Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.
Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.
Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.
Waterfront, dog-friendly home a few steps from the beach w/ WiFi & hot tub!
Looking for a beach cottage to call home while visiting the beautiful Oregon Coast with all your fantastic friends and family? For antique charm, and modern amenities for extra comfort, this Rockaway Beach vacation rental will keep you high and dry, even while the ocean roars just outside your window.
Just north of downtown Rockaway Beach, Sand Castle Villa is located along the beautiful Pacific St, with some of the best views of the Oregon Coast you'll get while driving - or walking, or biking, or whatever! You can also walk to Rockaway Beach proper to play tourist in the galleries and adorable beach trinket shops, or eat local delicacies whenever your heart fancies. Visit one of the various parks - or enjoy the stretch of beach right outside your back patio!
Unit 1 of the Sand Castle Villa is half of a larger vacation home available for rent (visit the Sand Castle Villa page for booking details); the units themselves can be rented separately or together - they're joined by a lock-off door in the living room, so if you only need one half of the home, you'll still enjoy total privacy.
This section of Sand Castle Villa is a three bedroom, three bathroom rental; the upper floor includes the open kitchen/dining/living space and one bedroom/bathroom. Downstairs are the two other bedrooms and bathrooms.
Entering from the downstairs, you'll notice the tile floors and beach-themed decor; simple white walls catch as much of the natural light as they can, and floral patterns keep this beach cottage feeling as cozy as Grandma's house. Downstairs is a master bedroom with a king-sized bed and access to the patio, and a second bedroom with four twins in bunk bed style. With quilts, patterned dust ruffles, and solid wood furniture, you'll get a sense of the familiar and cozy, with a few beachy twists!
Upstairs, the third and final bedroom has a leather recliner, a mounted TV, and a king-sized bed with a private bathroom. Walk into the living space and the first thing you'll notice is a full set of windows facing out towards the beach, including a patio with chairs so you can go breathe in the salty air with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee in your hand. The dining alcove sits six for breaking bread with of all your favorite people, crossword puzzles in the afternoons, or an early breakfast alone before the rest of the house wakes up.
Enjoy the ambiance of the secluded sitting area with a couch and a big reading chair. There's also a wall-mounted flatscreen TV with cable & DVD, or you can poke around online using the available Wi-Fi. Don't forget to soak in the warm waters of the hot tub!
The kitchen is ready for you to rock out a family favorite, or simply to snack away while waiting for the next adventure to begin. With plenty of counter space - including an eating island with bar stools - white appliances, including a dishwasher, and a double oven for extra cooking space, you can cook away to your heart's content - and clean up quickly, too! There's also a washer/dryer for those mid-vacation loads of laundry. This side of the duplex comfortably sleeps eight guests, and has a garage and plenty of on-street parking.
Experience all the joys of living on the beach - the sound, the smell, the access to sand; enjoy combing for sea shells or flying kites, long sandy runs or whale watching. Take a little road trip up to the Manhattan Beach State Park, or visit Lytle Lake just a few minutes up north from you. Your dogs - welcome for a small nightly fee - are sure to love the great outdoors!
But most of all, this is a great place to enjoy the people you've brought with you. Bond, laugh, and make memories - Sand Castle Villa will be your launch pad, your refuge, and your focal point during your next Oregon Coast vacation. A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Charter
Cable : Charter
Katie P.Jan 2021
This home has everything you need. Space for a large family, kitchen utensils and dishes, extra towels and blankets, board games, hot tub, three bathrooms, ect. I deducted a star for two reasons. After fighting with the tv for an hour we discovered the cable was unplugged from the television. Second I don't like paying cleaning fees for a dirty rental. There was crumbs and sticky spots on the table and counters and hand prints all over the kitchen windows. With those two exceptions, the rental was wonderful, if a bit overpriced considering the time of year.
Thank you for your review, Katie. We are happy to hear that the home had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. We sincerely apologize for any oversite regarding the cleanliness of the home. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. We are disappointed to see that this concern was not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist. Your feedback was passed along to our housekeeping staff so they can ensure an oversite as such does not occur again in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!
Brian Y.Jan 2021
This is a beautiful location for a beach house. it's a smart floor plan, and works well for a group - it has 3 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms which is wonderful. It's right on the beach so the location is ideal. BUT...BUT...BUT - THIS PLACE IS A HOT MESS - It was built in 1998 and has NOT been updated since. Which is ok but I don't think it's been maintained since either. First the pictures make it look GREAT - but it was filthy dirty - absolutely unacceptable during Covid - I sprayed the whole place down when I got there because it was so dirty. One bathroom was never cleaned and had hair all over the place, toilet paper on the floor, no towels and soap left from the previous guests. The place is a liability - broken chairs, missing screen doors, broken blinds, the rug was rolled up and in the garage - who knows why. The dishwasher barely works and takes 1 1/2 hours to run, The Washer and dryer all rusty and old - and they do not provide ANY EXTRAS. We were given 1/2 of a roll of crappy paper towels, 3 garbage bags for a long weekend (would have been OK if we didn't have to clean up after the previous guests). 3 dishwasher tablets and one was defective, NO laundry soap, and diluted hand soap at the kitchen sink. This place is missing safety basics - the smoke detector on the lower level is missing - just wires hanging. No fire extinguisher, no flashlights, no first aid kit - basically everything the Vacasa web site says they do they did not. The hot tub was dirty - water unbalanced and the best part it would not get above 89 degrees - we are not rookie Hot tub people - we have our own. There was something wrong with the tub in this place. And the cover was wasted - torn and needed to be replaced. I have so much more - I would stay clear of this place until they can spend some money and time updating it properly.
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay, as this is not the high level of guest satisfaction that we hold ourselves to. We did provide your valuable feedback to our local manager. There is a fire extinguisher in the home, the hot tub cover has been ordered, and the dishwasher was tested and working correctly. We have replaced the chairs and smoke detectors. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Mridula D.Jan 2021
Please, stay away from this place.
It was filthy dirty everywhere. So here is the full picture of my stay which ruined our time.
As you walk to open the main door, it’s rusty but we said it’s fine, it’s by the coen it happens. We opened the door and gosh the smell, it was awful. cat pee smell.
We walk in and go upstairs, the kitchen faucet and sink area is pink, the dishes in cabinets are dirty, the windows needs sone serious cleaning as it has mold on all of them.
The chairs have wobbly legs in living and dinning area.
In the bathroom, the faucet and sink is pink, stain on some towels and washer has rusted and peeling off. No laundry detergent for cleaning at all
In the bedroom, the pillow cover is torn and old, the bottom mattress is not covered and exposed and it’s dirty.
The closet has all the random things in it like a huge pot and some woods. The light was flickering everytime you turned it on.
The chest in bedroom is brown so you can’t even use it.
The downstairs bedroom had dust on pillow and our friend got bad rashes from it.
Sooo yeah, be careful before booking this place.
The only thing nice about it was the view you get from the place
Hi, Mridula. Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We have worked closely with our local staff to address these concerns thoroughly and to ensure that our future cleanings live up to the Vacasa standard. Our property manager confirms there is no bad smell in the home. The kitchen and bathroom faucet have been cleaned and the pillow cover is not torn. We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Shelly A.Dec 2020
The view and path to the beach can't be beat! House isn't the fanciest you'll encounter but for the price, you'd be hard pressed to find another oceanfront 3bed 3bath. Clean. Comfortable beds. Hot tub was a challenge to keep at 104 degrees, but still enjoyed. What we missed the most was that the living room isn't large enough or comfortable enough for movie watching as a group.
Amanda L.Oct 2020
We loved our stay in the Sand Castle 1. The hot tub on the deck, overlooking the ocean, was amazing. Well-maintained house, had all the extra necessities you would need. The only minor issue I noticed was that in both of the bottom floor rooms, the blinds to the deck were missing slats on each end, leaving spaces to see in. Would definitely rent again!
Dylan A.Sep 2020
Location of the house is perfect 20 ft walk to nice rock steps gets you on the beach. The house has great views from inside and out. Beds are all super comfy not to firm not to soft. Only drawbacks to the house is it needs minor upkeep. Blinds down stairs are half broken (hard to get privacy). The hot tub Wasn't very clean and needs a new cover. The steps around the hot tub were broken. Minor things. We enjoyed our time at sandcastle and would book it again
Thank you for your review, Dylan. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We have reached out to our local manager with your comments and suggestions. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope to host you again soon!
Mickey R.Sep 2020
Great place, comfy beds, thirsty towels and the view and being able to listen to the ocean all nite! Ah!, just what we needed. Thanx!
Liz B.Sep 2020
This is our 4th time staying at this house and it is our favorite! Always clean, fully stocked with all the dishes and amenities you could need. Love the hot tub and being able to walk right out on the beach!
Jay A.Aug 2020
Good beach access with a fabulous view of the ocean. Sitting in the chairs provided, on the little glassed in patio was the perfect afternoon activity. Lots of room for 8 people. Kitchen was stocked for any type of cooking. Easy access to the deck and hot tub. It's a duplex house but we never heard the neighbors. Handy variety store close by has almost everything you might need.
Julianne O.Jun 2020
This rental is actually a duplex, connected to another rental. Could be 5-star due to just the views, immediate beach access, short walk to good espresso cart and 1-mile walk down the beach to town. However it loses stars due to the slightly rough condition inside and the lack of clarity around the hot tub access. We rented this because the hot tub was supposedly private, but in fact the people's kids in the unit next door took it over and used it before we had a chance, and we weren't exactly comfortable sharing it with the rental neighbors during a pandemic who were not worried about social distancing. The listing for Sandcastle 2 should make it VERY clear that it does not have access to the hot tub on the shared deck-- if in fact that is the case. It was like were renting a house with another family. If you are ok with a bit of rust on the appliances, aged furniture, stains on couch and grimy carpets, this is an otherwise great rental for the beach and ocean access.
Hi, Julianne! We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to read other guests were using the hot tub. Please do not hesitate to call in situations like this so we can rectify the issue. Thank you!
Jennifer S.Jun 2020
This duplex has the most amazing views of the ocean especially when you first walk into the dining room, both patios and also while sitting in the hot tub- wow! The accessibility to the beach from the house is great, note— there are rocks to climb down but almost like steps (clever) so it’s easier than most. If anyone has small kids or someone has mobility issues, they would need assistance. The place was very clean and did not smell musty like some beach houses. They did a great job of extra cleaning due to COVID-19. Nice having a garage with a place to park your car if need be. The kitchen is fully stocked, plenty of towels, bedding, pillow and blankets. All the bedrooms (comfy) all have their own bathroom which is great when sharing with other families or kids. Place still needs a few updates throughout- kitchen table and chairs, bathroom light fixtures, the patio upstairs’ back door sticks/jams when trying to open it; and the hot tub seems old but still very hot and relaxing. The bedroom downstairs do not have adequate blinds to the patio doors, so there is little privacy to anyone walking by on the patio. Both downstairs bedrooms are the only access to the back patio where the hot tub is located. Other guest have to go through those rooms to get out there or they have to go out the front door and around the house to get to the patio/beach. The duplex side we were on (left side if looking at the ocean) has the hot tub. The back patio is shared by both renters so could have awkward encounters. We had nice renters so sharing the back patio was fine. These items were very minor and we would definitely stay here again as we appreciated the cleanliness, the amazing views and the access to the beach was ideal. This place is close to conveniences- stores, restaurants and coffee shops. We’re looking forward to coming back hopefully soon. Thanks for listening to our concerns prior to our arrival.
Daniel C.Jun 2020
We loved the view, it was clean and the kitchen had all the necessary utensils for cooking. Beach chairs and towels were included.
alesha s.Jun 2020
The house felt dirty and rundown. Surface was clean but really could use a “deep clean” the hot tub was cold and dirty. Showers, windows moldy dirty. I didn’t feel comfortable sitting in hot tub with other people’s hair skin particles floating around.
In general it was fine. However I would not rent again unless updated a bit and cleaner. Especially the hot tub which seemed like a perk but wasn’t. Great beach access though.
We are sorry to read the home was not cleaned to our standards and will be sure to follow-up with the housekeeping team. Thank you for staying with us!
Ray S.Mar 2020
view, beach access, roomy house
Beka F.Oct 2019
The beach access is unmatched. The check in and out was easy and we had everything we needed. The place is a bit dated but it was fine. The beds were not as comfortable as we hoped. But we slept just fine!!! We loved the hot tub and the views for sure. Great time. Great place.
John R.Oct 2019
My wife and I loved our stay here! Even when it was storming out the views were breathtaking! The place was clean and would recommend staying here.
Phillip H.Aug 2019
The view of the ocean is awesome. The hot tub is a must!
Sandra G.May 2019
Robert S.May 2019
They think of everything! Absolutely beautiful! We used everything this home had to offer! Will go back again!
Eric S.Feb 2019
A quiet and relaxing weekend get away. A return visit is a must !!
Dean A.Sep 2018
The view of the ocean is incredible and the home comfortable and well maintained.
Pam J.Sep 2018
The view was mesmerizing and listening to the ocean while going to sleep.....who needs a white noise machine. The house was clean with all the amenities. Steps were tough on my knees, because but it was worth it!
Bridget B.Apr 2018
We loved how it was right on the beach. The hot tub was a treat too!
Melissa B.Mar 2018
Fabulous house. Incredible view. Comfortable beds. Loved the hot tub & fireplace. Cozy living space. Bring your own pans, because the ones provided are terrible. Also, DVD player didn’t work. Enjoyed our time, mostly. Customer service tho is crap. Our front door wouldn’t lock. (Electronic code type). We called customer service and explained what was going on. No one ever came to fix it or called us back with instructions on what to do. Wasn’t fun leaving all our belongings in an unlocked house whenever we wanted to leave. For this reason I doubt we will rent from this company again. 👎🏻👎🏻
We are sorry to see this guest had some issues with their stay. We did call and leave a message with this guest regarding the lock and DVD player and are disappointed to see they did not receive it. The lock is currently working, and we have replaced the DVD player. Thank you!
Kelly S.Mar 2018
We enjoyed watching the storms roll in and out of the coastline. It was very relaxing and peaceful.
Kendra K.Jan 2018
Cute place with a perfect view and access to the beach. Hot tub is a bonus.
Janette P.Sep 2017
Very comfortable, clean with an amazing view!! Access to the beach was easy and the hot tub was wonderful.
Scott T.Jul 2017
I would and will be staying again
Ken K.Jul 2017
We enjoyed our time in the Sand Castle. The ocean views from the living room and hot tub were wonderful. Comfortable beds and nice linens made our stay pleasant.
Things that would have improved our stay are as follows: the bunk bedroom smelled like cat urine , clothes/ linens would catch in dryer and leave rust stains on them, and no available extra trash bags.
FYI--you need to contact the electric power company regarding the poor/ arcing connection that is providing power for this property and several of the other adjacent properties. It looked and sounded like the hot tap feeding the transformer was arcing. This could damage electrical equipment in this properties. I just have 30 plus years of experience with these types of problems working for power companies.
We are happy to see this guest had a good visit. We appreciate the insight into the potential electrical problem and have made an appointment with PUD to have them inspect it. The property manager has spoken with housekeeping who will make sure any unpleasant odors are dealt with and that adequate supplies will be provided for our guests. Thank you!
Chris C.Jun 2017
The beach is perfect for walking and the house is beautiful. We selected this property because it is located just steps from the beach we drove from Idaho and prior to arriving we were notified that there were cockroaches on the property. They offered to exchange the house for a property that was very nice but not located on the beach. We chose to stay in spite of the roaches because we really wanted to be able to see the ocean. It would have been nice if we were offered some discount for the inconvenience of having cockroaches in the kitchen for a week.
Laura P.Apr 2017
My family and I enjoyed a nice spring break here in mid-April. The weather is always iffy this time of year and we had both sun, wind and rain. The beach was nearly empty most days and is easy to walk. When Vacasa says right on the beach, they meant it, as we walked through the back door, down the stone steps and were on the beach. The home is cozy but has plenty of space with all the basic amenities. A bathroom for each bedroom is nice as our nine-year old didn't want to share a bathroom with his grandmother. Overall, an excellent place to stay - we'll be back again soon I'm sure!
Greg A.Apr 2017
The best elements of this property is the beach, which is literally right out of the back door. Although the picture on the website is a bit deceiving--there is a rock/boulder wall that does serve as a barrier. However, this home had easy accessible rock stairs to the beach. Three bathrooms were a plus in this comfy home. You get what you see in the pictures...This is a small condo, but it's location was pretty terrific.
Christine H.Feb 2017
Exceptional view and great location for area. Well equipped property.
Lisa W.Feb 2017
Easy access to ocean front, truly steps from the back patio. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hot tub was wonderful after diving at Netarts and enjoying the beach.
June M.Dec 2016
our stay was almost perfect....loved the accommodations ....will go back : )
Morgan A.Aug 2016
This is a beautiful location to stay. We pretty much had the area of the beach to our selves. The location is great to get to fun other beaches and little towns. We would stay here again.
Debra C.Jun 2016
We had lots of room for our family , extra nice to have 3 bathrooms.
Christina S.May 2016
While the house may not be huge, having a bathroom for every bedroom really helped us minimize the chaos. The bunkbed room was a hit with our 4 teenage girls. Unbelievably we didn't run out of towels. The hot tub was serviced immediately upon our request. Everything about this property is the view (the furnishings are a bit outdated, but still completely functional). If an "I've seen everything" teenage girl stops open-mouthed and says nothing for a full 10 seconds upon coming upstairs and looking out the window, you know it must be spectacular. Also, the site says there is no grill, however we found a charcoal grill in the garage. Quick trips to Manzanita and Canon Beach were good, although the latter was very crowded with tourists and stores and restaurants. If you want a true 'getaway' this location provides it.
Emily B.May 2016
Nice place, had a great time.
Tim K.Apr 2016
Great place and great location!
Sarah W.Apr 2016
If you have a small family of 4-6 this is the place for you! The views are amazing! Location is right ON the beach can't get any closer! The living room is a bit on the smaller side But didn't matter for us we were there for beach hot tub and bbq ??
However, I didn't find to have the same great experience with vacasa. The home was in great condition with everything we needed BUT I am pretty sure it was not clean. Pile of towels on bed, food crumbles covered the kitchen counters, hot tub murky and full of sand, and rugs hanging on banisters. Called customer service twice and have still not heard back from them!
Great home, amazing location, everything you need but lacking customer service. We will rent this home again ??
We want to sincerely apologize that the clean for this home was unfinished and that we were difficult to reach. The Property Manager has been made aware and will investigate the situation. We are actively hiring and training more agents for the phones so that we are easier to get in touch with.
Richard G.Apr 2016
Amazing property with a great view
Heather C.Jan 2016
Overall very nice! Great updated furnishings. We personally didn't really like the very small living room area.
Debi S.Jun 2015
We had a marvelous time at this very comfortable location. It was perfect for peace and quiet that we were looking for.
Brienne R.Jun 2015
We enjoyed our stay here! The home was very clean and comfortable. Beach access is right out back and that was so convenient since we have 2 young children and 2 dogs. We will definitely stay here again!
Katie H.May 2015
Great views and easy access to the beach
Amy H.May 2015
It was a great place to listen to the ocean at night, & such a beautiful view during the day. Everything was clean & to have everything from mixer to crockpot pretty much the comforts of home. Great place for a couple or two family's. Would definitly recomend:)
Chaunda E.Mar 2015
Wonderful place. Only thing it needed was a working Can opener. Incredible views.
Christy M.Mar 2015
What a perfect place to stay. Right on the beach, lots of room, and all the amenities of home. Plus they allow pets!!!!
Best beach weekend ever!!! Would rent from them again in a heart beat.
Eric B.Feb 2015
We had a nice few days getaway here. Wonderful location right on the beach and with a hot tub on the deck to relax in. We look forward to coming back again soon.
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you soon!
Heather .Jan 2015
We will be back!
Candace S.Jan 2015
The rental property was excellent, well furnished, very clean, awesome beach access. I would recommend this rental for your stay and would stay again. Great time and everything is close by.
Joe F.Dec 2014
Amazing views of the ocean from the living room and hot tub.
Deborah H.Nov 2014
This property was just what we were looking for in a quick getaway to the coast. It is right on the wonderful beach at Rockaway that is wide and long and perfect for walks. The property was furnished nicely and supplied well for all we needed. Rockaway Beach has great little shops and eateries that fulfilled our every need.
Matt M.Nov 2014
Sand Castle 1 is better than the pictures show in so many ways - not to mention the incredible view. The property is very well laid out, has great beach access, and has more appliances and amenities than listed (except for a blender, which I hope will be remedied). The property is also updated with very nice materials and appliances (not the top of the line, but durable and newer). The few issues we had were addressed promptly and adequately with just a phone call to Vacasa. During our stay of 9 nights, four adults and three kids were kept very comfortable with areas of privacy for everyone and common areas to gather for meals and social time. We made use of everything from the beach access (just steps off the back porch) to the hot tub to the cable and internet. We cooked a lot of meals, enjoyed views of the coast, slept comfortably, and managed multiple schedules of events for two families. This was easily one of the best bargains for the amenities and layout available on the Northern Coast of OR at the time we stayed.
A few things needing attention included lights that were burned out, a slow drain, trash from a previous stay filling the dumpsters, sand in the hot tub on arrival, and a messy garage. The items reported to management were fixed very quickly. Some of the others we just lived with as they weren't a big deal for us. The management team at Vacasa was quick to help us with a package delivery that didn't work out right as well as addressing issues. Yet, they didn't bother us unnecessarily, giving us a feeling of autonomy during our stay with the option for a helping hand when needed.
There wasn't a lot of extra bedding or small items like condiments and facial tissue. You certainly get what you need, but if you use a lot of these items found in some vacation properties, you may need to pick up the extras.
Overall, this stay was incredibly relaxing and comfortable. Sand Castle 1 provided a luxury in its layout and updates that made it a true "Castle" on the beach in a small footprint. A little extra effort to ensure the final touches are in good working order would earn this place a perfect score (and a report of "paradise") from us!
Jim C.Oct 2014
Great stay. Would not hesitate to come back again.
Christine C.Sep 2014
My family and I stayed at Sand Castle 1 in early September and we absolutely loved the place. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. I couldn't believe how well the kitchen is stocked with dishes, utensils, pots/pans -- even a crockpot! The views are fantastic whether the sun is out or not and the house is just steps from the beach. We would definitely recommend this home and look forward to returning for another great vacation. Thanks Vacasa!