Dog-friendly, oceanfront cottage w/deck, views, and nearby beach access
This oceanfront, pet-friendly South Beach vacation rental is just seven miles south of bustling Newport. With two bedrooms, stunning ocean views right from the living room windows, and a spacious deck, this Sunset Cottage duplex is the perfect location for a family beach trip!
The home offers a great location on a bike path just six miles from central Newport attractions. Located right between Newport and Seal Rock, South Beach offers a peaceful and quieter Oregon Coast experience. There's a fish market, South Beach State Park, and miles of ocean beach to explore, and you're less than half a mile to the Driftwood Beach (north) or Ona Beach (south).
The interior of this duplex is light and bright, with large west-facing windows for lots of lights and gorgeous views of the Pacific Ocean. The main living space has a great, open floorplan that includes the living room, full kitchen, and dining area. There's room for the kids and dogs to play and the whole family to spread out! After a day exploring the beach, come back and gather around the TV for some cable or a Blu-ray DVD. There's also WiFi throughout the house so you can share pictures of your trip and make all your friends jealous.
The nicely stocked kitchen has everything you'll need for a big family dinner, breakfast on the go, and movie treats. In addition, there's also a coffee grinder (so be sure to pick up some fresh coffee beans in town), a blender, a slow cooker, and a counter bar for snacks or kitchen helpers to chop vegetables. And when you sit down to your meal at the dining table, you'll have an amazing view of the waves!
Out on the deck, you'll find an outdoor table, chairs, and a gas grill for cookouts overlooking the ocean! Come out here after dinner with a glass of wine, or start your day on the deck with some freshly brewed coffee while you watch the seabirds fly over the waves.
There are two bedrooms - one has a queen bed and the other a double bed. Both have bright floral bedding. Up to four guests can stay comfortably at this charming South Beach vacation cottage. And two dogs are welcome with an additional nightly pet fee. Additional amenities include a washer and a dryer, so you can pack lightly when you stay here!
Although there is no direct beach access right from the yard, you're within a short walk to the flat sandy shores ideal for flying kites, or hunting for shells. On rainy days, you can get in the car and drive north to Newport for gallery browsing and restaurants along the historic bayfront, as well as the popular Oregon Coast Aquarium.
There's also the Nye Beach neighborhood for more attractions, and the Yaquina Head Lighthouse on the north end of Newport. At Seal Rock to the south, you can explore tide pools before driving home to your cozy South Beach getaway for a family meal.
This Oregon Coast vacation rental offers a lot of bang for your buck - ocean views, great amenities, and a convenient location near all of Newport's attractions, but tucked away in the quiet little town of South Beach!
As many have said before, the view was great but would be a lot better if they took out the huge bush in the way. The place was clean and well stocked but the carpets were terribly stained and gave the place a dirty feel. From reviews it seems like this has been a problem for years. New carpet for such a small area can’t cost that much. Also, they have a bad sub flooring problem in the dining room. Very easy to trip and fall if your not careful. While we had a nice relaxing time ( we adapted!) we would not rent this cottage again unless upgrades were made.
The location was perfect. Just far enough outside of town to get more secluded and the view was amazing. Would have liked a table on the patio, but loved that it was a stocked kitchen. The only noise we heard were the waves crashing. I would definitely come again.
Marie-louise W. March 2018
The view and the fact that we could bring our dog made for a great stay.
Jennifer B. December 2017
Overall the home was adorable with a perfect oceanfront view. We loved the deck and all the views from the home. It's perfect for a small family or couple. We will come back in future.
This house had potential if there weren’t mice! The carpets were spotted with dirt. and there were bugs and worms behind the tv stand. Beds need replaced as one sags on one side. The view was amazing, that us all I can say! We had a horrible mouse incident in the middle of the night. Our dog was attacked and bloodied from the mouse. I hope they exterminate!
We are sorry to see this guest appears to have had an issue with mice during their stay. We had an exterminator out who said they could find no evidence of any mice activity. The potato bugs behind the TV stand have been taken care of, and we have followed-up with housekeeping regarding the matter. Thanks!
The view was nice, especially since it'd pull you outside... the unit itself is a double wide manufactured home, duplex. The non existent insulation and mismatched walls don't lend to the property's charm. The musky smell can be overwhelming, though, opening windows helps- which means one would then have to deal with the general coldness of the coast. Pick your poison. The smell isn't a coastal salty musk. It's a nose-curling moisture-in-the-walls with the sun cooking the scent out, kind of smell.
Next time, I'd pay a pinch more and head to a different property.
The property manager is currently working with the owner on updating the floors, walls, and furniture. Thank you!
Elizabeth S. September 2017
If you want the ocean and walk the beaches and visit the surrounding area you found it here. The location was and had everything needed. Not fancy but comfortable if you want luxury this is not the location.
This was a simple but nice 2-bedroom cottage right on the ocean. The view is spectacular. You should know that there is no way to get down to the beach from the cottage - it's too steep. So you have to go down the road to the state beach.
The view is the whole selling point of the property!! With just a little bit of upgrading this could be a spectacular rental!!
House needs remodeled and was told it is next to get just that as the unit next door was being remodeled during our stay (not an inconvenience).
Beach access need put in place. Very steep drop off from back yard (no access to beach). Manager said they are working with property owner on that.
This could very well be an outstanding place to rent and I'm sure it will be from what I got from the manager but during our stay it was only (ok).
We booked this spot for Memorial Day 2017... Arrive Thursday after work and a drive from the Valley... Opened the door to a spectacular view of the ocean and fishing boats. The house smelled clean and was all in order.
Plenty of room for 4 folks for a long weekend... great to have a washing machine and dryer.
We truly enjoyed the deck and backyard looking over the ocean. Even though this had no beach access the Day Use State Park Beaches are about 2 miles away in either direction... wide nice sandy beaches.... with sunshine... we were so lucky.
We enjoyed the beach in the day time and every evening came back for cocktails and treats.... One of the evenings we were witness to two Whales and their calves swimming by... Great Whale watching area... The bunnies and snakes in the garden were all a delight.
Memorable spot and weekend.
We were probably the first to use the property this year. It seems that the issues observed in the reviews from 2016 have been dealt with. I would recommend this others.
This was a get away from it all weekend. Even with drizzle rain, it was great to open the deck door, listen to the waves and read. Very comfy beach cottage feeling. Well equipped kitchen.
Too bad there is no walkable beach access to stay in this cute place. Barking dogs nextdoor and morning traffic just outside of bedroom window are negative noise impacts. Good mattresses and plentiful linen supply with washer/dryer. Seemed clean, but there were fleas in the carpet.
We are very sorry to see that this guest did not enjoy this unit more. Unfortunately, there is nothing that can be done regarding the dog, traffic noise, or beach path. The Property Manager did not notice any fleas in the home, but, as a precaution, has scheduled a day to flea bomb the home.
This home and location has enormous potential. The views of the ocean are really amazing! The owners/ management are genuinely trying , but a few small upgrades could really put the home over the top. The house was clean when we arrived, but somewhat dated . Amenities were supplied, but sparce. Towels and linens were plentiful, although a bit old. Comfortable, quiet, nice barbeque, no problem with the dog next door. A little difficult for the turn off of hwy 101 getting in the driveway, but otherwise very convenient and centrally located.
Really good value; house is kid and pet friendly. The view from the back deck and yard is amazing. If you are looking for luxury and beach access, this is not the place for you, and you will have to spend a lot more $$$.
A beautiful view in a Oregon close to shopping , beaches and more!
Local beaches are wonderful and location is close to Newport for groceries, etc. The rug was very stained -many, many large stains throughout the house. The carpet cleaning promised by the management in response to another review has not happened. The pictures on the website showing the view are misleading; about half the backyard is overgrown with weeds and bushes that are taller than the fence. All that overgrowth blocked an otherwise great view of the water. Too bad. We won't be going back.
We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to announce that the carpets have been professionally cleaned, the flooring in the kitchen and bathrooms have been replaced and the landscaping team has cut down the overgrowth! Our future guests will have a clear view of the water and the beautiful surrounding area.
This place is so run down, it isn't worth $50/night. It's also a duplex next to a couple of dogs that don't quit barking and owners/guests that smoke on the adjoining patio.
Nice place for people with dogs
Although this property has some issues, overall it is okay, and could actually be fabulous. Whoever is responsible for the outside maintenance isn't doing their job. You can't see the ocean sitting on the deck because of the jungle in front of you. Nothing a little work couldn't take care of. I noticed a review from April of this year about pet stains and smell on the carpet. The management replied that they would get the carpets shampooed right away, so went ahead and booked the property. Don't think the carpets were shampooed, and the cleaning looked a little haphazard in other areas. Wouldn't recommend this property to friends until it has a little work, but it has so many possibilities. Hope whoever owns it takes care of it.
The house is dated and has been well used. However, the view is simply breathtaking. The kitchen is clean and well stocked and the beds are comfortable. There is no beach access in that area but several really nice access points close (not walkable.) It is a great location close to everything but away from the traffic and mass of people.
Unless they spend some money and give this place some needed attention do not waste your time or money. Pet toilet, carpet has numerous pee stains the cottage smells terrible and the neighbors (other half of duplex) have dogs that bark if you go outside. No beach access. Nice view though if you spend a few minutes and rearrange the couch to in front of the window instead of facing the wall and tv.
We are sorry to see that the carpet had a bad odor to it and will schedule a carpet cleaning as soon as possible.
Property was clean and cozy. Furnishings were basic, but in good condition.
We loved the sunsets that we saw sitting on the deck, and also loved the moon shining over the ocean later that evening. The view from the living room and dining room was so relaxing. Even though we could not get to the beach from the property, we could see it as if it was only a stone's throw away! One of the most relaxing weekends I have had in a long, long time.
Amazing views! Well stocked kitchen. We made some great seafood on the gas grill. Comfortable beds. Carpets were stained and had a faint odor of dog pee when the living room got warm. I'd still go back because of the views and value.
We enjoyed our short stay very much. The house has everything you need to make a home away from home.
My partner is very sensitive to chemicals, odors, air fresheners, etc. So it is a challenge to find a nice getaway where it seems that just spaying air fresheners counts as a clean room. I want to express my gratitude that the property was very clean but not overloaded with chemical and air freshers and other cleaners that usually triggers an allergic reaction. Thank you so much!
We're happy to hear that the home was well-stocked and clean and that you enjoyed your stay. We make every effort to use products that do not contain strong perfumes or other chemicals that might trigger reactions in people with sensitivities. We hope to see you again soon, and thanks for choosing Vacasa!
We were traveling with two dogs. It would have been nice to have a small fence at the end of the grassy area so they could be off leash, but that might alter the view. Had a challenge getting the t.v. to work .Unfortunately had lost cell phone service. It would be nice if a set of the house instructions were left at the house. I did not print the ones sent to me via email. That said, could not ask for a better house . We will be back!
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you had a nice stay at this lovely cottage. It definitely has spectacular views and that could be why the owner has chosen not to have a fenced yard. We are glad that you and your dogs loved the home still! We hope that you had a wonderful trip to South Beach and we appreciate your suggestion to add TV instructions so that future guests don't struggle with getting it to work as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
First off we would like to thank the staff at VACASA for getting us into such a nice, (and inexpensive) place on such short notice.We really appreciate it.The view was spectacular and watching the storm blow through was exciting and a little scary, but really fun. Watching the seals and sea lions fishing and playing in the waves behind the house was fun
also and the folks next door have a hummingbird feeder outside and the beautiful little birds were everywhere. It was kind of amazing to watch them trying to fly around in such strong winds. Real fun. Watching the little bunny rabbit that lives under the bush beside the deck was fun too. He was so cautious and timid when he came out, always looking over his shoulder, never realizing that we were only a few short feet away watching and taking pics. What a treat. Last but not least, a big THANX to Ted the property manager for getting the cable and wi-fi back on line so quickly.Thank you Ted. My wife wouldn't have known what to do without her facebook to post all those wonderful pics out to her friends and family.We would tell anybody thats looking for a restfull retreat to check you guys out. Thanx again to everyone at Vacasa. TERRI-n-AL THOMPSON.P.S. Our pets LIL GIRL NEWT and SIDEWAYS KLYDDE say Thanx too...
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we look forward to having you again! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
walking to beach access along side of hiway. was a little scary a coulple times, mainly if a RV, Trucks, would go over white line. for the dollars you pay I wonder why they have not built stairs like the 1st unit.
Thank you for your review. We're glad you were happy with the home but sorry to hear you were not impressed with the location. There is no direct beach access right from the yard (home is on a cliff) you can be on the sand at Driftwood Beach (north) or Ona Beach (south), in a short drive or scenic 10 minute walk.
Close to Newport it was great!
The directions are wrong. You turn right at the 148 mile marker not 146. We had a bit of an issue finding the turn off due to the directions but once there we were very happy with our stay. The ocean is loud and relaxing from the backyard patio. There is a small fire pit that we also put to good use. There was also a gas BBQ but we didn't have time to use it. There is a great fish market just down the road where we bought fresh caught and smoked salmon and made salad for dinner one of the nights. The location is great and is shielded from the highway by a tall berm. They have about all the utensils you would need to cook, there was even a waffle maker. There is beach access two units over but it is private so you have to drive over to Lost Beach which seamed to be the closest and was about two minutes away. We walked the beach for hours one of the evenings. It was also nice that there was cable with on demand as well as a DVD/BluRay player. We rented movies from Redbox in Newport but once we were at the cottage we realized there was a huge amount of on demand for HBO, Showtime and Cinemax. We loved the stay, very relaxing.
Thank you for your excellent review and feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in this comfortable oceanfront cottage. We wonder if you might have misunderstood the driving directions as the driveway for the home is at mile marker 146. Regardless, we are so glad that you found the home and enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll come again.