Virtual Tour
USA Alabama Alabama Gulf Coast Dauphin Island Listing #19810

Southern Shores - Dauphin Island, AL

49 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 2 King Bed, 3 Queen Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max 
2619 Bienville Blvd, Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly gulf-front home with amazing views and easy access to the beach

This dog-friendly, Gulf-front home is just the Island getaway you need! With a huge and comfortable great room, TVs in every bedroom, large windows for lots of natural light, and spectacular views of the Gulf, you'll never want to leave.

This home boasts a huge great room with large windows for lots of natural light and spectacular views of the Gulf. For the chef in the family there is a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, stove, oven, dishwasher, and coffee maker. You can also step out onto the deck to enjoy the beautiful Gulf views, go for a swim, sun on the beach, build a sandcastle or just relax and watch the dolphins.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs welcome for a small nightly pet fee

This property is managed by Vacasa Alabama LLC

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Gulf front

Gulf view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Nearby activities & attractions

Playground

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

49 reviews

Eric C. Aug 2020
We loved our time there, and the house fit us perfectly. We are a family of six with three of our four children being teenagers. there was plenty of room and we were all comfortable. The furniture/appliances/etc. were all nice and you simply cannot beat having the ocean at the foot of your deck! We will likely come back to this unit.
Hunter Y. Aug 2020
We have been to several places in the beach and this one rated at the top. Quiet, peaceful location with little foot traffic throughout the shoreline. House was as described and in excellent condition. We will go back!
Jennifer B. Jul 2020
We loved the house. It was quiet and nice to be steps from the water. Pack groceries because there is only one small store. Only 1 skillet in house so hard to cook for 10 people. Pack extra trash bags. We will definitely be back.
Crimson C. Jul 2020
This place was great! It was a great location with plenty of space for our family. Being right on the beach was very nice.
Jessica R. Jun 2020
We had to find a rental home quickly as the one we had already rented wasn’t accessible. We usually rent a 6 bedroom 4-6 bathroom home, so I was worried when we rented this one... I was so wrong! This home is large enough to get away from each other, but close enough to spend time together. The bathrooms are in a great location and the air was cold on a hot Summer day. We go on vacation usually twice a year and rent a home and let me say this home was impressively clean! The cleaners didn’t even leave that one hair that’s always left behind. The local staff went above and beyond to help us out during the storm to find another rental when we still couldn’t get to our original rental. When we did get to our original rental (different company) we were really let down by the lack of amenities that Vacasa had waiting for us. There was long wait time for the main number because of the storm, but quickly the local office reach out their number for quicker assistance. You can’t go wrong with this home or company!!!
Nicole B. Jun 2020
The property was the PERFECT place to get away and spend quality time with my 4 daughters. Well appointed, PRIVATE, everything you would want in a beach home getaway!
ROBERT V. Mar 2020
We were looking for a quiet getaway, and this house was perfect for the two of us. Could have accommodated 4 couples with no problems and plenty of room. Location on beach was perfect (less than 100 ft to the ocean!), house was well equipped, and even just put in a dumbwaiter to lift our things up and down. Would definitely rent again. Management company was excellent. Thank you!
Ed S. Mar 2020
The house was just steps from the beach and although there were houses around us, it felt secluded. The house plan was laid out well for a group sharing time together. Big living room in the middle, nice kitchen, and then a bedroom in each corner of the home. We had a great time!
Shelby C. Mar 2020
The home was pretty well set up to handle 10 people. Gorgeous views blocked by no one. The mattresses aren't very comfortable, but fine for a short time if you ask me. The stock of dishes and all is pretty good for cooking for 10, but could maybe use one more larger pan. The grill was unfortunately not good for us when we were there, but maybe it was just close to being out of propane. It couldn't get hot enough to sear steaks. We ended up searing them in the cast iron pan we brought with us, which is what we do at home when we don't have a grill anyway. It did not ruin our time. Nice that the table has a leaf built into it. Everything was clean and functioning, as far as we are aware. Just make sure you bring all your stuff with you the first day because it is quite a trek off the island to get groceries. Also, go and get some boiled peanuts from the roadside stand for me. They're delish.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Shelby! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your comments to the owner for consideration. In addition, we'll be sure to refill the propane before each stay. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Sue M. Mar 2020
The house was perfect. Great spot, great amenities. Already planning for next year.
Ronda C. Dec 2019
This beautiful beach house was perfect for our family of 2 adults, 3 teenagers and dogs! The enclosed deck was just perfect to let our dogs out and for us to enjoy watching the waves and the dolphins in the early morning. Would definitely like to return someday! Plenty of kitchen supplies to cook, grill, have coffee etc. You will not be disappointed! Even in December! The only suggestions I might have is to make sure you bring extra toilet paper and extra laundry soap. We had a wonderful Christmas break here at Southern Shores and on Dauphin Island!
Peggy n. Sep 2019
Every thing was wonderful
Holly A. Sep 2019
One of our favorite rentals on DI so far! Great location to the beach without any houses in front of you. House was clean and a nice layout. We had a great time and would rent this house again.
David G. Aug 2019
The house was very clean and spacious. Easy to find and access from the beach and driveway. Beds were comfortable and views were enjoyable. Thousands of sea shells at the waters edge for treasure hunters. Enjoyed the waves crashing on the beach, as we dined on the deck. Looking forward to our next trip to this secret getaway.
Candice S. Aug 2019
Great house.
Greg H. Aug 2019
We love dauphin island. House in great location. Would stay here again.
Albert S A. Aug 2019
Perfect beach setting, loved the deck, ate every meal out there, watching the dolphins. House spacious, starting to show signs of wear ( all but 2 shelves on refrigerator door are missing, and a few other things) but overall was a great vacation. Peyton was an awesome property manager
Debbie B. Jun 2019
We had a great time! Nice and laid back on the beach!!!
Tricia S. Jun 2019
This is my second stay at Southern Shores. I love this house and wouldn't think of staying elsewhere when in Dauphin Island. The location is perfect - offering private beach while close enough to the events of the town. The open floor plan inside as well as large deck provides so much space for a bigger group to share.

Now, for those people who will be staying at Southern Shores in the future, I offer the following information. This is information I wish I would have remembered from my first visit! :-)
1) The house is stocked with nice plates, bowls, utensils, pots and pans. If you love to cook (as I do) and have your go-to gadgets at home - bring them with you if you plan to cook.

2) If you drink coffee, the current coffee pot takes Cone #2 filters. (Current as of June 2019.)

3) Refrigerator has built in ice-maker, but not enough to keep up with larger groups on warm days. Buy a bag of ice on the way to the house!

4) Bring a rubber-backed rug of some kind to put on the tile floor at the entrance way of the sliding glass door from the deck. That area collects a lot of sand and/or water from rinsing off the sand from the beach. The tile floor gets slippery from both the sand and the water so do yourself a favor and bring a rug from home to wipe your feet.

5) Towels and wash cloths are in under the sink in both bathrooms - in case you are looking for them!!

6) Enjoy! It's a great house!




Cyndi R. May 2019
Southern Shores was absolutely perfect for our family! The home is spacious, updated, and SO close to the water! This was our first trip to Dauphin Island & certainly will not be our last!
Samuel D. May 2019
The house was clean and very welcoming. And the deck, where we stayed for the most part, was wonderful, with the beach just afew steps away. The kitchen was nice, and spacious, with ample counterspace for meal prep. The comfortable bed and sliding doors in the bedroom made the experience even more luxurious, with the breeze and waves lulling you to sleep. Overall, I would rent this house again, and would highly recommend it to others who are looking for a really relaxing vacation.
Christine H. May 2019
This house is beautiful, beach front, and has everything you may need. We enjoyed our time on the beach, with it's soft white sands, and no competiton for the perfect spot. Outdoor shower made cleanup easy. Pleanty of room for 8 people even though our party only had 4. And they do have a propane grill which made cooking fresh seafood all the better! Highly recommend stopping to get fresh catch seafood up the road and grilling on one of your beach days. The area is cute with some good resturaunts and little shops. Property management was easy to deal with and answered questions. Would definately return for another trip!
Cindy D. Apr 2019
This was a girl's trip for myself and 3 friends. "Southern Shores" is an amazing beach house and had everything we needed for a long weekend stay. Clean, comfortable and perfect location. We will definitely be back!
Jessica b. Apr 2019
We loved the house. It was gorgeously decorated, modern and so comfortable. As a family of 7 we were so excited to see the house was very spacious. Being right on the water was so convenient and we have the beach to ourselves 90 percent of the time. We'd love to come back!
Jane H. Apr 2019
roomy, great location--will be staying here again
Cynthia O. Mar 2019
We have stayed in this home three times over the past three years. This home is dog friendly and yet is very clean. Tile floors throughout, so a simple sweep gets rid of the sand and hair. The split plan is perfect for two families.
Anne C. Mar 2019
Excellent location right on the beach! Every morning, I could just walk down the steps and wander along the shore. Loved that it was pet friendly and we were able to enjoy our vacation with our dog. Very roomy with an open layout and a large master bedroom. There were a few little things, like many light bulbs were burnt out, but that was about the only issue.
Manager response:
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of this home's stellar location! Thank you for letting us know about the lightbulbs so that we can make sure they are replaced. In the future, please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any needs that arise while in the home. We are happy to assist in addressing any questions or concerns to make sure you have an excellent stay. We look forward to hosting you again!
Aimee D. Mar 2019
Right on the beach and as clean as you could ever hope for.
Michael S. Jan 2019
Wonderful open concept beach house with great views. All amenities need for a couple night stay were provided. No complaints here. Thank you again!
Katherine K. Sep 2018
We had all rooms filled at one time some of the beds were not very comfortable. The beach front rooms were great. I loved the house it was a great set up for the beach life. We enjoyed use the home we had every thing we needed. The dishwasher was ok the stove fridge were good the washer and dryer we’re excellent. I left a list of things with the rental place that needed some attention. I would rent this home again.
Cody S. Aug 2018
We came down for a last minute trip on Labor Day 2018 with some friends. Luckily we left on Monday before the tropical storm hit. Always love DI.
Heather K. Jul 2018
This house is a great location and private towards the western end of the island and facing the Gulf. We had an awesome stay with perfect weather. There are signs of age showing inside and out, especially with furniture, beds and kitchen items.
Allen B. Jun 2018
only complaint we could have was the internet was down but it was due to a storm that knocked out the cell tower so it really could not be anyones fault we had a great time
Kenneth E. May 2018
Best vacation spot on DI! Right on the beach! Beautiful! Only downsides: Internet service did not work—nor did it last year. Kitchen and other towels allowed to mildew and we could not use them. Grill ran out of propane in the middle of our only grilled meal. Nothing major, but irritating things, considering premium price paid for “premium” property.

Otherwise, best family vacation spot on island!
Linda T. Mar 2018
Great family house. Had party of 4 adults and 1 baby. Weather was cold and very foggy but the home was warm and cozy. It is roomy and my only suggestion is tgat more eating utensils are needed. It can sleep 10 and even though we only had 5, we were constantly washing utensils. Great home, good location, great back deck and chairs for sunning. Resort Management took care of our request gor more towels as soon as we made the request. They were also very pleasant and professional. I highly recommend them.
Reenee K. Mar 2018
This vacation was different than most of the beach vacations I take in the fact that I had never stayed on Daulphin Island. The entire experience was wonderful! The house was gorgeous, the bedrooms were perfect and the view was spectacular!!!
Johnny N. Sep 2017
One of the best vacations we have taken.Had to leave alittle earley because of Nate. I hope this place is OK.
Brenda B. Aug 2017
We vacation in Dauphin Island every year and love to stay at Southern Shores! The house is beautiful and has all the amenities we want. Best of all it is gulf front. Island Resprt Management provides flawless service. They always have the house ready for us and are quick to correct any issues we encounter during our stay and the only issue we had was the wifi password wasn't working and they gave us the remedy over the phone. We are already looking forward to next year's trip!
Brenda N. Jul 2017
Family vaca age 4 months to 87 years. Fabulous home with private beach. Loved the local fish market, outdoor movies and fireworks display. Island was quiet - didn't feel like July 4th crowd. YEA! Will definitely go back to Dauphin Island - South side!!! Would recommend taking an iron skillet and a good knife. Towels had to be washed again- folded damp and mildew had set in. Need some simple instructions for getting tv on.
Roy H. Jun 2017
Other than tropical storm cindy, for 2 days ,our stay was great
Debbie B. Jun 2017
All of us had a beautiful rental right on the beach for a family reunion. With the Beach and the ocean right down stairs and the small town with 3 restaurants not far of driving distance all with pleasant atmosphere's and great food we couldn't have picked a better place for our vacation!
Tricia S. May 2017
This trip was dubbed 5 Sisters: 4 by blood, 1 by love. My three sisters, myself and a life-long family friend spent a glorious week at Dauphin Island. The house was amazing and the perfect size for us. We each had our own comfortable bed and the bathroom setup worked perfectly.

The house was exactly as described, clean and with excellent views. We loved the beach access and the ability to wash the sand off on both decks before entering the house.

We were notified upon arrival on a Saturday afternoon that the grill electric start was not working but on Monday it was fixed - we were provided a manual ignition to use in the interim.

We didn't partake of many local attractions or restaurants, but we did pick up some fresh seafood from Skinners to eat. So delicious...and a second visit netted some to take home!

We all enjoyed Dauphin Island so much and will be returning! I intend to stay at Southern Shores again!
Kenneth E. Apr 2017
Everyone had great time. Loved the location and layout of the home. Will definitely consider it next time.
Matthew H. Apr 2017
Very windy and chilly
Molly F. Apr 2017
Beautiful home. Loved the location, view and upgrades and layout.

However, it needs a deep clean. Surfaces were clean, but baseboards, under furniture, window sills, cabinets etc. were dusty and dirty. Also, dishwasher had large chunks of food in it and smelled horrible. Dishes in cupboards had been put away dirty (with food on them) and we had to wash almost every dish we pull out the first day or two. The grill is also in very bad shape.

Management company staff was very friendly and helpful!

We would love to visit again!