Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Waldport Cape Cod Cottages - Waldport, OR Listing #1494

Cape Cod Cottages - Unit 8 - Waldport, OR

67 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
4150 SW Pacific Coast Hwy, Waldport, OR 97394

Ground-level beachside studio w/ stunning ocean views! It's dog-friendly too!

For a cozy home on the Oregon Coast, something quaint and snuggly for a romantic getaway or just a place to come back to after a long day of beach activities, this dog-friendly Waldport vacation rental will suit your needs.

This unit is one of our Waldport Cape Cod Cottages, a small community of beach rentals on the edge of Big Stump Beach. Only five minutes from Waldport proper, and twenty or so minutes from Newport to the north and Yachats to the South, your cottage lies right along one of the prettiest stretches of the Oregon Coast.

As with all of our Waldport Cape Cod units, the highlight of this vacation rental is the wall of windows overlooking the ocean. This particular unit is a ground-level unit, making it cooler and a little shadier—perfect for really hot days on the Oregon Coast. Outside your door are two lawn chairs perfect for sipping wine and storm watching.

This beach cottage is a studio-style unit. The open floor plan and wood-paneled walls make the unit a perfect place to nest after your long day of beach adventures. The floor is linoleum, with a soft rug at the foot of your comfy sleeper sofa, facing the windows. There is a flatscreen TV with cable in the corner, right next to the wood-burning stove for warmth on the chilly nights. There is Internet available for personal Netflix streaming, or checking the weather, or finding your next dining experience.

For the nights you don't feel like leaving your beach cottage, there is a one-wall kitchen with all the basics for making simple, homemade meals: a gas-range stove top/oven, a refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, and a coffee maker make this rental perfect for breakfast, snack time, or romantic dinners. The little dining table sits three.

Completing the coziness of your Waldport beach cottage is an antique, four-poster queen bed covered in a quilt to snuggle into at bedtime or nap time! The bathroom, with a shower/tub, completes the homey feel with a quilt-like shower curtain. This rental sleeps four (and two dogs, with a small nightly fee) comfortably with the pull-out sleeper sofa, and is a great rental for visiting with the grandparents.

This Waldport vacation rental is a perfect launch pad for all beach-goers. Go whale watching, clamming, kayaking, or take a short stroll along the surf. Chase the sunset, or take a day trip up the Pacific Highway, with stunning views of the Oregon Coast. Visit Waldport, Newport, or Yachats for shopping, gallery hopping, and local eateries.

Whether alone, with friends, with your partner, or with your family, enjoy a lovely, quiet vacation here, at the Waldport Cape Cod Cottage community.

*Please note that firewood is not provided.

*Please note that this home is going to be remodeled through May 2020. You may experience construction noise Monday through Wednesday. Thank you!

AMENITIES

Features

Fireplace

Wood stove

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Cable

Blu-Ray player

Miscellaneous

Electric vehicle charger

Outdoor

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

67 reviews

Nicole G. Oct 2018
The stay was mostly OK. A little remodeling would have made this space amazing but the old linoleum was sticky and gross and furniture a decade out of date. Being a walk from the beach was the only reason to pay so much for a nights stay.
Layla V. Oct 2018
Full kitchen, awesome view and beach access. Can't beat the price for ocean front!
Rhonda B. Sep 2018
We were so upset at the filth of this unit. The amount of dog hair and dust bunnies was absolutely appalling. Around the fridge was the worst and the couch smelled so badly of dog odor. If it weren't for the totally disgusting uncleanlinest it would have been a nice stay. Sometimes we couldn't tell if we were seeing waves or dirt from the windows. Very short easy walk to the beach, wonderful to watch the sunrise and sunset over the ocean. Bed was comfortable, all the kitchen and bathroom amenities that we needed.
Manager response:
We are very sorry to read about what this guest encountered and wish they had called. Housekeeping has corrected the items mentioned. Thank you!
Bonnie W. Sep 2018
We love this location, we don't love having to clean before we can settle in. From corner dust/sand/hair bunnies, to dirty socks and crumbs in the pull out bed....this visit was lacking charm and cleanliness that we had once experienced on our prior visit 2 years ago. We did call customer service to supply us with more toiletries and that was resolved in a timely manner. But honestly, unless things get significant looked over, it is unlikely that we will return to this particular location - unfortunate because both us and our kids adore this location and the easy availability to the beach.
Manager response:
We would like to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness oversights this guest encountered and wish they would have let us deal with those things when we brought the toiletries. We have followed-up with our team. Thank you!
Mona M. Aug 2018
We used to love coming to this quaint rustic place. It was clean and cozy and the folks in the office were wonderful. After a couple of years of not going there, coming back was awful. It was filthy, missing some of the furnishings with no one available to help. One top of that, the prices were much higher due to the property management fees. Sadly, we will not be back.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see our guest was displeased with this rental upon their return. It is certainly a rustic home, but we are working with the owner on upgrades.
Carl B. Aug 2018
I’ll give it 75% ,loved the ocean ,but our fault(not yours) we,re used to units with separate bedroom ,but we,ll stay with you again ,the main reason —your understanding of our emergency issue -we,ll book 6 mos out next time ,again thanks Carl
Wayne S. Aug 2018
Loved our peacefull vacation only trouble was tv kept losing service otherwise loved it
Brian P. Jul 2018
Wonderful place for a couple or small family. Home has everything you need. Great views easy beach access, stairs are somewhat steep but not too bad. The beach grass and bushes around the stairs need to be trimmed back. The stoves front right burner did not work and 2 of 3 ceramic knives were chipped badly and unusable, other than those minor issues would definitely stay again. Great location and close to town, waldport or yachats is nearby with great shops and places to eat.
Dale H. Jul 2018
Great location, easy access to the beach. Good WiFi.
Charles W. Jan 2018
Great views and location
Stephanie M. Jan 2018
This place was perfect. It is quiet with a rustic feel. I love the private access to the beach which was very close.
Patie G. Oct 2017
Not fancy but we stayed for the ocean view and did it ever deliver. Host was very hospitable. Location was a perfect base for exploring. Will definitely consider for our next trip to the beach.
Ron R. Oct 2017
If you are looking for modern updated room,do not stay here. If you are looking for a great uncrowded location with a great ocean view without the inflated prices and easy access to the beach ,this is where you should stay.
Joyce E. Aug 2017
Nice getaway along the Oregon Coast!
Cynthia L. Jul 2017
Great relaxing stay on the beach. Rental needs renovation then it would be perfect
David K. Jun 2017
I have been to the Oregon coast many times and this has been by far my favorite place I have stayed. Cannot beat the fabulous location just steps away from the beach with a full kitchen and dog friendly! We had a wonderful family vacation here with my toddler and dog and it was the perfect location! I will be coming back for sure!! ONLY gripe at all was that the people staying up above us were so loud!! It didn't bother me during the day but at night my imagination was running wild with what they could possibly be doing up there... dancing? Moving furniture? Construction ?? Other than that it was perfect!
Julie L. May 2017
Loved staying here! Short walk to the beach, bed was alright, the neighbors walking around above wasn't terrible (when I used to live at home it was something I grew accustomed to, so I didn't mind...BF kind of did a bit)

Will probably rent unit 11 or 10 next time!
Sarah S. May 2017
Being located on Big Stump Beach is amazing! The city of Waldport has become my favorite central beach destination. You're close enough to any tourist destinations you want to see but yet you are staying on a quiet semi secluded beach.
Amanda S. May 2017
This place was so relaxing! We sat in our room morning and night watching the sun come up and go down over the ocean. Took many walks along the ocean! Beautiful! The room was nothing fancy but it had everything we needed, we loved it! It felt homie! A central place for many activities along the Oregon coast. Definitely will be coming back!
Letitia H. Apr 2017
We spent a long weekend here, and really enjoyed the quiet and beautiful scenery. Cottage is a bit outdated, but was very clean and everything you could need at your fingertips. Would definitely book again!
James B. Apr 2017
Would stay here again. Yes, it is older but it's clean, on the beach, private, easy to get to and most of all, relaxing. Don't expect a valet, it is a beach house. And for the cost it was worth every penny. I went there for relaxing and that is what I found. Clean and enjoyable but not a resort. You want that, go elsewhere and pay for it. Oh, and forget the solitude that THIS place affords. Will come again!
Fernando B. Mar 2017
Nice place. Quiet.
Tara O. Mar 2017
Great location. Closer to beach. Nice wood burning stove. Easy access to restaurants and tourist spots. Furniture older and not very comfortable. Loud when below active second floor unit.
Hongbo H. Mar 2017
We spent eleven days at the wonderful cottage by the ocean.The cottage is very conviently located right next to the beach and the ocean view was tremendous.??? especially enjoyed the full size kitchen with all the dishes and utensils provided. The internet was fast and did not drop, which is great when near the ocean. The location is easy to find and very clean. Having a parking space provided right outside the door was really appreciated when we brought in groceries and when it rained.
We would certainly stay again in the future.
Gary N. Jan 2017
It was nice
Cindi B. Oct 2016
This is a great place to stay. It's quite a way from Newport but a nice area.
Diana R. Oct 2016
Beautiful views, and the beach is the only place where salt lowers your blood pressure.
Denise W. Sep 2016
We had a great week, enjoyed the view. We will stay again.
Coreen H. Sep 2016
We spent three nights in this quaint studio cottage. Clean - no frills. Perfect location to beach and quite private feeling.
Meghann D. Aug 2016
We had an amazing week along the coast. Waldport is very centrally located to be able to reach Newport to Florence easily in a day. If the weather permits you get to wake up on go to bed while looking at the ocean. The place was very clean and the bed and towels were of good quality. We will most definitely be back. Thanks for a great experience!!
Kelly F. Aug 2016
My husband and I brought our two small boys and the cottage was perfect for our little family! The beach is only a short walk away and very quiet. We only saw a couple of other people on it. They even provided sand toys for the kids. The boys were happy to spend all their time on the beach. The manager was extremely helpful when I asked about the local areas. She also took the time to tell me about the property and their future plans to improve it. When I read the reviews I noticed that any of the issues mentioned were addressed, such as only one outside chair (there is now 2) and no cookie sheets for baking (there is now 2, which I was so thankful for). Point is, they read the reviews and take action when possible. We will definitely visit again
Greg G. Jul 2016
We loved this place, even with a couple small issues like the stove light out, etc. CLEAN! Soft towels, new shower curtain, spotless bathroom, big bed with new linens. Cabin is attached to other units, but very quiet. Outside is a very little bit rough, but expected on the coast. View is wonderful, even from a downstairs unit.
Susanne H. Jul 2016
A great time.
Bradley B. Jul 2016
Great views and awesome beach.
Erica S. Jun 2016
I was extremely pleased with our rental.
Check in and check out was so simple. The instructions that were emailed to me were on point and easy to follow.
We weren't able to check in until 1am due to us coming from visiting family in California and hitting a ton of road work hold ups :( As soon as we walked in we went straight to bed. We had a very good night sleep since this unit was so comfortable. We unfortunately had to leave early since we were headed back to Washington. Did not get the full experience which is why we will definitely be back! For what i was able to enjoy i was very pleased. We went on the beach before leaving and it was so beautiful. We will be back! I promise!
Ashley H. Jun 2016
Overall we had a great time here, the cottage was a little outdated but the location and the view made up for that part I think. Would stay here again.
Valerie B. Jun 2016
Wonderful little studio on the beach. Steps away from feet in the ocean. It's not fancy, and the exterior could be deceiving, but it's very well maintained. Unit 12 was exactly like the photos showed it to be and exactly what we were looking for. Hubs and I and our 2 grandsons LOVED our experience. I highly recommend Cape Cod Cottages.
Bonnie W. Jun 2016
Amazing! We've never stayed at a place on the coast, let alone one with direct access to a private beach area. Absolutely beautiful. Never had to get the kids into the car to drive to the beach and get the car filled with sand, perfect!
Cons, the place is definitely dated. Needs some attention to the outside up keep and some updates needed for inside. Would request extra linens and towels for next visit. But otherwise, beautiful location. Would stay again!! Unit 12 has amazing room views!
Winter R. May 2016
My son and I stayed in unit 12. It was very cozy with a feeling of home. The view was amazing for sunsets and the beach was just a walk out the front door. Everything was clean, although the sheets smelled as of they sat in the washer for awhile. The town of yachts is very peaceful and beautiful. There is also outdoor sight seeing and trails to hike just 10 minutes away. I would recommend this property to anyone and plan on staying frequently!
Angie C. Apr 2016
Perfect for a romantic getaway! Close to many attractions. Quiet and affordable.
Camila D. Apr 2016
We rented other cottage in the area and we were very pleased with it, so we decided to rent again in the same complex. This unit was totally different than the other one we stayed. It was dark, it was moldy and the worst was the radiator that was so loud that kept waking us up during the night. We payed for the late check out but did not used it given the unpleasant experience. For 140 dollars a night( including all fees and taxes) I am sure we can find a better place.
Manager response:
We are sorry that you had anything short of a perfect stay and appreciate your feedback. We will have our property manager check the radiator for any issues and help make the home more comfortable for guests going forward. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Jennifer G. Mar 2016
Cape Cod Cottages are a gem! We booked this stay just a few weeks ago for a 3 night stay during spring break. Our family desperately needed a quiet time away from all of the recent stress. I booked number 12, then read some of the reviews. Most of them were excellent. A couple mentioned a lack of sheets for the pullout bed and some missing dishes. This was a little worrisome for us as we would be arriving late and needed the bedding. I contacted Lisa the local property manager with my concerns and she was amazing! She went in ahead of time and made sure the cottage was fully stocked and ready to go. I had given her a brief history of why we wanted to just stay put once we got there. Upon arrival we were very pleased with everything we found. We arrived late at night to a very homey, completely set up studio cottage. We needed only to unload our food and clothing. Our daughter was very sick and we ended up needing to drive her to Lincoln City the next day to the closest Urgent Care who could actually see her. When we had to contact Lisa regarding a curtain that had fallen down and she found out about our daughter, she and Cliff of Maintenance bought our daughter a beautiful flower arrangement. Cliff also brought us extra fire wood. My daughter felt so special and cared for. The extra attention to detail and personal care was great. The view from the room was awesome, the beach access is easy. We never heard our neighbors. It was like we were alone. It is apparent they are going through a remodel, and Cliff told us as much as well. Our hope is that their rates stay affordable in the future, as this is our new favorite place. Great people! Great place! Great price!
Mark B. Mar 2016
This was my first time staying here and will definitely be back. We were very pleased except for the wifi excellent location and beach access just steps from the beach.
Mark R. Feb 2016
A couple complaints such as WiFi does not work in #12 and cellphones have no service unless you go outside. The heater made a ton of noise which kept us up so tried to do a fire but the wood in the room didn't fit in the fireplace, too big. Great view and easy beach access though. Won't stay in this unit again.
Kathie J. Feb 2016
They are advertised as cottages, but it's basically a motel and the rooms are like small studio apartments. They're rustic (old) and are in need of updating.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that you did not better enjoy your time in your room; we will take your comments under consideration for future improvements.
Steve P. Jan 2016
We were absolutely content in our stay here unit 12 is perfect for a couple or even 3 people ..everything you need is there except no wood so bring wood ..The view is breathtaking and it was very peaceful here.. We will definitely come here again and have mentioned this place to family/friends we have that are weekend coast people like us..
SONIA B. Sep 2015
This place is great a real gem. Very well taken care of and a great price. Cant wait to return. Thank you
Sharlean H. Jul 2015
We called for sheets for the sofa bed and they were there that day. We felt that the area was wonderful.
Marilyn K. Jul 2015
My husband is disabled and cannot walk on gravel or stairs, so this was not an easy beach access for him. He could not go down to the beach at all. For those of us who have no trouble walking, it was a very easy beach access, only about 7-10 stairs. Also the bottom unit that I booked because I thought it would be easier for a disabled person was not. I should have booked #3-8 up top where he could have walked straight into the unit without walking up a hill or stairs. I only say this to help someone else who may be searching for easy access for someone who has trouble with stairs. Nice beach. Quiet.
Nicholas P. Nov 2014
My girlfriend and I enjoyed our 3 nights in Waldport. We got exactly what we had expected and more. The location is absolutely amazing. It's literally a 30 second walk to the beach. The sunset was amazing and we happened to hit the area during a warm spell so that made hanging out on the beach super pleasant. One thing I will say is that the cottage doesn't have a door handle to exit for some reason. Other than that and there only being one beach chair we had a wonderful weekend. THE SUNSETS ARE AMAZING!
Ernest H. Oct 2014
Great location, tucked away behind the building entrance was nice. Nothing too fancy, tho perfect for comfy beach sleeping. The kitchen was just perfect to prepare a few simple meals for 2. No sheet pans , bring your own if you need one.
Loved the privacy and immediate beach access.
We'll be back!
Shaylee S. Jul 2014
We were very pleased and surprised by how much we liked it here! So close to the beach, with private access and the staff were so friendly. Such a great price for what you get and we lived that there were one night stays available, although once we arrived we tried to stay a second night because we loved the location. We'll definitely be back!
Manager response:
Thank you so much for this feedback. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much you wanted to stay longer. We look forward to seeing you again!