Virtual Tour
USA California Southern California Big Bear Lake Listing #2183

Mallard Bay Lakefront Retreat - Big Bear Lake, CA

32 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 4 King Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
128 Lagunita Ln, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315

Lakefront cabin with private dock - perfect for groups!

Featuring a homey cabin style, a wonderful lakefront location, private dock, and space for a large group of 10 guests, this Big Bear Lake vacation rental is the perfect place to stay during your next fun-filled getaway.

Located right on the picturesque Mallard Lagoon on Big Bear Lake, this home features views of the lagoon and its own private dock. Even better, when you stay here you will be just a mile from the center of town and within about a 10-minute drive of multiple ski resorts!

With five bedrooms and three bathrooms, this home has plenty of space for a large group of visitors. The wood furniture, walls, and details make the home feel even warmer and more welcoming, so feel free to sit back, relax, and take it easy! With two living rooms and plenty of space to spread out, everyone will soon find their favorite spot in this home.

The main living area, next to the kitchen, has windows that let the glorious sunshine stream in and allow views of the lagoon. Sit down and watch some TV (this home offers cable, as well as Blu-ray/DVD players, Netflix streaming, and WiFi access), or start a fire in the wood-burning fireplace to keep everyone extra warm and cozy. Just past this room is a gorgeous full kitchen, complete with beautiful wood cabinets and all the appliances and tools the cook in your group may need to prepare meals.

There are two seats at the breakfast bar and a dining room table with space for 10 guests, so go ahead and enjoy a family-style meal before heading out for a day of adventures! If you need extra fridge space to store soda and snacks, you will be delighted to discover that the second living area, on the other side of the house, features another fridge. This additional living room also has its own TV, seating, and wood fireplace, which means this is an ideal configuration for two families traveling together or for youngsters to have their own space to play while the adults chat on the other side of the home.

When it's time to head to bed, you and your guests will have plenty of comfortable places to choose from, including five bedrooms. The master bedroom, which houses a king-size bed and an additional twin bed, even has its own attached bathroom with a wonderful jetted bathtub that will be perfect for a relaxing bubble bath at the end of the day. Altogether, between the bedrooms and two queen-size sofabeds, this home can accommodate up to 10 visitors.

Head outside to find a lovely back deck that overlooks your grassy yard and the lagoon. You could use the charcoal grill to cook up a casual lunch of hot dogs to eat at the picnic table, or let the kids run around the lawn to burn off some energy. Best of all, this home has its own private dock, so you could jump right into the water on a hot day, or drop a kayak into the lake to explore.

Around town you will find everything you may need to have a wonderful stay. There are plenty of eateries to keep everyone well-fed, and there are also lots of charming shops to peruse in the downtown area. And, of course, if you're here during the wintertime you can drive the short distance to the ski resorts for some snow sports. If you're visiting during the warmer months, instead, you will still have ample ways to keep busy. Try out the many hiking and mountain-biking trails, enjoy a nature walk at the Big Bear Discovery Center, or take advantage of the closeness of the gorgeous Big Bear Lake by visiting the beach, fishing, or boating!

With space for a large group, a welcoming atmosphere, and a private dock on the lake, this Big Bear vacation rental will soon become your favorite destination!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Dock

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Private

Features

Fireplace

Wood-burning fireplace

Jetted tub

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Blu-Ray player

Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Stereo

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Enclosed yard

Patio

Scenic

Water view

32 reviews

Roderick L. Jun 2019
This is a nice roomy house in a great location. Perfect for a large family. We had a great time and Vacasa was great to work with
Virginia A. Dec 2018
This was my family and I first time staying in a cabin. The experience was awesome. To see my children having a great time was priceless. We had a white Christmas because it snowed on Christmas day. I would highly recommended.
Roderick L. Aug 2018
Roomy and nicely located. It was clean and well appointed and suited the needs of a family with older children great offering two public rooms and five bedrooms. We loved it and will rent it again
Dana P. Aug 2018
Nice rustic style home that we loved. Large rooms and nice view. Hopefully the lake will fill up again and it will be even better.
Jesse K. Jul 2018
We enjoyed staying there. We stayed 6 days. The staff was super helpful! I give them 5 stars for sure!
The backyard is great! The lawn is soft and it's a great place for kids to play.
House is large with 5 bedrooms, the twin bedroom is inside one of the larger bedrooms.
There are a large living space and a second bar/pool table space.
Sheets were clean and beds were very comfortable!!! Always a plus!
The home is older but very pretty. We loved the kitchen/dining room space.
We found the kitchen to have many things but still lacking some basic tools. Thankfully we brought stuff :) There is no washer dryer, it doesn't say there is in the ad but I just assume so that was disappointing. My bad though. The place is not one level. It was tricky in the photos to see. 2 of the bedrooms are upstairs on opposite sides of the house. The main floor has a large one step Drop off in the living room. Something I didn't see in the pictures.
Plenty of bathroom towels but only one kitche towel.
Vacuum there was no bueno, I bring my own everywhere though 😂
The price was great and we are so thankful we found this place. We will for sure be staying here again someday.
Ohh and bring fans! The upstairs bedrooms get warm in the summer.

Jeff W. Jun 2018
The house was dated but comfortable with room for everyone.
Christine R. Jun 2018
great location with large home close to the lake and has plenty of room
Paula H. May 2018
This place is really big and can fit more people than stated on the website! We had so much extra room! The house leads directly to a big yard followed by the lake. The reason why I gave it 4 stars is this place is out dated and the lights are too dim.
Manuel C. Feb 2018
Amazing view and cozy cabin
Annfrances M. Jan 2018
Beautiful home with beautiful view! It’s a big home with more than enough room for everyone. Big beautiful fireplace. Loved the pool table. Lots of pots and pans. Awesome kitchen table.
Down side...inside doors don’t lock, Coffee maker didn’t work, the TVs in bedrooms are very old & I almost feel off the deck because the iron rail is missing 2 bolts.
Other than that my family and I had an amazing time. I would love to stay there again.
Anita U. Aug 2017
This is the second time we rented this cabin and we really enjoyed it. Having a dock right on the lake is really nice and water level was higher this year.
Wanda F. Jul 2017
Great lakeside location for families with kids or large groups. Good beds and TVs, soft towels, large dining table, and plenty of sofas. Three wooden decks, a BBQ, grassy lawn to play on, and a pool table that can convert to a ping pong table.
Hannah A. Jul 2017
The positive points about this property:
Great backyard, close to the water, AWESOME LOCATION! The kitchen was nice and well-stocked with dishes, appliances, cookware, and utensils. The kitchen table is nice and large and accommodated our family (and friends who visited for dinner) very nicely. Again, the LOCATION is great!
The negative points about this property:
Housekeeping was terrible: carpet appeared to not be vacuumed on the stairs and in a bathroom, several LARGE cobwebs on lamps and in corners, fingerprints and dust on end tables/electronics/shelves, previous guest's bra and shirt found in a room upon arrival! Gross! Also, we had a major ANT invasion while we were there, they were even crawling around the kitchen table.
This home is VERY old and had several maintenance issues including a broken BBQ and faulty oven which stayed on when turned to the OFF position.
We made the best of our trip and had a great time exploring Big Bear, but until these issues are addressed and the housekeepers are held to a higher standard, I would not recommend staying at this property.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was not satisfied with this rental. The home has been scheduled for a deep clean now that the busy summer season has ended. The stove has been repaired, and we have sprayed for ants and spiders. Thank you!
Richard H. Jun 2017
Here's our situation: we had 10 people and 4 were children 6 or under. There are 5 bedrooms but if you are looking to stay here during the summer one of the rooms is unusable because it's so hot! There is no a/c so it was a bit warm in the bedrooms when first going to bed. Fortunately it cooled off during the night. We all left the windows open hoping for a nice breeze to blow through. There are no fans or ceiling fans to move the air. While it is lakefront it's in an area where the water is quite low and there really wasn't a place for the kids to play in the water. So that was a bit of a disappointment. On the other hand there is grass in the backyard, with nice shade and 3 wooden decks. The property is old and hasn't really been kept up. I love nature but swallows have made a nest in the eves of the second story above the French doors leading onto the main deck so there is bird poop all over the deck. The deck wasn't cleaned before we arrived and there wasn't a hose on the property. Luckily the neighbors let us borrow there's so we could clean the deck. One of the other decks next to the house had nail heads sticking up so it could be a trip hazard for little kids. If you enjoy sitting outside be sure to bring some chairs. We did enjoy staying here but would not stay at this property again.
Manager response:
We apologize for any annoyances this guest experienced. The Big Bear area does not typically get hot enough to warrant air conditioning. This is looking to be a warmer summer than most, and we apologize for any discomfort experienced due to this. A broom for the back deck has been purchased so guests can tidy the deck if necessary during their stay. Any nail heads that had been popping out should all be hammered down now. Thank you!
Trung P. Jun 2017
Great house in great location. A little maintenance improvement will make this a place great. No Air conditioning as advertised. The whole reason why we chose this place because of record heat wave. Best part was the patio with plenty of shade and pool table to keep us entertained.
Irina K. Jun 2017
Great lakefront lagoon property. Quiet area. The lagoon is a no-wake zone so no motor water vehicles which definitely decreases noise levels. Very spacious home large enough to fit a group of 10. Backyard was very big and made for great outdoor BBQs. Would definitely recommend!
Jonathan W. Feb 2017
The house has plenty of room to sleep guests, but overall quality is lacking. 5 total rooms, lots of beds (although pullout beds are very uncomfortable). One of the bathroom doors didn't lock and minor quirks throughout the house. Even with all the issues, the location on the water is awesome, with direct access to the lake just across the street. This house just needs some TLC to make it perfect.
Tatiana M. Jan 2017
It has an Excelent view,the house is coozy .
We had a great vacation.
Lindsey T. Jan 2017
Nice & cozy house. It has pool table & ping pong to keep our children company. Enough ultensils & cooking items. 2 fireplaces but no logs availble.
Jose L. Dec 2016
This place is amazing. They need to upload more picture of the property.
Taylor K. Dec 2016
Great place to stay with a large group. This was my second time using the cabin, once in the summer and now once in the winter. Great location.
Bertha S. Feb 2016
The property was bigger that what I saw on Internet, we were very comfortable and there was enough room for everybody. But there's a big need of updating some of the furniture and have more towels in the place.
Imran M. Dec 2015
I had an amazing time. Really appreciate the staff going above and beyond to make my stay better. Very interested in renting the location again in January. Please do contact me so we can coordinate another stay! Thanks vacasa team! You guys rock!
Kyle P. Sep 2015
Tons of space for many people. Very quiet too because it's on a cul de sac. Right on a lagoon so if the water level is up it's perfect. Really close to the village and Holloways which we loved. For sure has that "cabin" feel which is exactly what we were looking for.
Shaun Rey H. Jun 2015
The pictures did not give this beautiful cabin justice. When I arrived it was way more than I expected. The cabin was huge,more than enough room to accommodate My family, clean, has everything you need to stay, it was like being at home comfortable, very relaxing, perfect lakefront location the fish we're practically jumping out of the water. My family and I will definitely be back. Thanks VACASA