Appreciated a dog friendly cabin that had a nice living space to hang/relax. Better beds (and cleaning under beds) with use of hot tub would bump it to 5 stars. The oven has a crack on the inside that had us worried about glass shards. Others mentioned a good dvd and puzzle/game selection. I really liked that one room had windows you could open up and see the deer that liked to feed outside. Great location, 5 minutes to groceries and restaurants in Welches, easy to get to the mountain for snow, and several good hiking spots. Probably 10-15 minutes away from Sandy Ridge Trailhead for MTB.
Hello Robert, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager to address. We apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to hosting you again.
Comfortable beds, good water pressure in the shower, the gas fireplace was great once it kicked on. The owners keep a nice DVD collection as well. I wish there had been dry wood to use the woodstove - only damp wood not worth trying. Definitely will return someday!
The house was not well kept, the carpets were filthy with so many stains I didn't feel comfortable letting my kids even play on the ground with their toys. The house had cobwebs and huge spiders everywhere upon arrival. We actually had to sweep and vacuum the whole house our selves just to feel comfortable sleeping there.. The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were so old and gross I accidentally pulled a pillow case off one and I felt disgusted I even used it to lay on the first night. Some of The dishes weren't clean. They had food and greasy residue on the plates and bowls... The Hot tub was out of order so my husband and I couldn't even relax after having to clean that whole dang house our selves.. We were so unsatisfied with our stay.. We almost left but since the money was non-refundable we had no choice but to stick it out since we paid over $400 just for 2 nights. Sadly we would not stay here again.
Hello, Natausha! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize that the home was not in better condition upon your arrival and regret to hear that this was your experience while staying with us. Please know this is not our standard grade of cleanliness and presentation. We do encourage guests needing immediate assistance to contact our 24 hour Guest Service line to allow us the opportunity to promptly remedy the situation. These issues will be addressed as quickly as possible. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience in the future.
This cabin was a good getaway for our family of four (kids 5 and 1) - the location was partially secluded and also close enough to local attractions and amenities. The cabin itself had ALMOST everything we needed for a week’s stay and the surrounding woods were lovely. But the house could use some TLC. Many of the features were out of order (stove hood vent), not working properly (gas fireplace switch, no remote for the DVD player) or unusable (propane grill but no lighter). Our biggest complaint was the obvious mouse problem in the kitchen. It’s an older cabin in the woods, so we expected a degree of “rustic” but we found droppings every morning in the kitchen, so something needs to be done to seal it up better. We quickly learned to store all food away and take out the garbage every night. Something else to be aware of is there is no creek within a walkable distance. It’s possible a creek runs close to the property in the winter - we found a dry creek bed nearby - but it is bone dry in the summer. That was disappointing. Overall, our stay was comfortable enough, but there were a number of inconveniences (and mice) that would make us think twice about renting this cabin again.
Hi, Amanda! We are so glad you enjoyed the location and environment of this home and apologize for the concerns you had. The stove hood is getting repaired, the gas fireplace is now working, and we have provided a lighter for the BBQ. The creek behind the home is seasonal as mentioned in the listing. We will continue to do our best to keep the mice out. Thank you!
The quiet of the mountain and neighborhood.
The place needs some fixing up but loved the rustic feel of the place. It’s not too secluded but feel very private.
This cabin is great. It has 2 big beds and plenty of kitchen equipment. The 2 things that would be nice to improve: (1) there are gigantic potholes on the road into the cabin's driveway. Please fill with gravel! (2) Would be nice if it had baking pans since there's an oven. We wanted to make some Pillsbury cinnamon rolls but there was no baking pan.
Charles, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please know that local staff is in the area available to assist guests if there is anything that you may need while in the home. We look forward to hosting you next time!
All the trees, location to great hikes an dog friendly!!! The fireplace was such a great!!
It is rustic in most every sense of the word, but we enjoyed our stay and would go back!
Very clean and super cute! Everything u could need with nothing fancy.
It is a very sweet spot in the woods. Clean, warm, and cozy but the kitchen in a bit battered. Had some trouble with the fireplace (tho' it's an old one) and hot tub - tepid most of the time regardless of increasing the temp. We gasped to find out there were no coffee filters. Thought there wasn't shampoo until we looked finally in the medicine cabinet the following day. One bedroom is surrounded by windows which makes you feel like your in a tree house dream.
We had a great time staying cozy in this cabin running both the wood burning stove and gas fireplace. It was cold outside but relaxing indoors, with lots of good DVDs to keep us occupied.
It was a great property but the hot tub wasn’t very hot and the temp was locked on it. Other than that great place to stay near the woods
Loved the view and it’s very quite. If you wanted a place to just go and relax this would be the place
Cute old rustic cabin close to mount hood, older but comfy and served us well.
Really pretty woodsy spot. Host was responsive to needs.
Wasnt to sure about house when we pulled up, but once we got inside it was very cozy. Beautiful wood work inside. We really enjoyed our stay. Got a lot of much needed rest.
We will definitely stay again
We loved our stay in the cute and well-equipped cabin. The instructions for getting to the cabin were precise and easy to follow. The kitchen is well stocked with plenty of cooking utensils, more than enough for our group of four. There were only four forks in total but we made due just fine. The fireplace is wonderful and the individual heaters in the bedrooms keep you nice and comfy. The hot tub was clean and wonderful, more than enough room for the four of us we used it frequently.. You can hear the stream that runs next to the cabin from the hot tub which was magical. We would gladly stay here anytime!
Lovely cabin -- the fireplace is super easy to use, and the hot tub is an awesome perk. The road the cabin is on is pretty rutted and bumpy, so that's something to know before you go. Kitchen could have been a little nicer but it was fine for what it was.
Close to others but cute basic cabin.
Getting to the place was easy, getting in was easy, and it was already heated when we arrived which was definitely nice. Fireplace was straightforward to operate and checkout was a breeze.
The cabin was quaint and adequate, however, know that the cabin is very close to and surrounded by other homes. The description and pictures make the cabin seem more secluded; it is not. For the price we paid, we would likely choose other options on Mt. Hood in the future.
This was a fantastic little place to stay. Surrounded by trees, forest and trials, and located close to Mt Hood, it was the perfect getaway we were looking for. It was peaceful, quiet, well kept, clean and had pretty much everything we needed to make ourselves at home. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to explore the area or simply get out of the city to relax.
Loved the location. Heavy on the “rustic”.
We had a great time on our stay. It's a quiant cabin cabin perfect for 4 people. The porch was our favorite place to hang out and enjoy.
We've been here 2 times now and have a great time. Love the hot tub and the easy access to the mountain, hiking, and kayaking. The dogs love running around the backyard.
Absolutely adorable little cottage in the woods. We had a fantastic time and everything was as advertised. I will definitely be going back!!
We loved how close, yet away from “town” it is. It was exactly as described and did not disappoint!
We had an issue with the hot tub key pad- but LOM Andrew (and Seaside LOM Leslie) were on top of it as soon as I called!
It was clean and warm when we arrived and THAT was a very pleasant surprise!
We had a VACAWESOME anniversary!
Wonderful cozy cabin in a beautiful setting. Will definitely go back and relax in front of the fire place the first chance I get.
We were so excited to stay in the Cedar Cabin. The covered hot tub, exposed wood finishes, wood stove, and fire place sold us, as did the very convenient and easy to get to location in Welches. We were also very grateful to find a dog-friendly home.
Upon arriving at the cabin, we were surprised at how closely it was located to the surrounding houses. We had imagined it was a more of a secluded home in the woods. When we got inside, however, we were pleased with how cute and cozy everything was and were very glad that the heat had been left on for us.
The covered hot tub was AWESOME. Probably the best thing about the cabin. However, we found ourselves wishing there was some better lighting around it, perhaps some simple string lights.
The back porch was also in need of lighting. And because the handle of the exterior door to the smaller bedroom had fallen off (it is very old hardware that needs to be replaced) we found ourselves fumbling around in the dark to go between the hot tub and the back porch in order to get back inside.
The kitchen was nice and pretty well stocked with everything we needed to prepare meals. However, it filled with smoke when we used the broiler in the oven - sign that it could use a deep cleaning. When we tried to turn on the recirculating hood, we found it was broken. As we looked at it closer to figure out the issue, we saw that the hood was very dirty, with dead insects all over the light bulb. Luckily nothing had fallen on our food!
Overall we had a pretty good experience here, but there is definitely room for improvement. At a little over $300 a night for this place, one would expect more attention to detail.
Nice and comfortable area the house can use some TLC.
Wildlife are used being near people. Cute creek nearby.
The Cedar cabin was in a nice setting. Neighbors are close but the trees provide a bit of a buffer and gave the property a woodsy feel. The cabin itself is rustic with personality. Our favorite feature was the hot tub and back deck.
This cabin is billed as riverfront and boy, it ain't even close! You can't see the river, you can't even hear the river. It sits among a bunch of other cabins on a lovely lot but yeah, water is NOWHERE nearby, as the description says over and over. A 5-10 minute walk gets you to a strip of private properties along the river. So....unless you enjoy trespassing, you're not gonna get any water play here. And that lovely creek in the photos? It's seasonal. When we showed up, it was a drippy strip of mud. Vacasa reps were kind but unhelpful, suggesting I drive my three kids 20 minutes away to Trillium Lake (an un-swimmable, cold, Mountain Lake mind you) to reconcile the issue. Only after multiple phone calls and me having to 'get mean' did the issue get bumped up to management who did not charge us for the night not used and offered a discount for future booking. Credit to them for their apology and refund but the property is still billed as riverfront in it's main descriptor! So beware and might wanna double check amenities if they're important to you.
We sincerely apologize for the error regarding the home's location. We have completely updated the listing to remove indications of it being waterfront, and we have noted that the creek is seasonal. We did provide this guest with information regarding water access that was closer than the lake. Again, we apologize for the error and disappointments it caused.
I wanted a last minute get away & this was one of the only houses I could find that was dog friendly. I normally would stay at a "fancier" house or hotel but booked it anyhow. We showed up, got inside and were just thrilled to see this cutest little house! Has everything you need to be comfy, plus an amazing antique wood stove on the porch which we used the whole time. The Jacuzzi is impeccably clean (as is the whole house) and just enjoyed the whole ambiance of the cabin. Oh, and two deer came right up by the back porch while we were out there! So fun. The house is right next to other houses, but, doesn't feel that way from inside or on the porch. (I don't like to feel isolated up on the mountain anyway so I liked it) The house is close to stores, an amazing sushi restaurant and just 1/2 hour from Timberline. I will be going there again. FYI the windows do open you just have to have some muscle!!
Tucked away in the forest, this cabin is comfortable & offers family games, DVDs, etc for evening entertainment. The covered hot tub is well kept. The space heaters maybe a bit scary for families with young children. The gas fireplace heats the living room when all doors to other rooms are closed. The kitchen is fully equipped but has no dishwasher. A washer & dryer are an added convenience. The cabin is rustic & has many personal touches.
This cabin was just what my family and I needed! The outdoor area surrounding the cabin is so peaceful, dog and kid friendly too! The cabin itself is a nice little place to relax, everything is well kept and clean. If you're looking for a high tech place, this isn't the cabin for you. Get outside and enjoy the lush surroundings! Recharge your soul not your phone! Thank you for a great stay!
Ok stay - the area is nice to piddle around. The cabin itself is in a mild/moderate amount of disrepair.
The cabin is super cute and rustic but could really use some TLC to bring it back.
This cabin was super cute and felt very homey. It's in a great location and everything you need is a very short distance away. There's tons of games and movies, which is awesome -but the wifi is not very good (no streaming or doing important work from here) so don't count on the internet for entertainment.
Even though it is in a little housing area with quite a few neighbors- it feels very secluded and there is plenty to do inside and outside to keep you busy. There are 2 bbqs, a fire pit, and an outdoor wood stove on the porch (although I used none of these because of the weather) and a covered hot tub!! (which was a god send while the rain was beating down). Theres also a ton of towels and bathroom toiletries....and lots of kitchen stuff and some basic spices (but no baking dishes or cookie sheets).
The entire house, from start to finish, is adorable - in a very "my family has owned this cabin for the last 50 years so it has its own personality" kinda way. The circuits trip easily, the hood fan doesn't work and the hot tub makes a terrible noise depending on which setting you choose. The house is also on a slant so one of the rooms feels a little off kilter.
That being said, as soon as you get the feel for its quirks it is quite endearing (having to go out to the breaker box in the rain is still frustrating, don't get me wrong) and as soon as you understand what to expect the cabin is a total gem.
I do think it's a little overpriced based on the idiosyncrasies listed above but on short notice I couldn't be too disappointed and I felt lucky there was Even a cabin left in the area for rent.
All in all I would absolutely stay here again, but Do not go into the visit with the image of a pristine rental without little issues that will undoubtedly need your gentle touch and patience.
If you are the kind of person who doesn't actually like the outdoors too much and you want everything to be perfect all the time- this is not the cabin for you.
If you can roll with the punches and want an awesome cabin that your whole family could really enjoy without feeling like everything is too nice to even be touched - this is DEFINITELY the place you want to be.
Like the title states, it's a very cut cabin, but it needs some lovin'. The electrical circuits need to be set up better to accommodate the needs of their guest; the hot tub's chemicals were way off; and the couch was pretty sad look and uncomfortable to sit on. I wish I could give a better review. I really wanted to love it, but considering I spent over $600.00 for two nights, I just can't.
We apologize this stay was not more enjoyable. The hot tub has been drained, cleaned, refilled and balanced, and there is a new filter as well. The Property Manager is currently working on the breaker box issue. Thank you!
This is a great cabin that really makes you feel at home. The floors creak and are at angles that take getting adjusted to but that just added to the charm of this place! They have it stocked with everything you would need to make your trip comfortable. They have a ton of movies, games and books to help keep you entertained if the weather doesn't cooperate.
The only down side was that it was a bit spooky there. But it's an old cabin and I'm sure has an interesting history. The biggest drawback for us was that the hot tub didn't heat up, so that was disappointing.
We love that it is dog friendly! Having a 100lb dog makes it very hard to find a place that is willing to let him come along with us. That alone makes this place perfect! They even had dog bowls and a yard steak to help tether him outside with us. I was very impressed by those extra touches! Our boy-O loved laying in front of the fireplace to stay cozy warm.
This cabin is very cozy and comfortable. Our family had a lovely time here. Sadly though, this property is not riverfront. There's a small stream out back that was almost completely dry. It was a disappointment for sure. It's a nice hike or short drive to the river, but most definitely NOT riverfront.
Cute cabin in a quiet location.
We planned on BBQing the whole weekend and the BBQ pit was disgusting and looked as if it had never been cleaned. The axe used to chop wood had been broken and taped back together, therefor could not even be used. We were only able to burn a small amount of wood in the outdoor stove which was disappointing. Also, the hot tub could use some sort of walk way (pavers) as it was very muddy going from the house to the hot tub and back and forth. We had a dog with us that we picked up after, and while the neighbors 3 dogs wandered over and were in the yard using the bathroom several times, two guests stepped in dog poop in the yard (not pleasant).The photos taken for this property make it look secluded which it definitely is not. The fact that there were several houses extremely close (one on the same property) seemed to be as if that purposely was not disclosed. I definitely will not recommended nor will we be returning to this property.
We apologize that your stay was not more positive. The Property Manager is working on getting the BBQ pit cleaned out and the ax replaced. We will do our best with the neighbors to keep their pets in their own space.
Had a great time relaxing at this property. It's a quaint little spot and we enjoyed it.
Ill accessible, broken down, filthy, cold, no TV, Dirty Hot tub, smelly rugs, mildewed Pac n play, dusty floors, one bed was old uncomfortable and creaked, huge pot holes, old cabin, not well lite/ dark in the woods. On & on. The bathroom was nice. I Wouldn't Go Here Again
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that you did not have a more positive experience with this cabin. The Property Manager has been advised of the issues you encountered and will dispatch staff to address these problems. We hope you were able to cozy up to the fireplace and that you enjoyed the riverfront view!
This cabin was exactly as described! It is a cozy, rustic, 2 bedroom cabin tucked away in Welches, Orgeon. The cabin itself is rustic- but everything is in working condition, the kitchen is big enough to cook full meals (which we did!) and there is plenty of living space for 4 people! We loved the hot tub, and it was heavenly after a day of snow shoeing in the cold. Both bedrooms are perfectly comfortable for two people. During the day and night when we were all in the common areas, we kept the bedroom doors closed to keep the heat in the living room. At night, we would turn the space heaters on in each of the bedrooms. The only two downsides to this cabin is that you do have neighbors nearby (although you don't really feel like it when you're in the house/hot tub!) and that circuits will blow if too many items are plugged in.
Really enjoyed the cabin for our stay. It was a perfect location for us on a 3 day ski trip. It's easy to get to and a quick hop up to the mountain. It is a rustic cabin and has seen a lot of use. Make sure you go into it with the right expectation. If you are looking for a resort, this is not for you. The cabin is very cozy and our young kids had a blast. It is cold at night, so pack accordingly. If you're comfortable splitting firewood and dealing with the quirks of an older cabin, this is the right spot for you.
This is a very rustic but charming cabin. We enjoyed our stay there and the charming quaintness of the cabin. Because it is old, it could use a little bit of tender loving care. However, it was very clean, cozy and comfortable, and pet friendly.
We had a wonderful stay despite the ongoing rain. Very cozy cabin, hot tub was wonderful, fireplace & stove kept is warm, kitchen well stocked, lovely stay!
We loved our stay at the Cedars! It was a charming and cozy property. We felt so taken care of and at home. I would highly recommend it! I was able to cook complete meals with the well stocked kitchen. We would love to come back in the summertime!
This sweet little cabin is in a mountain forest neighborhood, meaning yes you can see other homes, but it is so peaceful and quiet it is as if you have the surrounding old growth forest all to yourself. The hot tub is convenient to one of the bedrooms which has a door leading right out to it. I appreciated the easy access.
We have stayed at many different vacation properties around the world and part of the adventure is discovering the quirks of each property. Like this one which has a bit of slope in the floors which made us giggle and joke that we best be careful how much we drink so we don't stagger too much and fall... all good fun, and we didn't even notice the slopey floors after we were settled in. It added to the adventure.
The location and beauty of the area far outweigh the minor flaws and that's all they are. If you are a person who is accustomed to luxury type accomodations, pass on this one. But if you are like us and enjoy homey dwellings full of character and wonderful warmth from years upon years of love, then Stay.
We were minutes from great hiking, grocery store and resturants. WiFi worked great. The covered backporch is so comfortable to relax on. I think we may try to come back when it is snowy and enjoy this lovely property in winter's splendor.
Thanks for making this sweet little cabin available to city dwellers like us!
Thank you for sharing your review and letting us be a part of your adventure!
We really enjoyed the rustic feel of this cabin. It was very clean. It could use some more dishes, but overall we felt at home.
We were early fall visitors but cAn totally see this place covered in 6" of fresh snow with a fire in the fireplace and snow on the hot tub... Great getaway. Note: more rustic than it appears, with som very obvious shortcuts taken on the interior remodel, but the bed was cozy and everything was in working order.
Loved this sweet little cabin! Owners really provide everything you could possibly need here. You really feel able to relax and not worried about breaking someone's rules which a lot of vacation rentals really go overboard with. This place was just awesome. Two wood burning stoves (inside and outside). Plenty of firewood. DVD, VHS, WiFi. Great movie selection too! Not just a bunch of junk from Goodwill. The kitchen is well stocked with good pots and pans, dishes, etc. Right down to providing the bug spray - this place has everything you need for a wonderful, relaxing stay in Mt Hood Forest. We LOVED it and will definitely be back. <3
Coffee shops, groceries and golf were a short drive away, but still got a nice quiet stay in the woods. We were looking for a quiet place to stay and we found it. Rustic but modern. Although we only stayed a couple nights, they provided everything we would need for a weeks stay!
Our family had a great experience at the Cedars cabin. We cannot wait to stay again!
When we pulled up I thought we had been had. Looked rough from the outside. and were several more neighboring buildings than expected. Boy can looks be deceiving. We walked in and the place was perfect. all amenities that youd need (HOT TUB WAS GREAT) rustic, yet modern all in one breath.
Was worried about a prior review about the main gas heating not working, and I couldnt tell you if it does or not, why? because when I built a fire in the wood stove, it kicked out more than enough heat to heat every room in the house. The gas heat is not needed I promise you.
Everything worked, everything was clean, everything was more than expected.
As we were leaving at the end of our vacation, I looked at the outside again, and realized. If the place would have looked different on the outside (maybe new paint) i would have been dissapointed. It fits, its quaint, its perfect. Thank you for allowing us to rent your home for the weekend.
The scenery was great,The hot tub was the best,except for the 3 day wind storm,the power going out for 7 hours we still had a pretty good time.
I took my wife up to this cabin for her birthday, she said it was the best weekend of her life! Perfectly rural and secluded, but still just a short drive to thriftway in case you forgot something important. There are a couple of houses right next to the property but they appeared to be empty so we felt completely alone and comfortable. The interior is very cozy and well furnished, there are plenty of towels, kitchen supplies and everything that you might need. We planned to go for a hike but enjoyed the cabin so much that we never left! Peaceful is the perfect description of the cabins atmosphere. We were beyond satisfied with our stay and can't wait to come back!
Very quiet and cozy - when it was nice out, we spent plenty of time out seeing the area and hiking; the one day it rained, we spent around the fireplaces and in the hot tub or laying around reading and watching movies. It felt very secluded while being just 5-10 min away from groceries, coffee, restaurants, and more.
It was a great location to get to hikes on Mt. Hood quickly. Some great hikes including Mirror Lake and Elk Meadows.
A nice out of the way location that has access to Portland, Mt. Hood, Columbia River Gorge all within an hour or so. Loved the remote feel but knowing neighbors are close by if needed. Cabin has all the basic necessities and it was nice to unplug from the tv (but still watch The Shining after a visit to Timberlake Lodge). Had a fantastic time!
This is a great cabin with a lot of charm. I enjoyed the back porch and spent mornings drinking coffee and evenings drinking wine as I breathed in the fresh air. The cabin was well equipped and it was great having a washer and dryer. I think the mattresses could be more comfortable as well as the living room couch. Everything was clean although there was a bit of a musty smell and/or smell of urine when opening the cabin. After the doors and windows were open the air was better. If you want to stay in a rustic cabin with charm this is a great place, great location, and sweet cabin.
Thank you for a most enjoyable vacation at The Cedars in Welches! We were charmed by our cute little cabin. The solitude was delightful! We were on a romantic trip for our 20th wedding anniversary, and everything about our trip was perfect! The cabin is rustic, but charming - I chose it because it reminds me so much of Grandma and Grandpa's house, except for the modern conveniences of the hot tub (NICE!) and the DVD player, microwave, and Wi-Fi connection, of course. But the old wood burning stove, the knotty pine walls, the sleeping porch, the little creek out back, and the wonderful smells of a western forest - just like Grandma's! The location was perfect for our day trips. We found so much to do - a trip to Hood River, to the Antique Aeroplane and Automobile Museum, and watching the kite-surfers on the Columbia. A trip to Mount St. Helens in Washington - a day trip, but SO worth it! It is an awe-inspiring and fascinating place. We enjoyed shopping in Vancouver and Portland, and going to Mount Hood to see historic Timberline Lodge. But perhaps my favorite day trip was exploring the route of the Oregon Trail, and visiting historic sites such as the Barlow Trail, Tollgate, Laurel Hill, and Pioneer Woman's Grave. It was thrilling for me to walk in the ruts of the Oregon Trail, which had been traversed over 160 years ago by my own ancestors. There was so much to do along the Columbia Gorge and Mount Hood, and we agreed that another trip is warranted to experience it all. There are two restaurants worth mentioning - The Barlow Trail Roadhouse, for breakfast, and the Zigzag Inn, for dinner. Both these log cabin-style buildings were built by the same pioneer man. The food at both places was exceptional. The Zigzag Inn appears to specialize in pizza and from the smell and look of those pizzas, going back to try one is on my agenda for next trip. But we chose Prawn Fettuccini, and we were not disappointed! Phenomenal! We ate some of our meals at the cabin, and were pleased with how well supplied the little kitchen is. After long days exploring northern Oregon and southern Washington, we returned to The Cedars each night and relaxed with a movie and a glass of wine, then a late night dip in the hot tub. What a perfect place for a "second honeymoon" 20th anniversary trip. What will be our excuse to return next year? Maybe we don't need an excuse.... Thank you!
This is great feedback! We're so glad that your experience with us was such a positive one and that you were able to enjoy so many things during your stay with us. Happy 20th anniversary! We look forward to seeing you again.
This house has a very nice cozy feel to it. Nothing junky about this house and the remodeling. The furniture is all very comfortable, including the beds. The main room is good sized, larger than I expected. Lots of windows throughout. The kitchen is very well stocked, even had ground coffee. I'm not a crazy big-TV person, but the TV here is too small given the size of the room and the distance to the seating. Also a coffee table might have been nice. There are many board games to choose from, and a good selection of DVD's. Although there are other houses in front and on one size, there's just woods in the back, so you can sit on the back porch or be in the hot tub and not feel like anyone can see you. The hot tub is very big and nice, we used it lots. Note that there is a sizable hot tub cleaning fee that doesn't show up in the nightly rates, and I probably would have skipped this property if I had seen that from the beginning. Overall I thought the price was too high once all the cleaning fees are added in (stayed two nights), but I guess this is the market rate on Mt Hood. Also note that Welches is a good little trip from government camp. The directions to find the house need to be updated, they mention going past a bunch of yellow mail boxes and a red house I think, well there are some yellow newspaper boxes but I didn't notice them, and there is no red house to turn at, it must have been painted since then! So I drove right past it the first time, but just went in a loop.
Thank you for this feedback. Its great that you enjoyed this home and the secluded hot tub area. When a reservation is made online, you can click on the price for a detailed break down of the costs, which include the hot tub fee you mentioned. Also, thank you for letting us know about the directions. We will make sure they are updated for future guests to be able to find the home easily. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
As Midwesterners, my husband's only request was to get a cabin in the woods - and he was very satisfied with this vacation home. Our stay was great and we wish we had more time to explore the area.
My one advice is if you can locate the fuse box first thing when you get there, it would alleviate some frustrations should the lights go out on you due to some outlets working too hard. But once that was figured out, we had no other issues. Some of the homes are closer than I'd prefer, but once you're inside, it's really quiet and you're in your own world. Finding the home was a bit of a challenge too as every street looks the same, but it's so beautiful in the neighborhood that we didn't mind. We stopped to take pictures of the trees and one of the neighbors asked if we needed help - so nice neighbors are a plus. Loved the convenience of the washer/dryer. Lastly, because people leave things they buy (detergent, seasonings, etc.), check out what's in stock before going grocery shopping.
We spent a week in OR/WA on the coast and mountains and my daughter's two favorite memories were being on the beach and playing board games in the cabin (it rained most of the time we were there). So thank you for providing Yahtzee and Headbanz - and a plethora of movies. My favorite part? Hearing the rain on the roof - best.sleep.ever.
Thank you for this great review. We are so happy to hear you all had such a great time and enjoyed the home! We will be looking into the electrical, and update the driving directions! Thanks for letting us know, and sharing your vacation with us.
This is a nice cabin if you are looking for a rustic cabin experience. The hot tub is nice, the forest/creek behind the house is very private and large (enough room to throw a ball for our dog) and there is a nice DVD collection in there. We also hooked up Chromecast to the TV and were able to watch Netflix and sports through Xfinity using a laptop computer. The house has clearly had some room additions and some of the light switches are not in the room they are lighting. Once you get used to it, it is fine.
The location can't be beat. We made it to Maupin for river rafting in 1hr 15 min, and played at the Ski Bowl adventure park only 15 minutes away. There were tons of trails and creek access, just make sure you buy a trail permit pass before going anywhere - once you get to the trail, it is at least a 30 minute round trip to go get a trail permit and get back to the trail.
Thanks for your great feedback. It will be very helpful for future guests to know about the trail access and permits. We love this cabin for it's rustic charm and it's comfort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Overall a quiet, pleasant location with a nice porch to sit outside on and enjoy the surroundings (including the watery sounds of the nearby creek) and fresh air. Used the wood stove regularly and ate most of our meals on the porch.
Big bonus was a very friendly and well behaved black dog who lives nearby and visited us frequently to have fun sessions of playing fetch.
The hot tub is great for relaxing your sore muscles in after a hard day of hiking the spectacular trails in the area. We hope stay there again in the not too distant future.
Thank you for this great review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the porch, soaking in the hot tub after hiking and playing fetch with the friendly neighbor dog. We hope you come visit again!
Boy did we time it right! There were only locals as neighbors so it was super quiet. The weather was wonderful, so warm we only built one fire. Hot tub was very relaxing. It had a special recliner seat that had jets for your feet! The little dishwasher is a genie. We would like very much to stay here again.
Very cute little cabin that had everything we expected. Went with a friend of mine and my dog. Not as secluded as it might appear, just fyi, but we didn't really care. The dogs around the neighborhood are very friendly. Temperatures were down into single digits in the evenings, and having all the fireplaces and space heaters going kept us warm enough. The hot water in the shower wasn't very hot which was the only downfall; I decided to wait until I got home to shower the last day. Otherwise, everything else was perfect. Thank you!
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that the hot water in the shower was not as hot as it should have been. We are investigating the issue and will fix it for our upcoming guests. Thanks for letting us know. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again sometime soon!
The Cedars Cabin is a nice little getaway in the winter if you plan to do any skiing or snowshoeing, but also in the summer it would be quite nice as well because of its proximity to all the popular trails in the Mt. Hood area. It's also quite easy to get to from 26. The cabin itself is small but very cozy and charming; the fireplace and heating system are very good and keep the place nice and toasty. The hot tub, a wonderful perk, is in the back of the house so you have pretty decent privacy. The kitchen is stocked with pretty much anything you need as far as dishes and cookware is concerned and everything is in very good condition. There is a Thriftway grocery store very close by and Government Camp is just a few minutes away. The house is also stocked with board games and DVDs (although note there is no broadcast or cable television). Keep in mind that if you are seeking an extremely secluded cabin in the middle of the woods as the photos suggest, it is not quite that. You have neighbors, but you won't really see or hear them.
We had a great weekend at the Cedars Cabin. I made the reservation assuming there would be more snow...but we were able to frolic in snow up by Timberline (thank you to the couple at the ski rental place down the street for the tip). We were able to hike some of the summer trails too so no loss on the outdoor experience. The cabin was a tad more rustic than I was expecting - but everything worked and the owner had labeled everything as to how to use it, so everything went smoothly for us. It was very cute and cabin-y which did add to the charming getaway feeling of our weekend. The hot tub was clean and hot, the dishes and linens were clean, and the owner provided some popcorn which was a nice touch. All in all, it was a good mountain weekend.
we arrived on time and everything was ready for us. in no time the living room was warm, even we did not get the gas-fireplace running. the cabin is very comfy and everything was clean and good thought through.( a lot of fresh towels, soap and paper towels.) in our time we have a lot of rain, but the hot top made up for it. you will find a lot of games and dvd in the house for a down time. if you are looking for a nice quiet time, you will find it there. we would like to come back any time.
As I read with other people's reviews that said they didn't have enough time to experience all the great things about the cabin, I highly agree. This cabin is stocked with games, movies, and relaxation. Loved it!!!!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for the great review and please come visit us again soon!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Welches cabin. It was our favorite lodging place on our entire 10 day trip! Loved the country cabin dÃ©cor throughout and was pleasantly surprised by all the included amenities, especially in the well supplied kitchen. The sloping bathroom floor and other quirks of the old cabin just made it more charming and unique. Would love to stay here again sometime!
This is a wonderful vacation spot --- a charming log cabin, very cozy and situated in the middle of the wood. Rooms and beds are reasonably comfortable. We would like to know the history of the cabin and the cabins around.
Thank you so much for sharing the cabin. We had a great time. The cabin was very clean and the hot tub was well maintained and clean as well. We had a great time. Met a lot of the neighbors when we were out for walks. Very special spot. We look forward to being able to use the cabin again!
Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer! There was so much to do in the area, we barely had time to take advantage of the cabin itself. The 4 of us (all adults) went hiking at Multnomah Falls and in the nearby Mount Hood wilderness, rafting on the Deschutes, had drinks at Timberline Lodge. It was lovely to be able to cook breakfast and dinner in the kitchen, which had everything we needed (except Tupperware for leftovers! We ended up buying Zip-lock bags). We bought groceries on our way (Safeway in Hood River) because we weren't sure what would be available nearby (or how expensive it would be), but the Thriftway up the street was very convenient, and even had decent wine! In the evenings, we loved relaxing in the hot tub after miles of hiking (though we were a bit concerned about bothering the nearby neighbors), and entertaining ourselves with the many books and games in the house. Didn't watch one second of television and that's how we like it! Though some of the movies were tempting - too bad the weather was perfect! We wish we'd had the time/energy to build a fire in the indoor or outdoor fireplace/wood stove - it was surprisingly cold on July mornings! Our last morning, we were wished farewell by a black-tailed deer in the back yard. Just a perfect sendoff. We would love to come back!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all that Mt Hood has to offer!
We enjoyed the cozy cabin and the property. We saw a frog and other wildlife in the creek, enjoyed playing cards on the deck and using the hottub. We were there on July 4th and only heard five firecrackers. What a relief to us and our dog! We loved the convenience to hiking in the Mt. Hood area. We will definitely visit The Cedars Cabin again.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Great place to relax but dont let the pictures fool you, there is 7 or so other places surrounding you.
Very happy; one tiny thing - the neighbors place to the north was a real eyesore and we had a bit of concern that their kid thought it was okay to visit us. I like kids but we have two dogs and we didn't want any interaction. He was a bit pesky when I told him he needed to go home.
It was disappointing to not have T.V. so we could watch the British Open. But the home is cute, the beds are comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.
We stayed at the Welches Cabin for two nights with our two young children (2 and 7). We found the cabin to be everything we were looking for - and even more! The two bedrooms fit our family perfectly and the home contained lots of entertainment options from games and movies to the outdoor stove and natural surroundings. I was very impressed with how clean the cabin was! Being so deep in the woods you would expect to see lots of little critters or bugs around, but I didn't even see one spider web inside. We would definitely recommend this cabin and would stay here again ourselves!
Cabin was clean and close to the mountain. Pleasantly surprised on how equiped the kitchen was, as well as entertainment (movies and board games).
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Welches, and this cabin had a great, quiet outlook onto the creek and property. The kitchen was well stocked, the bed was comfortable, and everything was cozy, clean, and in good order. We were a little disappointed to see that we were expected to supply our own wood for the (much-touted) wood-burning stoves. The expectations for us to clean the cabin before we left, on top of what already felt like a high cleaning fee, seemed a bit much. Nevertheless, it was a great stay and we very much enjoyed daily relaxing walks around the neighborhood streets.
My husband and I stayed in the Cedars for five nights and enjoyed every minute. We were in a stressful transition of moving and interviewing for jobs and this place had me relaxed as soon as I walked in the door. The kitchen is cute and had everything we needed to cook, the fireplaces made it cozy in the cool nights, great collection of movies and games/puzzles, and Internet to boot! Nice collection of hikes and community info. We loved it. FYI the Soup Spoon and Wraptitude are awesome places to eat lunch and breakfast (respectively).
Wonderfully stocked little cabin, we felt right at home in this cozy little place! The small kitchen had everything we needed to cook, there were two nice beds, not too hard, not too soft, and plenty of room to stretch out. We've stayed in rentals that felt like rentals, but this felt like borrowing a vacation home from a friend! The games and videos were fun at night and there was plenty to do in the area during the day of course. Be aware thought that there is a very friendly neighborhood dog who also like to do a doo-doo in that back (cleaned it up twice). No biggy, just watch where you step! My son played catch with the dog, he was a nice added bonus for us! The people in Welches were very friendly in the shops, too, and we'd highly recommend the pizza place. ;)
Thank you for your review! Thanks for the heads up on the dog, we will talk to the neighbors about cleaning up after him! We look forward to having you back!
Clean, comfortable cabin. As another had mentioned it isn't as secluded as the photos make it appear but still quiet & private. Our 2 children thought it was great. Beats a hotel room, especially for a longer stay, plus the advantage of having a working kitchen
I was impressed how all our needs were met. The notes around the house tell us how things worked, the expectations and where things were wonderful. The only thing that detracted from our stay was the remote for the TV would set off the smoke/gas alarm in the living. When we moved it to another part of the room it was fine. We really appreciated the cleanliness. We had a wonderful time.
The cabin was great, everything we were looking for...but a hot tub would have been nice;) It was clean, cozy, and comfortable. I would definitely go back.
Wonderful stay, just me & my boyfriend. Loved the charm of this place. Yes, floors slope, that's what happens when you convert porches, very common in old houses (1927). Owners purchased adjoining lot, so nice woodsy feel and space to breathe! Neighbors near front of house not an issue because you're on the back deck, which faces trees and creek. Great wood burning fireplace on back deck, was so cozy! Gas stove AND wood burning stove inside. Had decent stereo & iPod dock. Lots of firewood available. Great location closer to Portland than beach. Thank you for accepting dogs, she LOVED it! Took long bath. No van fan in bathroom, just fyi. Kitchen great & well stocked. Only suggestions would be bring newspaper/kindling & mgmt might want to use double sided tape or rug mat because rugs do slip. Also, dvd remote didn't work, might need batteries. Very well managed with plenty of notes and information about local hikes. Tons of towels, large hot water heater. Two nights is not enough, check-
Cozy cabin, reasonably appointed. We had a pleasant stay and especially enjoyed the multiple fireplaces. FYI: the photos make the place look much more secluded that in reality. Several houses surround the property.
I wanted to surprise my boyfriend with a fun trip away from the city for his 31st birthday. After looking on VRBO I came across this location and fell in love with the photos right away! Then I read the comments from other people and I was hooked. The place is just as wonderful as it appears! It's quaint, cozy decore and beautiful surroundings make this location the perfect get-a-way for any two couples (even some with some kids). There was fire wood at our disposal, along with many games and movies to choose from. I will come to this cabin again and would recommend it to anyone!
We really enjoyed our weekend stay at the cabin. This kids loved the snow and creek in the back yard, and the cabin was cozy. I would come back to stay. Thank you!
Well stocked kitchen.
Nice and quite location.
Very sweet and well trained black neighborhood dog that likes to fetch sticks.
Beds very comfortable, cozy ambience. Good mid-way point between Sandy and Government Camp; no cable on the TV, however, so we missed the Oscars.
Great cabin for an easy trek to the ski resorts, small and cozy. Loved the wood stove.
My family totally enjoyed the cabin. The running creek behind the house was a peaceful sound early in the morning while having coffee on the back porch. The fireplace really added the feel of being in the middle of the woods. We had the pleasure of meeting all of the neighborhood dogs which would come over to play with us. I will definatly rent another home from Vacasa. They were very helpful.