Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Waldport Listing #1466

The Red Door - Waldport, OR

114 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Comfortable bayfront beach house w/classic decor and ocean views!

The world is your oyster in this three-bedroom, three-bath Waldport vacation rental with direct beach access! The Red Door house has lots of space for the entire family, including a separate mother-in-law suite for the guests that want a little extra privacy.

This home, situated in a friendly neighborhood, is literally steps away from the shore and offers views of the Alsea River and the Alsea Bay Bridge. You'll be a short walk away from Waldport's shopping district, where you can find charming shops, restaurants and cafes. Walk to Grand Central Pizza for a slice of pie, wander the Waldport Flea Market for unique finds, or enjoy a casual dinner at the Flounder Inn Tavern.

Step into this 2,800-square foot home with stylish decor and lots of sunny places where you can curl up with a good book. In the skylit living room, you'll find a luxurious sofa, a big entertainment center with a flatscreen TV complete with Dish satellite TV, DVD player, and a VCR. Put your feet up and relax with one of your favorite movies or television shows. This room has plenty of light as well as sliding glass doors, so you can crack it open and listen to the sounds of the shore as you unwind.

The dining area is nicely furnished with comfortable leather chairs and a glass table top. You and your family can enjoy home cooked meals from the fabulous chefs kitchen complete with everything you'd need to whip up a fresh veggie frittata for breakfast or some shrimp scampi for dinner.

Tired guests will have no problem finding a space for themselves, as this house has three bedrooms, each with an accompanying en suite bathroom, as well as a lovely office where you can catch up on work during the day (WiFi provided) and pull out the queen-size sofa bed to sleep at night. The first bedroom has a queen sized bed and its own flatscreen TV, along with sliding glass doors with views of the water. The second bedroom has a king-sized bed with beautiful furnishings.

The private, garden-level suite houses the third bedroom (with a king bed), as well as an additional living room, full kitchen, and a third bathroom. The garden suite is ideal for grandparents wanting a bit of quiet and privacy during a family getaway, or even for teens who might enjoy their own space to hang out and relax.

With three bedrooms and the office/guest room, this house will comfortably sleep up to eight guests. There are even a playpen provided with this home, so the littlest ones in your group will be safe and comfortable. And for staying clean and dry after those muddy crabbing trips to the shore, this home has a washer and dryer in the utility room for your use.

When you feel like wandering out for a day of adventure, you won't have to go far. Private access to the beach is just outside your back door. Waldport itself offers quaint shops and restaurants, many within easy strolling distance. You can also head 15 miles north to Newport to check out the famous Oregon Coast Aquarium - or stop by the Rogue Brewery for a tour and samples!

This Oregon Coast vacation rental is awaiting you and your guests for a relaxing beach getaway. Brighten up your tan on the beach before heading back to the daily hustle and bustle! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view



Internet : Peak Internet


Cable : Dish Network

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming



On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


Beach chairs


Enclosed yard

114 reviews

Ronda S. Jan 2021
We loved being able to play on the beach with our grandchildren. Lots of room for the 4, 2, and 1 year old to play and still room for adults to talk.

Thank you,
Lisa H. Dec 2020
We rented the Red Door last year and loved it! So clean with lots of attention to details. This time, we were disappointed. It was not as clean as it should be. Dust everywhere. Moldy shower curtain. Little attention to detail. We had to leave early due to COVID cleaning. I totally I understand and expect that. I hope the cleaning crew uses the extra hour to deep clean! The shower faucet fell off. Had to use a wrench to turn off the water. When we attempted to shut the blinds upstairs, they fell off the wall. I think the most frustrating is the hot tub did not work! The lid was busted. The tub water was dirty with debris. The control panel did not work. We called and a repair man showed up within a few minutes. He could not fix it or the shower. We had to pay a hot tub cleaning fee as part of the reservation but we were not even able use it! We want to stay again as we love the location and the size, but unless things improve, we will not return.
Manager response:
Hi, Lisa! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to hear of the unfortunate issues impacting your stay. We are working with the local manager to address your concerns and appreciate the opportunity to improve our presentation. At this time we have to maintain a 10 AM check-out time for all of our guests. We are in the process of replacing the shower handle and look forward to having that up-and-running very soon. Unfortunately, we have had to remove the hot tub as an amenity. We hope to host you again soon!
Nicole D. Nov 2020
This home was very cozy and clean. It says that there are 3 rooms, but there are actually 4. The kitchen was extremely well stocked and had everything for us to cook all of our meals! Whether you want to cozy up by the fire, watch a movie or just enjoy the view of the water this is a great place to be!
Alder B. Sep 2020
The house is spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the views of the ocean are lovely from multiple rooms. That being said, the beauty was overshadowed by arriving to a nonfunctional hot tub (which was the reason we booked this house in the first place), no gas in any of the three tanks for the BBQ we had planned that evening, a kitchen sink that didn't drain, and a bathroom faucet that was nonfunctional - all leading to 3-4 calls with Vacasa and minimal resolution. The most frustrating part was being told that the hot tub was in fact filling up and the heater would kick on shortly (none of this was ever true) as after two calls with Vacasa a local maintenance guy called to tell us that the cleaning staff had alerted them that the heating unit was broken and the hot tub would be nonoperational. If Vacasa had told us prior to arrival that it was broken and taken appropriate steps to address the fact that they were renting a house with different amenities then advertised I wouldn't have been so frustrated, it was the absolute lack of communication that I found appalling and I ended up having to spend the first evening we were there on and off the phone with Vacasa, followed by maintenance people having to come two different times (and with COVID, this meant having to plan to vacate the house). All in all, not a very relaxing/restful trip as the house did't offer what we had booked and wanted in our vacation rental.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. We apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned, which we strive to provide our guests. We apologize for the items that were amiss during your visit and have been refunded you for the inconvenience you experienced. Again, we would like to apologize for this experience and hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
David R. Aug 2020
Loved the house, location, amenities. Great place for grandkids, nice small beach, lovely sunsets! Only complaint is it could have been a little cleaner. We will definitely look to stay there again!
Jackie S. Aug 2020
Home is in a great location and worked well for out family.
Fernando H. Jul 2020
When we arrived the hot tub was in bad shape. I was able to place a call to vacasa and they had someone over the same evening to clean and fill the tub. We really appreciated that. The house is huge and allows for plenty of space to spread out we loved the location and sunsets from the back yard!
Jessika E. Jun 2020
I loved the view of Alsea bay from the downstairs and a couple bedrooms. The backyard was great for the kids to play in. The kitchen was fully stocked and there was a washer and dryer. Access to the beach along the bay was nice for walking, kids to play/swimming, and kite flying.
Cons were the livingroom room carpet was not vacuumed when we got there. Our codes for the key pad did not work when we arrived and had to spend 20 minutes on the phone to get the key pad reset and a new key given to us before we could get in the house. The hot tub has a leak and the water was slowly draining out to the point we couldn't use it for the end of our trip.
Sara M. Jun 2020
We have rented many homes in this area (and all over other areas) and this was our favorite by far. Every bed was extremely comfortable which meant we were well rested for our beach exploring every day. The house was well stocked with things you might need (kitchen tools, towels, bedding, toys, books, games), and each room a little oasis for quiet time (each room has a tv as well); this was nice when we needed little breaks to rest during the rainy times.

The yard was beautiful and beach access was great (small climb down large rocks) for strolls on the beach.

There are 3 full bathrooms, making it nice for the whole family (no waiting on others). The water pressure was great with plenty of hot water to enjoy after a breezy beach stroll.

The kitchen was well laid out with great appliance placement to minimize bending and awkward angles.

The only ‘complaints’ are minuscule and very minor: the living room TV was somewhat complicated to get set up (6 remotes), it took us 30 minutes to get the sound working.
The only other ‘issue’ was conflicting information on check out instructions, the app says check out at 10am, the instructions in the kitchen said 11am; one set of instructions said to strip the bedding and take it to the laundry, another set said not to strip the beds. So overall, the only negative thoughts were so small they had very minimal impact on our stay, I only mention them so that others (and owners) are aware of them.
jessica l. May 2020
The views are incredible and location is awesome for kids. We went clamming right down the beach and were very successful. We loved how the house has many serving dishes and beds were comfortable. It was hard to eat dinner at the dining table due to the sun blinding us and lack of shades to pull down.
Linda A. Mar 2020
This is our second stay at the Red Door, and again, we had a wonderful time! Spacious and clean home for our family. Much was closed down along the coast, but we had sea lions to watch, a beach to walk on, and a hot tub to soak in. All in our back yard!
James N. Dec 2019
This was the second time that we have stayed at the red door house, we put four couples in there very comfortable. It’s been a great location in Waldport and we look forward to next years trip. And the hot tub is up and running this year!
James B. Dec 2019
Asked to have the hot tub ready. It was filthy. Some family hopped in but got right out due to white particles through out the water . We were really looking forward to the Hot Tub on the Beach so it was a let down.
Manager response:
We are glad you loved your stay and we are sorry that the hot tub was not clean when you arrived. We will follow up with our housekeeping team to make sure this does not happen moving forward.
Heather T. Nov 2019
We had a great time at the Red Door house. We enjoyed crabbing on the bay, my kids loved playing in the sand at low tide and we enjoyed having the hot tub in the morning. House was clean and cozy, close to everything. We would stay again.
Cyndy R. Sep 2019
Lovely view of Alsea Bay and wildlife. Stairs to front porch are dangerous for people who have trouble negotiating stairs. There should be a railing. No window shades on west side (7 windows) of the main level provided no privacy at night and provided no protection against hot afternoon sun.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Cyndy! We have made the owner aware of your suggestions regarding a handrail and window coverings. We hope to see you again!
Tiffany G. Sep 2019
Love the hot tub, the views, and the open layout of this house!
Audrey W. Aug 2019
The location of the house was perfect. Beautiful inside. Kids loved having their own rooms and playing outside. The back deck was the perfect spot to relax. Hot tub was amazing. Very friendly locals. Can't wait to return!
Paula B. May 2019
We stayed here for girls getaway and it was perfect...location, space, amenities. The view while enjoying your morning coffee can't be beat.
Steve C. Feb 2019
I really enjoy this location in Waldport. It is within walking distance of the mexican restaurant, pizza place and liquor store. This home is nicely furnished and comfortable. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I selected this house based on the photos which include a hot tub. My old bones enjoy a good soak in the spa. Well, the hot tub is out of order. Upon seeing this I read back through the listing. In the reviews, somebody else complained about the hot tub not working and the owners reapose was that the hot tub is not an advertised ammenity and the owners don’t have any plans to repair or replace it. Fair enough, they are a significant expense. So, maybe remove the pictures with th hot tub so that people are not misled.

Overall, this is a great house.
Pam D. Dec 2018
Lovely Home - very accommodating. Beautiful View and great location.
Rick S. Dec 2018
Great place great view. Can’t wait to come back.
James N. Nov 2018
The Red Door House is very comfortable with high end furnishings, comfortable beds, and the most unique view of the waterfront. We loved everything about it, except that the hot tub was out of order (with 5’’ of stagnant water standing in the bottom) and the dryer was also out of order so we had to take our laundry across the street to the laundry mat. Overall we thought the house was well worth the value at the off season rate and hope to return for more Alsea Bay crabbing next year!
Manager response:
We appreciate our guest leaving these comments with us. The hot tub is not an advertised amenity at this time, and the owners do not have any plans to repair or replace it. The dryer is currently being fixed, and there is a backup in the house for guest use in the meantime. Thank you!
Fran N. Sep 2018
Fun being on the Bay watching Boats going in and out. We rented it months earlier and the Hot Tub was not full when we got there. We called and Matt came and saved the day and got it going! He was so nice to stay late and made sure we were taken care of. We stayed 7 nights and were thankful for comfortable beds, fireplace, Hot tub and Matt!!
Gail S. Aug 2018
We loved this home, it had everything we needed, to the fully stocked kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms. There were 5 adults and 4 kids we had a wonderful time, nice neighbor across the street. From the living room bay windows I got to wake up each morning to see seals and a blue heron feeding each morning. The kids loved the beach area we had right over the rocks from the back yard. Hot Tub was soothing after walking on the beach and nearby Newport and Depot Bay. We went crabbing caught a lot but only had 2 keepers. The dock is 3 minutes from the house, crab nets in the garage, plus buckets and sand toys for the kids. I would recommend this beautiful home to any family. This is the kind of home that you wished you owed, that is how nice the interior and location really is. Everyone had a bed to sleep in, because there is a bonus room with a hide a bed along with the 3 lovely bedrooms. Plus an extra kitchen WOW! We hope to come back again to make another wonderful family memory. Worth every penny we spent 5 STARS IN MY BOOK! Could not have beat the price.
Emily W. May 2018
This house has been in my “favorites” folder for a few years, and I can’t believe we haven’t come sooner! The view and the bay beach access are simply to die for. Our family (with our four young kids) spent much of our vacation down on the sand playing, crabbing, and taking in the amazing scenery. The climb down can be a bit tricky, the stairs from the property don’t go all the way down the rocks. But there are stairs down the street which are very close if someone was unable to use the rock access off the property’s back yard. There were crab pots in the garage so we went to Ray’s and got our shellfish license and caught fresh crab for dinner!

The beds are very comfortable, they provide lots of towels, and having a washer and dryer was extremely convenient since we changed clothes every time we came in. The foot rinse station outside was also a great feature. We got fire wood and lit an indoor fire in the fireplace a couple of nights which was very relaxing. They had a booster high chair, pack and play, and roll away bed which also came in handy with our young crew. Dish on Demand was provided so we were able to watch movies at night, although if you get lucky with great weather like we did you won’t be watching much tv!

Upon arriving, it was noticed as in other reviews that the house could use a little more thorough cleaning job. Our crawling baby was somewhat dirty from moseying around. Also, we only slept in the upstairs master one night because while they have nice blackout curtains, only one window was missing them and it made the room extremely bright at 4:00am. We slept in the other king downstairs the rest of the trip (which was extremely comfortable too). We also had a little trouble lighting the outside fireplace, but called Vacasa and they were very helpful walking us through it. We thought the hot tub wasn’t working but the outside breaker just had to be flipped, then we were able to enjoy the hot tub the whole trip. The pros DEFINITELY outweighed these cons for me and I am sure we will be back to Waldport!
Linda A. Apr 2018
Our family of six stayed the week at the Red Door. Nearly everything we hoped to do was at the house! We watched sea lions playing in the bay every day. I could go on and on, but I'm just going to say, "FUN!"
Carley H. Apr 2018
This home was great! Spacious, clean and well appointed. Three bedrooms with their own full baths allowed for privacy and quiet when desired. Fantastic view and the hot tub was a great place to relax morning and night. We will definitely be back! Thank you for sharing your home!
Megan D. Mar 2018
House has beautiful views, perfect beach access and close to everything! We were under the impression the hot tub was for guest use but upon arrival it was empty. Vacasa was amazing and made things right! We would definitely book again even with the tiny hiccups.
Renee S. Mar 2018
We had a great time, beautiful view, nice house, what more could any one want.
Bruce K. Jan 2018
nice spot on the bay
Chad P. Jan 2018
The Red Door was a great house for our family of 6 (mom, dad, and 4 kids - 10, 11, 12, & 13). We love the Waldport area as there is plenty to do & see in Waldport, Yachats (~15 minutes south), and Newport (~20-25 minutes north). The house is located on the Alsea River just before it enter the Pacific Ocean, so it would be a very nice place to play in the sand & water and you have great, protected views of the ocean waves. Also, it was fun to watch the tides go in & out and we saw lots of birds & seals. The house is in great condition with nice furniture, appliances, beds, bedding, etc. We were really looking forward to using the hot tub, but it wasn't functioning at the time. It looked nice & was very clean, but the circuit breaker kept tripping, so it was never able to heat up. Hopefully, it will be ready to go for our next visit to The Red Door and maybe we'll do summer this time so that kids can actually play on the sand & in the water.
Rosie P. Dec 2017
This home is wonderful! Way larger than we needed as there was just two of us. But, very well laid out with great views!
Christopher B. Nov 2017
We spent 7 days there over thanksgiving. We loved waking up to the spectacular view of the estuary and all of the wildlife. There is a Mexican restaurant just down the road if you don’t feel like cooking. There was a gas station/convenience store within walking distance, too just in case you forgot something. Also it is only 14 miles from Newport where you can find lots more to do and see.
Amanda V. Oct 2017
We rented this house with two other couples and were beyond impressed. Each of the three bedrooms was like it's own suite. The main living areas were open and airy and the views were breathtakingly beautiful. The layout allowed us to enjoy each other's company, but also provide privacy if we wanted time alone. It was within walking distance to a few little shops and close to one of the best eateries we'd been to on the coast! As each of us lives in different cities, we were very please with the location and have unanimously decided to visit this home again. A great experience, a great time to relax and a perfect location.
Stanton W. Oct 2017
Property was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Would definitely reserve again.
Leslie S. Sep 2017
The sunsets were beautiful and the neighbors quiet. You can walk through town and see the shops. We will definately return!
Jessica H. Sep 2017
Highly recommend this house on Alsea Bay! Loved watching the seals, went crabbing and had a very relaxing vacation. Well stocked house that was the perfect size for 4 adults and 4 littles to stretch out.
Twylah S. Aug 2017
We absolutely loved staying at The Red Door!! Our girls loved the hot tub and everything about your house!! The location was perfect! House was very clean!
Jo Ann M. Aug 2017
Great location. Lots of room for several families. Easy access to the bay beach area .Quiet and peaceful.
Sylvia G. Jul 2017
Very pleased with the home, roomy, nice comfortable beds, plenty of blankets, towels, great view. Everything needed was provided.
Julianne N. Jul 2017
We came to The Red Door House for our 'mini-moon' and had an absolutely enchanting time!!! We caught a bunch of crab (some of which we could actually keep) and watched the sunset and seals!!! Gorgeous place and so peaceful!!
Wendy P. Jun 2017
One of our favorite places to stay on the Oregon Coast! Beautiful furnishings, wonderful hot tub and outside seating!
Gorgeous views, huge kitchen and laundry area.
Stephanie H. Jun 2017
We do not get to vacation very often and this was our first time renting a house for vacation, it was perfect, I could not have asked for a more peaceful setting. The seals swimming in the Bay were very pleasing to watch and the hot tub was a great addition to the stay! We would totally stay again in the future. Thank you from a family in Montana, definitely would recommend this house!
Nathan L. Jun 2017
This house was perfect for our two families. The area is just beautiful. I don't really have any complaints. I would go back to this house again!
Melissa W. Jun 2017
Can't say enough about this place. It took our breath away as soon as we walked in and exceeded our expectations for the next several days. Very convenient in-town location but still peaceful. The neighbors are close, but it still feels fairly private. The hot tub was awesome, and the flame table was fun. Fantastic kitchen, large comfortable beds. Private space for everyone. Hope we can visit again some day!
Paula H. Jun 2017
Perfect floor plan!
Heather C. May 2017
We loved our stay! The house was super roomy, clean and comfortable. There were two bedrooms on the main level. One has an en suite and the other one is separated from the main living space by a door and is like a little apartment with it's own living room, kitchen and bathroom. The master suite is upstairs with its own en suite . The house provided beautiful views of Alsea bay. To get down to the beach you do you have to scramble over some rocks, but a few doors down there are public stairs with beach access. The house is right downtown, so one block over there are a few shops and restaurants. The town itself is sleepy which we liked because we could explore in the busier towns then come home to quiet. Perfect for families and friend groups. A bit too large for just a couple.
Sarah D. Apr 2017
This house was great for our family. The attached mother-in-law suite was a real treat for our children who treated it as their own little getaway. Plenty of room for everyone, large open living room, great appointed kitchen, lovely backyard with a very nice hot tub. The location along the bay with access to the sand was amazing, it was a nice safe place for the kids to play without having to worry about waves, while at the same time being able to see the ocean and crashing waves. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to get away.
Boris K. Mar 2017
The best house and place we ever stayed!
Erica P. Mar 2017
Perfect house for a weekend away with 6-8 adults! Beautiful house!
Michelle B. Jan 2017
This house was just what we needed-a view and a hot tub. I can't believe how perfect it is, thank you for sharing it with us!
Sean N. Oct 2016
Great house, roomy, clean, and right in the bay. Seals float by during high tide, and you can catch crab right off of the back yard.
Every amenity is within walking distance. We're coming back as soon as we can!
Susan H. Sep 2016
This house is outstanding. The beds are beyond comfortable. The shabby chic look throughout was entertaining as we continued to see something else "cute" to look at and enjoy. It is truly beautiful at the "Red Door"
Judith A. Sep 2016
This is the third year we have stayed at the Red Door, my family and I just love it. We all have our own little almost apartments within and then common area to share. The patio outside is like having an extra room with the firepit, gas barbecue and hottub. We spent several evenings outside with the firepit going and watching the beautiful lights on the water. We will definitely be back year after year!
Cheryl K. Sep 2016
All I can say is that the house and the view are very beautiful and was very enjoyable. We all had a great time. I would just reiterate that there should be at least one lower bed that is easier for an older person to get in to that has a leg or hip problem. Everything else was wonderful!
Christie B. Aug 2016
We stayed at this property with 2 adults and 4 teenagers. The house was beautiful. All necessary utensils, spices, etc were stocked in the kitchen. It was a very quiet location with an absolutely stunning view of the bay and the water. It was fairly windy and somewhat cold for late August (mid-50's) but we thought the house was fabulous!
Nikolay T. Aug 2016
Very good place to stay
Lidia T. Aug 2016
Great size house, wonderful supply of bedding and towels!
Dylan E. Jul 2016
Good location, close to Newport, great pizza at Grand Central and a nice spot on Alsea Bay.
Kirk R. Jul 2016
Great property, plenty of space for your family. Enjoyed our stay, we will come back.
Tina M. Jul 2016
It was a very nice stay. We loved watching the seals hunting each night right behind the house. Beautiful sunset view from the hot tub.
Kerry L L. Jul 2016
If your looking for a great location but want privacy this is the spot!
Nicole H. Jul 2016
This beach house was perfect for our large family! Everyone had their own space and bathroom, the family room and eating areas are open and spacious. The layout is just perfect!! The house is well appointed and we had everything we needed to be comfortable and entertained. The hot tub with a view of the water is a nice bonus!
Coming from Vancouver, Canada (an 8+ hour drive) we would definitely come again and recommend it to anyone!

The beach out front the house has lovely soft fine sand and the water is tidal (the areas exposed when the tide goes out is very soft and feet sink in deep!). Everyday we saw seals swimming by! There is a jagged wall of rocks to climb over to get the the beach (not difficult for younger or limber people) or you can walk 2-3 houses down to access the public stairs for easy access (best for older people or young kids, or bringing lots of items to the beach). It was very cool to see a smokey mist coming off the sand in the distance at many times of the day - we thought it was a sand storm!

Our kids enjoyed kites, sand toys, and running into the water at many of the beaches near by. The water was very cold (at end of July) and on nice days the sand was hot, cloudy days were on & off mixed with hot sun. For people unfamiliar with the coast, it tends to be cooler (especially in the evenings) and windy so bring a variety of clothes to suit.

Waldport is a cute town with lots of great dining options and shops. Since it's a small town, most places close at 9/10pm (just in case you get into town late and need food/groceries). There are countless beach areas along the shoreline to explore, each with different characteristics! South of Waldport the beaches tend to be more rocky & volcanic but so lush and reminded us of parts of Hawaii!
We wish we had more than 4 days here!
Susan L. Jun 2016
This house is great. Beautiful views and close to the beach. The apartment worked great with two families, giving everyone space to relax. We had fantastic weather so we spent a lot of time in the hot tub. I would highly recommend this house.
Heather V. Jun 2016
This home was perfect for our group! All of the bedrooms have their own bathroom and are sufficiently spaced from one another. The kitchen was fully stocked and easy to use. The washer & dryer came in handy since it rained most of the time during our stay. The hot tub was wonderful and the house just has a fantastic view. I think this was a great house for the price and we definitely want to come back again. Thank you!
Valerie T. May 2016
We were very happy with the layout of the house. Our four kids ranging from 7-11 had their own "wing of the house" which they absolutely loved and so did the parents because the mess stayed out of our view. We will absolutely rent this house again
James D. May 2016
Our family enjoyed the view of the home! We may return if we were able to enjoy the outdoor amenities as advertised.
Decor was very beachy, and not as it was in the photos on the web at all. It was almost a hodge podge of whatever someone didn't want for their home, and put it in the beach house. Very comfortable but older beds.
Bathroom sink up stairs is cracked, bbq was terribly overused and not cleaned, we had to pull it AWAY (fire hazard) from the house and let it burn off for an hour prior to cooking, the actual fire pit, (as advertised) was not usable at all, the door to where the propane should have been was rusted shut, and no cushions on any of the furniture outside, that was a disappointment, because it was a gorgeous weekend, and we would have liked to enjoy the outdoor portion of the property as advertised.
We were surprised and took many photos of the house, decor, and lawn/back deck area. As owners of a vacation home we would want to know if our VRBO or rental was not being properly maintained or cared for, for guests.
We enjoyed the view very much!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that the BBQ and outdoor fire pit were not guest ready. The Property Manager will work on these items with the owner.
Brittany W. Apr 2016
Great stay! The house was beautiful and princely located on the bay. Not much in town, but the kitchen was pretty well equipped to suit all our needs. Would have been nice to have paper products, but I'm pretty sure the cleaning people just forgot. Can't beat the view and the room were lovely!
Chad C. Nov 2015
Great location, clean, lots of room and very cozy! The bay is right in front of you, easy walk to a great Mexican restaurant. Can't wait for 2016 - see you then Red Door!
Cyndy R. Sep 2015
We enjoyed the lovely view of Alsea Bay and the bridge, especially in the early morning and at dusk. Very quiet and roomy house. Good kitchen for cooking. Great to have washer and dryer. Carpet and furniture are stained which detract from interior appearance and give impression that the house isn't cared for. Bath towels need to be replaced as they are worn and bleach stained.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review and your feedback. We sent your comments to the property manager who will address the carpet and towels for future guests. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa!
Nonie H. May 2015
I am so pleased I found Red Door inn on VRBO....I am glad we decided to stay in a smaller community as it was better value. The house is huge and while some of the furnishings are getting a little old and tired, it was still a very comfortable place to stay. We loved the hot tub and of course seeing the seals on the bay right in front of the house. The kitchen is very well equipped and it was nice to have a washing machine and dryer to use. While there were only 3 of us staying there, I can tell this would be great for a larger group. I will definitely recommend this place to others to stay and hope to stay there again myself sometime.
Sheryl M. May 2015
I enjoyed my time at the Red Door. Loved the hot tub and the view from it. The layout of the house is good with lots of room for people to have a quiet area if they need it. To get down to the beach it is just a short walk to the stairs. I preferred that than climbing down the rocks out our back door. It is a quiet neighborhood and because you are where the river meets the ocean, it was not windy.

We had fun at Cape Perpetua and then spent one day in Newport. We opted not to go to the museums there though the Oregon Coast Aquarium looked amazing-but it was raining and part of it is outside. The maritime was closed, so we spent the time in the Rogue Nation's pub consoling ourselves with great beer. We did go to the Yaquina lighthouse and tour that, walking all the way up to the top-an informative tour.
Mealoha M. Apr 2015
Management responded quickly to our lack of hot water. Wasn't as clean as we expected. However, this house is large and really fit the needs of our group. Well furnished, beautiful view and location is fantastic. So glad we finally stayed here!
Jason . Apr 2015
I noticed a couple reviews where EVERYTHING WAS NOT PERFECT. In return, they left negative reviews. What I have to say is, if you want everything perfect, buy your own house. This place was awesome, and I am picky. Yes, the dishwasher and couch could be replaced, but we went to Oregon to relax, not critique the dishwasher rack.

Our group consisted of my wife and I, (2) ten year old boys, (2) 12 year old girls and my mother in law. So, we had a wide range of people to satisfy. This house made it easy.

First of all, the location is to die for. The backyard is like a marine sanctuary. Otters, seals, crabs, clams and countless birds were always around. Speaking of clams, my kids collected over 150 clams in the back yard!! It was really convenient having paradise in our back yard while being able to buy anything we needed within a 1 minute drive. We drove 20 minutes to Newport a few times for fishing and shopping. We did the same in Depoe Bay. You must watch the boats TRY to enter the narrow harbor under the tiny bridge. We live in Palos Verdes, CA and I thought we had nice tide pools. I was wrong. Drive anywhere on the Oregon coast and you will find unbelievable stuff. I found it hard to drive because you just want to look at the views.

The dining room table was like eating at the nicest waterfront restaurant ever. We were in awe from our first meal to our last. We are going back next year.

Last thing I want to say is that VACASA went above and beyond. I only had to call them once. We arrived to find the previous guests had broken the sound system. I called Vacasa and told them I had a group of music lovers and I did not know if we could survive 7 nights without music. I told her don't worry and that I would go shop for a portable one in the morning. Around 11:00am the next morning, the doorbell rang. I answered the door and some lady had a brand new sound system in the box. I thought that was a sign of great customer service.

Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your excellent review with us. We appreciate that you understand that going on vacation is about relaxing, not seating over the small stuff. We work closely with owners to ensure homes are in great shape. This particular home is just fantastic, perfect for a family get away. The views are stunning and there is so much to do and explore. It's so nice that the owner was so quick to replace the stereo to ensure you were able to enjoy music!
Larry Z. Mar 2015
The house was perfect for 6 guest with the added spare room it would be perfect for a couple youngsters. The only thing missing is a deck off the upper bedroom and for it to cover the hot tub. We will be renting this one again.
Manager response:
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the comfortable and spacious home! We hope you can visit again soon!
Shannon F. Mar 2015
We enjoyed the separation of space, hot tub and beautiful view!
There are some fixable items in the house that need to be addressed (broken dishwasher, firepit, stove, music issues, etc) that need to be addressed to make this a 5 star.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you had issues with some things in the home. We appreciate you letting our local manager in to work on these issues.
Anonymous . Mar 2015
The view is amazing. Overall rating was good. Booking and checking in was very easy and convenient.
Sonja C. Feb 2015
We loved the view of the Alsea bay from our house. The house was comfortable and beautifully decorated. The King Size beds were very comfortable. We loved the quiet town of Waldport and watching the local bald eagles. We will be back!
PETER S. Jan 2015
I opened the guest book as we were leaving and the last entry said they caught 5 crabs on low tide from shore , darn !!! I will review the guest book upon arrival in the future.
Jennifer A. Nov 2014
Because my husband is handicapped we were looking for a place on the water, so he could see the beach, and comfortable inside in case we couldn't get out much. The Red Door absolutely fit the bill. It was clean and spacious with rich attractive furniture, (except the living room couches which are ready to be replaced). Our sons brought their girlfriends and the mother-in-law apartment was perfect for the girls. It feels like part of the house and yet provides some privacy. The bedrooms were spacious, attractive and comfy, and each one has its own bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped, but I would add a griddle and more importantly, a working potato peeler. Over all it was a wonderful place to spend our 31st anniversary. Thank you.
Barb B. Oct 2014
The best of all worlds. Ocean view, riverfront view, and bay bridge view all out the back door. Watching the Pelicans every morning dive for their meal was quite a show, along with watching the occasional seal swim by. The house is great, with a well equipped kitchen, nice bedrooms and comfy beds. We'll be back for sure!
Charles N. Sep 2014
We we super happy with this rental, Vacasa staff for checking on us, and we will be back.
Evan B. Jul 2014
We had a great time at the Red Door, a light, bright house in great condition. It is big and comfortable and family friendly. The view is spectacular! We sat in the hot tub and watched the fog come in at the chill of evening while a heron fished from the sandbar in front of us.