USA California Truckee Tahoe Donner Listing #2630

Schussing Family Cabin - Truckee, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
38 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 5 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 4 bedrooms 4 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Getaway w/ Full Tahoe Donner Amenities - Shared Pool/Hot Tub, 3 Miles to Skiing

**Note: The use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.

Host your next multi-family getaway or reunion of friends at this Tahoe Donner vacation rental. With tons of space for up to 10 guests, three floors, a fireplace, and access to an exclusive recreation center, this home is simply fantastic.

As a visitor here, you have access to amenities at the Trout Creek Recreation Center and Northwoods Clubhouse, each less than two miles away. Nearby, you also have the Truckee-area mountain resorts in winter and a watersport-ready marina in summer. All year round, this spot is a hub of fun!

The impressive-looking home is dazzling outside and inside. Surrounded by quiet pines, the woodsy feel is carried into the welcoming living room on the middle level. Here, you have plenty of cushy couches around a cable-equipped flatscreen TV and wood-burning fireplace. Sunlight will flicker in through the tree branches and stream into the huge, floor-to-ceiling windows.

Just off of the living room is the kitchen and dining space. With the open floor plan, guests cooking, eating, or relaxing can all enjoy each other's company. Plug your phone or MP3 player into the sound dock and stream music throughout the main floor over the WiFi.

Prep homemade meals in the fully equipped kitchen to share at the dining table or breakfast bar. In warm weather, you can bring your morning smoothie out on the patio and take in the fresh air. Don't worry about a sink full of plates because there's a dishwasher.

Corral your crew, because this home has five bedrooms and a loft for everyone to sleep comfortably. The bottom floor has two bedrooms, each with a queen-size bed and a cozy twin-size bed. One of these rooms has a sliding glass door.

The middle level also has two bedrooms. One room has a lovely queen-size bed and large picture window. The other second-level bedroom has another queen and a private bathroom.

On the top floor, you'll have a spacious L-shaped loft and the master suite with a queen-size bed and a futon under a lodge-like vaulted ceiling and private bathroom. Kids will love playing in the loft and if anyone needs a little personal time, there's a couch up there for a nice nap.

If you have a full house, don't worry about lack of bathrooms. Aside from the two full, luxurious bathrooms in two of the suites, there are two more bathrooms accessible on the bottom and middle floors.

Everyone can pack lightly because there's a private washer and dryer. Just toss in your ski clothes and head out for more fun!

About five and a half miles away is the main town of Truckee with a good mix of rustic and urban attractions. Along the busy Donner Pass Road, you'll find wine bars, shopping, and historical sites.

Guests here have access to the Tahoe Donner Trout Creek Recreation Center (less than two miles away) and the Northwoods Clubhouse (only one mile away). Just bring your provided passes and a small fee to use the pool, sauna, fitness center, hot tubs, and more.

In summer, head out to the Beach Club Marina (three and a half miles away) for stand-up paddleboarding, sailing, and relaxing on the docks. Golfers only have to go about two miles to find two different courses.

Of course, winter is Tahoe's favorite. Just over five miles away is the public Tahoe Donner Ski Area and 10 miles away is the Sugar Bowl.

Need to reconnect with your extended family or old friends? Bring them to this lovely Truckee vacation rental for a memorable getaway.

RCN #469

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

*Following the Tahoe Donner HOA agreements, gatherings of people not renting the home are not allowed. Authorities will be notified if there is a party or large gathering in the home.

*No excessive noise and/or trash.

*All exterior lights must be turned off between the hours of 10 pm and 7 am, seven days a week.
*The shared hot tubs are still closed due to local rules and regulations. No opening date has been decided upon.

Dock Details: There is a private dock at the Tahoe Donner Marina. Please bring your guest access cards. A $15 fee applies. Public docks are located along Donner Lake on Donner Pass Road.

City/town permit number: STR2-00979

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Suddenlink


Sound dock

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing


Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private


38 reviews

Pavel B. Jun 2021
Great place.
2nd time staying here.
Jose C. Sep 2020
Good place to stay
Richard R. Aug 2020
Some items were not

Bathtub Jacuzzi was not working
Kitchen faucet sprayer was broken
Carpets were dirty/stained.,

I called for service to fix a squeaky bed and a broken bulb. A server repairman came on site quickly
Manager response:
Hi Richard, we apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are glad that our team was able to address some issues but regret that we could not take more drastic measures to repair everything during your stay. We hope we have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Peter A. Jul 2020
David K. Mar 2020
We've been vacationing in this neighborhood for several years and this year we added a few people. Fortunately this house has room to accommodate a good size group! The bedrooms downstairs have both queen and twin beds, which was perfect for parents and child to share a room. There's a nice gentle slope in the backyard, so if you're lucky enough to be there when there's snow, you can setup a sled run for the kids. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that the house was a little more worn than the pictures would indicate (some stains in the carpet, some of the curtains were a bit worn, things like that). Overall a positive experience; I'd go back again!
Daniel P. Dec 2019
Love the place and everything else. My family had a great time
Candace K. Oct 2018
Nice and roomy! Loved that we all had our own rooms and that only 2 rooms had to share a restroom. The house was clean but light bulbs in all bathrooms were out. I had seen this review in Aug. and forgot to bring my own lightbulbs as I figured the managers had taken care of this by Oct. but was happy that all the bathrooms were working. The kitchen isn't stocked with foil, Saran Wrap, ziplocks etc... so bring your own! Oven worked fine for all the cooking we did and theres a great fridge and dishwasher. The house was at 49 degrees when we showed up - it would've been nice to have it warmer for our arrival but it heated up within a couple hours and the fire was really nice. Like other reviewers we killed our share of spiders but that's expected in the mountains. Also there was a friendly little mouse that showed itself often day and night around the kitchen and living room. This too is expected in the mtns and was more entertaining to our group than anything else. We never saw any mouse droppings. The location is perfect and I highly recommend heading the Mtn. Mikes in Squaw Valley renting bikes and riding along the Truckee River Trail to Tahoe City esp in Oct/fall. Gorgeous. We would rent this cabin again but we'd bring the things I mentioned and perhaps our cat so he could learn the fine art of mouse catching. One more thing, I actually brought along 5 dining chairs so 10 of us could sit with a back at the dining table. Like all the reviewers before said, there is dated furniture but this was the very best price for the size of the house I could find in all of the Tahoe area so we were pleased that everything was just fine, the place was clean, and we had an amazing time! It was a wonderful place where great memories were made.
Paul P. Aug 2018
The home was lovely it had enough room for our family was homey had everything we needed for a comfortable stay .
TIFFANY S. Jun 2018
We had a great time here was enough room for the four couples and children. The guest passes where a added bonus however in order to get the $8 rate the owner had to be with us per the trout rec center. We love the large dining table which allowed us to share family dinner. The house was well stock with supplies which I was very pleasantly surprised about. I would suggest some monthly/quarterly exterminator to come out because there were a lot of spiders that we had to kill and can be danger for small children especially my 4 month I had with me. All in all this was a great pic for the price and our husbands love it.
Manager response:
Guests are able to use the guest passes at $12/day without the owner present, and children under the age of 7 are free. Unfortunately, spiders are common in the mountains, and there will be more present within days of an exterminator visit. Thank you!
kur v. Jun 2018
Very roomy n spacious. Everything inside the house was clean just a little minor wear n tear here n there but overall our stay very satisfied!
Francisco R. Jan 2018
Love the house just wished the rooms where cleaned more of the dust and the carpets cleaned. Definitely staying here again didn’t have a problem. Love the house. Quite neighborhood. Kids had enough room to play inside the house. Love the nest device. Would be nice to update something’s but other than that. Love it
Manager response:
Housekeeping will take care of the dust and any other cleanliness issues. Thanks!
Anna P. Jan 2018
We loved it! Very roomy, great location, would’ve been great if the home had more stocked up kitchen
Peter C. Jan 2018
Very spacious and cozy! Great vacation home and Vacasa staff were very accommodating. Nice layout with huge and comfortable rooms. 2 masters and 2 common bathrooms are very helpful when staying with multiple families. We would like to come back and stay again in the future.
Wenjian W. Sep 2017
Sometime the light power is not stabilize
Manager response:
We apologize for the error in lighting that was caused due to the use of the wrong type of bulb. This has been fixed so the lights connected to dimmer switches are functioning correctly.
Fransisca I. Apr 2017
For 5 bed rooms house, would need bigger water heater. Sometimes we quickly run out hot water if all of us use the shower around same time. But that just the drawback...overall we are very pleased with the appliances and air circulation A/C temp.

This place also nearby safeway, a very convinient place if you need extra groceries shoping.

We would like to go here again.
Jenelle F. Mar 2017
This place is great for a family gathering! Open concept kitchen and family room and plenty of nice bedrooms and bathrooms and great sledding hill in the back. We were unhappy with the amount of dog poop in back from the neighbors 2 big black dogs which they let roam free every morning. With little kids playing/sledding in the yard, we uncovered a bunch of dog poop piles :/ not nice. Other than that it was great!
Sang S. Feb 2017
The Schussing Family cabin was a great house to vacation in for the weekend. The roads were a bit icy, but the driveway wasn't a big slope, so that was a plus. We got in and out with no problems. The neighbors around were so quiet and peaceful that we didn't even notice we had any until the second day. There was plenty of snow to play with right outside of the cabin so we didn't even have to travel to another area for that. Overall, great stay.
Faisal A. Jan 2017
We stayed there during a very bad storm in Truckee .Ski resort got closedand there was power outage in the area.We still had lots of fun . House is spacious with lots of privacy .There are lot of toys ,games ,foosball,mini golf to keep the kids busy . Local manager was very responsive to our needs.
Winston R. Dec 2016
Staffs are very friendly and very responsive. The resort was very clean and would love to book again.
Stacey B. Aug 2016
When we arrived the trash was still in the garage from previous visitors, there were pieces of trash on the stairwell, the dishwasher was full and had not been run, the tabletops were dusty, there were spiderwebs in many places, there was laundry left in the dryer, and lastly there was a bowl of moldy food left inthe microwave. The sheets and towels appeared to be clean, but all of the above made us wonder how clean everything else was... When we arrived the toilet on the main level was not working, so I called the local manager. She did answer the phone and said she'd check with the maintenance person and get back to me, but that it was both of their days off. She never got back to me over the entire weekend. Also if you have the day off, someone else should be on if it means you can't respond to people. I will say that the day before we arrived I called the main number for vacasa to inquire about a baby gate and the person who helped me quickly and kindly.
Manager response:
We apologize if cleanliness was lacking during this stay; the Property Manager will follow-up with housekeeping regarding the matter. The Property Manager did attempt to reach the guest regarding times to enter the home to perform maintenance on the toilet, but she was unable to reach the guest and was therefore unable to fix the toilet. We apologize that this occurred; the toilet has since been fixed.
Ryan H. Jun 2016
Great house for a group of friends or large family.
Doris C. May 2016
It is a beautiful property with comfortable furnishings. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very spacious. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, plates and appliances. The nest heating system was excellent. The kids enjoyed the fuse ball and other games in the loft area. The high ceiling and large windows added a majestic feel.
Steve M. Feb 2016
Excellant Property. Ideally situated to hit several resorts.
Sonia P. Feb 2016
We did not have a great experience with this house. The downstairs bathroom was not working, and even after 2 calls to the property manager, no one showed up to fix it. When we arrived, there were 15 bags of trash in the garage, so we were unable to get one of our cars in the garage. The driveway was not plowed and we got stuck - had to buy our own sand and salt to get out. No one picked up the trash until our 2nd night, forcing us to park outside. Overall, not a great stay - especially after paying top dollar
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We are so sorry to hear that you didn't have as great of an experience as you could have. This home is absolutely amazing and has the potential of providing a vacation like no other. We have shared your feedback about the garbage with the property manager and they will make sure that is not a concern for any of our guests going forward. We hope that you were still able to enjoy all that Tahoe Donner has to offer and were able to make incredible memories!
Natalia D. Feb 2016
I came with my family and my in-laws. There were enough room for everyone. This house is huge, yet cozy. We all had a great time, we're talking about coming back for the summer. We were pleased to find the house really clean and well stocked. It's pretty close to downtown Truckee as well as the skiing resorts. There were only two issues: the first is that the first floor bathroom doesn't have hot water, so it was tricky to share the second floor bathroom as the other two bathrooms are inside the rooms; the second issue is that the bathrooms lack of a vent, so it gets smelly if someone goes number two. The rest of the cabin is really nice and roomy.
Darby L. Aug 2015
We enjoyed our stay at the Schussing cabin. Easy to find, the house was very clean, HUGE, and had plenty of linens, towels and bathrooms for everyone. Kitchen was well stocked. LOVED the two drawer dish washer. Dining table needs to be replaced, and currently there is no outdoor eating area. An outdoor table does not exist on the deck. This house can easily fit 3 families, not sure why there is a 12 person limit. By my count, it can easily accomodate 16 people. Get outdoor eating at this cabin, and it would be perfect! Beware that this house is three levels, and the stairs to each level are steep and smaller than typical stairs.
Sreedhar M. Jul 2015
The cabin was great and true to the pictures posted. Very peaceful setting, clean and well-kept cabin. We were pleased to find out that it was not too far (2 miles) from Safeway, CVS pharmacy etc.
Kimberly H. Jun 2015
Great property and a great place for large groups! We loved our stay here.
Pavel B. Jun 2015
Property is great. Weather wasn't good.