Private hot tub, mountain views, pool table in the loft!
This wonderful and centrally-located Big Bear Lake vacation rental has it all - a private hot tub, a wood-burning fireplace, views of Bear Mountain Ski Resort from the loft, and room for up to eight guests!
The highly-desirable Castle Glen Estates neighborhood offers a great hill-top setting for a family getaway! Just under three miles to Snow Summit Ski Resort and just a bit further to Bear Mountain Resort, you'll definitely want to bring your gear if you visit in ski season. And in summer, the shores of lovely Big Bear Lake are a quick drive or scenic 20-minute walk away.
When you arrive at this charming retreat, you'll be greeted by wooden bear sculptures at the front entrance. Just inside, you'll admire the tall, slanted ceilings and large windows in the wonderful main living area. Sit in front of a toasty wood-burning fire, mugs of hot cocoa in hand or retire to the upstairs loft for a game of pool, some cable TV, or even a DVD movie night. You can even send the kids upstairs for some cartoons while the adult stay downstairs and socialize in style.
The full, country-style kitchen is equipped with everything needed for meals, including a dishwasher, plenty of counter space, a center island for extra space, and bonus gadgets like a slow-cooker and a blender. There are even great Big Bear views right out the plentiful windows! You can easily have kitchen helpers chop vegetables or grate the cheese, while the head chef stirs the sauce.
The glass-top dining table seats four and the countertop seats three, but on nice days you may even want to take your plates out to the expansive deck for lunch with a view. You'll also have a gas grill for sunny-day cook-outs.
Other amenities include WiFi throughout, a washer and dryer for guest use, two full bathrooms, and of course, the wonderful hot tub. After a day on the slopes, come back for a relaxing soak right on the patio.
Big Bear Lake offers four seasons of popular activities from skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, swimming, and boating. Rent some clubs and spend the day at the Big Bear Mountain Golf Course or take a zip-line tour of the valley and it's spring wildflowers.
Whether you spend your days lounging in front of the fireplace, soaking in your private hot tub, or admiring the changing fall leaves while on a brisk hike, this Southern California vacation rental is a wonderful home away from home for the whole family!
Property permit ID: BCA-78341
We loved the view, amenities, size of the house, décor kitchen space, bedrooms, proximity to entertainment, etc.
great place, beautiful view, can't wait to book again next year!
We had a wonderful time at the mountain house. Quite nice and very comfortable. Thank you again.
Nos encanto la casa, el lugar, los detalles. Todo muy lindo y limpio. Ideal para 6 adultos y un niño
Clean house, nice kitchen, TV almost in every rooms. Pool Table and Jacuzzi made o lot of fun.
Strongly recommend this house to everyone!
Adoramos muito! A casa é limpa, aconchegante e muito charmosa. recomendo para familias e também para casais.
Well appointed house with nice location.
Loved the place, was cozy and comfortable
We enjoyed our stay. The home was just the right size with three bedrooms. Great view of the valley! Castle Glen is a newer neighborhood just 10 min from The Village. Only faults are only an old bench and table on the deck, living room TV is small for the room and the seating is farther than ideal, hard to play pool up in the loft because the table is too close to the window, garbage disposal didn’t work, mattresses were a little too firm, and only parking is in driveway or street which is uphill from the house. BUT, overall really comfortable. Wish it had been more in the mountains and trees. Felt like a surburban neighborhood. It all depends on what your priorities are for your stay. Vacasa made it really easy and were available to answer any questions. And a nice touch of glow in the dark stars on the ceilings of the two downstairs bedrooms!
I loved that everything was very clean. Overall the house is welcoming and charming. The only things that could have made things better are lights near the hot tub and it was a bit warm inside the cottage because there is no ac. I would definitely stay here again, it’s close to everything and you get an amazon view from the porch.
Centrally located to all areas of attraction. The views were epic too!
Home is beautiful and mountain views were amazing
This place was beautiful and had everything we needed. The grounds were great...everything seemed new...the neighborhood was gorgeous and located 3 minutes away from the snowplay tubing hill. The Village, along with Big Bear & Snow Summit were really close too. The views are amazing and the hot tub seemed brand new and the jets were fabulous. The one downside is that the hot tub isn't located in the perfect location in terms of getting back and forth from it to the house. Outside of that, the staff was great...and they had everything we needed along with brand new appliances, a nice garage, etc. Highly recommended.
very nice and clean. good view.
This cabin is lovely! The location was wonderful, the views were stunning, the house was kept in great condition, and the hot tub was the perfect extra touch. We stayed here over the Christmas holiday and we especially loved all the Christmas decorations! This was a wonderful addition and really thoughtful of the housing management team. It was only a 5 minute drive to the ski resort and close to town. We would definitely stay here again!
This house was perfect. The bedrooms were comfortable, lots of space in the living room and the pool table upstairs was amazing. You can't beat the view!!!!
Overall experience was decent. The home for the most part was nice and updated. Maybe my expectations were too high on the quality of certain items in the home (Pots and pans being disgusting, coffee machine being filthy, and certain appliances not working)? For those wanting to book through vacasa know they will charge you a cleaning fee but tell you to place dishes and laundry in the dishwasher/washing machine prior to leaving to “help them out”. Additionally, they require you to take out all of your trash upon leaving the cabin. Why am i paying a cleaning fee if I’m required to do all of these things? Last but not least, they put up signs to not lean on the outside handrails due to them being weak etc... but the signs would never be seen if you didn’t actually walk all the way around the porch area. They have one sign posted and it’s hidden in the corner in an area you probably wouldn’t go check. The couches and seats in the living room are old and weathered. Aside from what I described above it’s a nice place to stay at.
Unfortunately, Big Bear does not have trash pick-up, so guests are required to take out their own trash per city ordinance. We do not require our guests to clean after their stay but do suggest guests start laundry if they have a chance before departing. The kitchen is scheduled for a deep clean which should address any kitchen issues. Thank you!
This Cabin has a beautiful view from the upstairs lounge window to the outside patio, the home is entertaining and has everyrhing you need to enjoy a relaxing time, all you need to basically bring is your own food. Would defenitely stay here again.
We went here with 3 adults and 4 children, between age 4 and 7 years. The location is lovely, quiet, great views and close to amenities however we had many issues with the actual house.
Holes in Dining room chairs- like the size of really old Cigar burns and also What looks like cigarette holes in Master Bedroom bed linen.
Awful sofa bed, all split and so old even 5 years olds couldn't sleep on it let alone an adult. The duvet feathers were falling out, and if you have anyone prone to allergies do not stay here. Carpet everywhere including in the bathrooms. Very dated, and although clean on the surface, its really needs a good deep clean. Felt very tired, and the Christmas decorations, although a nice thought, some still had the price tags on, little care is given. Too many dusty fake flowers, and creepy photos everywhere. the location is great. but we wouldn't stay here again.
It just needs to have less stuff inside, and updated on small simple things like basic kitchen equipment that isnt all chipped and worn, all new cotton bed linen, and a general over haul.
Big bear is amazing though.
We are disappointed to see this guest had any issues with their stay. The owner has just replaced the bed in the master with a brand new king sized bed, new linens, and new comforter. We will make sure all price tags are removed from the decor, and we have advised the owner of the comments regarding the sleeper sofa and chairs. Thanks!
We loved the location up in the mountains you see the lake if you take a little walk up the mountain next to the garage, you have a great view of the sunset and the the forest the only thing that was some upsetting is that you have to walk around the garage to get to the grill and hot tube
We stayed in early November. Not much to see or to do. The water level in the big bear lake was too low to do anything fun.
But this particular property is a must have if you plan to go there for vacation. Nice pretty neighborhoods and surroundings. Big balconies with two sides of Mountain View’s. We had seen wonderful sunset and sunrise on the nearby hill. A great place to enjoy peace without driving out.
The best part of this home is the beautiful view off the back balcony. You're perched up on a hill and all you can see are beautiful trees. The location is great, especially if you're going to the Big Bear Oktoberfest at the convention center. You're a quick drive away from Bear Mountain and some great hikes. The inside is clean, has a nice TV and nice pool table and spacious bedrooms. The hot tub is secluded however the lights near the hot tub would not turn on and there were no instructions as to how to turn them on. As long as you like soaking in the tub in complete darkness, you should definitely reach out to property management in advance. Beyond the hot tub issue, I highly recommend this location.
One of the best cabins we have stayed in while in Big Bear. Modern, quiet, upscale neighborhood, amazing sunrise view from back deck, and overall nice property.
The house was in good shape overall, but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable with holes in springs and had to put cushions under it in order to sleep on it. The outside BBQ was filthy with mouse droppings and rust. BUT we still had a good time.
Nice enough cabin. No more statues. Hot tub was in great condition. Lots of police presence in this neighborhood pulling unruly folks over. Made us feel both safe and unsafe at the same time...probably better than other places on the mountain though.
nice home, great kitchen, love the view, unencumbered for star gazing
This cabin has a beautiful views , I love the way everything is placed, we had a wonderful experience at this cabin my kids were super happy, overall the cabin is a A+ very quiet neighborhood a place you can really have a relaxing time , very close to grocery stores and more , it has everything you need in the kitchen .....
I love the hot tub but the only thing that I didn't like was that we had to be walking around the garage to go to the hot tub and grill area but other than that the experience was very good ....
Oh before I forget if there is any way you guys can remove the dolls you have at the entrance I'll really appreciate it because we had to cover it with a towel because my kids and even for the adults we thought they were kinda creepy....
THANKS FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE , I'll definitely come back and recommend this cabin ...
I read a bunch of reviews from other people who stayed at the house that there were some creepy dolls there.
I think they were actually trolls, and they were super creepy. It was the first thing everyone said as they entered the house.
We ended up covering them up with a towel.
Home is beautiful, private on a hill with amazing views. Home items need maintenance. Taking garbage out seemed a bit distracting to having a full vacation experience - especially for the price we paid for the weekend.
My family had an awesome time...everything was convenient and staff was quick to answer our calls.. I would highly recommend a stay at this cabin...
Bring your own shovels if there is snow
Beautiful home with all amenities, but i was expecting to have the snow plowed from the driveway and the back porch.
Going into the garage was difficult because there snow was so high and wouldn't allow garage door to open so we can get shovels and stuff.
great views and great stay
Norwegian Heritage.Home with cute carved Bears that welcome your arrival in the mountains. My grandchildren loved the house and played in the snow for the first time in their lives. Thank you Vacasa!
Great location. Awesome view. Nice house. The only disappointment was the hot tub didn't work.
The Property Manager has inspected the hot tub and found it to be working perfectly. We apologize that there appears to have been an issue during this reservation.
rent this house you wont be sorry.
This was a great cabin for our party size, 4 kids-4 adults. We really enjoyed it and wished we could have stayed another night or two! All the kids (11 year olds) stated they wanted to live there. LOL. Upscale neighborhood with amazing log homes all around. Though other log homes are close, it still felt private enough. This cabin is at the end of a cul-de-sac. A couple of the reviews mention the "creepy trolls", but we didn't find them creepy at all. They blended well enough with the decor that they did not stand out, and they clearly represented the owner's heritage, Danish I'm guessing. If you are going to use the jacuzzi at night, be sure to get the key code for the garage at check-in because that's where the light switch for the outside lights for that area is. Also, the A/C does not work very well, it was a little stuffy during the day. Beautiful views from porch and loft area. There are many cabin rental choices in Big Bear, but we were very happy with our choice to rent this one. I felt the rental price was in-line with what you get with this rental.
Great location, beautiful setting.
Overall the experience was great. I enjoyed the location of the home. The bad things where the trolls dolls that where above the cabinets where creepy. The house was so hot with no AC. And there where ants in the kitchen. Other then that everything else was fine.
Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to respond to this feedback. The dolls in the home are representative of the owner's Norwegian heritage. Most homes in Big Bear do not have air conditioning as it is needed so little, and the ants have been a problem this hot summer as they go in search of water. We will do our best to remove them permanently from the home.
Overall ... Great experience for my family .
This home is perfect for our group getaway to the mountains. We loved the deck with the mountain view. It had everything we needed from pots and pans to enough blankets. Just make sure you put the cover on the hot tub to heat it for a couple hours. Great house in a great place.
Absolutely love this place and house
This ia a wonderful home...the views are beautiful from the deck...enjoyed the spa very much...would maybe suggest a short bridge from front porch over to spa ....great place to stay!!
We just got back from a weekend spent at the Castle Glen lodge and though we had a great time, the space wasn't everything we hoped it would be. We loved the location- the view, the seclusion, the overall look of the place was simply fantastic- as an escape from LA for some of our group and an adventure out west (from New York City) for the rest of the group, the spot definitely hit the money. The problems we had lied with the overall care and negligence of the property itself. The house has great bones, the layout and interior architecture is all gorgeous as can be seen from the photos that accompany the listing- however the same can't be said about other items in the photos you think you're getting with the listing. When we arrived we found out- the AC didn't work (it was in the mid 80s during our stay and though thats not 'too' hot, when you arrive and the windows have been up the place will be like a sauna), the pool cues were all broken except for 1 (not too many pool games were had when everyones sharing one cue), the digital media centers were just there to look nice (cables were missing needed to get the surround sound to work, the DVD players next to the TV on the first floor didn't function either), and though there are lights around the property it seems like not all of the switches to turn them on are accessible to the guests (or at least intuitively so) which meant were were not only grilling but also getting in and out of the Jacuzzi, in the dark. In addition to the more ancillary amenities, the sleeping arrangements left a little to be desired- there were 4 beds but 6 of us in our group. There was an air mattress present, but it had a hole in it so it only allowed for an hour off two modest sleep before your butt hit the floor, and the pull-out couch was more of a pull-out torture table the way the bars holding the mattress had been deformed from (what i'm guessing was) previous tenant misuse. All of these things didn't distract a great deal from our trip, we still had a great time and the area was incredible to explore, but when you arrive expecting one thing and you get another less than previously thought it leaves a bad taste in your mouth (especially if the trip was a surprise for one of your guests as it was in our instance). Luckily all of the flaws we found in Castle Glen Lodge can be remedied with a little more attention from the property owners and property managers. With a little care, i would highly recommend staying here - it is a perfect retreat spot after all, just make sure you check in with the property management team first to see if everything is in working order before you arrive.
We are sorry to see that there were so many inconveniences and disappointments experienced by this group. We do not currently manager any homes in Big Bear that have air conditioning - please check the offered amenities at the bottom of each home's description to see if air conditioning is provided. The Property Manager has purchased three new pool sticks for guest use in the unit, we will be removing the surround sound system as it regularly causes problems, and new DVD players will be purchased for the home. The outdoor light switches are located in the detached garage which can be accessed by guests using a code provided. So far as beds go, we provide two queens, a double, and a twin, which provides sleeping space for seven in the beds with additional space on the couches. The air mattress has been removed, and the pull-out couch is not currently listed as an amenity as it is in poor shape.
Great house! Fabulous view
Loved the location, away from the busy town, bit close enough to go explore.. got to see the Big Bear Zoo, u wont get closer to animals then here a must see only 12 bucks!! We would stay here again for sure!! Thanks for having us!!
The house was nice and clean, well equipped, well maintained . I think one more sofa is needed for living room. Sleeps up to 10 people but there is only one sofa and 1 armchair in the living room.
Excellent for a weekend getaway with relaxing scenery and easy access.
The location of this cabin was great. However the couch smelled like throw up, and was wet. One of the sheets were dirty, and stiff like they were old. Bed mattresses were hard. Spa water was clean though. For the price it is a great deal. Few recommendations in my humble opinion... If this property is used for cabin rentals, I would remove the personal pictures. Also, read few reviews and they all seem not to be too satisfied with those creepy looking dolls on top of the left once you first enter... Should be removed.
Thanks for sharing your review! We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our property manager. We will make sure that the couch is fresh and dry for our guests going forward. We are glad that you had a great time and hope that you get a chance to come stay here again!
Great location with nice privacy and views and room to sled
The cabin was in a great location. It was a few minutes away from all of the stores. The view was breathtaking. It was the last cabin at the end of the street. We were lucky that it snowed a few days before we went. There was enough snow next to the garage for us to play. The cabin set up was nice and it looks exactly like the pictures. However, the carpets were very dirty. It needs major deep cleaning. If you have a baby who is still crawling don't stay here. The kitchen needs a little organizing(pots/pans, spoons, forks). The website said that towels are provided, but we only found 1 towel. Since the cabin said it can accomodate 10 people, they should have had atleast 10. The living room has some creepy looking dolls. Very creepy! It made it a bit difficult to sleep esp if you are sleeping on the couch. The owner needs to update the cabin a bit. The blankets and comforters were very rough and old. Some of the lamps weren't working. One of the bedrooms(queen room with red comforter downstairs) ceiling light was not working. The game room tv wasn't connected so it wasn't working. The tv for the bunk bed room was also not working. The master bedroom restroom lock doesn't lock. We didn't get to use the hot tub during our stay because there was lint in the hot tub. It was also hard to access the hot tub area because you'd have to go around the garage to get to it. I called vacasa about some of the stuff that wasn't working after we checked in and he said that he'd give the owner a call to call me, but I never received the call. Hope this review helps.
Thank you for sharing your review. We really appreciate all the detailed feedback that we can take action on to make our future guests even more comfortable. We have shared your comments with our property manager and we hope you get to come stay with us again sometime soon!
The cabin was clean and charming. The views were amazing! I would highly recommend this cabin for a group. Keep in mind that it only sleeps 7 people.
It's a nice place for a couple days to enjoy family. I don't ski but if I did this would be a great place to stay!
The Good: The location of this cabin is awesome, has a wonderful view and is close to everything. The kitchen has more than enough cooking/serving supply's. Has plenty of soap and garbage bags. Lots of clean towels. Bathrooms are clean. Both the couches have pull out beds (which they didn't mention). The beds are comfortable, they have extra blankets in the downstairs bedroom closet.
The Bad: My reservation was at 4 pm. The cleaning lady was there until 6:40 pm. The carpets need a deep cleaning. The pool table has stains all over it. The Jacuzzi is in a poor location and it was kind of dirty. You have to walk up the stairs and around the garage. Because there are no lights leading to the Jacuzzi, my friend slipped and fell on some ice trying to get to it. The internet and cable went out the second night (not sure if it was the house or a line went out).
Overall, the negative aspects took over the wonderful view and location.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for us. We apologize that housekeeping was behind on the day of your check-in and that there were some maintenance issues during your stay. The Property Manager will take care of the hot tub and lights and will also look into the internet/cable. We hope you had a wonderful time!
This cabin has an all around scenic view of the beautiful mountain. It was a great mini get away and me and my friends enjoyed our time spent there. It was very roomy and had plenty of space. Would defiantly recommend this place!
Recently booked this cabin. For a big place, it's acually pretty small. Jacuzzi is poorly placed in the fact that you either jump over the wooden railing or walk around the garage to reach the jacuzzi. There are some dolls that freaked a couple people due to their design. (They sit on top of cabinet in living room)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that you were a bit disappointed in the home and that the hot tub layout did not work for you. We hope you found the home clean and beautiful and enjoyed the hot tub once you were in!
I choose this location because of the Jacuzzi and the cabin itself. The jacuzzi was not clean and smelled absolutely foul. So bad that it lured out everyone inside wondering what the smell was when I opened the lid. The BBQ was also going to be used to make dinner and that wasn't working either. Both were out for a day and a half but were fixed.
If you want specific features just make sure they are clean when you are being handed the keys or call ahead to make sure everything is working.
Thank you for sharing your review. We are terribly sorry to hear that the Hot Tub and Grill were inoperable for part of your stay and appreciate you bringing them to our attention so that they could be fixed and ready for future guests. We hope that you get to come back to enjoy them soon!
Location is excellent. The Carpet is less than clean. Management is Arrogant.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback with us and will look into the situation you experienced. We will also see if we can get the carpets cleaned in the near future. We hope you found the hot tub relaxing!
We enjoyed staying at this vacation rental and couldn't ask for much more. The location was ideal and you felt like you were far away from anyone when you were on the deck. The kitchen was fully stocked and had everything we could have asked for. The property manager/owner or whoever maintains this place definitely need to pay a visit just to fix little things that have broken and re-decorate. Rugs are stained, the pool table cover is stained and the pictures definitely don't show that. I would stay in the future just because we loved the location, the open kitchen and beautiful view.
We had a great weekend at this great location!
We had a great week at Castle Glen Lodge! Love this place a lot! Thanks! Oksana
Surprise in the lower bedrooms, do forget to look up at night ðŸ˜ŠðŸŒ‘ðŸŒ’
I go to Big Bear at least twice a year. This was my first stay at Castle Glen and I will never stay anywhere else! The property is beautiful and fully stocked to meet your bedroom, bathroom and kitchen needs. The feel is upscale yet cozy with fun trinkets to look at throughout the house. There are two large TVs in both the game room and living room to watch the ballgames, a nice pool table, and a relaxing jacuzzi with a breathtaking view of the woods! I have stayed in many, many cabins over the years and the never meet/exceed expectations - Castle Glen does just that. We are already planning our next visit.
Thanks again for Everything!
Thank you for sharing such a glowing review! We cant wait to help you make your future stays in Big Bear just as unforgettable!
We stayed four nights in August and got incredibly lucky because the weather was perfect. Upper 70s all week. :) We spent a lot of time admiring the beautiful clouds and skies because it felt like everything was so much closer to us -since we are from San Diego and at sea level-7000 ft makes a difference! The house has three large screen tvs that have cable so we spent a lot of time vegging out,using the hot tub and sky gazing. Beds were comfortable and the house had a ton of extra linens and pillows to accomodate a large crowd. I would come back in a heart beat. Thanks vacasa!
I would consider using again in the future but the owner needs to make an effort to visit the property and view it through a renters eyes. there are some minor repairs and that need to be addressed but overall the property is nice.