Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #231

Mount Hood Cabin - Rhododendron, OR

157 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom  plus loft 1 bathroom Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
24810 East Old Smokey Road, Rhododendron, OR 97049

Lovely dog-friendly mountain cabin w/private hot tub! Just 400 feet to river!

This beautifully preserved and dog-friendly Mt. Hood vacation rental is over 80 years old and offers a private hot tub. Set on a double lot among cedar and vine maples, you'll enjoy amenities like hardwood floors, ceiling fans, an outdoor firepit, and a large deck off the back door. This little cabin strikes just the right balance between character and modern convenience.

What's nearby:
Just a short drive from great golfing at Resort at the Mountain, 400 feet from the rushing Zigzag River, and with Sandy River trails just a short trek out your back door, this is the escape of the lifetime. This charming vacation cabin is right between Welches and Rhododendron and is close to five state parks. There's hiking along Mirror Lake, boating, rafting, climbing, horseback riding, fishing and more.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with espresso machine and an electric griddle
Dog-friendly for a small nightly fee

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Gas fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Wtechlink

Cable

DVD player

Sound dock

Stereo

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Deck

Firepit

157 reviews

Yana K. Mar 2019
This house was amazing! It was very clean and stocked with everything from toiletries to kitchen supplies. The hot tub was definitely a plus. The only thing I'd like to mention is that the back yard isnt fenced in for dogs but we were prepared for that from another review.
Ty P. Feb 2019
Loved our get away at this cozy little mountain home! It was really nice to hang out in the hot tub after a day playing in the snow!
Ali L. Oct 2018
Really loved the hot tub and the privacy, although there are houses around, it feels like you are alone. Comfortable beds, stocked kitchen, plenty of towels. But they sure did have fun with the label maker. Haha.
Nick B. Oct 2018
Never have I wanted to stay on vacation so badly. An absolute treat for any couple.
Shana L. Aug 2018
We had such a wonderful, quiet getaway in this house. Tucked away into the deep woods of Mt. Hood, yet open and light. The house had a nice personal touch and had everything we needed. Sitting in the hot tub surrounded by trees, an easy trip up to Ski Bowl and Timberline.... it was bliss!
Elisabeth B. Aug 2018
It was a pretty nice cabin, needed some love in some areas, but worth the stay.
laure k. Aug 2018
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!
Marsha M. Jun 2018
This older but somewhat remodeled cabin was in a good location, close to beautiful Zigzag Creek. The cabin could use some cookware upgrades, and also some hooks here and there, since there are no closets. Comfortable bed. Quiet neighborhood, and a nice hot tub in the back yard area.
Holly G. May 2018
It was peaceful, loved the hot tub and how close to a river to sit next to.
Liana V. May 2018
Great back yard for entertaining! Back deck has a propane grill close to the hot tub and a fire pit with seating.
Julianne O. Mar 2018
This is a nice little house tucked away from the road in the woods, and it also has great access to local restaurants. The view from the upstairs sitting area is lovely and the hot tub is spacious - plenty of room for all 4 of us.
The house has a couple of quirks because it is a remodeled cabin. The floor is a little wavy and we had to move the bed to close the bedroom door. Then it got really hot.
I wish there was a comfortable single bed instead of the futon upstairs.
Overall, it's a great house for the price.
Other than these small changes, this house was awesome and we couldn't have asked for a better stay!
SARAH W. Jan 2018
When we arrived, we found the little cabin spotless and very well maintained inside. It was very clean and tidy. The gas fireplace rocked! Made it very warm in there. The beds were a little firmer than I would like. It was nice that each person (4) was able to have their own bed. The hot tub worked great and was very warm! It felt good to get in a nice warm tub after a long day on the mountain. There was some trash left behind the futon upstairs... and you are very close to the neighbors which didn't bother me. It was a very quiet neighborhood. The last day we didn't have any hot water which kind of sucked because we all wanted to take showers, but luckily we were leaving so we could just go home and take one.

We would def come back and stay here.
Kristian K. Jan 2018
This is a lovely little cabin in a very convenient location. We arrived to a warm house with the hot tub going and everything in working order. Kitchen was well-stocked, towels for hot tub and showering, and beds were very comfy. There were even snowshoes for exploring the fresh powder just 10 miles away. Would definitely rent again!
Christie H. Dec 2017
Overall liked the cabin. Spent Christmas with my family there. The dishes were dirty when we got there which was less then ideal as they were in the cupboards. Nice and secluded location. Enjoyed the hot tub and having a White Christmas away from the city!
Manager response:
We apologize for the dirty dishes. Guests are responsible for washing their own used dishes, but we will remind housekeeping to inspect them. Thank you!
Philip H. Dec 2017
Well stocked! Wonderful experience. Very clean. I would highly recommend. Thank you for a great week!!!!! The hot tub is awesome!
Andrea S. Dec 2017
My husband and I stayed in this beautiful and spacious cabin for a couple of days in early December. We were very happy with the space; we loved the fully-furnished kitchen that had everything we needed to make meals ourselves, the hot tub was spotlessly clean and perfect after a day of snowboarding, the loft was cozy and romantic, and the bathroom was fully stocked with all the linens and toiletries we could have ever needed! We will definitely look to stay here again as a couple, and will have to bring our children here for a family vacation sometime. The second bedroom on the first floor would make a great room for our children. I highly recommend this property!
Brooke E. Nov 2017
The cabin was very cozy, fireplace was nice. The hot tub was ready when we got there. Perfect for a couple or a family of 4. Clean and inviting.
Haley B. Nov 2017
We had our roof getting redone for a few days and needed to get away from the noise. We needed quick wifi as we still had work to do. The house is good. Nothing over the top, but perfect to just get away and know that you can get done what you need to get done. I do wish they had a DVD collection to choose from, I am not a big fan of cable tv, and I saw they had a DVD player. Would be fun to be able to binge watch on a long weekend when it's just raining outside.

Loved the upstairs loft area. We worked up there and had a great view of trees. Super quiet hood and we were so happy we could bring our dog. Hot tub was a plus! Overall good experience!
Mary P. Oct 2017
Nice retreat, close to home. Very clean, and well equipped. Hot tub was very nice. Nice neighborhood for dog walking. Close to TONS of scenic beauty. We would definitely stay here again.
Maggie J. Oct 2017
This cabin is adorable. Clean and comfy. Although it was just my husband and I, there would have been room for another couple. We really enjoyed our time here.
Brenda E. Sep 2017
I loved the stairs up to the loft and the sitting area with the TV. It is a perfect getaway spot. The back yard was secluded enough that we didn't feel like people were watching us. The hot tub was clean and in working order. We just went up to relax so didn't see much of the area except in our community. We discovered the river and got some great photos. I can't wait to go again.
John P. Aug 2017
A great place with everyone needs!
Sarah S. Aug 2017
we can't wait to come back again!
STAN W. Aug 2017
Hi. We had a summer vacation in the mountains. The place is fine and has all the basics except for air conditioning. We are from the east coast and just assumed it would be cool in the mountains. 80-100 temps made for some uncomfortable family members. Walk to the ziz zag river. Pizza and bbq restaurants nearby are quite adequate.
Anh-Tuan T. Aug 2017
We really appreciated having things like a washer and dryer (with provided detergent) and coffee ready to go. There were only two of us and it was plenty of space. Wish that the A/C had worked better during the heat wave. If staying in unusually hot or cold weather, I would suggest verifying that everything will work sufficiently.
Crystal M. Aug 2017
We stayed here in early August. It was beautiful. The river is just a short walk away and the cabin is great.

It is in a neighborhood, but pretty private and quiet.
The house is not fenced in, however our dogs stayed close by.

They had a lot of items needed already here, which was helpful. The hot tub and house were very clean and well maintained.

We loved it
Rachel H. Aug 2017
It was convenient and clean. Met all of our needs. Would stay here again!
Barbara T. Jul 2017
We would highly recommend using Vacasa, as our experience in staying at one of their rental cabins was wonderful!
Maura C. Jul 2017
This cabin seems to have been significantly and tastefully remodeled inside. The light inside is lovely, and we loved being surrounded by trees. While it is in a bit of a neighborhood, we never felt like we were around people. The yard was a nice little sanctuary, as was the hot tub. We would recommend this to friends for sure!
Lisa S. Jul 2017
We hiked a lot and the hot tub was a Godsend. It was wonderful. Very quiet and peaceful area.
Veronica D. Jun 2017
Great time!
Laura P. May 2017
This cabin was more than I needed on my recent solo trip just about an hour out of the city. The upstairs bedroom was airy and clean. I had some work to do, and once I got the wifi working (had to reboot the router), it was steady throughout my three day stay. The whole house was clean and modern. The hot tub was clean and easy to use. The neighbors were not too close. There was even some sunshine and I enjoyed sitting out on the deck soaking up the rays. I would definitely stay here again!
Abigail K. Apr 2017
This was such a great getaway for myself, my husband, and our two dogs. The house was very neat and tidy, and the new renovations showed. The fire pit was excellent as well as the hot tub which was great when the weather cooled down. Both dogs enjoyed sitting outside bird watching. The bed upstairs was very comfy, and we both slept great! There was a gas fireplace that kept the place nice and toasty. They even had a bag of ice ready for us in the fridge! Dishwashing liquid, laundry detergent, the whole nine yards! Awesome! If you forgot any groceries or firewood, no worries, Thriftway is literally 3 minutes up the road! Only drawback: We were a little surprised as to how close to the surrounding houses we were. The ad mentions sharing a lot with another house (totally cute tiny house which nobody was home all weekend), but we didn't realize that you are essentially in a neighborhood. Luckily, with the foliage around it doesn't feel like a neighborhood and is still very peaceful (although you can see other houses). However, we did hear a lot of noise from the neighbors across the way and their dogs barking about 6 AM on a Saturday, until pretty late in the evening, kind of a bummer and took away from the peaceful element. All in all, though, we got what we were seeking, which was tranquility and a nice weekend away! Highly recommend, as we would one day like to come back. Just keep in mind, this in not a cabin in the woods. This is a house in a very wooded neighborhood on a gravel road. Somewhere we hope to one day live! Thanks guys! :)
Allie D. Apr 2017
Cozy and comfortable home, with a great backyard and patio. Simple with all the amenities you would need, minus a coffee grinder. Overall, a really lovely place to stay. Also, a great location!
Ryan S. Apr 2017
My wife and I recently stayed at the Mt. Hood cabin for five days and four amazing nights. The cabin is very quiet and relaxing. The window in the loft area made it seem as if you were sitting in the trees; We spent many hours just sipping coffee and gazing into the woods. We loved exploring the neighborhood, and the small trail system at the bank of the Zigzag River. This cute cabin offered all we needed for a very comfortable stay. If you are looking for a great time in the woods near Mt Hood, give this little cabin a try. We plan to book them again for our next visit!
Danielle B. Mar 2017
I came here hoping to relax and get through some personal stuff. This place with is quiet spot and relaxing walks to the river, helped to heal me. You'll never forget your stay here.
Lori W. Feb 2017
Our family had a great time! Thank you.
Jennifer R. Jan 2017
This place was exactly what we needed! The hot tub was very clean and well maintained. The property was in a perfect location with a big back yard for the kids and dog to really enjoy.
Angela W. Dec 2016
This cabin is so cute. The beds were comfortable, the hot tub was amazing, they provided so many things...towels, bedding, tons of pillows, anything you need in the kitchen. They even started the wood stove so that when we got there it was nice and warm. I highly recommend this place.
Anna L. Sep 2016
Great place to stay for a quick getaway. The house had everything we needed and the hot tub was a nice touch! Be sure to take a walk to the skyway bar and grill!
Natasha W. Aug 2016
The four of us went here for a great bachlorette party get away. The house offered everything we needed to have a good time. Hardly need to bring anything besides food and clothes! Hot tub was great, wish we could have used the cute fire pit but the burn ban was in affect. Friendly neighbors, not to close to the cabin. Great location to zig zag River, Mt Hood and Sandy. We had so much fun here, I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to get away but still have all the convinces of a city home.
Dawn K. Aug 2016
In love! Perfect little cabin for our family of five. We loved the loft area! The kitchen was small but modern and had everything we needed. There was a gas grill on the back deck that we used a couple of times. We loved the hot tub and the fire pit! There was an abundance of towels and it was nice to have a washer and dryer too. Lots of pillows for the beds too. All of the beds were comfortable. We liked that there was WiFi and a DVD player. One day was cold and drizzly, so we got cozy next to the gas fireplace. It was nice to sit on the back deck in the morning and drink coffee. The neighbors are not too close and it feels very private. We loved this cabin and will definitely come back! Thank you!
Jenelle Y. Aug 2016
We enjoyed the cabin. Hopefully we can choose sunny days next visit. Being cabin bound wasn't bad as we packed board games, wine, cocoa & enjoyed the indoor fireplace. I loved picking huckleberries & our daily walks along the river.
Timeea G. Aug 2016
Wonderful experience from A to Z. Lovely cabin with hot tube and the woods at its door. The Zig-Zag river was pretty close too. But what makes us really love it and thinking to come again is the outstanding customer service. We have been to nice cabins before, but we seldom found this level of service and profesionalism.
Amanda F. Aug 2016
This house is perfect for either two couples or one family. The property was perfect and is a short walk to the Zig Zag River. I also appreciated that the owners had a picture of their family. It makes the place feel special.
Amy B. Jul 2016
Great place and very affordable! Cannot wait to stay again!
Bella B. Jul 2016
We loved staying here. The house was very cozy.
Courtney K. Jul 2016
Great location for activities around Mount Hood. The house was clean and comfortable.
CRISTINE M. Jun 2016
Very nice efficient cabin. Everything you need for a couple day get away to Mt. HOOD. WE LOVED the fire pit and hot tub. Owners have a gem. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Kelly J. Jun 2016
Can't thank you enough for Sharing your little piece of Heaven. Glad we were able to bring our fur Babies (dogs) !! easy access to ZigZag river and close enough to the Lake to take a quick dip and relaxing in the evenings in the hot tub!! Thank you for a very relaxing weekend. Loved everything !!!
Amy T. May 2016
This place is very cute, however, as a single woman I was a little uncomfortable with the neighborhood. The home also needed a lot of work while I was there...internet not working, hot water not working, paint was very shabby and the deck needs maintenance... It has a lot of potential and I can understand why people love it. I wanted to love it! It just needs some TLC and is probably more appropriate for a couple or family.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see that this guest did not feel more comfortable with this stay. The Property Manager has addressed the internet and hot water, and the deck is currently being inspected for any safety concerns.
Heather H. May 2016
Great place with a great peaceful atmosphere!
Terra M. Mar 2016
The cabin was absolutely perfect! Better than it looked in the pictures. We only had 3 of us, but the place could've easily accomodated a large group of multiple families. There is a full bedroom downstairs that closes off if someone wants privacy. The upstairs loft area was a great sleeping area (2 separate bed areas), and also our fun "hang out" spot, with a beautiful picture window over-looking the forest trees. The kitchen was bigger than most cabin ones I've seen, and had all the basics that we needed. Was also surprised to see a larger than average bathroom, with a full bath tub for our little one!
The best part was that the cabin is dog friendly! Our trip to the mountain would not have been the same without our family dog, and it was so nice to be someplace that welcomed her, and didn't put all kinds of ridiculous fees and restrictions.
We went into our trip thinking we reserved an okay place, but "at least they allowed dogs". But once we got there I quickly realized that we found an absolutely perfect place in every way. We were so comfortable there, and would choose it over and over again. None of us wanted to leave.
Sabrina W. Mar 2016
Great cabin, basically in welches. Quick drive up the mountain to government camp. Added bonus, the cabin had games, puzzles, and 2 sets of snow shoes! We had planned to rent some, so this was a great added value.
Stacey P. Mar 2016
Good clean property wish the hot tub was covered the rain was a pain and falling debris but that's Oregon for ya
Nick D. Mar 2016
Awesome place and surrounding area. Make sure to get your own grocieries if you plan on cooking. Some seasoning are available but other than that you're on your own. Go to the thrift way down the mountain a couple miles.
Maria Elena W. Mar 2016
A few things have changed since some of the previous reviews listed here. You definitely do not need to bring anything to the cabin with you. The kitchen is complete and everything is well stocked in terms of cleaning items. This is a perfect place for two people and their pets. The house was kept surprisingly warm by the fireplace and the loft plus the hot tub were the absolute best part of the experience. My only dislike was that it was tucked away in a rather rough area. I think that it would be a really nice place if it received a coat of paint this summer. I would stay here again.
Nathan P. Feb 2016
The cabin was perfect for the 3 of us and our small dog. Furnishings & amenities are up to date, very enjoyable visit.
Amy E. Jan 2016
We had a great time at the cabin, it is located close enough to the sno-parks and the the grocery store making travel with kids easy. The house is well equipped with enough towels, games, and all the necessities that it was easy to just "be." A can of paint would go a long way in this place but it was clean, comfy and homey.
Paula M. Jan 2016
We enjoyed this clean, warm and comfortable cabin. Being close to skiing, pet friendly and having a hot tub makes this the perfect place for us.
Gordon S. Jan 2016
This was a great place for our small group of five adults to enjoy a short retreat from our work and chaos.
Heather D. Jan 2016
Hello! Our stay was Jan 3rd to the 5th of 2016. Everything was very clean and organized when we walked in. It's very close to the zigzag river which is literally walking distance. We went when there was snow so the river was beautiful! In the back yard there is a hot tub and a little fire pit. The other neighbors aren't SUPER close. There are trees in between giving it a little more privacy. The water was nice and hot never had a problem with it.

ITEMS YOU WON'T NEED TO BRING:
Towels (plenty of those!)
They have a cabinet with a bunch of games (very good idea!)
Small containers of hand soap and soap to hand wash dishes and soap for the dish washer
Couple boxes of laundry detergent
Utensils to eat
Garbage bags
Hair dryer
Toilet paper
In the room up stairs you can watch Netflix if you have it
Plates, bowels, pots and pans!
Tissues
Robe
If you have a dog they even had bowls for them:)
Toaster

THINGS YOU WILL NEED:
Sponges to wash the dishes
Tooth paste
Paper towels (it comes with one roll I'd bring another if you use them alot)
Oven mitts (we had pizza and we forgot to bring ours!)
Food (obviously);)
There really isn't much to bring!! The stay was great and we would definitely stay here again :)

Manager response:
We are so pleased that you had a great time at this home. Thank you for the suggestions. Please visit us again soon!
Mark U. Dec 2015
The place needs some TLC. Pros were the loft, hot tub, and gas fire place. Cons being not cleaned when we arrived, Teflon pans that flaked into your food, paint flaws, to name a few.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We will follow-up with housekeeping regarding the cleanliness, and the Property Manager will take care of the pans. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace during the chilly winter!
Gabriella C. Dec 2015
It was a decent experience for the money, however, there are a few things they could do to make it more fun, for instance, hang some art, more mood lighting, update sheets, pots and pans, and wine glasses. I would only go there again if there was nothing else in the price range for me to explore. Not bad, not great.

The people were nice and the place was clean.

Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback as it is very important to know what guests would like to see improved; we will advise the owner of your thoughts for updates! We are glad to see that the cleanliness was up to par and hope you enjoyed the hot tub!
Holly S. Nov 2015
This was an adorable little cabin. The interior is very nicely updated, I just loved the adorable lofted space. Really appreciated the toasty gas stove, the hot tub, and the pet friendly environment. The cabin is not completely isolated, but in a very quiet neighborhood. Made for a great Thanksgiving getaway.
David B. Nov 2015
The cabin was fantastic, with a great location to explore Mt. Hood and also to drive into Portland to experience the city. The Mountain Cafe is a great place for breakfast and the Skyline Restaurant had a great dinner - both within walking distance. We're recommend the Mirror Lake hike (5-10 min drive) for anyone wanting to explore the area. The cabin is in excellent condition with modern amenities and a delightful hot tub! We look forward to coming back!
Amelie S. Oct 2015
We spent a quiet October weekend here with our eldest grandson (11) and our two dogs. We walked in to a spotless, warm and comfy cabin (beautiful woodwork!) and made ourselves at home. Much of the weekend consisted of a marathon Monopoly game (that kid won again!) but we found time for a movie (have to rent or bring; no DVDs in the cabin) and walking the dogs. The grandboy especially liked the hot tub. We were happy to discover a large electric griddle for pancakes Saturday morning. I was unhappy to discover the coffee grinder was broken; I called Vacasa to report it and they returned my call right away. Then we went to buy ground coffee. We also were happy to find such a large supply of towels, after walking in the rain.

Overall, we were very happy with our cozy cabin in the woods.
Sarah L. Oct 2015
We had a great stay last weekend in this small house. Our two young boys loved the lift and everyone loved the hot tub. The gas fireplace made for a cozy evening in. We loved this quiet, unassuming, and well forested neighborhood. Also enjoyed the short walk to the zigzag river with the kids. 25 minute drive up to timberline. Plan on bringing coffee, a bath robe, and flip flops for the hot tub and hopefully they will fix the showerhead. Overall, loved it, thanks!
Mike & Elke B. Sep 2015
We took our two dogs up to the cabin for 3 days and had a great time. The cabin is very clean and cozy. The kitchen is nicely updated, the upstairs loft is very comfortable with a nice big window for natural light. Our favorite spot was the back porch as we relaxed with a glass of wine while cooking on the BBQ and enjoyed the silence and seclusion. There are cabins around but a good distance between them and nobody directly in your back yard. Everything you need is there. We had a great time and our vacation was too short. We hiked around Lost Lake, Timothy Lake, and enjoyed the local pizza place by the Thriftway. Yummy! Highly recommend this place. I would definitely choose this cabin again. Great place to relax.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share some of the highlights of your experience with us! We always enjoy learning more about what each of our guests enjoy about our homes and their locations so we are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of both during your stay. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Laura B. Aug 2015
This cozy little cabin was very comfortable for the four of us. The hot tub and back deck was were we spent most of our time, felt as if we were the only ones around for miles. I would definitely come back.
Gail M. Jul 2015
Everything was wonderful.
Deb A. Apr 2015
It was so cute. We especially liked the hot tub and the gas fireplace. The cabin was very clean and well-insulated. We started with 3 adults, then two more came for one night. The cabin easily fit 5 adults. We recommend checking in first before going out to buy groceries because there are quite a few things (salt, sugar, creamer, etc.) in the cupboards. Lots of clean towels for everyone. We started with 3 adults, then two more came for one night. The cabin easily fit 5 adults.
Melanie C. Mar 2015
It rained the majority of the weekend of our stay, but with the hot tub outside we loved it. Store & restaurants nearby and the neighbors seemed nice. Great vacation away from the city!
CAROL A M. Mar 2015
While not luxurious, perfectly adequate and appointed with everything you need to get away from it all while still remaining connected.
Rachel B. Feb 2015
Very cute and small cabin in a not so cute area pretty directly off of hwy 26. Very convenient, but like other reviews said, not secluded. The cabin was well kept and quaint. Very clean and tidy. The hot tub was very nice. The hot water heater didn't work at first but someone came out and fixed it while we were out. The cookware was pretty awful, mostly tephlon pans that were badly scratched and unusable. Overall though, it was a nice place. I'd recommend it to some one looking for economic accommodations.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at this cute cabin and felt it was convenient for your getaway. We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry about the hot water heater not working for the first day but are glad that we were able to resolve the situation for you. We are always happy to help! Your comments regarding updated cookware will certainly be taken under advisement. Glad to hear that you could relax in the private hot tub and we truly hope you were able to have a wonderful trip! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Mickey H. Jan 2015
This cabin was amazing! Everything you need is provided (except coffee... bring your own coffee). Grocery store is only about 2 miles down the road. Hot tub worked great. Only somewhat negative thing I can say is some of the surrounding properties are a little run down. It's a well lived-in community and you are the random tourists. Anyways, other than that it was an amazing stay and everything about the inside of the cabin was wonderful! They even have food dishes for your the furry members of your family!
Rachel H. Dec 2014
We had the opportunity to stay at this quaint little cabin for 4 days and three nights. The cabin was clean and had updated amenities. Note to future renters, pictures do make this cabin look bigger however, it was smaller than expected but not too small to have guests and hang out. The hot tub is a great addition to the cabin and makes clear nights even better to look at the stars!
The one downfall is that the cabin is in a neighborhood and has close neighbors. So, if you are looking for something that is secluded this would not be that cabin. All in all, great clean cabin to get away from the normal everyday routine and relax!
Robin O. Nov 2014
We wished we could have stayed longer! : )
Brett H. Oct 2014
my wife and I stayed here for a getaway. We enjoyed it very much. The description and amenities were wonderful. The TV is in the upstairs loft area, along with a cute seating area and bed. The kitchen had everything we needed and used the gas fire place as much as we could. This place can definitely sleep 4 with the two beds easily and 6 if you wanted to use the futon. There is no additional privacy tho for the futon and upstairs bed
Michael M. Oct 2014
Stayed here for two nights, and it was totally relaxing. Everything you need, including a nice hot tub. Fairly secluded, and far enough from Hwy 26, that you don't hear the traffic, at all. Have already booked another stay at the cabin for next month!
Alison C. Sep 2014
We loved being here; it was honestly the best vacation we have ever had and the most beautiful. The cabin couldn't have been better or more perfect. It was awesome!
Tom G. Aug 2014
This cabin is an excellent location for a retreat. The neighborhood is quiet; the cabin is well-appointed and tastefully decorated. Access to Mt. Hood was a breeze. The cabin can accommodate two couples easily. The VACASA folks make it easy.
Tom & Gail Greco
Cascade, Idaho
Manager response:
Thank you for this feedback. Were so glad you were able to enjoy the quiet and peaceful cabin. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Skipp T. Jul 2014
We had a great stay at the cabin with a group of 6. I highly recommend!
Amy H. Jun 2014
This cabin was fabulous! We loved the close access to the Zig Zag River! We loved the modern kitchen and the gas fireplace! The hot tub was our favorite amenity-we used it both nights and it was private and had fun lights and powerful jets! We loved how closer we were to Timberline lodge! Overall this was a great expeirence!
Isaiah S. Apr 2014
We had 4 people total during the stay & the space provided was perfect!
Sammy B. Apr 2014
The perfect little two room cabin getaway. This is the layout that my wife and I want for our house. Overall this was an amazing experience and was the perfect honeymoon getaway. I really hope the owners of this cabin get a chance to see this because they really made it feel like home.
Shintaro O. Apr 2014
Our favorite retreat home here. The hot tub addition is fantastic! Look forward to coming back.
Manager response:
Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoy return trips and happy you enjoyed the hot tub!
Travis T. Jan 2014
This cabin has it all!!! a warm fireplace open loft and a spectacular view of the stars from the hot tub. It is a welcome place to stay for a Mt. Hood getaway. The river is less than a block away with easy access for fly fishing. The Drive to Government Camp and the surrounding ski lodges are less then 15 min. Clean and well thought out amenities show the professionalism of Vacasa Vacation Rentals and the companies want to ensure your stay is satisfactory. I would recommend this cozy cottage and can't wait for my next stay there.
Manager response:
Thanks for posting such an fantastic review. We are very happy that the home was such a perfect fit for you and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Jacob E. Jan 2014
Pictures made the place. Appealing but when walking through the door it is better than the pictures show. Not as big as I thought but for a couple get away it's perfect being right down the road from the mountain. Easy access although there was no snow in the area when we visited in January. Hopefully better seasons to come. Nice and quite with a beautiful surrounding tucked away in the forest away from the highway. Looking to stay again in the next coming winter. Thank you staff
Kari R. Dec 2013
Cozy place with nice light walls. Comfortable and warm. Good beds and bedding.
Bertram M. Dec 2013
One word sums up this little cabin. Charming. It's outward appearance doesn't offer you much in terms of appeal, but inside absolutely wins you over. It was very cozy and charming, from the paint, flooring to the furnishings. The whole environment there was extremely relaxing and warm. The cabin has cable tv in the loft upstairs, also has wireless internet as well. I would definitely come back in the future!
Ann L. Sep 2013
This is a nice, basic home. It can sleep quite a lot of people, but remember there is only one bathroom. The TV upstairs DOES have cable, unlike the description at the website. The floors are a little slanted, but it lends a kind of charm. The hot tub in the back is nice and hot - we liked sitting there under the stars. The views, while not "soaring", are of beautiful trees and ferns. The kitchen has been updated and is quite adequate, with lots of utensils. We didn't barbeque, but there is a gas grill available. This is a nice rental for the price.
Michael P. Sep 2013
less than 20 minutes to all of Ski bowl, Government Camp and Trillium Lake.....another 10-15 minutes to Timberline and other great lakes.

We had the best time and are sore from all the activities we got to do:

We did a zip line, bungee jumped, reverse bungee, intense mountain biking, zorb ball, lake swimming, paddle boarding, magic mile lift to the top of hood at timberline and played in snow...batting cages, hot tub... horseback riding and I know that I am forgetting a lot.

Book this Cabin!!!
Linda R. Aug 2013
We especially loved that this little cabin in the woods had lots of sunshine comming in. We used the front deck from morning until evening.
Adam M. Aug 2013
The upstairs loft was great for us and our two kids, while the grandparents slept in the bedroom downstairs. No TV in the living room or downstairs bedroom, which was totally fine by us, but just thought others might want to know. We were pleasantly surprised by the propane grill and outdoor furniture which was not listed in the description.

The neighborhood is very nice and yet very close to HWY 26, and the zigzag is really beautiful little Oregon river. Plus you it was very close to all the other beautiful offerings of Mt. Hood National Forest.

Edward T. Jul 2013
Great place to stay when skiing Mt Hood
Patience V. May 2013
We weren't sure what to expect, but it was the best vacation I have ever been on. The property was beautiful, clean, secluded, and very woodsy and charming. Loved the location, loved the scenery, loved everything about it!
Sarah M. Mar 2013
Great place, perfect for 6 people. I loved the loft space for DVDs and gaming (we brought our Wii along).
Nicole . Jan 2013
The cabin slept 4 adult women comfortably and is conveniently located to Welches. Nicely updated.
Jennifer E. Jan 2013
This is a perfect cabin for 1-2 couples or a family. It was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again. The pictures online do not do it justice!
Adriana S. Jan 2013
Our friends and I had a great experience, cabin was very cozy and very welcoming. Location is nice and close to timberline and ski bowl. Recommend it, very comfy and homie. We didn't want to leave.
Andy H. Jan 2013
We stayed 4 nights and had a great time! It's a comfortable little home and kept clean, with nice designs and features. Upstairs is a great area to relax and room enough for several to sleep comfortably.
Hayden M. Dec 2012
This little house was an amazing getaway! We came to ski at Timberline and loved our experience. The house was adorable and very well kept. We would recommend this to anyone :)
Emma N. Nov 2012
When we drove up the road to the cabin we were not sure what to expect, because the road was a little bumpy and the Oregon rain was coming down in full force. Once we were at the cabin it was the cutest little haven. We barely left the property and enjoyed our time exploring the nearby area, cooking in the beautiful kitchen, and relaxing by the fire. It was absolutely the getaway that we needed and we will come back again soon! Highly recommended for a weekend or a few nights away.
Aaron J. Sep 2012
My wife Katie and I decided that we wanted to find a place that was far enough away yet close enough to be an easy way to go on vacation. We definitely found it. The cabin is very close to Mt. Hood and many other attractions. It is only a couple miles from town yet makes it feel like you are out in the woods. The location was very clean, quiet, and very comfortable and relaxing. The cabin exceeded my expectations and made for a great vacation. I am most likely going to return to this cabin for my next vacation.
Patrick J. Aug 2012
Great place close go all Mt. hood fun. Fyi wifi password may need updating in home instructions/info
Megan M. Jul 2012
We loved the cabin! Everything was spotless and very tastefully decorated. The location was beautiful and convenient. The only thing we wished we had was some outdoor furniture for the deck and perhaps a grill.
Alison T. Jun 2012
My daughter and I stayed at this cabin while she did a ski race camp. It was comfortable and had everything we needed. My daughter thought the loft was like a tree house. We loved it and had a great experience.
Krishna K. May 2012
The Cabin was clean and is very spacious than what we expected. It has three beds that can comfortably sleep 2. Additionally, the sofa converts to a bed for 2 more (kids, if you have). Fire place in the back is good for camp fire kind of experience. Would recommend this cabin and will stay in the same when we visit Mt.Hood again.
Phillip W. May 2012
lovely and so quiet and restful
Jenny W. May 2012
It felt like home only cleaner. :)
Bailey N. Apr 2012
Great experience! Had an amazing trip/weather. Will be renting this location again.
Lauren M. Feb 2012
Perfect little cabin - just spacious enough to be warm and cozy. About 35 minutes to Timberline and 20 minutes to skibowl (without traffic).