Virtual Tour
USA California San Diego Mission Beach Listing #2094

Sweet Sunset Studio - San Diego, CA

58 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 0 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom No Pets 

Charming condo in Mission Beach w/lovely views & close beach & boardwalk access!

Experience the sunny, laid-back, Mission Beach lifestyle at this little beachside studio with amazing sunset views! Just a stone's throw from the beach and boardwalk, this San Diego vacation rental is a great way to explore this funky neighborhood popular with surfers and sun worshippers of all stripes.

Hit the beach, or bike the boardwalk, and you'll see why this neighborhood is a favorite among locals. This upper-level vacation rental, part of a triplex, is also close to Balboa and Belmont Parks, La Jolla Village, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld, so go exploring!

The studio is small but well-appointed, and with a fully equipped kitchen, a full bathroom, and a flat-screen TV, it's a great alternative to a hotel. With one queen bed in the apartment, this rental is ideal for a couple, but a full-size futon means you can easily bring along two kids or a third adult. There's a coin-operated washer and dryer on site.

With fun and funky Mission Beach outside your door, this Southern California vacation rental is the perfect spot for your next San Diego vacation!

*Please note that all guests must be 25 or older unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Washer Dryer : Shared

Kitchen

Fridge

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Time Warner

DVD Player

TV

Outdoor

Gas Grill : Private

Balcony

Patio

58 Reviews

Austin D. Oct 2018
This studio was in a perfect location if you are looking for a more affordable way to stay right near the water. Although there was no designated parking spot we were able to find parking on the street. Loved the neighborhood feel of our little alleyway
Gerald Z. Oct 2018
We left our phone chargers and Anna offered to bring them to us since she lived close to where we were staying for the second leg of our trip! She gave us awesome customer service and she deserves many thanks! Vacasa is lucky to have her!
douglas w. Sep 2018
This studio has what you need to enjoy time very close to the beach. Only negative would be that it is definitely in need of some upgrades (mattress, screen door, and wifi/TV)
Cheryl W. Sep 2018
Location, location, location!!! That's what this place is all about. Loved being able to sit out and see the ocean and strandway.
Brandon H. Aug 2018
I loved that this studio was so close to the ocean! Please fix the broken blinds
brian G. Aug 2018
60 feet from the sand and waves what more could you ask for?
Barbara R. Jul 2018
Loved it!!
Samantha Y. May 2018
The view was great and so close to the beach. We parked the car 1/2 mile away in a free parking area, stayed off the street. The studio had no A/C so we left the windows open and that was fine until the neighbors blasted their music. For the most part we loved it. Definitely recommend this place.
Katelyn P. Apr 2018
Great location, had everything we needed. It wasn't clear that the patio space is shared but we had great neighbors so it was no problem. Upstairs bbq needs replacing, downstairs bbq was excellent.
Debra A. Mar 2018
Absolutely loved everything about this cozy beach studio! Very clean with all the amenities! Can’t wait to rent it again 😃
Randall G. Mar 2018
Great lil place, great location!
Alexandra Z. Mar 2018
This house’s location couldn’t have been better. It was a street away from the beach. It was clean and we had an overall good experience. The only complaint would be the WiFi and cable were not working, but it was not a big deal for us.
Allison S. Feb 2018
You can't beat the location! My boyfriend and I were looking for a quick weekend getaway to sunny San Diego. The first morning we walked a few miles along the boardwalk down to Pacific Beach where we watched dolphins from the pier and ate Kono's Cafe for breakfast. The studio was also right around the corner from some restaurants and Starbucks. There is also a small convenient store where we picked up some food items for the place. The best part is the ocean view from the bed and outside patio. Although the bed is very high, it actually made the studio much bigger so we could store our golf clubs/bags underneath to allow for more walking room. We would highly recommend!
Lillian G. Feb 2018
The location is beautiful - honestly steps form the beach and you can hear and see the ocean. It was clean. However, the place is a dive! If you like feeling like you are living in a Frat house (mismatched furniture, loft bed, no heat or AC, noisy parties all day long) then this is the place for you.Leave your car at home because there is no parking!
Manager Response:
We are glad to see this guest enjoyed the location and apologize for the disappointments they experienced with the furnishings. The owner has been advised of these comments. Thank you!
Keith W. Jan 2018
You can’t beat the location so close to Mission Beach
Robert B. Jan 2018
Very close to the actual beach. It’s an easy walk from the front door to anywhere in Mission or Pacific Beach. The unit is perfect for two people.
Kyle S. Oct 2017
The entire apartment studio looks like it hasnt been updated in over 20 years. There is visible rust and mold in the kitchen and bathroom. Everything felt very "bare bones".

The bed platform situation is ridiculous. Being 4ft off the ground, you have to climb in and out of it every time you want to use it. Trying to jump down 4ft in the middle of the night is not only extremely annoying and frustrating, but its dangerous, and for what purpose? 2 extra feet of space compared to a normal hight platform bed that isn't a pain to use and wont endanger your life trying to climb up and down it? Please buy a cheap, normal beadframe for $100 instead of trying to use one you built yourself.

The TV only had a few channels that you were subscribed to, and the WiFi was extremely slow. WiFi looks like its being shared between this unit and neighbor units that Vacasa owns, another example of numerous unnecessarily cheap decisions that have appeared to be made by the property manager that isn't visible from the description or pictures, and works just minimally enough to not be outright fraud.

Because there is no a/c, if you stay anytime from April-October its likely going to get to over 80 degrees during the day. At night when you are trying to cool the unit down by opening up the windows to the cool night air, you are exposed to all of the conversations and music playing from people on the street and/or neighbors. You're in the heart of mission beach so there is an active nightlife. This leaves guests in a lovecraftian catch-22 with the choice of either being hot and uncomfortable trying to fall asleep, or be completely exposed to all of the sounds and music from the nightlife in mission bay and be kept awake by the noise.

In either case, its very hard to get a good nights sleep (I tried using earplugs and fan to drown out the noise too), and it is not a pleasant experience to actually stay in this unit other than the great location it provides for doing other things around San Diego.
Manager Response:
The property manager has supervised a deep clean of this home that addressed any mold and rust issues discovered. Generally speaking, our guests love the high bed, but we have provided a step stool to assist guests when getting into bed. Thanks!
Marlene H. Oct 2017
Great room for my husband and myself! Super close to beach. Can see beach from deck!
Nancy R. Oct 2017
No parking!, alot of parties, with windows open to get fresh air it made it hard to sleep
Troy A. Aug 2017
Everything thing is expensive but worth it, God's glory shines on San Diego! I wish individuals took better care of His creation.
Jason B. Jul 2017
Thought the place was great. Some drain problems but nothing big. Ana was a great help!
Ognjan B. Jul 2017
The location of this property was good, close to the beach and lots of restaurants and activities in close vicinity, parking was a bit of an issue as the vehicle had to be moved for street sweepers. Kitchen and bathroom were adequate, however the sleeping quarters were preposterous, the bed on stilts didn't make sense at all, I would have liked a normal queen bed and a pullout sleeper sofa I know the quarters are tight but this layout really stinks. The place was clean but out dated. The little patio had a nice view of the beach and ocean.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see the layout and furnishings were not to this guest's liking and hope they found everything to be functional. Thanks!
Sharon H. Jul 2017
Great price, great place, and good view from patio table for one visiting by themself or with one other.
Paul M. Jun 2017
There is a cable connection problem, can't watch tv.
The futon is extremely uncomfortable, it is set out, so it's lumpy, when pulled open to sleep on.
Also there are bug traps around, but also bugs, spiders, ants.
Manager Response:
We wish the guest had contacted us for assistance with the TV; the adapter has to be on in order to receive any channels. The property manager is currently working with the owner on getting the futon replaced. Thanks!
Robin R. Apr 2017
This was our second time staying at this property. The building has four units, and the studio is the only one that has a view of the ocean. The sound of the waves at night is great. The unit is located just a couple blocks from shopping, dining, drinking and other entertainment. It is a short bike ride or walk up to Pacific Beach, which is a favorite of ours. Parking is a challenge, so we would recommend Uber for getting around. Would definitely stay here again. It is a small but functional studio for a couple wanting to get a way to a great location in Mission Beach.
Felicia W. Mar 2017
I didn't want to leave!!!
Rick D. Jan 2017
We spent a week at Sweet Sunset Studio and were very happy with the experience. Location is terrific, amenities fine, and on the whole, worth coming back to. A few "peculiarities" that should be noted in the write-ups:
1. bed is 4 feet off the ground - which is perfect for a clear view of the sea when you awake, but could be a challenge for those not at least a little nimble.
2. deck is wonderful, but it is shared with the next-door renters
3. parking can be a bit of a challenge - on the street, which can fill up nearby
4. laundry in the garage is fine, but bring quarters (coin operated).
5 internet works sporadically - on-again-off-again and pretty slow

All in all, we'd go back - the internet sketchiness was the only really annoying part; everything else very nice.
Monique C. Dec 2016
I would give a 5 star rating if there was designated parking for this unit but because there was no parking I give this rental 1 star.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that street parking had such a negative impact on this stay and hope that the guest was completely satisfied with the unit itself.
Emily J. Oct 2016
Great location
Gabor K. Sep 2016
this was a last minute booking, we had no many options, but we did not regret that we stayed there. parking was a hassle, but we managed to find free parking in 5 min walking distance. there are bars and restaurants in the neighborhood, you can rent bike/surf/longboard for $10 per day, and you can walk to the beach bare foot wearing wetsuit which was great! beautiful beach, beautiful sunset from the porch.
Lindsay D. Sep 2016
The location is the best aspect of this rental. This would be ideal for a couple or 2 people staying together who are not planning on being in the apartment for anything other than sleeping. I don't think 4 would be very comfortable with the heat and size of this apartment. The was no air conditioning and most nights were pretty unbearable to sleep with the heat. Recommend bringing your own fan due to the one fan in the apartment is placed near the kitchen and does not provide any air circulation on the bed (fan would be better served above the bed or closer to bed). The bed was a little hard to get in and out of since it is so raised off the ground. Not really ideal for anyone with balance or mobility issues. The only things to use to step on were an ottoman and futon couch, which were not very stable. There were beach towels (4) in the apartment and I was told there were none and I could have saved some room in my bag by not bringing towels. There is really no parking so recommend not bringing a car and taking uber. Uber was very easy to use in this area. We had some really loud neighbors however it was a weekend and summer time so we expected some noise and since there is no AC we had to keep the windows open. Overall, I was really happy with the location. Excellent for beach weekend.
Jeremy Luman L. Sep 2016
Great location. Not very big but plenty of space if you are going to spend the day out at the beach
Katy P. Aug 2016
The place was just as explained. We were there pretty much to shower and sleep! Beds were more comfortable than expected. Loved the patio. Can't beat he loacation!
Robin R. Aug 2016
First of all the location of this property is awesome. You can see the beach from the unit and sitting on the deck. The beach is just steps away and is spectacular. We really enjoyed bike riding around the area and eating at a few of the local spots in Mission and Pacific beaches. There is no on site parking, so unload your stuff then go find parking. We were able to find parking with in a couple of blocks on Mission street. You will have to move your car 8:00- 10:00AM for street sweeping. Pay attention to the signs. There is parking south of the unit on mission too, but it is a little farther walk. It was un seasonably warm when we were there and the unit has no air conditioning. This made sleeping difficult. Also, on the weekend, the local bars let out around 2:00AM so it got noisy for a while with people walking by. That wouldn't have been a problem, except that we had to sleep with all the windows and doors open, so it was a little loud. Overall we had a fun stay. We would stay here again for sure. Even with the heat issue and inconvenient parking, the location is just too good.
Leeta M. Aug 2016
This was a perfect place for three ladies who needed a beach break. Close to every thing we needed, especially the beach. It was wonderful being able to sit on the deck and see the ocean and at night see the fireworks from Sea World. We only cooked once, for breakfast, but it seems to be stocked with everything need to cook full meals. The parking is a nightmare, especially if you are in a big pick-up like we were (we were on a road trip from out of state). However, we parked the truck at Mission Bay Park, in the overnight parking lot, for three days with no problems. The walk to and from the parking lot is relatively short, took me 5 mins, when you compare it with constantly having to move the vehicle if you are parked on the street. We just pulled up near the unit on Strandway, unloaded, and then one of us drove it over to the parking lot. Worked for us. I would definitely stay here again.
Irene S. Jul 2016
It was a charming studio. We stay in San Diego often and this was the 1st time I stayed at this particular studio. We always rent 3-4 bedrooms but it was just a quick visit with me and mom. It was perfect for what we came for. A bed, shower, minimal kitchen. The view was nice and location is great. I would definitely stayed again if I was in need of small but spacious space. Thanks!
Hank L. Jul 2016
This place is small but has a kitchenette, patio area (that is shared) and is only 1 min walk to the beach. Like I said, there were some minor issues but management took care of them very quickly.
Eric B. Jul 2016
Good
Shufang N. Jun 2016
very clean, simple place fully stocked with everything you need. Awesome location close to everything in Mission Beach. You can see the surf laying in bed! Perfect for 3 of us (couple with 10 year old daughter). The photos and property description was accurate so we knew what to expect. It's only 20 yards from the beach. Parking is on the surrounding streets but we found a spot real close so we walked in with our stuff about 30 yards no problem. We would stay here again.
Corey & S. Jun 2016
Parking is awful! Park at mission bay park there is a section for overnight passenger vehicle it will save you a headache!
Emily W. May 2016
Nice place.
Robert B. May 2016
Cozy little house, 30 second walk to the ocean side beach. Management is very nice and willing to help however they can. Kind of tight quarters with another rental avaible right next to the door of 718 1/2 and have to share upper deck. Not bad, but also not sure of who you will be sharing the upstairs portion with. Overall though it was a great trip and management was very friendly and prompt. Would stay again.
Lorette Y. Apr 2016
We usually camp on the beach . We like to be able to come & go . The studio was just as good . This was the perfect place . Second floor , table & chairs on terrace . Although I didn't get to swim I had great view of boardwalk , where my granddaughter could ride her skate board . Coffee outside in morn. Wine during sunset . Would recommend . And will use again when we don't camp .
James B B. Apr 2016
My wife, daughter, son & self truly enjoyed our week @ Mission Beach, San Diego. The lack of 100% reliable internet only prevented my daughter from chatting w/ her would-be, future boyfriend (fine w/ dad)!
Kathleen & Robert D. Jan 2016
This was perfect for the 2 of us. The kitchen had a full size stove and fridge. No dishwasher. Very close to the beach and bay. Parking seemed to be an issue with many visitors since it is limited. Make sure you check which side of the street you can park and stay back from the red line. The bed was hard for me to climb up without a boost from my hubby - I'm 5'4". But, it was very comfortable. Conveniently located to a lot of attractions or just relax on the beach or bay. We had a Great time!
Vincenza F. Jan 2016
I stayed here in January of 2016 and having this place made my stay so much easier! So close to the beach and walking distance to so many places. The kitchen has everything you will need! Frying pans, pots, silverware, every cooking utensil, plates, bowls, cups, wine glasses, cutting boards, a toaster, a blender, etc. I was very impressed with how stocked it was! It made getting groceries for the week very easy. Plenty of extra towels and sheets. Pictures are true to the place. The bed is pretty high up, as you can see, but it wasn't a problem. I would most definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends/family!
Dennis A. Dec 2015
This unit is what it is, a small studio fit for two. It is perfect for a stay on the beech and a just to relax get away. Go and enjoy.
Yolanda G. Nov 2015
The place would be awesome for a couple (young or old), that just want to spend as little as possible indoors. Good restaurants that are walking distance & the beach is literally half a block away. Basically at your front door. But not good if you have kids or if you plan to cook a good meal. I already knew the place came without cable & no parking, but the wifi was horrible. Barely had a connection for more than 15-20 minutes & the TV did not work at all. So even though we had brought our own things to watch on the TV, it was impossible. Not even the remotes had good batteries. I called management on it, someone showed up the following day to inspect it. He said it would be replaced the following day, but we never heard back on it again. We spent 7 days without a working TV & barely any internet. The kitchen was missing pans & the fridge did not have ice trays. The bed is too high & what was available to get onto it, was not an appropriate piece of furniture.
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and that we were not able to address them. The Property Manager will look into the WiFi and is currently working with the owners on a solution for the TV. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the wonderful location!
Rhea P. Jul 2015
Nice view, my family really enjoyed sitting out on the patio for meals. It was a nice change to be able to sit outside and eat in peace without fighting flies and mosquitoes! Great location if you're there for relaxing on the beach and going to the amusement park and Sea World.
Victor V. Jun 2015
Great location for a small family to enjoy the beach.