USA Massachusetts Martha's Vineyard Vineyard Haven Listing #3855

Nature's Pocket - Vineyard Haven, MA

Take a Virtual Tour
20 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Bright & airy, modern 3-level home near the beach and downtown

Secluded and quiet, yet an easy five minute drive from Vineyard Haven's ferry terminal, this bright and well-maintained home is a pure delight.

The house borders conservation land and is nestled in the woods - perfect for birdwatching - and is within walking distance to the scenic Lagoon.

Among the many opportunities for fun and sightseeing near this Martha's Vineyard house are the lagoon beach (a mere 15 minute stroll through the woods) and the town center of Vineyard Haven (short 5 minute drive). Wander the friendly town center's shops, eateries and galleries. Meanwhile, there’s an easily-accessed bike path near the property, so bring your two-wheeler if you have one!

Open, light, and airy, with many furnishings and new appliances, this vacation home is perfect for a family of six or a group of friends looking for calm and relaxation. Complete with central A/C and heat (rare on Martha's Vineyard), both summers and winters are comfortable.
Socialize outdoors on the furnished patio, balcony, or the grassy yard. The patio features a gas grill for a summer cookout. Go straight from the beach to lunch after rinsing sand off in the convenient outdoor shower.

Just across from the living room, in the well-appointed kitchen, where you can sit at the kitchen island for a casual breakfast or the dining table for leisurely meals. In the kitchen, you'll find a coffee maker, toaster oven, blender, food processor, slow cooker and, of course, a dishwasher for easy cleanup after meals.

In the living room, log into your own Netflix or Amazon account and catch up on your favorite show on the Smart TV. Plan a lighthouse tour using the provided WiFi or simply enjoy each other’s company over coffee.

The sun-weary will be happy to retire to one of the three bedrooms. Two bedrooms have spacious queens and boast either a bay window or high ceilings for a bright and airy atmosphere. In the third bedroom, you’ll find two twin beds that are perfect for older kids. With three bedrooms come three bathrooms for extra convenience. This home sleeps six comfortably.

Downstairs is an office area for sending out a few emails before hitting the beach. The house is equipped with a washer/dryer, and each bathroom has a shower/bath and wall-mounted hairdryer.

Explore all of Martha's Vineyard from this lovely spot. On the south end is the Long Point Wildlife Refuge for prime birdwatching and just to the east is popular South Beach. Tracing the island are historic lighthouses - take a day trip to explore them all! Hop on the ferry to neighboring Nantucket for a voyage to discover another popular enclave off the Cape Cod coast.

For your next summer getaway or weekend retreat, book this idyllic home! Please note that in winter a 4x4 is required as this home is accessed by a steep dirt driveway.
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property. No smoking is permitted in the house or on the property.

Parking Notes: There is available parking for 3 vehicles.

Water Access: VINEYARD HAVEN BEACH ACCESS

Owen Park Beach

Owen Park Beach is located at the bottom of Owen Little Way which is directly off Main Street and just a short five minute walk from shops and restaurants. It is a narrow sandy beach with playground equipment, a Gazebo on the field in back of beach, and has beautiful views of the outer harbor and ferries as they come and go. Beach stretches to the right towards ferry terminal. Open to all. Parking is limited, but close to downtown parking ar

City/town permit number: STR-21-8

Other tax number: C0228972960

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

TV

Cable

Wireless router

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Patio

Beach chairs

20 reviews

Joseph B. Oct 2020
We came back to this house after first staying last year. We loved the property and the amenities. This year was not the same.

Simple amenities were no longer included in the property which required us to make a special run to the store for several items. Had we known in advance we could have brought them from home and avoided the expense of purchasing at premium island pricing.

In addition, it appeared that the previous guests held quite the party as evidence of such was still in the house. Wine stained ceiling and kitchen shade were not cleaned prior to our arrival. In addition, large amounts of tape were found on the walls in the kitchen, dining room and living room probably for hanging banners. The standard sized TV in the living room (possibly damaged by previous occupant) was replaced with a small TV from the bedroom and the remote for volume and power was nowhere to be found.

A lamp in the living room did not work and clothing from the previous guest was found in the dresser.

All of this was reported to Vacasa in several emails and via a phone call with a request for the manager to call. Neither emails or phone calls were returned. No apologies were made for the condition of the house and the lack of previously provided amenities.

Service and communication on the part of Vacasa was poor but the house itself quite nice.
Manager response:
Hi, Joseph! We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to read you were not happier with your experience. We do provide the same amenities as last year and offered to come address the items housekeeping missed when you made us aware. The shade over the kitchen sink and TV have been replaced. Thank you!
Leandris L. Jun 2019
This is a spacious house with all of the needed amenities. The beds were comfortable. There were 3 full baths. The neighborhood was quiet and we were close to the merchants in Vineyard Haven. There was privacy enhanced by the landscaping.
sandra v. May 2018
Beautiful well stocked house for old friends to meet!!!
Louis B. Sep 2017
We entered the address in our car GPS and it took us to another 9 Sylvan Avenue address, which I knew was wrong. We then followed my Map Quest directions which got us to the correct address. I don't know why their are two same addresses noted on Martha's Vineyard.
Manager response:
We apologize for any confusion with reaching the home and suggest that all guests use the driving directions provided in the check-in email. Thank you!
Jacob K. Sep 2017
Can easily get anywhere on the island. Access to house is at the end of unpaved road. The driveway goes down a hill that many cars will bottom out on and without all wheel drive in adverse weather, will not be able to get out of. As is with most of the island, skunks do make an appearance. Even with the trash cans bungee cords over the lids, they still got in. Had to push the can over with a large stick after several hours of them not leaving. Consumables, (toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, Dish soap) are minimal highly recommend picking up extras upon arrival.
Very happy with having central air and the cooled sun room on the bottom floor was fantastic.
Celeste D. Aug 2017
Beautiful home. In quite surroundings. I love the peacefulness. The home was a relatively newer home. It is close to town and the ferry. Everything was clean and fresh. We appreciated the front patio and the little deck.
Denise G. Aug 2017
While the home provided sufficient space for the two of us, we were concerned about how secluded it was. We also experienced some challenges traveling along the dirt road leading to the property when it rained. Next time, I will prefer to stay in an area close to town, where I can walk/bike to attractions.
Curt R. Jul 2017
Beautiful home in a secluded yet close enough to town location. Very roomy and looked as nice as the photos. It was a happy surprise to find lawn chairs there which was great to use for the day. Highly recommend!
Lorraine W. Jul 2017
A great place to relax after a day at the beach or touring the island. It's quiet yet centrally located and secluded from the hustle and bustle surrounded by trees yet close to everything you might want to do. Enjoyed having morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the trees. You will be glad you came.
Talia C. Jul 2017
The area manager for Vacasa, Don, was amazing and went above and beyond for us during our stay. It takes a lot for me to say that. It started with us having rented another house form another company which we had to check out of due to unforeseen issues. Don got us in the house and set up within the hour. He offered suggestions and is the true reason I'd stay in this house again. Just a few minutes from town/ok bluffs it is conveniently located but tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. Rs fairly private and has central air, 3 baths (plus an outdoor shower) and is great for groups or a family that likes to spread out. the pots and pans left there are great but could use a few cutting boards and knives if you plan to enjoy meals at home. In a perfect world, they'd add a few more "loungy" outdoor pieces. While the ones they had were fine, I'd prefer to relax more than just a quick cup of coffee. Beyond that the house is just adorable, and I slept like a rock here (it could have been due to the crowlers we purchased at Bad Martha's too, hahaha) I would recommend anyone to stay here.
Derrick A. Oct 2016
Who loved our stay ! 5 stars! The evening sky's were amazingly clear and thousands of stars visable . Great on site service by Donald the Vacasa rep!!
Denise A. Aug 2016
Lovely, well decorated house. Big kitchen with all the amenties. Extremely clean, in a quiet area. Bringing or renting a car is a highly recommended to get around the island.
Ashley J. Aug 2016
It was a wonderful and relaxing 6 days! We loved the house and would certainly go back.
Macy O. Jul 2016
The house was beautiful and very clean. It was the perfect size for our group. However, we did not have a car which made it difficult to get around the island. The house location is tucked back in the woods outside of Vineyard Haven. It was a 15 minute bike ride even to the nearest grocery store. I would definitely recommend this to a group that has a car, but would suggest looking at locations closer to Oak Bluffs or Edgartown if you are relying on a bike to get around.
Stacey D. Jul 2016
We had a girls weekend and stayed at this house!!! It was a great house and easy to get to. We had a great time
Daniel M. Jul 2016
Nature's Pocket was perfect for a quick weekend on the island. My fiance and I, along with 2 other couples, stayed here for a long weekend for a friends wedding. It was a great option compared to the hotels and B&Bs on the island. Easy to get to, central location, and a nice clean home to come back to after a long day of celebrating was clutch. We would recommend this home to anyone looking for a nice, quiet pocket of the woods.
Carl M. Jul 2016
Great location, good service, very clean, excellent amenities .