to relax and get away from our normal lives for a week, but like Cinderella the clock struck midnight and we had to leave way too soon. We highly recommend a stay at Safe At Anchor if you are looking for some peace and quiet and being away from the crowds. The beach is near by and you are a mile away from the Navarro Red Woods so there is plenty to do and see.

Doug and Teresa Drake
Kenneth F. Jun 2017
The tucked away location and the view can't be beat! This cabin has all the amenities you will need and then some.

Enjoyed sitting on the front deck and watching the bunnies and other wild life. The view from the hot tub is amazing.

Definitely will be coming back!
Heather E. Jun 2017
Very beautiful, rustic cabin retreat space. Loved the proximity to so many activities, wine tasting, beautiful hikes and beaches. Felt remote and relaxing, enjoyed the special touches within the cabin, books, games, and many DVD's and CD's. Enjoyed the hot tub with the ocean view.
Anthony F. May 2017
If you want to get away and just sit and relax with that beautiful view, this is the place for you. We loved just hanging around, reading and going in the hot tub with the awesome views. Everything was great and definitely can't wait to go back again.
Rachael O. May 2017
Really lovely cabin with stunning views. Perfect for a quiet, weekend getaway.
Roy D. Apr 2017
What a great house and terrific location. It's less than a mile from the Navarro river estuary and just a few miles from many wonderful places. The house itself is incredibly well stocked. There are more different coffee making devices than at your nearest starbucks. Every pot, pan and utensil except - I think this is my one and only complaint - and it's ridiculous - there is no large frying pan. Just small ones. There is an enormous handled Pot but it is not a frying pan. Had to make small pancakes. We somehow survived. I actually LIKED the ten or so small steps down to the house.
Oh shoot I do have another complaint. The thermostat is impossible to access cause it is partially behind a bookshelf. That's really OK though as there are ample space heaters and a wood stove. Just wish we had known in advance jhat the space heaters were there cause much time was spent trying to jam my hand.down to where the thermostat is.
But really, this is a wonderful house. Furnished with very interesting decor and we love the old barn wood walls!.
Again, can't overstate how well stocked the house is. A fantastic selection of books! a zillion cds and dvds. Enough blankets and pillows for a platoon.
We really loved this place.
Marybeth M. Apr 2017
Enjoy the cabin in the forest with an ocean view. The hot tub was incredible and the home is just minutes to the beach. Home feels very private from neighbors. Overall a great place to stay!
Nick F. Mar 2017
Excellent place to stay would highly recommend
Becky V. Mar 2017
View, privacy, and great hot tub. Loved the cabin. Best view I have had in forty years of renting on the coast. Small home but perfect for us. Great for getting away and relaxing.
Toby K. Jan 2017
This was my second trip to this charming abode. Very functional kitchen, a stunning view, peace and quiet. A hot tub with a view. Excellent hiking within a short drive. The best of Northern California!
Susan B. Nov 2016
Lovely retreat. Close to everything but not too close. Very quiet and relaxing.
Ledford House Restaurant was fabulous!
Sky S. Nov 2016
The house was incredible, the location, the views and the house itself. It is decorated in an eclectic style and not in the generic blaw style of a lot of vacation rentals. It is flattering that the owner trusted us with all the wonderful furnishings. We felt totally comfortable and it was very difficult to leave. We will be back!
Louis B. Nov 2016
While you are here, you have to go to the Elk store, park across the street and walk down to the most beautiful beach in the world. Dogs off leash is fine! Do not expect your phone to work at the most charming get away, but you can go online and you have satellite tv after you figure it all out. reboot your computer to connect to wifi Wild turkeys will greet you so watch the dogs! .
Ralph W. Oct 2016
Great place to stay and relax!!!
Clifford & Jennifer C. Aug 2016
It is a perfect location for access to stores, restaurants, beach access,and the redwoods, or fishing in the ocean or river. The hot tub is very pleasant and clean nice to enjoy after a long day at, safe at anchor.
David K. Aug 2016
Safe at Harbor is a lovely 2 bedroom cabin tucked away in the woods about 15 minutes south of the town of Mendocino. It's a great place for a romantic getaway in a beautiful location. It could also be good for a small family as there are two bedrooms. The house is well furnished and comfortable. It is nicely secluded with very good privacy. It is still close to all the attractions of the Mendocino-Ft. Bragg area.
Edwin C. Aug 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. The view was nice and the privacy was great.
Dennis H. Aug 2016
Loved the location...loved the jacuzzi...loved the weather.
Tod K. Jul 2016
Spa was broken which was a huge disappointment and absolutely no warning about that. The downstairs bedroom....imagine sleeping under your house. You know that dank damp smell under there? Well that's what your going to be sleeping in. It sucked! The bathroom has no electric outlets and the toilet barely flushes. Too bad cuz it's a cute place that really is poorly maintained.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that this stay was not more enjoyable. The hot tub is up and running and working well. Due to the nature of the surroundings of the home there is a particular odor found in it; there is also a dehumidifier provided for guest use in the home to help alleviate the odor if it becomes overbearing. The toilet is low-flow due to the water shortage and the owner's attempts to do their part in the matter. We hope this helps alleviate any concerns.
Donna A. Jul 2016
Safe at Anchor was perfect for two of us on a quick getaway. The house is exactly like the pictures. Just know that the shower is very small (think cruise ship shower size). We loved the house and the area and would definitely rent this house again!
Kim B. Jun 2016
If you are looking for a very private wooded getaway, this is your place!! Can not wait to return. Had an amazing birthday and anniversary with my beloved. Everything about this property is awesome!!!
Michelle B. Jun 2016
What a fabulous location and beautiful house! We never tired of sitting out on the decks watching all the wild life being busy with their daily activities. The view is amazing, we love the wooded, natural surroundings. The Hummingbirds are so much fun to observe! The house/cabin itself is an architectural work of art, it really has the feel of a home, warm and inviting. I really loved reading about and getting to know the Clayton family, love, love, love the book collection, art work, photo's, music, wood stove, etc... A fabulous time had by all!
Oh and we found the house fully stocked with everything we would need to make our stay perfect. I was confused by some of the negative reviews I read about things not being available at the house, my experience was nothing but positive and I thought the house was very well stocked. We will be going back to this location as often as we can, we love the Mendocino coast!
Carol R. Jun 2016
From Las Vegas....very much enjoyed the quite, the view, the beach and surrounding towns...not to mention the cooler temp and moisture in the air... WONDERFUL :o)
Lori M. May 2016
Lovely older cottage with beautiful forest and ocean views. It's pet friendly but don't bring a big dog the yard is small and unfenced. The upstairs is very lovely with lots of nice art and plenty of games DVDs, CDs and books. The downstairs is kind of bijoux. My biggest issue is the place is TINY. I'm 6'5" and large framed and the bathrooms (particularly the shower) just didn't fit me and the counters in the kitchen are crazy low. My wife is only 5'6" and she found the kitchen uncomfortable. It says the place can accommodate six persons but they'd better be REALLY good friends because you'd be on top of each other. Best for a romantic weekends for couples.
Karen S. May 2016
Love this place.
PHILIP T. May 2016
But don't go here if you need communication for business.
Internet at the property excellent but wireless in the area either non existent or patchy.
Thoroughly enjoyed the property, that was like a home rather than a rental, but be prepared to run out of logs and become creative to compensate - driftwood nearby!!
No roadside fruit/veg vendors to speak of and nearest supermarket in Fort Bragg about 15 miles to the North on twisty narrow roads.
Lots of good wine produced in the area available in shops for less than $20.
Don't go to a vineyard wine tasting for discount wines - local shops cheaper by about $5 - not like France and Italy!!! You can though buy wines not distributed to local shops.
Aimee S. Apr 2016
This place was a great find. The properties ocean view alone was amazing, but seeing it from the jacuzzi and your livingroom was even better! The kitchen was clean and useable and we spent hours on the deck and in the jacuzzi. The best way to getaway on the coast! I'd love to come back!
Kellin G. Apr 2016
It was amazing, disappointed the TV didn't work and we found drugs on the premises , but overall the house and view was absolutely spectacular.
Manager Response:
We sincerely apologize that illegal substances were found on the property; we will be sure to follow-up on the situation and ask housekeeping to be more thorough when cleaning.
Amelia S. Apr 2016
Great location away from town. Absolutely love the river and beach near by. We made friends with a hummingbird and watched the ocean from the couch.
Tyler W. Feb 2016
This home is very cozy and has got everything. Location is isolated and on the edge of firest. You can see river and ocean from the jacuzzi. Plenty of Tvs, Cds, Dvds, games etc. We had a great birthday weekend here and are sure to stay at Safe at Anchor again!
Henry M. Feb 2016
me and my wife love staying on the ca coast the cabin was very rustic which we like there were a couple of thing that we didn't like 1 was that in the morning my wife went to cook breakfast and she found a pan that had food in it like someone just cook some eggs and just threw it in the back of the cupboard 2 also the dishes were still wet and had grease on them then when we went in the hot tub it had way to much chorline and the deck was supper slippery we almost fell i am one not to complain but when you spend this can of money things shouldn't be this way but we made the best of it thank you
Jan C. Jan 2016
I chose this vacation rental because I wanted a quiet lovely place for a cozy retreat for 2 nights. The photos were nice, and I found that the property and home were picturesque as the pictures showed. The house is cute, the couch and bed are comfortable. There was a fair amount of traffic noise from nearby Hwy 1, and that took away some of the quiet that I was looking for.

When I got there, and got unpacked, I wanted to start a fire because the house was cold. There was wood stacked near the wood stove, but it was wet. There was only one small piece of fire starter, which was damp, too, no newspapers or kindling, so I didn't have a way to start a fire. My cell phone didn't work (which I expected in this location) so I went to the house phone to call the property management company to let them know that I needed fire starters. Whenever I would try to dial the number, I got some kind of recording, but the call never went through. I looked at the house information booklet, but nothing was mentioned as to how to use the phone. So I ended up sending an e-mail to my brother, and asked him to call the company and ask them to call me on the house phone. He called several times, and left a few messages. Finally, at night, they called me back. I explained the situation, and the woman on the phone said, "Why don't you just go to a local store and get fire starter?" I told her that there is no store nearby. I asked her to please get in touch with someone local for help, and to also find out how I can use the house phone. She said that she would do that.

By the middle of the next morning, I still had no call or response. I was very cold, uncomfortable, and getting very frustrated. I continued to try to use the phone, and finally figured out the trick to use it, with having to dial a "0" first. However, it would only make local calls, and the property management firm has a long-distance number. I could have used a personal calling card, but I didn't know to bring one with me, nor did I want to have to use my own card to get help! I ended up e-mailing my brother again, and asked him to again call for me. He left several more messages, and someone finally called me from the management company and told me that they could get the local person out asap.

The guy finally arrived with fire starter late in the afternoon, and was kind and apologetic, but I was not a happy camper. By the time I got the fire going and the place warmed up, it was well into the evening. As lovely as the location is, these frustrations took away my enjoyment of the retreat.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your stay was so cold and that it was so difficult to reach us. The Property Manager will ensure that fire materials are ready to go so that our winter guests can be very comfortable. We hope you enjoyed the home otherwise!
Cindy S. Jan 2016
Nice cozy cabin feel. There is a beautiful view from the sofa of the ocean, we never turned on the tv. There were deer every morning on the front grass that we could watch from the bedroom window. The jacuzzi was great every evening (even when it rained on us)! Check out the scrapbooks below the cd's, pretty cool.
Steven S. Jan 2016
This cabin was clearly built by a master architect. It is beautiful both outside and in. We loved sitting in the living room each evening and watching the sun set over the ocean. The kitchen is small, but perfectly adequate for our one-week stay. An extra bonus is the extensive library in the living room, with loads of fascinating books.. The cabin is close to the charming and tiny town of Elk, and a 45 minute drive from Ft Bragg. Perfect for a getaway.
Michael W. Oct 2015
We stayed for a wedding that was at Cuffey's Cove Ranch, and the location was perfect. The house has an old mountain cabin feel, with beautiful views of the ocean & surrounding forests. Only thing that was a little inconvenient was the one shower being upstairs, but we survived :) Great stay for a quite getaway.
Trevor C. Sep 2015
We had a great time at Safe at Anchor! It would have been cool to know about the internet data cap before we went (we shopped specifically for this), and some of the games are missing pieces, but otherwise it was really good. The downstairs room is a little musty and you can't access it from inside the house. I'll tell you what though, the window in the living room basically makes the whole place worth every little problem we encountered. Except during the first few hours of sunset, when the sun comes straight in and melts your face off. But for the other 22 hours in the day, this place was great! The dogs enjoyed their time as well. Even though there isn't much room on the property to run them, there's a beach within 5 minutes. We will definitely return!
Jennifer H. Sep 2015
This is a lovely little cottage with a spectacular view of the ocean!
Rachael J. Aug 2015
My partner and I spent two wonderful nights here, basking in the sun on the porch, walking on the nearby beach, napping and snoozing. What a treat!!! Lovely little house with a more than adequate kitchen, good music, games and near to fun adventures.
Larry E. Aug 2015
We stayed a week very relaxing private and comfortable with a very good bed, been at other rental homes without that, made us really enjoy being there
Helen C. Jul 2015
We loved the location as it was quiet - no other people that we saw nearby even though there are houses. View was great and the cabin had all the amenities we needed.
Sue M. Jul 2015
I could sit and look at the ocean from this place all day. We saw whales while sitting on the couch :-)
It took us about 5 hours(!) to get here from the Mission in SF due to pre holiday traffic. But is is so removed from city life it was worth it. Maybe leave a day earlier next time. Getting home was only 3.5 hours.
Ken V. Apr 2015
Our week in Safe at Anchor was sensational. When we first arrived we were ecstatic to see how secluded, rustic and gorgeous the cabin was. The seclusion makes all the difference in the world when you're with 3 dogs. But even without the canine factor, this cabin is a great choice. Huge window with a view over the woods into the ocean, secluded hot tub, woodstove,.....Fabulous. We were just one couple with our dogs but this would be an ideal place for two couples.
Skye G. Mar 2015
We spent a lovely weekend at Safe at Anchor. The view from the window is just as pretty as it looks in the pictures. We had a great time hiking through the redwoods in Hendy Woods State Park and watching whales and sea lions at MacKerricher Beach. It felt great to relax in the hot tub after an active day.
Manager Response:
Thanks for this great feedback! Its excellent to hear that you loved the hot tub and the amazing views! Glad you enjoyed your stay. We love your tip about the redwoods in Hendy Woods State Park and watching whales and sea lions at MacKerricher Beach.
Chris K. Feb 2015
If you don't already know, and are visiting in winter, read up on the safe way to split kindling for the wood burner. ;-)
Duane T. Feb 2015
This was an ideal location to get away from it all and enjoy Gods creation.
Veronna L. Feb 2015
A comfortable shelter from the big storm. Lots of amenities to appreciate in this rustic home, which would best be considered as a one bedroom due to limited exterior only access to the 2nd bedroom, which is located in a musty area under the main living space. There is abundant firewood supplied, and everything you could possibly need for substantial cooking. The ocean view is great, and adds to the relaxation of the hot tub. Even though an awesome storm caused downed trees and power outages throughout the coastal communities, we
truly felt Safe at Anchor despite a two day outage. The property manager, Ray, really delivered by leaving a big bag of ice, emergency candles and a great lantern. We will definitely return!
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to review Safe At Anchor. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and sounds like quite an adventure! There is definitely a great view and we are pleased that you thought the home was comfy and had plenty of amenities to enjoy. We appreciate your comments very much and are glad to hear that the supplies that the property manager dropped off were helpful! Truly hope you had a nice time celebrating such a special occasion! We look forward to your return.
Staci P. Jan 2015
This house is fantastic. Perfect getaway to relax and enjoy nature. It's a quick drive to Mendocino and Fort Bragg with lots to do in between. The home was clean and quiet and the perfect place to unwind. I love the eclectic decor and comfort it offers as well as the amazing view of the ocean.
Julie . Dec 2014
This property is secluded yet close to many good spots to kayak from and places to visit. It's charming and cozy and I would definitely stay again. Know that internet service is intermittent.
Mark B. Dec 2014
To have this place to myself for a week to do some writing and reading (and general relaxing -- hello hot tub) was heaven. A perfect experience I would gladly repeat. The cabin was stuffed with extras, but deep in the woods you could still feel very roomed from civilization. Can't wait to come back.
Laurel M. Nov 2014
Setting is private and idyllic, rustic and beautiful. Everything as promised. Arrangements and property management outstanding. Area gorgeous and owners incredibly thoughtful and generous in all the kind ways they have arranged place to be a welcoming respite for guests.

I only had two suggestions - I could not operate bedroom TV ("no signal" message), but I am not familiar with fancy systems so I was pretty sure it was me. I knew if I called I could get support but I don't watch much TV so didn't bother. I also had planned to use the barbecue but it looks like some guests have not cleaned the barbecue grill and it was rusted and it could use a replacement grill.

Those however are just refinements on how to make perfection even more perfect. We had a fantastic time; I really appreciated being able to bring my dogs, it is a beautiful and well-managed property and we had a wonderful time. Thank you so much.
Manager Response:
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed this home. We will get that BBQ addressed so that guests can use it comfortably. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Emily F. Nov 2014
Can't beat the view!!!! The quiet, the beauty and peacefulness
Amanda W. Oct 2014
We loved this house! The views from the living room and the hot tub were amazing! Very relaxing and refreshing! The town of Mendocino was a great spot to stroll and dine and the nearby states parks were great for hiking! Would definitely recommend to other travelers.
Patricia B. Oct 2014
Beautiful view, hot tube is wonderful. Cabin size quit cozy compared to what I'm use to. Not great on comfortable seating. I found myself craving a nice comfortable chair, with good lighting, and an ottoman to put my feet up, to do some reading. All in all, very nice. ( side note: was listed as pet friendly. after arriving there and reading the cabin rules, dogs not allowed on any furniture, and to be on a leash at all times when outside the cabin. )
Jacob R. Aug 2014
Great quiet and secluded location perfect for a romantic vacation or fellowship with friends. The cabin is beautiful and cozy. Cell phone service is non-existent (a plus!). Relax, enjoy the scenery - gorgeous forests and tons of wild birds all around the cabin. We had a great time!
Manager Response:
Thank you for this review. Im glad you enjoyed the beautiful forest and views this house offers. We hope you come back soon!
Susan B. Jul 2014
We were very happily surprised that everything is just as advertised, which doesn't always happen when renting vacation houses. But a new couch is needed ASAP. Those cushions are pretty sad. No problems connecting with WiFi and a huge TV with DISH in every bedroom if that's what you want. Two thumbs up from us.
Christine C. Jul 2014
We had a great weekend getaway with our two adult sons and our dog. Everything was right there, including a fabulous view and the feeling of being in a secluded treehouse. What a wonderful way to escape the heat of the northern California valley in the summer. Everything we wanted to do was close enough, but we were equally happy just to be in this beautiful location. Best family trip in years.
Douglas D. Jun 2014
We had a wonderful experience and didn't want to leave at the end of the week. We hope to be able to come back for another stay in the not to distant future. If you love the northern beaches, ocean, coastal scenerey, mountains, rivers, and the forest (the Red Woods are amazing) like we do you couldn't ask for a better place to stay than Safe At Anchor. Only one small suggestion would be that the couch cushions have pretty much done their job, over time, and when the both of us were sitting on it, the edge of the front board was very hard and started putting your legs to sleep. It did not take away from our experience but if I were king for a day - a new couch would be in order. We did not sleep in the lower floor bed room but the bed in the main floor bedroom was soooo nice and comfortable - it was very tempting to put it in the truck and take it home to Utah. Doug and Teresa Drake
Manager Response:
We appreciate your feedback and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in this lovely home. Great news, a comfy new sofa has been ordered and will be delivered in July!
Angela W. Jun 2014
We had a wonderful stay at Safe at Anchor!!
Manager Response:
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay.