Virtual Tour
USA California Humboldt County - California Eureka Listing #31414

Lilac Victorian Downstairs - Eureka, CA

12 reviews
Max occupancy: 3 1 King Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 1.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Tastefully-renovated downstairs getaway - only a block from the bay!

Enjoy a stay in historic Old Town at this downstairs rental, part of the Lilac Victorian home. The well-equipped, full kitchen features all-new everything from floor-to-ceiling, while the formal living room doubles as a second bedroom with a comfortable memory foam sofabed. There’s also a formal dining area and a breakfast island for meals or game nights. The pictures speak for themselves!

What's nearby:
This rental is located in Old Town Eureka just a block from Humboldt Bay. If you're looking for shopping, dining, and entertainment options, this home is only a few blocks from the center of Old Town. And don't miss the incredible Carson Mansion, one of the most photographed buildings in the world, just one block away. Eureka is just about 10 miles from Arcata and HSU, 20 miles from the Victorian village of Ferndale, and 47 miles south of Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
*Dear guest, please note that this is an old building built in the late 1800s and there is the potential for some noise from upstairs guests. Thank you!
To accommodate groups of up to 10 guests, consider booking the entire home consisting of this rental, along with Lilac Victorian Upstairs, as Lilac Victorian.
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Media

Internet : AT&T

TV

Cable : Dish Network

Outdoor

Enclosed yard

12 reviews

Leilani P. Nov 2020
We had a wonderful stay at The Lilac Victorian...it was very welcoming with all the amenities of home...We would definitely stay again! Thank You!
Maggie B. Nov 2020
I’m really sad to say this is the worst Vacasa I’ve stayed in. From the pictures and walking in, my sister and I really wanted to love it. The pictures are how the unit looked in person so we hoped it would live up to how cute it was. However there were so many drawbacks that it was impossible to enjoy.

The main one was how you could hear everything from the people above you to the homeless people screaming outside. In our 3 nights there, we had two families come through. One had a guitar and did singalongs into the night followed up by watching a movie on full volume. The other had a crying baby and a toddler who would run around so much that it sounded like the ceiling was going to fall down. There is no door at the top of the upstairs unit so all of the sound ricochets down the stairwell that connects the two levels. The owner of the house came to do work in the garage that is attached to the house and started blasting rock music that you could hear throughout the unit. On top of that, we had a homeless man stand outside our house and yell about the state of our nation while we tried to take work video calls. We stayed above a wood shop before we came here and that was much quieter than this place.

We contacted the Vacasa manager who ended up giving us some money back but it still was incredibly expensive for what a bad experience we had. She laughed about how it’s an old house but this really shouldn’t be rented as two separate units.

The WiFi didn’t work at all. We had to use our hotspots the entire time.

The beds were so uncomfortable that it left my sister and I with back problems (we’re in our 20s for reference). The sofa bed felt like a board so we ended up sharing the one actual mattress that was still painful.

Finally, there were extremely thin shades on the windows. There were street lights on at night and lights on behind the house that you couldn’t turn off. So not only was it loud, even the bedroom was bright at night.

Even though this place looked nice, it slowly drove you insane from how loud it was. I would not recommend this property to anyone.
Manager response:
Maggie, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. This is an old building and we do understand that there can be some noise. We have addressed the issue and added notes for upstairs guests about our good neighbor policy and quiet hours. We have also added information to the listing that there is potential for noise from the upstairs unit. While we understand that sleeping preferences vary widely, we are sorry to hear that the bed did not provide for a comfortable night of rest. Thank you for allowing us to provide a partial refund for the inconvenience you experienced, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Marianne T. Aug 2020
We loved our stay at the Lilac Victorian. Will definitely come back.

The Pros:
- gorgeous interior with original Victorian mouldings and floors
- impeccably clean
- well appointed with thoughtful details throughout
- super comfy bed, bedding and towels
- tons of space
- extremely well stocked kitchen, including basic pantry items, makes it easy to cook and enjoy meals at your home away from home
- full sized laundry (including detergent) in unit was super convenient, especially for longer stays
- two blocks from shops, cafes, restaurants and waterfront
- easy and free parking

The cons:
- spotty wifi. Tried watching Netflix and movie kept buffering, even after resetting the router.
- We stayed in the lower flat, and you can definitely hear the guests on the hardwood floors above if they are heavy walkers and/or boisterous.
- The flat is definitely in the neighborhood you want to be in for Eureka. It is close to all the sites and convenient for everything. However, it should be noted that there is a bit of a homeless problem in Eureka and that is quite visible and present in this neighborhood.

Heather P. Jul 2020
Great location, excellent amenities! Would definitely stay here again.
Nikol M. Jul 2020
Loved staying at the Lilac Victorian downstairs! Beautiful place exactly like the photos.Spotless! Very easy checkin and so close to downtown it was great for walking to everywhere we wanted. Had everything we needed for cooking on our own/ making coffee. Could see the water from the living room( There is a park community center blocking some part of the view ). Internet had some issues but I think it was an outage for the area, not just this place. Overall excellent experience-Would absolutely stay again!
Lindsay W. Jul 2020
This is one charming house with a fully stocked kitchen, which we were able to use very comfortably. The home was clean and orderly. Plenty of towels and linens. Thanks for the cozy short vacation!
Nickolas J. Mar 2020
Awesome place. Very clean, in Old Town. Would stay here again.
Kimberly S. Mar 2020
Loved it. Would not only stay again but would recommend it for anyone visiting Eureka, CA.
. Sep 2019
Overall, very comfortable place, spacious, the kitchen was well-equipped, the bed was great.
The property manager Jesse was mostly unavailable, however Joanna was prompt, courteous, fast, and kind.
The garbage can was too small, besides, the garbage wasn't collected for almost two weeks.
I definitely would recommend this place. We had a lovely stay.
. Aug 2019
We stayed over a long weekend for a wedding in Ferndale. This was a great place. We would definitely stay again.
. Aug 2019
We loved this little home looking out at the harbor. Great location for on and off of Highway 101 connecting us to all of the other nearby small towns.
. Aug 2019
I was in Eureka last weekend for a wedding. I stumbled upon the Bureau after making a reservation at a nearby hotel. I saw the Bureau on line and immediately cancelled the hotel. Upon arrival, it was EXACTLY like the photos. It was PERFECT!