Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Southern Oregon Coast Mapleton Listing #1823

The River Queen - Mapleton, OR

67 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
11354 Highway 36, Mapleton, OR 97453

Dog-friendly, Suislaw riverfront home w/ fishing hole plus hot tub!

Enjoy lovely Siuslaw River views right from the spacious deck at this stylishly-updated, dog-friendly Mapleton vacation rental! You'll be riverfront and carefree with more than 2,000 square feet of comfortable living space. This is a great location near the Oregon Coast town of Florence for a family getaway or relaxing river, fishing retreat. Everyone will find something special to love here at the River Queen.

Right in the beautiful Siuslaw National Forest, this Siuslaw River getaway is only 160 miles from Portland. Once here, you'll be in a prime location for fishing, boating, and hiking. Want to head to the ocean? It's less than 30 minutes west, with shopping and gallery-browsing in Old Town Florence even closer.

The vintage and classically-decorated living space includes wingback leather chairs, a wood-burning fireplace, and large picture windows looking out at the tree-lined yard and river. It's the perfect space to come back to after a day hiking past waterfalls or exploring the beach, and relax with a glass of wine or a mug of hot cocoa.

A bright, full kitchen with a brand new dishwasher, has everything needed for family meals from pancakes in the morning to a big seafood stew at night. And when you want to sit down and enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner, a formal dining room with a wonderful exposed brick wall is ready and waiting!

This home can comfortably sleep up to 10 guests, with four bedrooms and two-and-a-half baths. You'll have a king bed, a queen, two full-size beds, and two extra-large twin beds - there's a spot for everyone in your group! You'll be able to snuggle down into colorful, cozy bedding, stay up late reading, and wake refreshed for the day's activities! Dogs are welcome as well: bring up to two dogs, with an additional nightly fee.

Other amenities include a dishwasher, a washer and dryer for clean clothes whenever you need them, two TVs, a private hot tub, and a deck overlooking the scenic river. Enjoy your morning coffee outside while you watch the water flow by. There's also an enclosed yard that's perfect for the kids and dogs to play in.

Mapleton is a quiet, charming community just a few miles east of the Pacific Ocean and the town of Florence, with beautiful forested lands and plenty of river activities. Summers are warm and dry here, even if it's cloudy at the coast - Mapleton is ideal for outdoor activities! When you feel like exploring, lace up your hiking boots and hit the Sweet Creek Trail, it's an easy three-mile path through tall trees and past waterfalls.

If you do feel like heading to the ocean's shore, you can be on the sand in about a 15-mile journey. Spend the day building sandcastles and playing with the dogs.

On your way back, stop in Old Town Florence for crab-stuffed halibut at the Waterfront Depot Restaurant or a bowl of clam chowder at Mo's. While in Florence, you may want to head into the Siuslaw River Coffee Roasters for a snack and some beans - you even have a coffee grinder back at your River Queen getaway!

On nice sunny days, consider driving north about 40 miles to take in the stunning views at Cape Perpetua or head south and explore the popular Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area.

Don't want to go that far for fishing? Check out the famous Dollar Hole, a fishing hole right behind the home where great fishing can be found (salmon, anybody?).

This lovely and peaceful Oregon Coast vacation rental offers both easy access to ocean beaches and river activities like fishing and boating. Plan a stay soon to soak up the river views and relax!



Board games

Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace







Internet : Century Link/Qwest

Cable : Dish Network

DVD library

DVD player


Wireless router


Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private


Enclosed yard


Water view


67 reviews

Jamie S. Aug 2019
The vacation itself was really great. i was not to impressed with the dirty towels in an up stairs bedroom that was left, as well as used soap and trash in a bathroom as well. Kind of gross. The river was full of craw fish that we caught . The sheer white curtains in the master was not fun at 530am every morning. No curtain in another room where one of my kids was sleeping on the window. Lots of room for improvement for this house to make it more relaxed. I would not stay here again.
Manager response:
Hi, Jamie! We apologize for the housekeeping oversights you encountered. We have followed-up with our team and will ask the owners about curtains. Thanks!
Tobin S. Jul 2019
We had an amazing time. The local scenery is amazing. This location is settled in the valley near the river with a very relaxing feel.
Nicole K. May 2019
We loved the location. Beautiful river view. The grounds were all in bloom with beautiful flowers.
Amanda K. Apr 2019
It was great very comfortable furniture and beds the entire home was very clean and spacious was an amazing trip
Arlette S. Mar 2019
We had a wonderful time! Every detail was perfect :)
Margaret G. Feb 2019
we reserved this house last minute direct through the property management. they accommodated us and the house was perfect! Beautiful inside and out!! Perfect for romantic getaway, or family vacation, definitely will be back!!
Marjorie B. Sep 2018
Very nice for a group of people.
Sarah M. Jul 2018
The Riverqueen was perfect for what we needed. The river is so peaceful and not too cold for swimming. It even provided crawdads for dinner!
The house is well set up for indoor or outdoor dining/boardgaming. The grill had plenty of gas and worked fine for our needs.
The hot tub could use a scrub and clean out and the river could have better access, but overall we were very happy here. I would absolutely stay again.
Tippi P. Jul 2018
We had a wonderful weekend! 10 women returned for the 2nd time to celebrate our friendships. The location is perfect! Close to Florence & the Sweet Creek falls. The river was warm & we brought floaties! I would suggest bringing extra beds though because 3 of the beds are doubles & not great for 2 adults. We will return again!
Tobias R. May 2018
We had a party of 10 stay over Memorial Day weekend. The house is on a beautiful piece of property with an absolutely amazing view of the river. The deck and hot tub were a huge highlight for our group. The house easily sleeps a group of 10 (3 master bedrooms and 1 bedroom with 3 smaller beds - great for kids). The house is on the older side, so it's a little rough around the edges in some areas. However, overall, if you would like a peaceful location within very close proximity to the dunes and beaches in Florence, this house is perfect!
Stephanie T. Apr 2018
My mom, two daughters, and I enjoyed staying at the River Queen. From its privacy to the slow-rolling evening train to well-maintained hot tub to the cute goats across he river...all made for a nice stay. We also love how clean your home is; it doesn’t smell like dogs are permitted, but they are! Thank you for sharing your home - great memories for us and a perfect retreat.
Brittani B. Apr 2018
Thank you for our stay we loved it! Very clean home and it felt great
Tiffany R. Jan 2018
Beautiful, rural location. Large, comfortable home.
Kara F. Nov 2017
What a lovely home full of amenities to keep a family of 7 entertained in rain or shine. We'll definitely book this home again!
Twila V. Nov 2017
We spent 3 nights at the River Queen for an early Thanksgiving. There were 7 adults and a baby. We had a wonderful time! The house was perfect for us. Loved the picture window in the living room! The furniture was very comfortable and although it is a pet-friendly home, there was so indication that pets had been there. Except for the stove which was older (yet very clean and in great shape), the kitchen appliances were new and the silent-running dishwasher was amazing! I hope that we will be able to visit again.
Rebecca W. Nov 2017
Lovely well kept older home .Comfortable and peaceful.
Shelly D. Oct 2017
Great comfortable older house, well maintaind, super for all 8 of us. Nice hot tub, and gorgeous view of the river. WISH they had a dock or something because getting down to river to fish was very steep and difficult, plus bank dissapears at high tide. Very clean and really enjoyed our stay. We will be back!
Janet W. Oct 2017
We chose this house to stay in since it was close to Camp Lane where our daughter was getting married. Lovely home with a few quirks due to it's age but very spacious, clean, and cozy. The floor plan gave plenty of privacy yet accommodated all ten of us nicely. The deck area was to die for. Besides the hot tub, there was comfortable seating and a very nice large table and chairs for eating. And then there is the river which was like a mirror with goats grazing on the other side. Paradise.
Kate C. Sep 2017
We were in the area for our nephews wedding at Camp Lane and needed something less rustic to stay. River Queen fit the bill perfectly. There were enough bedrooms and bathrooms for our two adult kids and our teenage grandson. The kitchen is dated but is very functional and goes with the age of the house. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs as the house is right on the road and a train went by during the night on a Thursday and again on Sunday. Don't let either of these stop you from staying here. It is a beautiful location, with easy access to Florence.
Tawny D. Jul 2017
We stayed here with a family of 7 and two dogs. The property was in a riverfront secluded location. We enjoyed the hot tub, board games, and river view.
Sadly, one of our dogs died while we were on vacation. The staff was sincere when we called them and asked for the remaining two nights to be deducted for the pet fees.
Jamie D. Jul 2017
Beautiful home in a quiet location. Good for big families. Lots of things to do in surrounding location.
Earlene S. Jun 2017
The house fit our needs and the location was perfect for us. We were close enough to take advantage of the fun Florence offers without being close to the crowds. It was our escape and the place to relax after our active day. We will be returning soon.
Vanessa G. Jun 2017
Loved that it was near a river!
Kristy U. Jun 2017
This is an older property with lots of country charm and some recent remodeling. The kitchen is older, but it has all the essentials, except a dishwasher. The living space is abundant and the master bedroom and bath were very spacious. There is a small fenced-in area for a dog to run. The back deck has lots of room for visiting. There is no easy river access. The flowers on the property were in bloom in late spring, and the yard was gorgeous. There is one neighbor, but they were very quiet. It's a 20 minute drive to Florence, but the privacy was well worth it to us. We were very pleased with the property and our stay!
Chris S. May 2017
We had a ball in mapleton. Beds good, hot tub nice, views and secluded location awesome!!!!
Jackalene A. Apr 2017
Spent a weekend celebrating 25 years of marriage. The atmosphere was just what we were looking for...quiet and secluded. Having the river so close was soothing and relaxing. We want to return, for another intimate stay.
Keri A. Apr 2017
We had a lovely time. The view of the river is wonderful, and we even saw some eagles and goats who seem to be neighbors. The hot tub was a great way to wind down after a day at the beach or hiking. This space is huge and could easily accommodate an extra family. Really appreciated a space to bring our dog, and the fenced in yard is a huge bonus.
Marie H. Jan 2017
Really lovely space for a quiet retreat.
Andrea D. Jan 2017
Comfortable space with lots of beds and room for lounging. Consider bringing extra pots and pans if you're planning on cooking for a large group.
Kris R. Oct 2016
Over all, everyone enjoyed our stay at the house. It has a wonderful view of the river. Very relaxing. My only gripes are the lack of towels for the length of stay and the number of people, the lack of kitchen supplies, and the hidden fees you don't find out about until you sign up. Other than those things, the house was clean, comfortable and relaxing.
Manager response:
Housekeeping has been asked to leave more towels for guests; they also leave laundry soap so guests can launder their towels during longer stays. The Property Manager has supplied more kitchenware for guest use as well. Thanks!
Amanda T. Oct 2016
My group of 8 had a great time staying the weekend at this house. It had everything we needed and was very comfortable. A beautiful view from the deck and hot tub was a huge bonus. There was a great big table perfect for playing games and just a jaunt away from sweet creak falls and downtown Florence.
Caroline W. Oct 2016
The house was nice, super pet friendly with a fenced yard. Hot tub was AMAZING!
Brenda K. Sep 2016
We had a great family time. We enjoyed the river view!!
Sven S. Sep 2016
Was a great place plenty of room for my dogs to roam hot tub was great lots of room for everyone in house and on decks to relax would definitely stay again
Nick G. Aug 2016
It was a great experience. It was clean and very useful. Very glad it was pet friendly. The ony bad thing Is they want you clean bedding and such up after your self, for what you pay for cleaning deposits it should be asked of you, not that's it's a big deal just a little picky. Other than that it was a great experience very easy to schedule and pay for. I would recommend this house and rental agency.
Heather C. Jul 2016
The River Queen was so peaceful and relaxing! The grounds and views were beautiful! The home was comfortable and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed playing the board games and relaxing in the hot tub. It was the perfect home base as we explored the Oregon country side!
Gabriel M. Jun 2016
Such a great house! We had 2 families share this house. 4 adults and 4 children had the time of their lives! We loved the deck and ate almost every meal out there. The house and surroundings are beautiful and everything was comfortable and well kept. We would definitely come back!
Kandi B. May 2016
We rented this home for a week and upon arrival, the grass was about 10 inches long and extremely shabby. We had to ask for more towels since the house came with 4 and we had 8 adults 2 children. When the Vacasa employee came with the towels, she commented on the landscaping with no prompting from me. She said she would alert someone at Vacasa. Needless to say ...our dogs were getting list in the Hay field lawns by the time we left. In my opinion ...this is a direct reflection of poor management, not poor ownership.
On a better note, the house has been 70% remodeled, and most wasn't bad. Gee...only 1 bedroom had black mold and holes in the ceiling....not all of them, so I guess that's a plus....!!?!
Also, downstairs bedroom doesn't have a door, so whomever chooses that bedroom, is woke up by any early risers since it's directly off the livingroom. We still had fun....we enjoyed the Rhodie Festival and the shops in Olde Towne.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconveniences this guest experienced during their stay. A contractor was brought into the house and they were able to confirm that it was not black mold in the home. The mold that was present has been removed, and any sheetrock that was discolored by this mold has been replaced. The lawn care has also been addressed so it is more pet and child friendly.
Nicole F. May 2016
This house was really wonderful. We held a research retreat here with 7 people. There was ample sleeping room for everyone. The hot tub was a great benefit. The deck is large and sunny. Both the deck and hot tub overlook the beautiful river. There were plenty of towels for us all to use. The dining table is also very large and can accommodate up to 10 people. The master bedroom had an extremely comfortable bed. The rest of the beds were pleasant.

I would definitely hold another retreat here, or recommend to a large family or group of people to vacation here. It was so pleasant and beautiful.
Lindsay H. Mar 2016
Love the location
Tiffany B. Jan 2016
The location is nice and views are great, but the house itself was much more run-down than in pictures. We're not high maintenance fancy people, and tried to make the best of it, but so many things were wrong that between the maintenance that we had to do ourselves, the troubleshooting of problems, and time spent on the phone with vacasa trying fix things, there wasn't a lot of time left to relax and enjoy our vacation!
The entire house had a strong bad odor like cheap motel or dirty hamper, and the kitchen floor was so sticky our socks made a noise walking on it. Multiple light bulbs and batteries of clocks were dead all over the house, luckily there were spares in cupboards.
The worst was the broken oven! Every meal we'd planned involved baking, roasting etc, and after waiting 45 minutes for the oven to heat up we realized the bottom heating element of oven was totally not functional. We decided to try and bbq instead, and lo and behold, the bbq was out of propane and clogged with filthy grease. We had to spend our first night there in the phone with Vacasa, hungry and frustrated.
They were not able to arrange maintnence til the following afternoon which was understandable considering it was close to the holidays, but all he could do was clean the bbq and bring propane- the oven was not functional the whole time we were there.
The beds were comfy, showerheads were not. No cell service, but WiFi worked well.

All in all, this would be a good place for a large party who has a lot of kids and dogs, where space is more important than cleanliness or maintenance.
I can accept stained carpet, burnt out bulbs, funky smells and dust, but for the high cost of cleaning fees I would expect MUCH better than what we arrived to. And the broken oven was totally unacceptable. Would not stay here again.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to see that you did not have a more relaxing visit. The Property Manager will make sure all batteries and bulbs are replaced, the BBQ has been replaced, and so has the oven. Housekeeping has changed cleaning products so that the floor should no longer be sticky. The home is in a beautiful spot and is great for larger groups!
David M. Nov 2015
We had a wonderful Thanksgiving. The bedrooms are so roomie. We all did not want to leave. We plan on coming again this summer.
John F. Sep 2015
Cell phones did not work here, but enjoyed the house
Margaret S. Sep 2015
Thanks. Everything was great. We had a good time
Sandy B. Aug 2015
The large picture window in LR framing the view was so relaxing to sit in front of with our morning coffee. And a glass of wine on the deck in evening with almost same view was also enjoyable.
Rechelle S. Apr 2015
The location and price can't be beat for this lovely old fashioned home in sleepy Mapleton, on the Suislaw River. Sleeps up to 10 guests in 4 decent sized bedrooms, and a very nice hot tub on the covered porch with a view of the river! Lovely trees, flowers, and foliage surround this quaint, private spot, where the noise from the highway is hardly noticeable. There is a train track on the other side of the highway that definitely is audible if you happen to be awake at the early morning hour of about 3 am, but I felt the family & friend time we shared away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life was a worthy trade-off. Just plan on time away from it all, and make arrangements to be out of touch with anyone not joining you on the trip, since the communication services are at a minimum. The highlights were time around the dining room table, playing games, hanging out, or visiting in the very comfortable living room, or completely relaxing in the hot tub overlooking the Suislaw River. We all look forward to time together in this vacation home next year, or sooner, if possible!
Jim G. Mar 2015
The house was great and is better than the pictures show. I stay at 3-4 rental houses each year and most are worse than the pictures. This place is well maintained and everything worked. Beds were comfortable, linens were clean, kitchen was well stocked. We will definitely return!

Note that the downstairs bedroom has no door. Good for a couple of kids, but don't expect privacy.
Allison B. Mar 2015
Very nice river view. Some little inconveniences like no wifi or bottle opener, but great overall.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the home not having WIFI, but glad that you still enjoyed the home and it's great views.
George W. Mar 2015
Comfortable,clean and peaceful!We had such a relaxing stay and would gladly visit this home again. Nicely decorated, fluffy towels and comfortable bed.
Patty T. Feb 2015
2 of us in a huge house with 6 beds! Hot tub on deck facing the river. Nice place:)
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had a pleasant stay with us! This is definitely a wonderful place to have an intimate getaway or share with friends. We look forward to seeing you next time!