Virtual Tour
USA Alabama Alabama Gulf Coast Dauphin Island Listing #19815

Sun Chase - Dauphin Island, AL

35 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 4 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options.

  • 7+ days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • 30+ days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee & associated taxes).

Exceptions apply. Read our full policy for details.

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean each home with an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Bayfront dog-friendly home w/ beach access, breathtaking views

This dog-friendly bayfront home has views of both the Gulf and the Mississippi Sound. With a beautiful kitchen, a spacious living room, and easy access to the beach, the whole family will find this house perfect for resting and relaxing!

What's nearby:
This house does not have a dock or boardwalk to the water, just sand. Stroll down to the warm, sandy beach area on the Mississippi Sound or take a short walk to the waves of the Gulf of Mexico. There's plenty of parking under house and extended driveway, so feel free to drive to downtown Dauphin Island for shopping and dining.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs welcome for a small nightly pet fee

This property is managed by Vacasa Alabama LLC

Parking Notes: Ample parking for three to four vehicles in the drive.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Gulf front

Gulf view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Gaming system

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Hammock

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

35 reviews

ali h. Apr 2021
Clean, accessible
Irene L. Aug 2020
This house is spacious and clean, and we loved sharing it with our adult son and our dog. Great sunrises and sunsets. Very pleased, and definitely a property we'd like to return to. Thank you!
Candice T. Jul 2020
Loved the house and the Island
RHONDA H. Jul 2020
If you are staying for the view, you have found the right house. If you want a mattress that isn't sunk in, a kitchen sink that works, or property management to return your call, then you should look elsewhere!!!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Rhonda! The home has had some extensive renovation done since your stay, and we do provide four different contact numbers for our guests so they can get assistance at any time. We hope to see you again!
Valerie W. Jun 2020
Safety was my goal. Four baths, private beach, access to 3 semi private was access spots.
Melissa G. Jun 2020
The house was a good size for 7 of us; in fact we didn’t end use the fourth bedroom! The kitchen was well stocked and there was even a closet of beach supplies! Liked the layout too. Porch screens are torn out so we couldn’t sit outside. The bugs were awful outside so screens are necessary. Cigarette butts and ash trays on the deck even though the home is listed as smoke free. I had MAJOR issues communicating with Vacasa after I booked. I had questions about cleaning and about a tropical storm that blew through the island and for a month got NO replies. There needs to be someone appointed to communicate with renters who have already paid but their stay is still upcoming. Once I was IN the home they picked up on the first ring.
Manager response:
Hi, Melissa! We apologize we were hard to reach during such a busy summer after things were reopening. We do take smoking on our properties very seriously and will follow-up on this. Mobile County Board of Health has sprayed for mosquitoes, but the bugs are still bad; we do recommend repellant. Thank you!
Traci S. Jun 2020
We had a group of 12 in this condo and we were never on top of each other. The back deck was our choice of hangout as it was spacious and overlooked the beach. Very private and quiet, which was wonderful as we had 2 small kids with us. Kitchen was stocked well with essentials and bathrooms were clean and had great water pressure. We only had 3 concerns come up. 1st, the railing on front and back deck were wobbly. 2nd, there was lots of sand in every bed, but since we were at the beach we didn't mind sweeping it out. We all kinds laughed about it. 3rd, there were no spare trash bags or paper towels, which I understand is not something most offer extra of, but would have been nice for those who forget.
Other than those little things we LOVED IT and already plan on coming back!!!
P.s. the view was absolutely breathtaking!!!!
Lacey M. May 2020
This home is in a great location- short walk to the ocean side and bay side. The rooms are all on one level, each having their own bathroom. We needed a few items looked at and the propane bottle (for grill) replaced and they got someone out right away both times. The 2 screened-in back porches make it nice for the evenings when the mosquitos are out. There is also a neighborhood fox that comes around in the evenings (harmless). The only reason I did not give this property a 5 star is because there are a few maintenance items that need to be addressed- back deck should be replaced (handrail repaired at the least), no BBQ utensils (brush, spatula, etc), rusty deck furniture needs replaced. Again, just maintenance items. Overall the home was good and I would rent it again.
Manager response:
Lacey, thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are pleased you had a great stay. We appreciate your suggestions regarding the back deck, grill utensils, and deck furniture. We have passed your feedback along to our local manager who will address the issues and work with the homeowner to make any updates. We look forward to your next visit!
Perry W. May 2020
This house on the bay was perfect for our family. Very clean, huge deck, grill, bathrooms in every bedroom, private beach area on the bay, pet friendly and the gulf is just a short walk across the road. The small town island atmosphere is exactly what we wanted! We will be back!
Lucille B. May 2020
We loved the Sun Chase home. It was large enough with 4 bedrooms, 4 baths that everyone had their privacy. It is a short walk to the beach or the sound.
Susan E. Apr 2020
We enjoyed that the property was adjacent to the bay. Kitchen was well stocked with basic cooking dishes/pans/utensils. Inside was kept up well.
brent j. Mar 2020
Great place, great location...and had a great stay!
Daphne K. Mar 2020
The house had great views. The kitchen was well stocked with all of the essentials for those who enjoy cooking in. We felt at home. There were a few minor areas for upkeep like torn porch screens and broken blades on porch fans. We would stay here again.
Manager response:
Thank you for providing feedback, Daphne. We are glad to hear that you had a great time. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, and we'll schedule a service visit to make repairs. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Billie R. Dec 2019
We loved the layout of this lovely home. 4 Bedrooms and 4 bathrooms with private screened porches off the two master bedrooms. . The waterfront views were awesome and our family had a wonderfully relaxed Thanksgiving Vacation. It truly was a home away from home. On our last day, we drove to the west end of the island just in time to see an awesome sunset . A perfect end to a perfect vacation!!!
Melody R. Nov 2019
Sun Chase was perfect! The condo was spotless and stocked with everything we needed for a family getaway.
Michelle B. Nov 2019
We enjoyed the time fir a quick getaway on the weekend. Too cold to do any swimming. Hope was clean and plenty of kitchen supplies.
Nehemias R. Sep 2019
Everything was nice... I'm love it.
Clean, and quite place...
Really recommended...
Rebecca S. Jun 2019
The owners were on top of anything we needed. Everything was already supplied as listed and if there were any questions they were very quick to respond accordingly. Nice place and very clean and spacious.
Linda Y. May 2019
My husband and I enjoyed the beautiful home along with the relaxing views and quiet walks on the ocean. The area is very low key and quiet. People are so friendly on Dauphin Island. This house was perfect and made the trip the best ever.
Cynthia S. Oct 2018
We had to bail out of a Panama City Beach rental because of Hurricane Michael...switched over to Dauphin Island, Alabama. So what started out as stressful (changed our reservation 3 days ahead of our vacation week) it was a very pleasant experience. No real complaints, the minor issues we had (fridge, A/C unit) were handled quickly and professionally by the Realty property management Co. Mobile Bay out the back window, Gulf of Mexico out the front window. How can you beat that? It would be nice if the unit had its own boardwalk and dock on the Bay.
Betsy S. Jul 2018
Great property! Would stay there again....
Sarah S. Jun 2018
We had a great time and enjoyed our location as well as the home. The ice maker needs some leaks so that the ice clumps together and the water gets into the freezer. However, it was the best equipped kitchen I have ever used on Vacation. Loved the grill and a back yard! Enjoyed the house very much.
Thomas J. Mar 2018
Had very nice weather A very nice place to get away and relax
Brenda W. Mar 2018
Sun Chase is a beautiful house in a beautiful place, with water views out every window. We would stay here again!
Edward H. Feb 2018
Looking for a week with family on Dauphin Island during the “Southern Winter”, February. Great house, enjoyed with our family! Will return soon.
Jeffrey C. Dec 2017
This house was excellent as a home away from home for our vacation. To have 4 bedrooms with 4 bathrooms and the great open floor plan was a true value. The fact that it was pet friendly was what sealed the deal for us.
Pat S. Jul 2017
Good size home. Positives - 4 baths; TVs in all bedrooms that worked; wonderful laundry room;plenty of hot water; great all concrete under house; nice decking with screened in areas; dogs allowed; good management company; plenty of dishes/silverware;linens/towels furnished. Negatives - oven not working correctly (burned several things even with adjusting temp/racks); few skillets/saucepans; top bunk covered in plastic so was noisy/uncomfortable;bunk bed not real sturdy with teenager; return/filter extremely dirty-luckily found filter in laundry room;suggest washcloth replacement;cloth couch/chair needed vacuuming/cleaning; several complaints on mattresses being uneven/too soft;pillows flat/stained. Unfortunately rentals are cleaned hurriedly and not thoroughly. However, I don't understand filters not being changed regularly for health and equipment reasons.
Sue C. Jul 2017
The big picture of our vacation stay was overall positive. The location was ideal. This home is on the bayside, lending to a quieter and more private stay. It is across the road from the ocean side beach which was easy to get to. Each of the 4 bedrooms had a private bathroom which made our family vacation easy. The best part of this house was the porch which can be seen in that picture. The view brought the peace and tranquility we were needing. We did have some maintenance issues that were not enough to ruin our vacation. There were two tubs that did not drain properly so we were standing in water by the end of the shower. The management company sent a plumber to fix this. The windows were filthy, and the fans and nooks and crannies needed a deep clean. We had to request some decent towels because the ones we had were stained and ragged; some with big holes. The original contact with the management company was unsatisfactory because the two ladies looked at each other with a knowing look and said, "these are the ones who need nice towels." However, we did not let this ruin our vacation. One more note, this rental has mildew near some ceiling lights and ceiling vents. There was also a smell of mildew as you walked through the front door.
Kirsten M. Jul 2017
Loved the house and the location. We stayed on the bay side the majority of the time. Quiet and relaxing. Well kept house with everything we needed. It is dog friendly, but very clean. Had a minor problem with the coffee maker the first day. Management quickly responded and immediately brought us a new coffee maker. Only complaint is the vacation is over.
Julie G. Jul 2017
Sun Chase was the perfect Dauphin Island vacation house. The house was nicely furnished and very livable. The back deck provided an amazing view of the water and beautiful DI sunsets every evening. We loved being on the "bay side" of the island. We were on the bay beach and in the water all day every day. We never even went to the gulf, but if we had, it was only a short walk away. We will definitely be returning to Sun Chase.
Judy S. Jun 2017
House was really nice. Could use a few mor cook wear, skillets, and a few washcloths. The house was layer out nice and fit our stay perfect!
Tonya B. Jun 2017
Amazing and relaxing family vacation! The house was clean, updated, and oh so beautiful! So many bathrooms too. Walking distance to the beach and the beds were comfortable. We would definitely come back!