Virtual Tour
USA California Truckee Tahoe Donner Listing #22845

The Acorn House - Truckee, CA

8 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 (6 adults) 1 Queen Bed, 6 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms No pets 
13066 Skiview Loop, Truckee, CA 96161

Family friendly cabin w/ a private hot tub & access to a shared pool, tennis

Come enjoy this spacious cabin boasting plenty of rustic charm and the ultimate in comfort. This home features an open floor plan, hardwood floors throughout, a pool table, and a wood-burning fireplace nestled in a natural stone hearth. Great outdoor areas include a large, furnished deck with a private hot tub and a gas barbecue grill ideal for family entertaining. The back area, surrounded by mature Jeffrey pines, is peaceful and relaxing with easy access to the golf course path.

What's nearby:
Just a few miles away from this cabin, you can enjoy all the Tahoe Donner amenities - including clubhouses with swimming pools, tennis courts, playgrounds, hiking trails, stables, ski and cross-country areas, a fitness center, sports courts, and a marina. Restaurants like Pizza on the Hill and The Lodge offer family-friendly dining experiences right in the neighborhood.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (with a dishwasher)
Two twin beds in the third bedroom can be set together to create a larger bed
The use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees
This is an allergy-friendly environment; no pets are allowed
Smoking of all substances is prohibited here

*You must be at least 25 years old to rent this home. Please note that we welcome family gatherings, but that parties and private/company events are not permitted. Thank you!



Children's games

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Heating & cooling


Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Suddenlink



Wireless router



Washer/dryer : Private

Nearby activities & attractions

Board games

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing



Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Adult bikes

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Private

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Children's bikes




8 reviews

Candace H. Dec 2019
Pros: House is well located in Tahoe Donner/ Truckee area convenient to restaurants, markets, etc. Good layout of rooms. Plenty of extra towels and sheets. Backyard faces a golf course so during winter it was a great, private snow play area.

Cons: House took 3 hours to heat up, hot water (for showers) ran out everyday, arm rail to living room broken and unsafe, microwave door handle broken, game table (pool table and air hockey) broken and unsafe for kids, does NOT have two queen beds rather one room has two twins pushed together. Kitchen missing basic items such as salt, pepper, saran wrap, aluminum foil, pots & pans dirty and scratched up. Overall, property felt like it is in need of update and repair.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Candace. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit. We apologize for the confusion with the beds; it has been noted on our website the king bed is two twin beds pushed together. We have asked housekeeping to inspect the pots and pans and replace any that are in poor condition. We are working on finding a replacement handle for the microwave, and we have repaired the game table. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Yuliya P. Nov 2019
Filthy cabin, the rugs were covered in crumbs, and entire cabin was covered in spider webs and huge spiders everywhere. Kid could not sleep upstairs because of it.
NO PRIVACY because the door to the 2nd bedroom upstairs is gone. It didn't even have a queen bed! There was a twin bed and a twin size mattress on the floor, with a large blanket covering both. How is a couple suppose to sleep on that? My husband couldn't even fit on the twin bed by himself because he is 6 2"! Jets do not work in the jacuzzi. BBQ is filthy. We left one night early to sleep at home because our stay was horrible. This cabin is the worst I've ever been to and I've been to many in Truckee.
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us and are disappointed to read you did not enjoy your accommodations. We did a find a couple of cobwebs and have cleaned them up. The king bed is made with two twins, and the one that had been lowered has been fixed. The queen size bed is in the downstairs bedroom across from the kitchen. The BBQ has been stored for the winter, the hot tub jets appear to be working perfectly, and we do apologize for any cleanliness issues you encountered. Thank you!
Melissa B. Oct 2019
The Acorn house had everything we needed to relax- a great hot tub, a nice kitchen and a comfortable living room. We will definitely stay there again!
robert v. Oct 2019
Business meeting/retreat
pleasant little place, quiet, well equiped
Would have enjoyed cable, but a small matter
Jeffrey H. Oct 2019
First off, the positives: Modern kitchen (big fridge, gas oven, BBQ, tools, plates, etc). Clean bathroom, plenty of towels, toiletries provided.

Negatives: The unit clearly had not been prepped for our arrival. Dust had settled and a few cobwebs were apparent. Also the heat was off, so for 2 HOURS we had to wear our jackets and keep our shoes on as the hardwood was too cold to stand on.

The biggest negative was that we had booked this unit bc it had a private hot tub. Both nights we were unable to get it over 95F so we didnt get to take advantage of this feature which was our main reason for booking.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced in the unit, and wish you had contacted us so we could work to resolve the issues right away. Our local manager has confirmed the hot tub is operating properly. She will also be sure to follow-up with our housekeeping team regarding the dust and cobwebs to ensure cleans are being thoroughly completed. We hope we can host you for a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Cynthia K. Jul 2019
We found cabin quaint. Neighborhood is really nice.
Jaime T. Jul 2019
Best place we've ever stayed. I recommend The Acorn House for a single night or a full month, I wish we had stayed for a longer time. Looking forward to coming back. It is 25min from Tahoe City, it was close enough for us to drive there for river rafting and cycling. Beautiful surroundings!