Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Welches Listing #3339

Stone's Throw - Welches, OR

78 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
23902 E Mirkwood Lane, Welches, OR 97067

Lovely cabin in tranquil setting w/ private hot tub, nearby ski access -dogs ok!

Looking for a mountain adventure base? This charming pet-friendly Welches vacation rental has a private hot tub, sits on just over an half-acre, has room for eight, and is right by the Sandy river!

The location is convenient yet secluded - nestled in the woods just blocks from Welches and an easy drive to nearby ski lifts, this cabin is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts! The surrounding mountains provide excellent hiking and biking trails, plus the Sandy River (easy access via a path in the backyard) is a wonderful place to lounge, fish, or enjoy the sights!

With high, triangular ceilings, exposed wood, and forest-friendly furnishings, this A-frame vacation home feels like a ski cabin in the woods!

The living room is open and relaxing with soft leather couches, a flatscreen TV, and a wood stove to warm your toes! The tall windows provide natural light, and there are eight spaces around the circular dining table where everyone can congregate. There are also several chairs at the breakfast bar to enjoy a tasty morning or evening meal.

The designated chef will adore the kitchen with full amenities (including the dishwasher), and a lovely view from the sink. Spend some time here whipping up a delicious meal for your group, or simply break out some appetizers while you chat over the breakfast bar!

The master bedroom on this level is luxurious and spacious with a queen-size bed, large closet, and a private entryway to the back deck. There's even a huge half-bathroom for your convenience! The second bedroom is ideal for the kids with twin bunk beds, a desk, and shelving space, and there's another large bathroom on this level.

Upstairs, the fun continues with a second living space that has high ceilings, a flatscreen TV, more fabulous couches, and superb views of the surrounding forest. There's a bedroom with a full-size bed, as well as a queen-size bed in the loft overlooking the main floor.

Everyone will love the outdoor areas in this wonderful home - the huge back deck has an eight-person dining table, hammock, gas grill, and best of all, a private hot tub! Relax your sore muscles while you stare up at the stars in the evening here. This home is also pet-friendly, so for a nightly fee, you can bring your dogs along! They will love running around the backyard while you cook BBQ on the grill. With a stereo, Blu-Ray, and WiFi, everyone will stay entertained here no matter what time of day, and there's also a private washer/dryer for your use!

This cabin's location is fantastic right up against the Sandy River - you can spend your whole day outside near the cool waters and easily break for lunch, or head into Welches to check out one of the bars or restaurants! This place is also ideal for any skiers or snowboarders in your family since Timberline Ski Lodge, SkiBowl, and Mt. Hood Meadows are all within a 25 mile drive.

Lake Trillium is about 16 miles from here where you'll find incredible views of Mt. Hood, camping, and fishing! There are tons of hiking and mountain biking trails nearby, so it's easy to spend your whole day outdoors, plus The Courses is just one mile away for any avid golfers in your group. Other great mountain towns like Government Camp and Rhododendron are nearby, plus if you feel like driving to Portland it's just 45 miles away!

This incredible Mt. Hood rental cabin is perfect for your next adventure vacation!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Basketball court : Private

Board games

Children's games

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Central AC

Disability access

Jetted tub

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Blu-Ray player

Cable

Stereo

TV

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water view

78 reviews

Kathryn G. Mar 2019
Great house for a fun weekend away from Portland. Tons of games and puzzles and the hot tub was a fantastic bonus. We enjoyed the interesting layout of the house. Two living room spaces.. one upstairs and one downstairs.
Celeste F. Mar 2019
We loved everything about this cozy cabin!
Angela W. Mar 2019
Fantastic place for our ladies' weekend getaway. Plenty of room for seven gals and all of our gear. The kitchen was well-equipped, the central heat and extra space heater kept everyone cozy, and the hot tub was perfect. Thanks!
Jenni O. Feb 2019
Had an amazing family get away, great place and location. The family loved it!
Christine Y. Feb 2019
We really loved the upstairs family room. It was warm and cozy. Had a great view of the backyard, and the electric fireplace was a nice addition. The entire house was real solid. My only criticism is that it gets so cold downstairs but with the open upstairs loft bedroom, it’s understandable how the heat rises. The downstairs master room has its own toilet and sink. But no shower which I thought was a little odd but again understandable since the bathroom in the hallway has one. Then there happened to be no blender which the listing had this included, but we found a hand blender so it just took us a bit more effort. All in all, we would stay here again. Plenty of room, had basically everything we needed and the long open windows made for beautiful views of the snow!
Anastacia W. Jan 2019
This house worked great for our two families and kids.
Daniel A. Jan 2019
Spacious home, nice features, great location
Jason K. Nov 2018
It was hard to get into the house. We enjoyed everything except the hot tub wasn’t and would not get hot. It said it was 104, but really it was in the low to mid 90’s.
At one point we were all cold and had to get into the shower to warm up. Other then that we enjoyed the rest of the house.
Angela B. Nov 2018
The river is so close, and the land is absolutely breath taking!!
Jeffrey W. Oct 2018
Great home , hot tub, close to fantastic hiking. Cooked in and dined out ,all good
Megan L. Aug 2018
Really peaceful, cozy, beautiful!!
Susan J. Aug 2018
This was the perfect vacation house for our annual family get together. The house was large and well furnished and the back deck was perfect for visiting, eating, relaxing in the hammock, soaking in the hot tub, or just sitting and enjoying the peace of the woods and the river. The owners have also thoughtfully provided board games and books.
Courtney H. Jul 2018
This cabin was perfect for 5 adults, 2 kids and 2 dogs. Two living areas with super comfortable couches made for relaxing mornings and evenings. Beds were comfy too. The large decks and hot tub were great and fire pit was perfect for s'mores! An easy walk to the river with a private area for enjoying the sights and sounds of nature (we saw a black tail deer!). Stonesthrow had everything one could want for a getaway! We would definitely stay here again!
ida y. Jun 2018
Loved the river! Beds were comfortable and just really enjoyed the house in general.
Peggi C. Jun 2018
This rental is advertised as ADA . It is not. Our entire visit relied on the safty of my adult son & husband. Nothing works and we were told everything was in working order after our first "2" stays. Does anyone have a rental in Welch's that is ADA ready??? we were celebrating Birthday & Father's Day, what a gift...
Manager response:
We respectfully understand the guests’ feedback, however, the truth is the home does have disability access. There is an outside lift that provides access to the home, with an elevator inside for upstairs access. A shower and toilet are available for wheelchair access. The guest was given the keys. We always tell our guests to contact us if there are any issues during their stay. Unfortunately, they didn’t report their concerns, as we could have assisted if they did. Thank you.
James E. Jun 2018
A spacious and lovely home in a perfect spot.
Yvonne M. Jun 2018
It was so wonderful to find a wheelchair-accessible, dog-friendly place to have friend-cation this year! Loved the hot tub and fully furnished kitchen, and the location is unbeatable. It was the perfect headquarters for our group to reach hiking trails, Sandy Ridge mountain biking, and Portland. We will definitely be back.
Carolyn O. May 2018
My staff loved it.
Tracey G. Mar 2018
We stayed and had a great time!!! This house was very large & had plenty of seating. There were 2 large decks with wheelchair access (which we did not use). The hot tub had gorgeous views of the woods. It was a short walk to the river and had everything we needed including a garage, games, dog bowls, & some extra entertainment options like movies, & puzzles.
They had plenty of kitchen items, plenty of towels, 3 entryways, there was room for plenty of parking.
The best part was that it was dog friendly so we didn’t have to pay extra for a dog sitter!
Great place to stay with a large group!
Craig M. Mar 2018
The house is very well furnished with attentioned paid to every detail. The furnishings are very nice and the rooms well laid out. We had six people and felt we had plenty of room. There is room for eight but that would not be a problem. Kitchen is well stocked for cooking with a store close by for those items you forget. Will definitely return for another stay.
Kym W. Jan 2018
Such a great find in the middle of the woods. Very private location and was a really great find. WE were pleasantly surprised at the ADA updates, so our friend in a wheelchair was able to enjoy the entire property.
Aubrie D. Jan 2018
great getaway from Portland.
Nichelle U. Dec 2017
This home is in a great location. Not too far up the mountain so the roads were clear and safe. It is located on a little road and with the snow, the branches hung low and whacked the cars and the road was icy and slick but we made it in and out ok with minimal issues.
The house is adorable. It fit all 8 of our family members comfortably for Christmas and we loved the views. Pretty secluded and private wth neighbors not too close. We enjoyed having the two separate living rooms for our guest to divide for different activities. The kitchen was spacious and the table is accomedating.
We were pretty disappointed though when we wanted to use the jetted tub uin the upstairs bathroom. It was unusable. The jets looked as if they hadn’t been cleaned in months with black gross mold inside of them. Considering it was the only tub in the house I was frustrated because I wasn’t able to give my daughter a bath. We had an issue with the hot tub as well. They had instructions to put in some of their pre measured shock in the hot tub after using it but the box was empty. So the next morning when we went to use it, it was foamy and murky looking. It took a few hours to get in touch with someone which wasn’t terrible considering it was Christmas Day but after it was discovered that there was shock in a different lock box, it was dinner time and then the hot tub didn’t get used. We checked out the next day. So needless to say we were unhappy because the only thing the whole family wanted in a rental was a hot tub. When we mentioned the tub to the property manager he said oh yeah those things get over looked. It’s not like the tub jets was overlooked once or twice. It was clearly something they never cleaned. And even though he said he would make sure his staff took care of it, it didn’t help us then while WE paid to be there!
So the house is a great place to stay if it’s cleaned and maintained which should always be the case!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest felt they did not receive better service from us. We don't believe it's acceptable to use 'things get overlooked' as any reason to not have a job done correctly. We have followed-up with housekeeping regarding properly cleaning the bathtub jets on a regular basis and making sure the hot tub and shock treatment are ready to go. We apologize for these disappointments. Thank you!
Martin L. Dec 2017
Great accomodotion for weekend gateway
Whitney M. Dec 2017
This was a surprise for my husband’s birthday. We had a total of 6 guests & our dog & it was wonderful! Peaceful location, hot tub, full kitchen for cooking all of our meals. We loved it & would highly recommend to others! :-)
Emily F. Nov 2017
The house is great! It's so nice to find a place that works for wheelchair users. We love it and will be back!
Robert A. Nov 2017
Such a wonderful chalet! You are pretty close to markets and restaurants, but feel like your in the middle of the woods. Would definitely stay here again!
Amy B. Nov 2017
even though there were neighbors near this house felt really secluded aside from the neighbors or fellow renters dogs across the street. the house was pretty quiet. the fire burning stove was used more than we thought and the hot tub was great. the table was perfect for our group for meals. would definitely recommend to friends and would stay again.
thanks!
Amy D. Oct 2017
The house was great! Spacious, beautiful and a beautiful view of the outdoors. My favorite spot was in the upstairs living area, facing the window with a cup of coffee and a book - or relaxing in the hot tub. Great location - close to anything you'd want to do!
Jose P. Oct 2017
The house was cozy, the river was so peaceful and so close about less than 3 min walk.
Pamela P. Sep 2017
Awesome cabin. Secluded but also close to the local grocery store. Plenty of room for everyone and a very comfortable, homey place to stay for our vacation.
It had everything we needed.
Charity R. Sep 2017
This lovely house was clearly built specifically for someone who uses a wheelchair. Only suggestion is that if you do come here in a wheelchair and want to use the upstairs, you would probably need to call ahead and arrange for use of the lift to the 2nd floor. A completely lovely place for ANYONE!
Jordan M. Aug 2017
Overall, our weekend at the cabin was super relaxing. Be aware that the lights are burnt out / switches don't work for the deck. The showers run out of hot water quickly, and the water pressure is not so great. However, it was a beautifully clean place to stay, the surrounding area is gorgeous, and vacasa provides some nice amenities that are waiting for you when you check in. Would definitely recommend!
Deidre H. Aug 2017
This location is terrific! St John's in the Woods Catholic Church is practically within walking distance.
Very close: Mirror Lake hike is a must do! The Thriftway grocery store is just across the main road. Lovely deck off the back and a pathway down to the beautiful, shallow river. I wish we could have stayed longer !!! (two living rooms make it perfect for multiple families or those with teenagers.
Sheryl S. Aug 2017
This was a wonderful place to stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Judith D. Jul 2017
Stone's Throw is a spacious cabin with an excellent location. We love the large back deck & path to the Sandy River. This was our third stay at Stone's Throw & I'm sure we will return.
Michaela R. Jul 2017
This was an amazing rental. We had a large group, 8 adult sized people and we fit fine. When I say large I mean tall, 6 between 6ft to 6ft 7 inches and no one felt squished or confined by short ceilings. It has a wonderful kitchen for making meals and overall a beautiful home that was extremely comfortable. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day of hiking and can comfortably fit 4 adults. The deck, gas grill and fire pit was a wonderful addition and used everyday. My boys where thrilled with the basketball area and the river within walking distance. I want to mention if you plan on fishing it is a little rapid right in that location, but it was fun to try. Also do not be discouraged by the road leading to the house is it rough, dirt and has many holes but go slow and it is truly worth it once you get there!
N B. Jul 2017
Plenty of space through out the home, we loved the hammock and basketball hoop, short little trail leads you to the river with chairs waiting. Hot tub was well maintained, Mt Hood area Vacasa has the BEST customer service, we have stayed in many vacasa rentals yet they always go above and beyond in Mt Hood. Andrew was very helpful! There was a small mouse that came in at night under the washer and dryer, Im sure they have solved that by now. We will be back!
Mark S. Jun 2017
The house was perfect for 6 of us. The area was great to grill out and relax. It is in a location that is 20 minutes from multiple attractions and it was along the way on our scenic route around Mount Hood. It is a very secluded area, but it felt safe. I would stay there again for sure.
Randy F. Jun 2017
Location is perfect, it's kind of hidden away from neighbors and you have a full Forrest of trees to look at first thing in the morning, the trail to River is a nice quick stroll. Grocery store is close by, Goverment camp is about 20 minutes up the road so there's lots to do! The cabin is just the right mixture of luxury and comfort, great for a couples getaway or a whole group of people. it really had everything you needed. We would definitely stay here again!
Leddie G. May 2017
Great visit, cool clean house, very relaxing.
Andrew P. May 2017
Transcendentally beautiful place. The house itself is a work of art that has owners who choose to share its beauty with the public. For that we are grateful. Be sure to remind them to turn on the hot tub 6 hours before your arrival, otherwise you might miss out on a night of hot-tubbing action. It's a beautiful place I won't soon forget.
Bryan E. Mar 2017
Our family stayed here for 3 nights. Hot tub was great, location is awesome, house was in very clean and in excellent shape. Kid's loved all the space, puzzles, books, etc. Wouldn't hesitate to book it again if we are staying in the area!
Mari B. Jan 2017
Great location to enjoy family and friends amongst the abundant natural surroundings, close to conviences and comfortable enough to stay awhile. Fabulous private back deck and hottub area, fun for your furbabbies too. We'd go back in a heartbeat!! Thanks for sharing, the accessibility is great for all ages????
Gerardo C. Dec 2016
Lovely place to spend time with my family, I could not have choose any better place to be on such of lovely holiday!
Danielle R. Dec 2016
Great house! Perfect for bringing three generations together comfortably in one place. Downstairs bedroom is perfect for grandparents and bunk room is great for kids. We loved the hot tub, the fireplace, and the proximity to the mountains. The recliner chairs/couches were enjoyed by everyone. My family is still talking about how much they loved it!
Emma S. Dec 2016
So happy it is designed for disabled people. It is rare to be able to find a house that works for our cousin who is in a wheelchair with CP. And it is beautiful and very well appointed.
Wendy H. Nov 2016
A beautiful part of the state, excellent mountain bike park, Sandy Ridge. Loved Mt Hood and hanging around the Timberline Lodge in the snow. The house was wonderful!! The trail down to sandy river from the house was a nice place to sit and take in the view of the mountain side. Large property with lots of privacy and woods. Such a cozy house...loved the craftmanship, the loft bedroom was amazing, the view of the woods from the upstairs living room was wonderful to wait for the sun to come up with a cup of coffee. Fun entertainment center to watch movies with surround sound. Would definitely recommend this beautiful home. Thank you for opening up your home and sharing it with others!! Hope to come back some day!
Catherine P. Oct 2016
This was exactly what I was looking for my mini vacation. Great taste in decor, very clean and everything you need!
Aaron G. Oct 2016
We had a great couple days at Stone's Throw, holding up by the cozy wood stove during the rainstorms. The house is laid out and appointed well with excellent amenities. The beds and sofas are all comfortable and welcoming. The property is very private and even has a nice little path down to the Sandy River. Unfortunately the hot tub wasn't functioning during our stay and was rather tepid but with the weather conditions that was not much of an issue. We greatly enjoyed the open kitchen and wood stove while watching movies or reading.

I think this is a newer property and one suggestion to ease the experience of guests is to offer more detailed instructions on the use features with the house, such as the wood stove, hot tub, or even HVAC system. The guidelines and house rules are clear but offer no reference for basic operations of these features, which would help and save folks time with trial and error.

But overall, this is an exceptional property and one we'll look forward to staying at again in the future. Thanks!
Heather W. Oct 2016
Loved our time at the cabin in the woods. The property is woodsy and gorgeous. Very accessible and comfortable. We had 7-8 people, and were quite comfortable. It's best though, if everyone is a sound sleeper, or goes to bed around the same time, since the bed in the loft is pretty exposed.
Russ H. Oct 2016
Great spot! Very quite, close to the river yet nearby all of the welches restuarants/shops etc.
Ryan L. Oct 2016
Everything you need, its better then the pictures show. You won't be disappointed.
Pamela C. Aug 2016
Our fist experience with renting a vacation home. We couldn't have chosen better. Very convenient location - off the highway just far enough and yet close enough for those quick runs to the grocery. The home had everything we needed. Would love to visit again someday.
Jennifer R. Aug 2016
Overall we found this home exceptionally comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed as were the three bathrooms. The house was clean, the furniture very comfortable as were the beds. We plan on renting this property again, very soon!
Judith D. Aug 2016
Stone's Throw is a lovely home. It is spacious and easily accommodated two adults and three kids. The beds and furniture were comfortable. The upstairs family room with it's view over the forest is beautiful. We all enjoyed the hot tub and spacious deck. The short walk down the forest trail to the Sandy River was a twice a day treat. Sitting by the river on the chairs provided was relaxing and soothing. This was the second time we've stayed at this house.
Candice D. Jul 2016
Very nice place to stay, though we have no review to include
Robert D. Apr 2016
This may become the site of an annual tradition between the Day and Jones families.
Tory T. Apr 2016
Excellent, quiet spot. Very well furished inside and out!
Christine B. Apr 2016
This place is even more amazing than it looks in the pictures! My sister and I stayed here with our kids and everyone loved it! The house has everything you need, the beds were super comfortable, there was plenty of space for everyone to hang together or have quiet time. The setting was gorgeous and our kids spent many hours exploring and playing in the woods behind the house. The hot tub, basketball hoop, and hammock were all hits... there wasn't anything else we needed. It was also very close to many great hikes. We can't wait to come back to this house again. Thank you!
Nancy S. Mar 2016
Nice accommodations for a large family or two small families - loved the upstairs family room with soaring windows and wooded views. Cozy living room/dining room set up with open kitchen is nice for cooking/spending time together. Tasteful décor with rustic theme. We loved it!
Cameron N. Feb 2016
Awesome cabin close enough to Portland to be super accessible, while still getting you out there. The cabin is on an awesome property right on the Sandy and is only a quick drive to the mtns!
Deborah B. Jan 2016
Great property for a large group. Beautiful little hike down to the river, big hot tub was a fun addition. Lots of space and great views.
Aasher B. Dec 2015
We had a great time and will definitely be back every year!
Kristan K. Dec 2015
The Stone's throw was perfect for our staff retreat where the only item on the agenda was relaxing! Everyone slept peacefully and comfortably. We spent all day cooking or exploring the area. The place was impeccabbly clean and well appointed. It had that great balance of having all the comforts of home ( laundry, all the right kitchen tools...) with the added bonus of tree top Forrest views, woodland hot tub placement and two living rooms with roaring fires. We read, relaxed, cooked giant meals, hiked around and clowned around. All in all a perfect trip. Booking through vacasa was a breeze! We hope to return!
Jamie T. Sep 2015
We can't wait to come back. The house was beautiful and clean and everything was thought of. I loved looking out the windows to see the surrounding forest. And the hot tub was a great touch!
Ryan W. Aug 2015
Tons of space, and very nicely put together. Hot tub, and a jacuzzi tub, full kitchen with almost any appliance you could want. Garage is nice for keeping sap off vehicles. Minor amenities like usb outlets in the bedrooms show attention to detail. Would definitely stay again.