Virtual Tour
USA Texas Lake Travis Austin Listing #25820

The Cottage - Austin, TX

3 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 3 Queen Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly  (25 lb weight limit) 
1008 Stewart Cove Rd , Austin, TX 78734

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible, no-fee options for trip changes and cancellations.

You can reschedule your trip, cancel it and receive 100% credit for a future stay, or cancel it for a refund (minus the booking fee) at least 30 days before check-in.

Note: If your trip starts after August 31, you have these options as long as you change or cancel your trip at least 30 days before check-in.

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Most Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Family and dog-friendly getaway w/lake views, dock, deck, gas grill, and more!

The entire group will fall in love with this spacious cottage and is the perfect home away from during your next getaway to the lake! The large, fully-equipped kitchen gives you plenty of room for the entire group to make yummy family meals! You will be able to walk right up the lake and to the boat dock, which means water sports enthusiasts will be thrilled with The Cottage! Make lasting memories in the back yard around the firepit or on the deck, which features an outdoor dining area, a gas grill, and even a patio heater, turning it into the best spot to gather with your friends and spend wholesome times. And if all of the aforementioned is not enough, this getaway also allows dogs.

What's nearby:
Being right next to the lake has its perks, right? You'll be able to enjoy an endless amount of water fun! Rent a boat or a family boat at Float On - Lake Travis Boat Rentals just three miles away and take advantage of the proximity to the lake. If you don't feel like cooking for the group, don't worry! Sundancer Grill is just a few steps away with delicious gourmet salads, sandwiches, steak, and seafood. Take the group for a hike at Canyonlands/MT Lakeway Trail. Of course, downtown Austin is only 23 miles away allowing for access to all of Austin's activities too!

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs allowed (25lbs). A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining






Water view






Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions



Gas grill : Private




3 reviews

Tyler W. Aug 2020
Great spot on the lake. Lake access was awesome. Clean and well taken care of!
Mark C. Apr 2020
Location was perfect. The home isn’t 5 star but it is comfortable and filled our needs. We will definitely return someday.
Darlene H. Feb 2020
Need new cleaning people: went through three coffee cups before finding one that was clean enough to use. The fireplace still ashes and a burnt log in it which messed with my allergies. There were no trash bag in the kitchen trash barrel. There was one left under the sink but it was stuck to the floor of the cabinet. There were no spatulas, serving spoons, plastic wrap or aluminum foil. Pretty sparse as far as cooking utensils or pans were concerned.
There were no tv remotes to control the volume etc of the two tvs. There was a remote for the dish and cables but no control box. So if you wanted to change the volume or turn on/of the tv you had to do so on the side of the tv. I contacted the rental company and they did send someone out the next day with the garbage bags and programmable remotes. The tv would also lose the connection for our Netflix.
There was no hot water in the Master Bathroom so I found the on demand water heater and turned it on. But when you tried to put hot water in that soaker tub the water heater stopped heating water. There was hot water to the sinks until you turned on the bathtub tap and then there would be no hot water to either the sinks, tub or shower. Kind of wonder how good the cleaning people were able to clean the tub with cold water. The water temp in the shower was not consistent.
The back yard and driveway are shared. There is only parking on the far side of the driveway for our unit and then the closer lane is for the unit that's about 8' away. The backyard is large and nice and has two firepits. It's also the access to the dock but the yard and dock service the all the houses on the cul-de-sac. So you have no privacy and if you do want to take a shower or bath there is only a thin curtain to give you any privacy. Forget trying to get dressed etc in the master bath, take a shower or bath when the neighbors are hanging out at the fire pit behind the house at night.
Safety concerns: there were exposed wires in a couple of places in the kitchen. And all the appliances, except the microwave, and all the lamps in the house were unplugged when we arrived. When you turned on the tap in the kitchen sink or the front bathroom the overhead lights would flicker. When you turned on the sink taps in the master bath another set of lights would flicker.
I'm not sure the house is up to code and I wonder if the owner is more concerned about making money than they are about safety. Especially since there is an additional $313.68 fee just for the owner in addition to the cleaning fee, service fee, administrative fee and pet fee. I've rented houses from California to Arkansas and this is the first time I was not happy with the safety of a house.
The living areas are not as large as they appeared in the pictures and the parking and backyard is not as advertised and I suspect some of the beds are full size and not queen sized as advertised. But overall it is a cute cottage and in a good location.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to read you did not have a better experience with us. We do wish you had shared these concerns with us when the property manager was at the home with you so we could have assisted in making your stay more comfortable. The property manager purchased universal remotes and programmed to the TVs just prior to your arrival, and we have verified Netflix is accessible using the information provided in the check-in email. We were happy to bring supplies upon your request and did find the standard supplies located beneath the sink in the home while there. The hot water is adequate when one water source is used at a time. We have not noticed or heard of exposed wires in the home, but we will keep an eye out. We have advised housekeeping to carefully check the dishes when preparing the home for incoming guests. One slip on the dock is shared by other tenants, but Vacasa gets priority use when we have reservations. We have contacted an electrician to assess the lighting in the home. We hope to see you again!