Max occupancy: 9
3 Double Bed,
3 Twin Bed
4WD/traction may be required in winter
6190 Red Pine Rd., Boyne City, MI 49712
Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.
If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).
Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.
Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.
Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.
Cottage w/ lake views, private dock & fire pit - near public boat launch!
Welcome to your summer lake cottage on the West Arm of Walloon Lake! This home is located just 30 feet from the lake and includes a nice yard. Enjoy the lake views from the private dock or the outdoor fire pit. This is the perfect place to bring your boat; a public launch is located just a mile away. The knotty pine ceilings and rustic furniture give the sense of a true 'Up North' experience. You’ll fall in love with the cozy setting as you stare out onto the water.
What’s nearby: Walloon Lake is steps from the cottage and is ideal for swimming, boating, kayaking, etc. Children will enjoy the gradual drop-off into the water and the sandy bottom. US 131 is nearby and provides convenient access to Petoskey, Boyne City and Charlevoix. Shopping, dining, golf and much more are all within 15 minutes!
Things to know: This property is only available in summer Full kitchen No A/C No WiFi
This property is managed by Vacasa Michigan LLC
You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.
Washer/dryer : Private
Kitchen & dining
Nearby activities & attractions
Gas grill : Private
Alexander D.Aug 2020
To put this review in perspective, we are a family of four renting vacation spots 2x a year. We have enough experience to know when our home for a week has been been cared for enough to justify the price or to ecome a rental in the first place. This house had not only been neglected; the decisions the home owners or Vacasa made to turn it into a rental were shocking. The only thing giving it a 2 star was the view and the dock. Both were great. You should know this but you should also know:
-there were no smoke detectors in the house
-Above the range was a closet-grade plug-in light fixture with a plastic covering. In addition to its plug being dangerously next to the stove’s flames, the plastic covering melted and fell off our second night as we boiled water for pasta
-Mouse poop was all over in every under-sink cabinet and in all the pots and pans, also in all cubbies directly above the sink.
-There was no wifi connection though the listing seemed to indicate there was wifi
-The front bathroom and tub sink didn’t drake
-The bedding and towels were unclean and smelled either musty or of previous renters’ body odors and other unmentionable smells.
-In one of the bedrooms we found left clothing under the bed from a previous renter, indicating that the place hadn’t even been inspected before we arrived.
To be clear and in fairness, the stairs leading to the dock and the dock itself were high quality and very nice. We enjoyed that part. However, the other below code/dangerous/unclean parts washed over all else and are details we ourselves would want to read in a review. We don’t want to hate on anyone but this was an appalling experience incomparable to any we have had before. I hope Vacasa either holds the owners to account or amends their screening of properties to at least make sure these properties are safe and clean.
In short, the place was disgusting, unclean, and not up to code/unsafe. It’s our first (and sadly last) time with Vacasa unless the company can explain how in the world they allowed this to happen.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Alexander. We apologize that you were so disappointed with your stay. Our local staff has been made aware of all of the issues you have stated. Safety is a top priority at Vacasa and we apologize there was an issue with the smoke alarms. Previous guests had removed the alarms, but they are now back up and up to code. The light fixture has never caused problems in the past but our local staff has let us know they are looking into replacing it now. The home has been sprayed and traps have been set for any mice that may have gotten in. We are sorry that you were expecting WiFi in the home, but we do not advertise this on the listing. We hope that you and your family were able to unwind and enjoy the beautiful views! The drains have all been cleaned out and are working correctly. Fresh linens and sheets are provided between every guest. We do wish that you had accepted our offer to allow housekeeping staff to come out and fix any issues you had with your stay when you let us know about them, but we do hope that the refund we have given you has helped with some resolution of the problems you experienced.
Dina K.Jul 2020
We love this area on Walloon Lake. The water is beautiful! The cottage was perfect for our family. The loft was a great spot for our younger daughter and her friend. The dock was excellent for tying our boat and with the non-wood surface there were no splinters! We appreciate you sharing your family home with us. We made great memories!!
Jen J.Jul 2020
We loved this little cottage! It fit our needs perfectly for a family of 5. It is a cottage though, no AC, cottage furniture, tiny bedrooms, very rustic, but if you are looking for a lake get away with an amazing view and spectacular location on Walloon, this is your place!
Jenifer C.Oct 2019
First time at Waloon lake . Beautiful area .House was bigger than expected house has older furniture kind of looked like garage sale stuff but was really clean and how to put this( Quaint ).. loved the area the trees were golden and rusty went to the tunnel of trees and over the bridge .saw 4 deer in the front yard.It would be wonderful in the summer time also being it's on the lake. it has two glass sliding doors for a beautiful view.i would go back but bring the family next time .do much room even had a high chair for a baby .they stocked up on seasonings tea had plenty of appliances mixers and waffle makers etc.sleeps nine comfortably .2 bathrooms (tub).
Gale W.Oct 2019
Walloon Lake is a beautiful lake and this cottage made our stay very enjoyable. The property and neighborhood are lovely. Great lakeside deck and view. Cottage is well equipped...perfect for large and small visitors. Beautiful fall color weekend although quite windy and a little rainy (not unusual for Michigan fall weather). Can’t wait to return!
Gemilia S.Oct 2019
The area and property is a great place to unwind and unplug!
James M.Aug 2019
One of the most beautiful lakes I have ever seen. Home was as promised.
Ray .Sep 2018
Great place that is family friendly! We stayed for two weeks, one with two children and a couple of grandchildren, and the second week just the two of us. We stayed for one week last year and returned this time for two weeks. The new stairs and railing down to the lake are VERY nice and safe! We spent a lot of time on the dock and the deck. The cottage has most of the essentials that make for a pleasant stay. I read another book from the cottage and was impressed again with the reading material available. After coming to Walloon for over 60 years, it is a welcome reminder of the past in the area. A great time was had by all and we made sure that the place was as clean as if it was our own cottage.
Sheri .Jun 2018
We love this location on the lake.
Mel .Aug 2017
We liked it very much. I hope the owners will convert the garage to a bunkhouse so I could bring my sons and their families.