Virtual Tour
USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Whittier Listing #23456

Creekside Bunkhouse - Whittier, NC

24 reviews
Max occupancy: 5 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
896 Levi Mathis Road, Whittier, NC 28789

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Sheltered log cabin w/ wrap-around porch - hot tub & stone fireplace!

Creekside Bunkhouse is a unique and rustic cabin in a beautiful mountain setting. Situated on seven acres of unspoiled hardwood forest, this home is private yet near to the area’s offerings. The cabin is furnished with unique country antiques and handcrafted furniture. Relax by the cozy stone fireplace or soak in the indoor whirlpool tub for two. A hot tub sits on the wrap-around deck while and a fire pit is available outside with wooden benches.

What’s nearby:
Follow the streams located on the property or hike up one of the country roads behind the cabin. The cabin is only minutes from the Great Smoky Mountains, Blue Ridge Parkway, historic Dillsboro, the Cherokee Indian Reservation, Harrah's Casino, or the Great Smoky Mountain Railway.

Things to know:
Full kitchen
Pets not allowed
Firewood not supplied
Maximum parking spaces: 2
This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC
Limited cell service and GPS

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

DVD player

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

24 reviews

Traci A. Oct 2020
The cabin was absolutely beautiful and did not disappoint. My family and I will definitely be back.
Damien B. Oct 2020
The Cabin over all was Beautiful! It was very private and to my liking! The inside impressed me very well with it having a actual cabin wood look!

Although the drive way needs some maintenance, as long as you do not have a low sitting vehicle there is no issue with the road leading to the cabin.

My main complaint is the king bed in the master bedroom is very loud, due to the frame needing to be tightened up.

There is several complaints about the jets in the master bathroom tub not working online, however all you need to do is press it a few times back to back and it will turn on. So my wife and I was very happy with that!

The house was over all clean to my liking. But the outside could use a pressure wash! But was still very beautiful!

The cover to the hot tub was left opened and the hot tub was to cold to be used upon arrival. And was not able to enjoy it the whole stay due to it not heating up. Why it wouldn't I am not sure.

The only thing I didn't like, was the up stairs bedroom. The decor was creepy, and the hand prints on the tinny door creeped my wife out to the point she would not go up stairs.

But over all! It is a gorgeous location! By far one of the best I have seen when in search of a actual cabin look!
Manager response:
Hi, Damien! Thank you for letting us know about your stay at Creekside Bunkhouse. Maintenance will be tightening the bed frame, and the hot tub will be repaired as soon as the needed parts arrive. We hope to see you again!
Bryant Y. Aug 2020
We really enjoyed this quiet get away. We plan to stay here again. Maybe bring family.
Christina W. Aug 2020
Cute, clean little cabin. Lots of thought put into making sure you have everything you need. Loved the little creek and tiny waterfall running by. Wasn't quite as isolated as I'd hoped since you could still hear cars going by constantly with houses on all sides but you couldn't see anything, so still felt very remote and relaxing. I'll definitely be back.
MARTHA F. Jun 2020
The location is it perfect
Kimberly M. May 2020
Had a wonderful time. House is well-kept and cared for. Had everything we needed for a much needed relaxing weekend getaway.
Nathan S. Mar 2020
We absolutely loved the cabin with a few exceptions. The decor made no sense. Most of the decor was based on western native history, not local history. The fire pit looked like it had never been cleaned out. The fire place was full of partially burned wood and ashes, and the jacuzzi in the master bathroom didn't work. With those few exceptions, the place was great. It was a beautiful cabin with a tranquil stream running beside it. After cleaning the fire pit and fire place, it everything was great.
Manager response:
Hello, Nathan! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our local team has addressed the fireplace and jacuzzi in the master bedroom for future guests. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will allow us to impress you in the future.
Reid R. Feb 2020
We've stayed here twice now. Both times have been amazing! It is private & quite. We were able to enjoy each other & the outdoors. It's also close to alot to do. Can't wait to go back!
Catherine B. Dec 2019
Our stay was perfect. Loved the way that the cabin is decorated. We sat in the hot tub and listened to the sounds of the stream each evening.
Robin D. Dec 2019
My daughter and I absolutely loved staying in this cabin! It’s in a great location, near the park entrance and Cherokee. We enjoyed the hot tub on the porch after our mountain hikes, even in the colder weather. Warming by the fireplace at night was great. There’s a few little quirks with the cabin, the specifics aren’t even worth mentioning.. It’s a rustic cabin, not a 5 star hotel. It was the perfect getaway from Chicago. We will definitely be back!
David K. Nov 2019
We’ve rented numerous other homes In this area and this is our favorite. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Beautiful wooded setting. Great location. In between Sylva and Bryson City and close to national park and countless hikes. Not far off the 4 lane. Very private. Loved the fireplace on cool/cold nights and the hot tub after the hikes. Enjoyed the wrap around porch. With a few minor exceptions, it was well outfitted and had what we needed for our stay. The beds were a bit ”tired” and could use replacing. Also, the addition of pot holders and kitchen towels would be welcomed. We had an issue with a drawer breaking, we immediately called and it was quickly repaired while we were out. We had an amazing vacation.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, David! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Tamara D. Oct 2019
Close to the park. Easy access from 441. Peaceful and semi secluded.
Sarah G. Oct 2019
This cabin is in a great location. It's convenient to the Great Smokey Mountains National Park, Cherokee, and Bryson City. Setting is quiet and private. The cabin is comfortable, nicely decorated, clean, and has everything you need. Hot tub was great.
A few things that need improvement - both mattresses need replacing - they are not comfortable. The gas grill barely had a flame to it. The TV service is very unreliable - channels were constantly going in and out. The living room ceiling fan is controlled by a remote, of which the battery was dead so we could not turn it off.
Manager response:
Hi, Sarah! We are glad to see you enjoyed the cabin despite some setbacks. Maintenance has taken care of the grill. We were unable to discover anything wrong with the TV service and apologize for the problems you experienced. Batteries have been placed in the home. Thank you!
Jeff C. Sep 2019
As advertised. Secluded but only 15 minutes to the entrance of Smoky Mountain National Park. Spacious and clean. Enjoyed our 5 days in the cabin.
Rebecca C. Aug 2019
Loved the remoteness & quiet the cabin offered. No visual neighbors so to sit on the porch and relax wasn’t interrupted.
Larry L C. Aug 2019
We have stayed in this cabin several times over the last 17 years. We, love the cabin, however this time it was so dirty...cob webs, 2 inches of dust on the ceiling fans. My granddaughter was taking a bath upstairs and the water started coming through the ceiling in the kitchen, therefore all 4 of us had to bathe downstairs. We also missed the antiques that used to be outside. We will probably stay there again, because we love it, but you may need different cleaning people or check behind them.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that the home was not cleaned to our own standards. We have repaired the plumbing issue, and have passed your feedback on to our local housekeeping staff to ensure that they pay special attention to these areas in the future. We hope to host you again soon!
Samantha W. Jul 2019
This cabin was perfect for our family. We spent so much time on the wrap around porch, which had a roof. You could sit out there to watch the rain, enjoy a cup of coffee, or just take in the scenery. The cabin had a great open concept. The furniture was comfortable and the decor was adorable. We felt right at home! It was also a great location for exploring Cherokee and Bryson City. Close to the Smoky Mountains Park and great hiking trails. The only reason I wouldn’t come back is if my family grew and I needed more than 2 bedrooms. Customer service was excellent as well!!!
Kylie V. Jul 2019
This was a great getaway in the mountains. Very private and the directions to the cabin were perfect. Loved the hot tub and the house had all of the amenities you would need. My only suggestion is they could use some sharper knives and a pizza cutter. It seemed like every knife was so dull you could barely cut anything with them.
Manager response:
Thank you for your suggestions! A new set of knives and pizza cutter have been added to the kitchen inventory. We hope to see you again!
Lorraine D. Jul 2019
It was a wonderful peaceful cabin well kept the stream running beside cabin was a welcome sound to sit on the porch drinking coffee in the morning.
Dalynn T. Jul 2019
Amazing rental. Homey, clean, well stocked cabin. Staff was extremely helpful with every step of the way and made our trip a success. We are regular vacation renters, and this was one of the best we stayed in. Felt like we were at home and not in a rental.
Suzann M. May 2019
Very nice get away & still close to town.
Hot tub was awesome!
Definitely would stay again.