Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Newport Listing #3670

Nye Beach Oceanfront Cottage - Newport, OR

79 reviews
Max occupancy: 7 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Sleeps 6 comfortably  Dog-friendly 
619 NW Alpine Street, Newport, OR 97365

Historic Nye Beach waterfront home w/beach access & hot tub, dogs ok!

Experience tranquil seaside comfort in this beautifully remodeled oceanfront Newport vacation rental with a hot tub. A Victorian-era home updated for the modern age, this Oregon Coast retreat offers amenities like ocean views, free WiFi, a large outdoor deck, and plenty of space for up to six lucky guests and two dogs!

This home’s location in the heart of Nye Beach affords quick access to great shopping, eclectic dining, and entertainment options for all ages in Newport, as well as front-door access to the wild beauty of the Central Oregon Coast. Spend the morning kite-boarding, surfing, or hunting razor clams on the beach, which can be accessed just two blocks south. Then, in the afternoon or evening, head into town for a bite at any of the great seafood restaurants in Nye Beach or along Bay Street in downtown Newport.

The home itself is full of light from picture windows and, with white wood panel walls, exposed beam ceilings, bright colored furnishings, and artistic bric-a-brac throughout, it exudes an inviting coastal character. The open floor plan serves to further bring this into focus, and you’ll immediately feel at ease when you walk through the front door and see the breathtaking views from huge windows in the front living room.

Stay here and rest on a cushioned bench under the windows, or sit down with your group to enjoy a snack at the table sitting nearby. There’s even a comfy couch in this room where you can take a nap or read a book on a rainy day. Take a soak in the private hot tub.

Off to a side of the main floor living room sits a well-stocked kitchen, which the cook in your group will love using to whip up a fresh seafood meal. Modern appliances including a stove, oven, microwave, and dishwasher make light work of meal preparation and cleanup. Plus, there’s plenty of counter space upon which to lay ingredients, so go ahead and make a feast!

Enjoy that feast with your group at the room’s dining table or, if the weather is good, why not take it outside onto the spacious deck? Here, you can share good food, great conversation, and sweeping views of the rugged coast.

You’ll undoubtedly be tired after a full day of exploring tide pools and hunting for razor clams, so come home to get a good night’s sleep in any of the home’s three bedrooms, which can accommodate up to six people. One king-size bed sits in the master suite, a queen-size bed is in another room, and a third contains a double bed.

With slanted ceilings, wall-to-wall-carpet, and large windows adorned with tranquil beach-themed drapes, the bedrooms offer a peaceful simplicity that will guide you to restful slumber. There are two cozy bathrooms - one with a tub and the other with a shower - so nobody will have to wait too long to brush their teeth at night.

This home is dog-friendly, and you're welcome to bring up to two dogs with you for a small nightly fee.

In addition to the many great beach activities available just beyond your doors, the Newport area offers many entertainment options that are fun for the whole family. Head just south into town for a fun daytime excursion to Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Odditorium, where your whole family will get a kick out of the hilarious and downright strange exhibits here. Be sure to check out the Oregon Coast Aquarium and the Hatfield Marine Science Center, just on the south side of town.

If you’ve come with friends, take a trip south crossing over Yaquina Bay to tour the Rogue Ales Brewery and stay for lunch or dinner. If communing with the Great Outdoors is on your agenda while you’re here, head three and a half miles north to explore the coastal wilderness of the Yaquina Head Natural Area. Hike along the Quarry Cove Trail while breathing in the salty sea air and admiring the gorgeous views.

Whether you’ve come for rest and relaxation or invigorating activity along the beach, this oceanfront, dog-friendly Central Oregon Coast getaway can’t be beat!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Children's games

Features

Propane/gas home : Gas

Space heater

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable

DVD player

Netflix streaming

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

79 reviews

Erika D. Jun 2018
perfect central location to sight see the Oregon coast. Beds were comfortable, yurt location and great charm,
Shyann C. Jun 2018
Favorite place to stay on the coast, not as clean as the last time we stayed. Basement was locked,so could not get to laundry. Cute house with lots of character, definitely recommend!
Robert B. May 2018
It was very cozy and comfortable. Hope we can come back next year!
Lisa C. Feb 2018
Great location and close to everything but the door had a very big gap, so the cold air came in very easily so the house never got very warm.
Roberta L. Jan 2018
We had a wonderful time there! Short walk to the beach, with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean!!!! Close to yummy local food, shops and book store! Love the way the sun shines on the property the other homes do not block the sun.
Will be staying at this property again and again!!!!!
Sarah F. Jan 2018
Seriously... eat at ARR Place!
Erin R. Jan 2018
Beautiful view of the ocean. Easy Nye beach access. Great getaway.
Justin B. Dec 2017
Would stay here again! Highly recommend! Best coast trip ever!
Craig O. Dec 2017
Stacey M. Dec 2017
Awesome ocean views. Wrap around deck but you will need to bring your own outside chairs. The hot tub is amazing. It was just my husband and I that stayed for our anniversary but there is plenty of room for our whole family. We will be coming back again!
Peggy K. Dec 2017
Great place to stay. lots of room, excellent view. look forward to a return trip!
Sue S. Nov 2017
We had a group of 6 and were able to each have a private space. The view is incredible! Nye Beach downtown and the ocean are just a very short walk away with great food and fun stores. The house was very comfortable and cozy for a windy stay!
Cristin R. Oct 2017
VIEWS, VIEWS, VIEWS! LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! What more could you ask for? Oh... hot tub, tons of space, well stocked beach house, cute character, and pet friendly? You got it! We LOVED staying here. The views from the living room and master bedroom are incredible. We loved waking up to the ocean and watching the sunsets and the location is perfect for Nye Beach and town access.
Sean W. Oct 2017
I'm not sure how you'd improve the safety factor. There were two homeless people at the end of the driveway digging in the dirt with their hands and swearing. We didn't unload the car or leave the house until they left.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest felt unsafe and wish they had contacted us so we could be of assistance. This is a safe neighborhood located directly behind the ambulance company. We will work with law enforcement to ensure the safety of the home and our guests.
Allan S. Oct 2017
Awesome views from kitchen and master bedroom! They had an ant invasion in the kitchen, which was awful! Flying ants all over the place! Hot tub is too small for any more than two people. Shower has lousy water pressure. Otherwise, it was fine.
Amy L. Oct 2017
The home is not PERFECT - it is old, and old homes have quirks, but it was amazing and we were more than pleased with our visit. If you like modern, perfect, never been touched type lodging, this might not be for you. It was very clean, and everything worked- but the shower is old & small, the furniture is slightly worn, but we loved it! Next time we go to Newport - we plan on renting the same house for sure-
Catherine J. Sep 2017
Fantastic location, property a little tired, but would go again.
Allen N. Jul 2017
We stayed here for 3 nights with our family of 5 and loved it. The house has an excellent view onto beautiful Nye Beach. The house sits on a cliff and so there is no direct beach access. The walk to the beach takes only a few minutes. The house is easy walking distance to Nye Beach restaurants and shops which were great. The view from the house is amazing. The oregon coast is always cool and windy and so having a hot tub is SO nice. This hot tub is on the deck overlooking the ocean but is on the southern side of the house, blocked very well from the wind which usually comes from the north. You can sit on the deck on this side of the house as well and be out of the wind for the most part. there are no deck chairs. I noticed no one has deck chairs in the area, likely because it is so windy. The master bedroom doesn't have a private bathroom. Not a big deal. The house is older and so the fixtures are older. Didn't bother us much. I would have preferred some of the furniture being updated, however. The kitchen had almost everything we needed (I couldn't locate an ice cream scoop;). We spent a lot of time on the beach skim boarding, kite flying, making sand castles and exploring around. Yaquina Head Natural area is a great place, go to the tide pools at cobble beach at low tide. That light house is my favorite. We could see a gray whale not far off shore from the house for one of the days- so cool. Overall the location is great and the house has plenty of room and we'd recommend to others.
David J. Jul 2017
It's located right over the beach and it takes all of 5 minutes to be in the sand. Amazing view, great sunset, awesome sounds of the waves, and close to a lot of places to eat. I highly recommend it, and hopefully will stay there again someday.
Jacqueline D. Jul 2017
My family stayed here for several days and really enjoyed it. The location can't be beat and the views are terrific. It was a quick walk to the beach, restaurants and shops and an easy drive to the aquarium and harbor.

The place was clean and Vacasa made it easy to book and plan for our stay.

The house does need a lot of work. Much of it was cosmetic, but a few things were functional, such as a couple very wobbly chairs, a stove burner that wouldn't light, keys that stuck and a bathroom plug that didn't work.

If you're go-with-the-flow type folks, this place is great. If you like things new and working perfectly, there are probably better options.
Michele S. Jul 2017
Rented for a week starting on July 1st. Arrived to find no internet or TV. Couldn't get resolved until Wednesday July 5th. No outside furniture (everything was broken).
House was clean. No information about any local restaurants or sites to see.
Manager response:
We are very sorry for the difficulties this guest experienced during their stay; they were refunded for their troubles and the slow resolution.
Travis T. Jun 2017
Great location!!!!! But this house is old and needs some repairs. Tv and internet didn't work and we were refunded $75. Carpet smells like animal urine in certain places in the house. If you want a prime location to downtown with excellent views this is great. Especially if you don't intend on spending much time in the house and need several beds for everyone to sleep.
There is only 1 shower and it is downstairs. The upstairs has all the bedroooms and a tub.
Christine V. Jun 2017
Older home but well kept with perfect location.
There was no wifi or cable as was advertised but Vacasa credited my account for that and were friendly about it.
Rob D. Jun 2017
We were very pleased with our stay here. The house was perfect for our weekend getaway with friends. Sunsets and access to the beach were perfect, as were the location to the Nye Beach restaurants/shops.
Kimberly F. May 2017
Spectacular sunsets. Easy access to the beach. We walked most everywhere. It was very convenient. We really enjoyed our time here. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Bernadette N. May 2017
This house is sweet and comfy. The hot tub is a great addition (definitely bring a bathing suit because in public view). The view is wonderful. We had a few minor issues, but overall, a great spot in Newport for easy walking to shops and eateries. Very expensive for the furnishings quality (We paid about $600 for two nights, including fees and charges.) Quality is fine but nothing special.
Ryan P. Apr 2017
It's an old house right on the ocean in need of updating inside and out. With that said, the location, views, cleanliness, and ease of booking process were all excellent, and that made the condition of the house an easier pill to swallow.
Thomas K. Mar 2017
Great location and beach view. Access to the beach and shops is good. The house is not in great shape but the location makes up for it. As long as you're not expecting a a new home with new furnishings you will be pleased.
Glen M. Feb 2017
This is an older 3-story home that is not in new condition, but it had all we needed plus some. There's plenty of room for sleeping several guests, but not a single, large room for all coming together. It was very clean, had lots of towels, and the views are fantastic from the 2nd and 3rd floors. Excellent location on a dead-end street with minimal traffic. Plenty of small shops, cafes, and restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely recommend.
Jesse N. Feb 2017
Great location and bigger than the pictures give credit. 3 bedrooms upstairs, 1 on the middle level with a futon. Beach access is a few blocks away but this property does sit on the beach you just can't get down as it's a steep drop in front of the house. OVerall great home, easy rental, and good location.
Autumn M. Feb 2017
We really enjoyed staying at this house. We would definitely go back. It was clean and well taken care of. There's no access to the beach from the house though. You have to go a couple blocks to the public access.
David P. Feb 2017
We enjoyed our stay in the house. Wonderful view, great location, very clean. The beds were comfy and the bath towels nice and plush. Would definitely recommend to friends
Craig O. Jan 2017
Heather C. Dec 2016
The views are spectacular. Amazing, particularly from the master suite upstairs. It's also about as close as you can get to Nye Beach restaurants, etc. Our favorite was Cafe Stephanie - fantastic atmosphere, staff, food, and coffee.

If you're looking for a more elegant sort of quaint vacation rental, this may not be the best fit. No complaints - but some things to be aware of: The furnishings are just o.k. The bathrooms have pretty cheap fixtures and cabinets that have seen better days, but not offensive. Be aware that there is only 1 shower in the home. The upstairs bathroom has a bath tub only. Kitchen cookware was very sparse. Also, be aware that there is no radio/music source in the home. This item is not 'checked' in the list of amenities, but it's worth specific mention as it seems like a strange omission for a vacation rental. The 'driveway' is mostly grass and mud, so getting in/out of the car and into the house was a bit of a messy endeavor. Also, the deck was a bit dilapidated. There was a 'lip' on one of the boards that yellow tape had been placed over. Lastly, the hot tub, while having great views, is in plain view of the street and next door neighbor.

All that said, it was a pleasant stay and with fantastic ocean views. For the views alone, we'd stay here again. But if you're looking for polished accommodations, look elsewhere.
Deana M. Nov 2016
Quaint historical home overlooking beautiful Nye Beach. Cute kitchen, updated bathrooms and lower TV room on lower floor. Had all the amenities we need to enjoy a wonderful vacation. Hate to give a great rating because I want to keep this gem a secret for myself:).
Karoline B. Nov 2016
My husband, dog, and I shared a fabulous weekend on the coast in this adorable, comfortable cottage. The views were exceptional from most rooms and the hot tub was a nice added feature. The walk to the beach is easy! We will definitely stay there again!
Jerry P. Oct 2016
had a great time accommodations were comfortable.
Richard D. Oct 2016
House location is amazing. Looking right out over the ocean. House could use a little updating on the inside. Saw other reviews complaining about musty smell in basement. Did not use the basement, but opened the door and could sense a little musty smell.
Mary L. Oct 2016
The view of the ocean is beyond wonderful. The house was bright and cheery.
If the cleanliness had been up to par it would be a definite return. For the price, it did not meet our standards.
Manager response:
We apologize that cleanliness was lacking and will follow-up with our housekeeping team.
Jere H. Oct 2016
we're glad we stayed 9 days instead of only seven!
Susan P. Sep 2016
We enjoyed the deck very much, and loved the hot tub. Nye Beach area is quaint and interesting. bayside is a treasure all unto itself. Great property for beach lovers and watchers.
Lynne E. Sep 2016
A quaint oceanview cottage with breathtaking views and a homey feeling! Easy walk to Nye Beach, the town and a quick ride to Newport waterfront. Totally different experience than nearby Lincoln city which doesn't even compare. Great restaurants within easy walking distance and small unique shops! The house is very comfortable and has an easy to work in kitchen. We have rented the cottage twice already and will again! You won't be disappointed!
Rebecca S. Aug 2016
Great location!
Diane S. Aug 2016
Cute house with an awesome view. Sit and watch the waves from the living room or the nice deck. The waves can be heard from the master bedroom and is such a treat. The house is within walking distance to the cute downtown Nye Beach with great eateries and some cute shops. We hated to leave and we will be back
Angela B. Aug 2016
This was a beautiful home with ample space for our family and dogs. Something we were disappointed with is that the home does NOT have direct beach access. The photos and property description make it look like you can step out onto the beach from the home. However, the home is situated on a cliff. So, you have to walk down the street a couple of blocks to access the beach. We might have just been unlucky but the weather at Nye Beach was really disappointing. There was a cloud of fog that hung over Nye during our entire stay which was not there in Newport or further north/south along the coast. Otherwise, the home was clean and well appointed with everything we needed for our stay.
Martha V. Aug 2016
This beach house was perfect for our family of 6 adults and 1 infant. The beds were comfortable and the common areas on the main floor and downstairs provided plenty of space to read, relax, and watch a little TV (the Olympics were on during our stay).
The well-equipped kitchen served our needs perfectly.
We enjoyed the hot tub, soaking in the bubbles under the starry, moonlight.
Amanda K. Jul 2016
Very spacious, clean, light and airy. Incredible views and great deck! Perfectly located to walk a block to the beach or town. Everything we needed!
Stephen C. Jul 2016
Great view. Easy access to the beach. Easy access to several restaurants within 5 minutes walking. The coolest vacation house that I've ever rented
Ann W. Jul 2016
Overall nice house in a great location. Could use some updating (see above comments) and window coverings. We were there around summer solstice and none of us could wind down or sleep past dawn.
Robert P. Jun 2016
I grew up in Newport and spent a lot of beach time around Nye Beach. It is a really fun place, beach is easily accessible but does require a walk to the Nye Beach turnaround vs. directly from the unit. Hot tub was a nice plus.
Angela V. Jun 2016
The view was amazing, and the location was perfect. We would do this again!
Peter H. Jun 2016
We loved the location of the cottage with the view of the ocean from the sitting room. The Nye Beach shops and dining were only a block away from the cottage. We are from South Carolina where the beaches and surrounding are is very flat. The landscape and cliffs adjacent to the ocean in our area were amazing. Listening to the ocean and the cool breezes from the ocean made sitting in the house or deck and sleeping so relaxing.
Jody S. Jun 2016
Loved everything about this rental. Hot tub was perfect and was utilized several times each day.
Kathleen M. May 2016
When you walk in the door and down the hall the ocean view is amazing. Sitting up on a bluff you can see the light house to the north and entrance to the bay to the south. A short walk (less than 2 blocks) and you're on the beach. Little shops and restaurants are also within easy walking distance.
Robin S. May 2016
We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather during our stay. We were very pleased with the accommodations and would stay there again. The only downside was the lack of privacy at the Hot Tub. The neighbors next door (patio just below the hot tub) were outside smoking quite often (we are non-smokers). As a result, we did not use the hot tub.
Eric A. Mar 2016
Perfect location, very nice little house, we had a wonderful time and will happily return.
Dawn D. Feb 2016
I loved the location, right on the beach and close to town. I would stay here again in a heat beat. Note there isn't a bath upstairs, only a tub. Our group of 7 has to make a schedule for the showering. You are also only permitted 2 cars at the property, so plan accordingly. Everything else was wonderful including the heated hot tub.
Carol G. Feb 2016
Nice place for a beach stay.
Brittany B. Feb 2016
We had so much fun here! The house is very cute, wonderful views, amenities, and a hot tub!!!
Bruce E. Feb 2016
Can walk to beach and some great restaurants, breakfast spots. The Marine Science Center is not to be missed.
Shawna B. Feb 2016
2 couples getting away from crazy work schedules to relax and enjoy the coast. This was the perfect place to achieve that. The view alone was worth every penny spent. Great location to Nye a beach food and shopping. 5 minute walk to beach. Loved it. Will return
Eric C. Dec 2015
The house sitting on a bluff overlooking the beach fit our family of 6 and our dog quite comfortably. Beach access was very easy and we were well within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. We would book our vacation here again without hesitation.
Bette P. Nov 2015
We loved our stay at this house. The home is very comfortable and the decorations very tasteful and not overdone. The view from all three levels of the house are amazing. (including several mornings with rainbows). Appreciated the TV being in the lower level separate from the living room. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and pans. Being so close to town and the beach was wonderful. Can't wait to rent the house again. Enjoyed the balcony on two sides of the house and the hot tub.
Hilary S. Oct 2015
A charming home with unique touches. Driving up to the house I knew immediately that we picked the best one on Nye Beach and you can tell the owners have put some time and love into making this a cozy spot. House is exactly as pictured but I don't think they tell you how charming and wonderful it really is. Hardwood floors on main floor and the bench seat in the windows overlooking the entire beach were incredible. House has all the basic necessities for a weekend stay or longer. It also has a hot tub which we didn't realize was there until we arrived but we didn't use it ...this time. We had warm, sunny days and the sunsets were out of this world...breathtaking and you can sit on the deck or inside on the couch and watch the entire sunset, it was spectacular. Master bedroom was nestled upstairs with three large windows that let you listen to the ocean all night and enjoy a gentle breeze.

Plenty of activities and attractions in Newport and surrounding areas. We visited several state parks, lighthouses, shops and restaurants, and all within a 10min drive and Nye Beach community was a perfect fit for us. We drove to Lincoln City to the Outlet shopping mall and that only took about 30min or so.

It is an older house and the basement level where the TV is located gave me some allergy/asthma issues down there but my husband was perfectly fine and used it as a "man cave" to watch TV a few times.

Vacasa staff was extremely helpful and responded right away to our request to have the front porch light fixed, and another time the washing machine had an issue and stopped mid-cycle and they came the next morning to fix it.

Our original reservation was for 7 nights but we loved it so much that we extended two additional nights. I look forward to going back again.

Regards,
Hilary Simms
Unalaska, Alaska
Toby M. Oct 2015
I would definitely return to this property. Very nice neighborhood, quiet, and cozy. Easy access to beach and local shopping.
William H. Oct 2015
A cozy retreat in walking distance to great local fare. We will be back.
Molly H. Aug 2015
Loved visiting Nye beach! An easy walk to beach and shopping! This property is exactly as advertised! Maybe better. Our family of four was very comfortable and the dogs loved being there with us. Loved feeling like a resident of Nye beach. We WILL be back.