Virtual Tour
USA Lake Tahoe California South Lake Tahoe Listing #1770

Tamarack Mountain Home - South Lake Tahoe, CA

101 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy dog-friendly home w/ mountain views, a private hot tub & great amenities!

This beautiful and comfortable South Lake Tahoe vacation rental has all the comforts of home, plus a few extras like a private hot tub, a gorgeous gas fireplace, and views of the mountains to make your stay extra memorable.

Located right in town, when you stay here you will be within walking distance of multiple restaurants. You will also be within a mile of skiing at Heavenly, as well as swimming, boating, and fishing on Lake Tahoe, and the bus stop is just two blocks away - how convenient!

This recently remodeled home has a very welcoming feel, with its bright atmosphere, updated interior, and ample furnishings that make it feel extra homey. Step inside to find a large, open living space that invites you to sit down and relax. Comfortable couches are arranged in front of the beautiful gas fireplace and a flat screen TV equipped with cable and a DVD/VHS player. With Internet access, you will have plenty of entertainment options to keep you busy!

Just past the living room is a spacious kitchen with lovely new appliances. The full kitchen will delight the chef in your group, who will love to see all the major appliances (plus a few non-essentials like a mixer and a blender) and equipment he or she will need to cook up delicious meals for everyone.

With two bedrooms and two bathrooms, this home will comfortably sleep up to 4 guests. You are even welcome to bring your beloved dogs along with you- though a nightly fee per dog and minimum fee per stay will apply.

The spacious master bedroom has a queen-size bed and a full-size bed, both decked out with soft and warm blankets, and an attached full bathroom. The second bedroom has another queen-size bed and a twin bed. A queen-size sleeper sofa and another full bathroom with tub/shower combo complete the house, so everyone will have a comfortable place to sleep and rest up for another day of exploring the area.

You will also have a laundry room, so there's no need to worry about trying to keep your clothes clean while adventuring! Outside, on the back deck, there is plenty of seating for guests to enjoy, plus a fully fenced yard for children and dogs to run around.

In South Lake Tahoe you will find ample activities of all kinds to delight you during your stay. In the winter, the fabulous skiing areas nearby attract many visitors. If you visit in the summer, you can enjoy hiking and biking trails nearby, and of course swimming and boating in the famous, magnificent Lake Tahoe.

Within the city itself you will find diverse restaurants, plenty of shopping, and spas to help you fully relax. Casinos, golf courses, and lots of other entertainment options are nearby, so be sure to leave time to explore everything the city has to offer!

Come visit this recently remodeled, conveniently located Lake Tahoe vacation rental and see for yourself how staying in a comfortable and beautiful home can help you fully enjoy your vacation!

Guests staying at a South Lake Tahoe rental must adhere to all City Ordinances. In addition to noise, trash disposal, and parking rules, maximum occupancy cannot be exceeded under any circumstance. Fines of up to $2000 will be imposed by The City of South Lake Tahoe, without warning, for any violations.

*Please note that children of all ages count towards occupancy.

*Please note: this home resides in a noise-sensitive area and the owners participate in our Good Neighbor protection program. Our smart home technology will alert our team if excessive decibel or occupancy levels are detected, allowing us to reach out directly with a reminder of maximum occupancy and quiet hours. This technology is privacy compliant, and only monitors the presence of decibels and devices - not any personal conversation or information. Thank you for supporting our efforts to be good neighbors! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

Property permit ID: 010018



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Gas fireplace

Space heater

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router



Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private



101 reviews

Blake F. Dec 2020
We had a good time in this open concept home. Enough space for our kids but not too large. Wish we could use the hop tub. Bring your own sheets. They weren't very clean.
Manager response:
Blake, thank you for the review letting us know about your stay expereince. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our home and are sorry about the sheets not being as clean as you would expect. Please note our 24-hour customer service line is here to assist at all times and would have sent someone over to bring fresh sheets and remake the beds. We look forward to hosting you again!
Alex L. Dec 2020
This is the second year to this specific house and we loved it! We can’t wait to plan our next trip at this location again!
elizabeth h. Dec 2020
Perfect hot tub, very clean and comfortable, great location
Jamie B. Nov 2020
Loved the place and location. Not far from casinos and shopping. Beds were not great and hope they upgrade. I would love to stay again if they do!!!!
Michele A. Nov 2020
We had a great time the house was the perfect size for us they had everything we needed. The only thing is the beds are very uncomfortable and the back yard fences are about to fall down so keep an eye on your dogs. Other than that this place was fun worming felt like a home away from home.
Noel R. Jul 2020
The house was very pretty, but the home lacked standard amenities you always find in a house rental. I emailed my concerns to Vacasa and unfortunately received no response. The pots and pans were destroyed and unusable. We had to buy TP, paper towels, foil, saran wrap and garbage bags. I had to store my bikes and equipment in the living room because no key or instructions were left for the garage. There was trash under the deck in the yard and leftover dog poop that had been there a long time. I felt like I had to clean it up so as not to be blamed for the mess. The dishwasher didn’t clean the dishes so we had to hand wash. They provide tiny forks which I think were meant for small children. There was no laundry detergent. No broom to sweep the floor. No kitchen towels or pot holders, so we had to use a bathroom towel. For the extremely high service fees tacked on to the cost, I really expected a lot more. Also very high traffic street and we were woken up every morning by a neighbor using a table saw. Overall, I was disappointed and we had to put up with it for five days.
Manager response:
Hi, Noel! We are so glad you stayed with us and shared your review. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your reservation. The dishwasher is functioning properly at this time, and we will take care of the pots and pans. Please note the garage is not accessible to guests. Thank you!
Molly F. Jul 2020
Cabin looks nice and location is close to the beach. We select this because of the hot tub and pet friendly but unfortunately city clised the hot tub, but they should have notify us sooner and gave us option to back out with full refund. The worst part of the stay is that they reuse the bed sheets and covers.. they did not washed it, there’s a lot of human hairs on all the beds in both room.. even the pillows have hairs.. so nasty Especially with the covid going on... I texted my complains with the pictures of dirty sheets and covers but vacasa didn’t reply.. I was so disappointed. I have my kid and 3 month old baby to sleep on the dirty bed.. I removed all the beddings and just use my baby’s blankets to cover the bed.. We were excited in this trip but gets very disappointed.
Manager response:
Hi Molly, thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize that the home was not in better condition upon your arrival and regret to hear that this was your experience while staying with us. Please know this is not our standard grade of cleanliness and presentation. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the experience you had is certainly not commonplace. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to remedy the situation on your behalf. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience in the future.
daniel j. Mar 2020
Perfect house for a ski getaway. Only minutes to heavenly and downtown. Great ski house feel. Will definitely book again.
Monique L. Jan 2020
Great location, and everything we needed for a week of hanging in Tahoe. Kids loved it, really warm.
Adriana C. Dec 2019
My family of 4 + dog were extremely comfortable in this gorgeous cabin. It is conveniently located a block away from SKI Run Blvd , a 15 minute walk/ 5 minute drive to Whole Foods, and a 5 minute drive to Heavenly's California Lodge. As expected with any Vacasa rental, the place is squeaky clean and you'll have everything you need to spend time there. The kitchen is well equipped to cook a family meal. The rooms are pretty big and there's enough storage for everyone. Wifi was spotty but worked most of the time.
Corey M. Dec 2019
Huge, nicely updated house with all the amenities you'd expect. Perfect place to hang out by the fireplace with the dog after a long day trudging through the snow. Awesome, fully fenced-in yard.
Shaun H. Nov 2019
My family and I stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday and had a blast. Very close to everything and the home was clean, big and comfortable to stay in. I would recommend this home to anyone.
Colleen M. Sep 2019
Nice home, close to amenities
Neil D. Sep 2019
The house was clean, great location, walkable to restaurants, hikes are a quick drive.
Callista O. Jul 2019
We loved the cabin. We loved the space. We loved the hot tube. We loved the fenced yard for our pets. We loved the showers. We loved the beds and pillows.
Dale S. Jul 2019
Location near everything. Great for dog. Nice appliances
Melissa B. Jun 2019
This cabin was perfect! There were 4 of us and we had more than enough space. It was clean and comfortable. My kids loved the hot tub! We were able to walk into town and to the lake within 15 min. We were only able to stay for 2 nights, but would love to come back again!
Christina L. Dec 2018
Loved the convenience of the location. A definite bonus for the first time here. Appreciated being able to bring the dog to this cabin and the snow. Would totally go again. Just a few house keeping measures that may need to be tended to such as the rug, in the living room, the shower head, and toilet flusher in the hall bathroom.

Overall though, I definitely enjoyed the stay.
ubaldo o. Nov 2018
It was super spacious had everything we needed and more! Great location, great for kids,adults, and dogs
Graig S. Nov 2018
Great location and a nice home
Elaine A. Oct 2018
the place was clean and the beds comfortable.
Jim B. Oct 2018
My husband and I absolutely loved this house, while there was only the two of us this house could easily accommodate 6 people without feeling cramped!!!! Would definitely recommend this house for the space and location. Holly
Morgan A. Oct 2018
Super cute and clean! Would definitely stay here again!
Hugo M. Sep 2018
Love the kitchen with everything ready for cooking and stores near us
sandra o. Sep 2018
very convenient location, clean, great hot tub, best suited for small groups of 3 or 4 people.
Scott P. Jun 2018
Great floor plan, single-story cabin, near to everything. Perfect with our two Newfoundland Dogs.

Everything was updated, bathrooms really nice, kitchen very functional, televisions easy to use. Overall great house!

Only improvement I would suggest is one of the mattresses in the guest bedroom was rock-hard. I think it may have been a boxspring not a mattress. This could be changed out. Otherwise everything was perfect. Thank you so much
Sarah R. Jun 2018
We had a wonderful stay, the house was super clean and showed as pictured. The kitchen completely stocked with cookware. Plenty of towels for the AWESOME hot tub!! The location is fantastic close to all activities. Enjoy!
Edgar O. Jun 2018
The location is great due to being very close to Safeway and to the State line. I stayed with 3 other people, plenty of space.
We enjoyed the hot tub as well as BBQ'd some meat from a near by store called Mi Pueblo. I would love to rent this house out again, we all had an amazing time. Very clean and spacious.
Margarita G. Apr 2018
Love it very good place for a family vacation and loved that I was able to bring my dog along.
Bernadette B. Apr 2018
Nice open floor plan, close to everything and great spa. Really enjoyed our stay.
jeanne l. Mar 2018
This house was perfect for our family. The openness of the main area was perfect. We could all hang out no matter what we were doing. The fenced in yard was the perfect size for our kids and our dog.
Stephanie V. Mar 2018
Love the location and the general cabin feeling with the decor and furniture. Did not love checking in to the home after we were told it was clean when it was not. The basic amenities are too few given how much people pay to stay here per night. Not the best impression and might be a second option for me when visiting South Lake Tahoe unless improvements are made.
Linh T. Jan 2018
Such a cute place! 2 bedrooms was the perfect size for us! Centrally located, 5 minutes from the grocery stores, casinos, heavenly resort, etc. Great and responsive staff! We will visit again soon!
Sarah R. Jan 2018
This house was very cozy and close to Heavenly and Stateline. We loved the gas fireplace, WiFi and being able to cook. The kids loved the hot tub. It was brand new with awesome jets and rainbow lights.
Krista K. Jan 2018
The home was clean and the remodel and upgrades were very nice. There is a hot tub in the back yard and a nice deck to sit out on. The only thing I didn't like was the lack of privacy from the neighbors surrounding the house. But I would recommend the house because it's spacious and charming and the neighborhood is really nice and quiet.
Also there is only room for two cars and you need to park a block away with any extra cars or you'll be fined $1000 . So if you need to unload an extra car then keep your car running while you do it and no visiting until you go and park and come back. So be aware of that and you'll be okay.
Christi B. Nov 2017
I loved this house. It was plenty of room for our party of five adults. The kitchen and dining room were perfect and had all the amenities. Having the washer and dryer there is a great feature. I would definently stay here again!
Mike W. Oct 2017
All in all a great property. Great for couples or small groups. Need to fix the hot tub or advertise that it's not working. The BBQ grill is charcoal, but the house didn't provide a lighter... I didn't see a fire extinguisher, either. Most vacation houses I've stayed at typically provide a few kitchen items like sugar or sweetener for coffee, cooking basics like spices, etc. This place was cleaned out bare. With a few upgrades, this could be a 5-star property.
Manager response:
The property manager has picked up supplies to restock the house, the hot tub is being replaced mid-November, and the BBQ is being removed entirely as it is a fire hazard. We are sorry to see these were issues during this reservation.
Abby B. Oct 2017
If you are traveling in a group or with a dog this is a great location. Lots of room for people and a fence for the dog.
Srikrishna K. Jul 2017
Its a decent accommodation if you have a large group (6+). The cabin itself is pretty basic and I have stayed in better cabins before, esp for the price. But its clean, has all the basic amenities and is more than sufficient as a place to stay for a few days if you are mostly out and around town. Its ~ 25 min walk from the cabin to S. Lake Tahoe Blvd and it was pretty easy to get Uber. The internet was finicky and kept dropping quite often. Also the cabin gets quite hot during summer and the only cooling options are the ceiling fans which are not too effective, so plan accordingly. Overall I would rate it as a decent functional accommodation.
Linda K. Jun 2017
Aside from the jacuzzi not operating during our stay, It is a great location close to town. Not far from the casinos if your there that kind of entertainment... not far from the marina which was awesome! Overall, the location is great and close to alot of things..
Erika F. Jun 2017
We literally enjoyed our stay at the house very much. Everything is so close by market, to the lake going up to the mountains for a nice hike.
Megan M. Apr 2017
House had a great layout! We had a blast
Kristin K. Feb 2017
This cabin is warm and cozy with an open lay out that makes it feel bigger than it is. The home can sleep lots of people with two roll-away beds, three queen beds and a youth bed. The showers were great and the washer and dryer are a must when sledding or skiing during the stay! Don't forget some laundry soap! We loved that it was dog friendly and hope the owners will keep it this way. Thanks for a great stay!
Friday J. Feb 2017
It took us a while to find The right rental this is actually our first time to rent a cabin at Lake Tahoe and this property did not disappoint us . It has everything we needed from pots to plates. Fully equipped no hassle and the property is so clean. There are two extra foldaway bed which is very convenient and comfortable we don't need to squeeze in ourselves in one bed.
Scott W. Jan 2017
Really enjoyed our fun-filled stay here, but there was a few items to tend to. First, the kitchen was not equipped well. There was far too few dishes and silverware. Also didn't have even pepper to season food with. Knives, as usual, were dull as could be. Could have used a spatula, too! On the good side the hot tub was really hot!! Made my wife real happy. Location is close to lots of restaurants, casinos, and skiing! Street was a bit busy for having kids and a dog with us.
Manager response:
The owner took inventory in the kitchen and replaced or stocked several items.
This property was perfect for my self and my wife and 6 kids. absolutely the best possible was extremely snowy but everything is close grocery stores, sledding and casinos all less then 5 minutes away perfect trip... thank you
Joseph D. Dec 2016
Nicely updated place. Good location from where to go skiing, although in a so, so neighborhood. Il Fiore restaurant, right around the corner, was a fun little place to go eat at night.
Dominique W. Dec 2016
Great house
Kenny L. Dec 2016
The house was a good place to stay for our trip but I was disappointed with how dirty the inside of the cabin was. Too much animal hair everywhere, even on the bed covers, blankets, and pillows. The couches along with the carpets by the dining tables all had the animal hairs which just made it seem very dirty and not cleaned properly before our arrival.
Manager response:
We apologize that housekeeping wasn't more mindful of the pet hair in the home; had we been notified we would have sent housekeeping back to the home to rectify the problem.
Summer S. Nov 2016
This is the second time we've stayed at this property. We love it so much. Check in is very easy and convenient and the property is very clean. The location is perfect and my kids love all the games and puzzles provided. We will continue to stay here!
Wendy L. Nov 2016
We loved the location of the property as it was a quite and serene area yet accessible to the casinos and tourist attractions. The home was very comfortable, clean and very well kept. It had all the amenities I needed for this trip. I would stay here again!
Chris B. Oct 2016
I will be returning soon. It was the perfect house, perfect location, very clean and very welcoming.
Elaine V. Sep 2016
I loved the natural wood throughout the house. Very cozy house. We had a great time
Charles P. Aug 2016
Great location, nice and comfortable home.
Mo N. Aug 2016
The home is a great location, walking to the marina lake (10 min), casinos (20 min), shops (5 to 15min) and restaurants (5 min) . We came to Tahoe to enjoy the beach, shops, and casinos. We enjoyed our 3 nights stay! The interior of property is well decorated. My 3 kids loved the hot tub and spent time in it almost every evening. The house was clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend it to others. It is close to everything in South Lake Tahoe as well.
John F. Aug 2016
We found the house to be clean inside and comfortable. The neighborhood leaves something to be desired, but was close to two fine restaurants and a bike rental shop. There was quite a bit of noise each night from the properties adjoining the back fence. We speculated hot-tub parties.
Kristen W. Aug 2016
Great property, very clean and cozy for two couples. Walkable to some restaurants and the lake. Highly recommend staying here for a convenient get away!
Vicki R. Jun 2016
I was looking for a handicapped accessible house and this one was very close to perfect especially for a house in the mountains. Only one or two steps to get inside and the house itself is one level. Very doable if you are traveling with an elderly person, as I was. This house has everything you'd want and it's very close to Heavenly and walking distance from the lake.
Michelle G. Jun 2016
Nice house, good location, and we got to bring our dog. Be sure to bring spices and a cutting board.
Karen P. Jun 2016
The house was great. Everything was clean and in order when we arrived. It was nice that they had so many utensils, plates and cups. The house has great insulation as we were up having fun at night and when I stepped outside to check the noise level it could barely be heard. They have some serious hot water at the house so don't worry about running out. The beds were comfortable and we loved that there were endless towels so that we could have towels for the hot tub too. I appreciated the detailed email with all need information prior to arrival. When you do get to the house just know that it is located with an apartment complex to one side and another one directly in the backyard. At first we thought it was a little strange, but we got over it. Also it looks like they recently re-did the fence which is nice, but they still need to finish the side gate so that it would be secure so your dog(s) wouldn't get out. Lastly it would have been nice to have been given the PIN for the TV as we couldn't watch anything that was over PG 13 which was frustrating because Game of Thrones was on. But all and all it was a great experience and I would defiantly stay there again.
Donna H. Apr 2016
What a great little place, close to everything but quiet enough to not know!
Becky L. Apr 2016
Nice home close to lots of things to do!
Tania S. Mar 2016
We stayed for 2 nights. The house is perfect for a family of four (2 bedrooms), but could easily sleep 6 or 8 (there are rollaway beds). It has everything you need (except salt and pepper and spices - so bring all foods necessary for cooking), including a BBQ, hot tub and laundry. Kitchen is updated and the great room is perfect for hanging out together. Two very nice bathrooms. The house is in a nice, quiet neighborhood.
5 minute drive from the Heavenly ski area, and downtown South Lake Tahoe.
Really great stay - thank you!
Peter V. Mar 2016
Plenty of space and generally comfortable. Great for 4 people. Close to Heavenly and central shopping.
Zale J. Mar 2016
overall I like the house and location.
Tim G. Feb 2016
Regina S. Jan 2016
We had a lot of fun here! Loved the open concept living room, kitchen and dining. The kids had plenty of room to run around inside as well as outside and play in the snow! The home was clean and had big comfy couches to rest on. A washer and dryer made packing a breeze. The heater worked well, and the gas fireplace was nice in the cold evenings. Our only recommendations would be to get a bigger TV for the place. The television was way to small for such a big room! And keep ice off the porch so we can get to the hot tub. I had a slip and it hurt! Ouch! Other than that we had a great stay and plan on returning soon!
Joan D. Jan 2016
Great location, short distance to shopping and activities
Robert E. Dec 2015
What a relaxing time! Everything you could need to be comfortable, a fireplace and hot tub both in good condition and user-friendly. Open-layout for the kitchen and living room, which was great for hanging out and provided enough space for an energetic toddler to move around in. Plenty of clean glassware and plates for 4 people.
Mark K. Oct 2015
Spending the weekend to celebrate a 40th birthday at this home was terrific! The property was extremely clean, spacious, and close to the state line. I brought my outrigger canoe (23 ft long) with concerns on weather and storage. Tamarack home was spacious enough to store canoe in the dining/living room, and not be in the way! Unfortunately, the weather was cold and rainy, but still got to use it. Hot tub was perfect for the cool weather, and home was nicely furnished for cooking. When I come back to South Shore, I will be sure to look this up again!
Manager response:
Thanks for sharing your review and happy belated birthday! We hope you are back for your 41st and many more!
Jana E. Oct 2015
I rented this house for a birthday surprise for my boyfriend. We stayed here with our family, and our 4 dogs. We have family that lives in Southlake so only 4 of us stayed in the house. My favorite part was the woodwork throughout the house and the open living/kitchen,dining area. The house has a ton of open space for everyone to hang out together. The yard wasn't fully fenced for our dogs but they are all trained so we had no issues, and it is only open in the front when you walk to the door. Check in and check out was amazingly easy compared to some vacation rentals I have stayed in. They have tons of games and kitchenware. Overall we had a great time and the house was in good condition.
Leslie C. Jul 2015
My family enjoyed our stay at this comfortable home! They had everything we could have needed and more!
Elizabeth K. Dec 2014
This property is at an ideal location with all the amenities you could possibly ask for. We were a party of 6, comprised of a mixture of children, teenagers, and adults. We all had an incredibly good time without stepping on each other's toes (which is almost impossible in our family). Dad was happy watching the game on the cable TV, the kids played board games that were available at the property, all while a great dinner was cooking in the spacious kitchen. Add some hot tub action after a long day of snow filled fun (only minutes from the lodges of Heavenly), the trip was virtually perfect. We had more than enough space without even using the extra beds or couches. There are plenty to do within minutes of the property. We had a complete mixture of snowboarders, skiers, "let's just shop", and "I want to look at nature" personalities, and everyone was happy. Vacasa was easy to use, instructions were clear, and the property clean as can be. We would do this trip again any day!
Caleb S. Nov 2014
The house was beautiful and stocked with everything we needed and more! Plenty of clean towels, dishes, and everything else we needed. We will definitely be staying here when the snow comes. Thank you Vacasa for making our weekend getaway perfect!
Noah B. Nov 2014
Great little home in a great location only about .5 miles to the lake and restaurants. Also good restaurants just around the corner. 5 minute drive to casinos. Only negative is backyard due to the fact there are 2 apartment bulidings behind but no noise really so not a big deal.