Virtual Tour
USA California The Northern California Coast Fort Bragg Listing #1346

Mendocino Dunes - Distant Shores - Fort Bragg, CA

37 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Dog Friendly 
33200 Beal Lane, Fort Bragg, CA 95437

Dog-friendly cabin w/ private hot tub; sand dune access

Distant Shores, one of four cabins within the Mendocino Coast Dunes Retreat, may be rented together with the other cabins for large group gatherings, or separately for a private, relaxing, comfortable place to stay during your vacation. With a private hot tub and dog-friendly attitude, you will feel right at home here!

Situated about seven miles north of Fort Bragg, this home is right next to the beautiful sand dunes. The beach is just past the dunes, about half a mile, though the walk is a bit of a hike - drive just south to MacKerricher State Park for easy beach access and amazing views of the ocean and dunes.

This two-bedroom, one-bathroom home can accommodate up to six guests, and you are even welcome to bring your beloved dogs with you, though a nightly fee per dog and minimum fee per stay will apply. With a queen-size bed in each bedroom and an additional sofabed, everyone will have a comfortable place to rest up for another day of vacationing!

In the living room you will find plenty of ways to keep entertained, whether you prefer watching cable TV or a DVD, playing a board game, using the Internet to stay connected, watching the flickering flames in the lovely gas fireplace, or simply gazing out the windows at the beautiful scenery. A full kitchen has all the tools and equipment you may need to cook meals during your visit, and a laundry area will come in handy during longer stays.

Outside, you will be pleased to find a nice deck with seating, a firepit, and a private hot tub! You and your guests will love using the firepit to cook up s'mores for dessert, or relaxing in the cozy warmth of the hot tub.

The Distant Shores would be a great place to enjoy a nice vacation with your family or a few close friends, though you could also rent it with the other three cabins in the complex and bring a large group to vacation together! With Fort Bragg just a few miles down the highway, take a quick trip into the city for a nice meal at a restaurant, some groceries, or to explore the town.

This comfortable, accessible, and amenity-filled home is ready to welcome everyone to their fabulous vacation!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Child Games

Features

Fireplace

Gas Fireplace

Washer Dryer : Private

Propane/Gas Home : Propane

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

Cable : Comcast

DVD Player

Stereo

TV

Wireless Router

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Private

Deck

Outdoor Fire

Patio

37 Reviews

Trinity N. Nov 2018
Adorable house inside and out. It was perfect for us to get away from the busy day to day life. Far enough, but close enough to everything we wanted to do. Beautiful area and can’t wait to come back with more of the family.
Lawrence H. Oct 2018
Second stay here. We'll be back!
Jennifer H. Sep 2018
My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Distant Shores with our two dogs. It was wonderfully private and well-equipped house. The house was close to town and we had a wonderful time.
Matthew C. Aug 2018
The home was enough space for our family. Plenty of space for the kids to play outside, the hot tub was awesome. We walked to the sand dunes and it was incredible. Will definitely stay here again!
Sarah D. Aug 2018
We came up to Fort Bragg to get away from all of the smoke in the Sacramento region and were not disappointed! I have a 4 & 7 year old who were able to explore the outdoors ALL day long without me having to hush them for running and being loud (as opposed to a hotel). The hike to 10 mile Beach was definitely a HIKE! Once there, we were the only people on the beach and immediately found WHOLE sand dollars! It was so great having the comforts of home (washer/dryer, full kitchen, separate room for the kids). We will definitely be back.
Douglass C. Jun 2018
So we’ll cared for! Spent relaxing and very peaceful week at distant shores. Highly recommend and hope to return!
Wyma W. Jun 2018
I was so happy to be there in a June, with all the blooming flowers, perfect sunny weather! Harvey, the owner, provided a most homey and comfortable house, and the hot tub was well used. I would love to go back and do more dune climbing.
HEATHER C. Apr 2018
What a magical spot! The cottage was clean, well furnished, comfortable with a spacious kitchen. The grounds are beautifully kept, private and with a fantastic rear garden and hot tub spot. And the dunes! Just a short walk down a grassy path to hills of windswept sand leading to the ocean. This is now our spot for any time we plan to stay in the Mendocino/Ft. Bragg area. Highest recommendation!
Arthur M. Mar 2018
If you are looking for a quiet comfortable place to stay after long days at the beach, this place is for you. Hot tub.. bbq, and everything you need for a fun relaxing stay. This was our 2nd stay in 6months... we will be back before the summer ends.
Lawrence H. Mar 2018
Everything was what we expected. Cottage was cute and had everything we needed for the weekend. We liked that we were secluded but not too far from town. Being so close to Mackerricher was really nice. The grounds were well kept and we enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings. We look forward to returning!
Michael G. Jan 2018
Earlier check in...more comfortable funiture for lounging
Manager Response:
Our standard check-in time is 4pm, but we do offer complimentary early check-ins when available. We were able to get this guest in by 2:30pm after the property manager inspected the property. Thanks!
Jerry S. Dec 2017
We rented a two bedroom house to spend the 2017 Christmas vacation in Fort Bragg.

Day 1 - advised the heater was not working and could not be fixed during our stay (12/23–>12/27) temperatures ranged between 40–>55 degrees
Day 2 - the ‘space heaters’ provided overloaded the circuit breakers - no heat
Day 3 - the shower-tub backed up when in use
Day 4 - toilet leaking (advised seal broken and could not be fixed prior to our departure)

We had ten plus members of extended family over the day after Christmas - no toilet available

The property manager (Andre) was extremely apologetic and tried to resolve (brought over space heaters the night we arrived / came over the morning after Christmas and personally cleaned the flooded bathroom) but there is no resolving a non-functional property.



Manager Response:
We are very sorry the heating and toilet went out during this stay. These things do happen and are often unforeseeable. Unfortunately, these issues occurred right during Christmas time when we could not get any service technicians or plumbers to come out to the property until after the holiday. We did attempt to call several without any luck. We were able to get these guests access to another unit so they would have a functioning bathroom. We were able to get the heating and toilet taken care immediately after this guest's departure. Again, we apologize for this situation and hope to have another chance to host this guest.
Gregory K. Dec 2017
the fees were astounding
Susan C. Dec 2017
- spa didn't work
- shower doors are dangerous
- shower drain did not drain
- beds are way to firm
- spot light on house next door shines into the house
Manager Response:
We appreciate this feedback and apologize for any inconveniences these items may have caused. This is a new hot tub at the home, but the heater did go out during this reservation. We replaced it the day after being notified. We inspected the tub drain and found it be draining correctly, but we will keep an eye on it. For safety purposes we do need to leave the light on; we apologize if it was uncomfortably bright for these guests. Thanks!
Michael H. Nov 2017
It is so much better in person!!! We will go back
Jillian C. Nov 2017
This place was so cozy and nice. It took about 20 minutes to get up there from Fort Bragg... quiet road and the sounds of the waves crashing were incredible. Loved the decks and the stars at night.. kitchen was lovely and spacious.
ART M. Oct 2017
This little cottage was perfect for a weeks stay in beautiful Ft Bragg Area. It had everything you needed, easy access to all the surrounding areas, while being quiet and secluded. Perfect for a romantic getaway or a family vacation. We are considering renting all 4 cottages for our large family vacation sometime next year.
Toby R. Oct 2017
The location, size and layout is well suited to couples or a small family to enjoy evenings and mornings together as they spend their days experiencing local natural features and culture.
Elizabeth H. Sep 2017
Cute clean cottage. Its a work out walking up and down the sand dunes to get to the beach, but it's beatiful.
Needs new hot tub. The $150. Cleaning fee for a 2 night stay is pretty high.
June G. Sep 2017
Gorgeous property, very roomy and quiet. Lots of outdoor space.
Diane H. Sep 2017
We so enjoyed staying at this little home. It is convenient to lots of beaches. And the yard is so nice your really enjoy just staying there. Had a great BBQ outside one of the evenings and did s'mores by the firepit. A great little house!!
Liz B. Jul 2017
We stayed 3 nights at Distant Shores and it was wonderful! Lots of green grass for the dogs to play. The sound of the ocean while looking at the stars from the hot tub. Clean, comfortable beds with lots of light. A big kitchen and bathroom. We will be back!
David M. Jul 2017
Very quiet and secluded. It's a little walk to the beach through the sand dunes but it's worth it. There's no one in site except for the snowy plover. We enjoyed our stay and hopefully get to come back
Rosemary V. Jun 2017
Upon checking in at this cottage we found a note left on the kitchen counter letting us know the hot tub was out of service and that there weren't any plans to have it repaired for our stay. This was somewhat annoying, especially since we'd paid an extra 'hot tub' fee. But we let it go, and went about our vacation.

After returning home from our trip and not seeing any refund on my credit card for over a week for the 'hot tub' fee, I gave VRBO a call (whom we made this booking through), and they told us they had no information about our stay other than that our reservation had been confirmed, and that all of the info was now with Vacasa (uuggh, 3rd parties always make things so helpful, or I guess 4th parties in this case).

So, I tracked down Vacasa and left them a voicemail explaining the situation. A few hours later I saw that I had a voicemail from Mary at Vacasa saying that she had no record of us not using the hot tub while we were there (other than me calling and telling her so). And, since it had been over a week, there was probably nothing that could be done as far as issuing me a refund.

At this point I was getting pretty annoyed with the situation, since 1.) we didn't have promised hot tub one our stay 2.) I had to call and ask about a refund and 3.) I had just basically been called a liar by customer service from a company working for me.

So, I took more time out of my day to call her back and, low and behold, got her voicemail again. I explained that I didn't think I had needed to call or complain during our visit since it was explicitly laid out to us in a note left on the counter that the hot-tub was out of order. I also told her we checked out the guest book during our stay and the guests before us had noted that the hot tub was out of order for their stay as well. So... obviously the hot tub being broken was not a brief problem.

Also, this cottage had the minimal amenties for a vacation rental. I'm used to finding more in the way of kitchen supplies in many hotels I've stayed in. The place was not very clean, and after we left we stayed at the beach near there and were able to take note that the cleaning crew did not stay long at all. As guests we were also asked to start a load of laundry for the cottage (which we did, but was a bit off putting considering we were on vacation.)

Overall, disappointing stay and cannot recommend Vacasa customer service for owners or renters at this point.



Manager Response:
We sincerely apologize for the confusion with the hot tub. The hot tub is now up and running, and this guest was refunded for the lack of that amenity. We will follow-up with housekeeping to ensure they are performing their cleans properly. Thanks!
Natalie W. Jun 2017
This was our 1st stay in this house. Our 2nd stay renting on this road and both times hot tub did not work. Really put a damper on our stay since our main reason for staying here was the hot tub!! We most likely wont be back since they cant seem to keep the hot tubs up and running. Overall the stay was great. House was clean upon arrival, private cozy scenery aside from the yard maintenance mowing, burning and weed eating 3 of the 5 days we were there. The walk over to the sanddunes and beach is amazing ....lots of sand dollars and shells! We love that dogs are allowed! Bring your own pillow, they were not to comfy, and bring some kind of windex to clean tables and counters off with. If you dont mind a broken hot tub and a little yard work noise then this place is a great quiet, private, relaxing getaway!
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see the hot tub was out again during this guest's visit! The hot tubs do see high use; the owners are currently trying to determine if they can repair the ones in place or if it's time for new ones. Due to the size of the acreage the yardwork and landscaping is ongoing, but it always looks wonderful because of this! Thank you!
Kathryn G. Apr 2017
enjoy
Mike S. Mar 2017
Enjoyed using this house and the convenience of it's location. House was clean and well supplied. Easy to use directions emailed to you with all needed information. Will definitely be back again!
Teresa D. Jan 2016
We've been renting vacation homes on Beal Lane for over 10 years. The sand dunes are so much fun for adults and kids. Great walk to the ocean, you never have to drive anywhere. We'll definitely be back!
James A. Jan 2016
Nice stay for the price
Amber V. Oct 2015
This home was perfect for groups that enjoy preparing meals and eating around the table, family style. The hot tub was hot hot hot/perfect.
Elizabeth R. Oct 2015
The house was in very bad condition. The hot tub didn't work all the time and we kept having to flip the circuit breaker back when the jets would suddenly turn off. The house wasn't cleaned from the previous tenants visit before we got there and we had to leave the house so the staff could come clean it. The house smelled like mold and there was visible mold under the kitchen sink. The pictures make the house look better than it really is. Overall is not a good vacation rental. We will not be returning to this property or any other Vacasa vacation rental.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that your stay was not more enjoyable. A spa technician has serviced the hot tub so it should be working without issues now, and the Property Manager will take care of the mold right away. We hope you enjoyed the homey atmosphere and made terrific memories while staying with us!