Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Netarts Listing #399

Crab Shack - Netarts, OR

113 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms No pets 
5245 Crab Ave, Netarts, OR 97143

Bright oceanfront home with stunning ocean & bay views near beach and town

This smartly-decorated beach house boasts fantastic views of Netarts Bay from every window and the deck, a full kitchen and cozy living room, and a convenient location near local dining and the beach.

What's nearby:
Netarts main attraction is the beach, ideal for relaxing in the fresh ocean air or digging for delicious clams in season. The town also features a boat charter nearby, with six more in Garibaldi 15 miles north. Oceanside is conveniently on the way back. You're also minutes from Tillamook's famous cheese factory, the scenic Cape Lookout State Park, and the sights of the Coast Range at Munson Creek State Park. Back in town, a humble selection of delicious eateries awaits you.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Blu-Ray player

Cable : Charter

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Outdoor

Deck

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

113 reviews

Arlene C. May 2019
Great view.
Barbara M. Apr 2019
This was a perfect location for location for us to not be disturbed. All we ever heard were the sea birds. The motel next door was never an issue and the amenities were exactly as discribed.
Jenny D. Apr 2019
The view. Comfortable and quiet.
Heidi H. Oct 2018
Beautiful view...quiet...private
Karen B. Oct 2018
So let me first say there was no odor. Ever. We liked the place so much that we extended our stay a fourth night. The things I look for...clean bathrooms, clean kitchen, quality linens....were absolutely top notch. Of course there were some carpet stains...blame it on the renters! The size was just right for two couples to relax, cook a little, and enjoy that five star view. The beds were very comfortable, the electric recliner looking out at the ocean was fought over, and we never even saw a neighbor much less felt the adjoining motel was seedy and invaded our privacy. The one minor issue we had was dealt with the same day. We wish we could’ve stayed longer and would definitely recommend this cottage, little “quirks” and all. We would rent again without hesitation..
William K. Sep 2018
Great view of the bay. Had all we needed. Small = Comfy.
Kevin M. Sep 2018
Overall the property was clean. The linens and bedding were fresh, and the kitchen was ready to use.
This was a wonderful little house that has a single issue that completely overwhelms all the quaintness. First, an overview of the quaintness.
· The property is overshadowed on two side by a rambling old monstrosity called the Terimore Hotel. With a three-story building loaming over the property, don’t expect much in the way of privacy.
· As a 6’2” tall person, I found that I needed to duck my head as I walked around inside the house.
· The house appears to have been built before electrical code mandated the number and spacing of electrical outlets per room. (Watch for cords trapped under bedframes and chair legs.)
· Pay attention to the one line closing instruction on the sliding glass door. The door latch on the slider is pretty much toast. Oh, and the security bar for the slider… umm, property manager really ought to check into a more robust method. Enough said.
· The beds in both bedrooms appear to be full beds and not queen beds.


Now for the big, star deducting issue; the odor inside the house of animal urine, (really smelled like cat urine). When I first walked in, it smelled like chemical cleaners, no big deal as earlier reviews had mentioned a bad smell and the property manager responded by saying they had used professional cleaners.

While I was getting unpacked and settled in, I kept getting whiffs of cat urine, not overpowering, but it was unmistakably present. Once I settled in for the evening and sat down on the sleeper sofa, the smell came roaring in with gagging ferocity. I promptly got up and started opening windows and while doing that noticed that the smell eased off and in fact became unnoticeable in the bedrooms.

Because the smell would come and go, I started trying to figure out where it was originating. It was the strongest in the area between the living room and kitchen and around the entrance to the bathroom. I began to suspect that it may not be in the house at all, but instead may wafting up from under the house.

In conclusion, I wouldn’t hesitate to book this property again, but would want to make sure the weather was nice enough to be able to leave the windows open.

The property manager needs to spend some time investigating and remedying the urine smell issue and not trying to cover it with cleaners.
Steve W. Aug 2018
A little bit hard to find but great place to stay and watch the tides.
Jonathan L G. Aug 2018
Good views
Michael W. Aug 2018
Spacious, clean and great view of the ocean. The overall cost of rental was really $203.00 per night. The advertised price was $ 140.00 per nite,so just beware,they don't let you know this until the end. Over however a great place to stay.
Sheri F. Aug 2018
The view was amazing and the as cold were great!
Anne L. Jul 2018
This was a perfect place for our family of 5. The view was spectacular! The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to cook our meals, lots of pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, cutting boards and bakeware. Our rooms were clean and cozy and everything worked great! I would definitely stay here again!
Scot N. Jul 2018
this is a great little location tucked in, very near the beach. Newly improved stairs take you directly down to the beach at Netarts bay!
Carolyne L. Jun 2018
Liked the proximity to the gorgeous view with the privacy of an unconnected little cottage.
Lynne M. Jun 2018
Comfortable with great views.
Erica A. Jun 2018
Home had a very public restroom-type smell. We paid for 2 nights but only slept there for one night. Really close to the beach entrance.
Manager response:
Professional products have been brought in to eliminate any unpleasant odors. We apologize if this stay was not enjoyable and hope to see this guest again.
Anthony M. Mar 2018
I agree with other customer reviews about a weird lingering odor in the middle of the living room. Also a little critter scared the crap out of us the second night when we were in bed. Didn't help since we finished a scary movie at 1 am. It sounded like an small animal with nails running across wood and scratching stuff. I figured it was under the floor and running around the foundation. Next morning I checked out the south side of the house and found a soda can size hole in the metal netting that leads to the underside of the house. Might want to fix that or else you'll get some really spooked guests. I'd stay here again only if I was looking for a place to sleep but go hike, clam or crab most of the day.
Manager response:
We have taken care of the hole and appreciate having it brought to our attention. We are also working on a deep clean of the house to remove any odors and any possible interior affects of the critters. Thank you!
Tyra S. Mar 2018
This is a modest little cabin perfect for small family or couples. It’s not the most luxurious but it’s comfortable and clean. You can’t beat the price for the amazing views and quick beach access. Getting down the staircase may be hard for someone that has health issues or younger children but an easier access is just a minuets car ride down the road. It is a quiet beach perfect for an off the grid get away. There are a couple of cute shops and a market for last minuet needs. A few nearby restaurants. It is a short drive into town for a bigger grocery store and within 15-30 minuets you can be in a larger town with lots of city attractions. There are at least 2 nearby state parks for hiking and site seeing. Overall one of my new favorite places on the coast by far. Certainly a hidden gem. We are happy we found this place and plan on returning. Thank you!
Debbi R. Feb 2018
House is basic. Views are wonderful. Kitchen is very basic. Bring your own condiments as there is nothing here. Only paper towels and soap are provided. No baggies nor any real serving dishes. Pans are very very used. Might want to bring your own. Only two paperbacks and two puzzles. No real amenities. So be prepared.
Manager response:
New pans, serving dishes, and some games will be placed in the home before the end of March. Thank you!
Jay K. Jan 2018
Saw this place before online and that was obviously before the recent upgrades! Man what a difference! Wow!
Jessica B. Dec 2017
:)
Jessica B. Nov 2017
:)
Laurie G. Sep 2017
I needed a last minute getaway, which was fortunately labor day weekend. I needed peace and quiet following the death of an immediate family member. The location was nice and quiet. I kept all of the blinds on the side of the house closed so that I didn't have to see the trashy hotel right next door. (Pictures of the property don't disclose this)

The home had quite a smell to it, so as long as I stayed in the sun room facing the bay with the doors and windows open it was bearable. The furniture was old and broken. The recliner didn't recline. Very disappointing.

Priced very high given the location and condition of this home.
Manager response:
We are so sorry for the loss of a loved one. The owner has hired a commercial team to remove the odors within the home. The broken furniture has been replaced with a new futon and improvements made with the flooring, new paint and an updated bathroom.
Frankie D. Aug 2017
Comfy home but we had to throw all our clothes (including those we hadn't worn) in the washer when we got home.
Brett H. Jul 2017
Amazing view! Loved the easy walk down to the beach. Want the ocean without the waves? Your all set. Want the waves? Walk a 100 yards down the beach, or just wait for high tide.
The house is comfortable with all the necessities.
We will definitely consider this location again.
Lana F. Jul 2017
We loved the location and the view from the porch and front windows. Beds were ok. Furniture old and broken. It was very clean. This would be an awesome place with a few upgrades.
If you are looking at this from any website besides VACASA, go there before you book. You will be charged fees from everyone. I paid 43% above the advertised price by the time they all got their share. Beware.
Manager response:
The owner has completed a remodel of the home that includes new flooring and paint, an updated bathroom and new furniture. Thank you.
Lynne M. Jun 2017
House is clean, comfortable and cozy, close to the beach and has a wonderful view. Although it says it sleeps six (which is true), fitting six people into this house would be uncomfortable for many. It's more suited to a couple or two, or a small family. Overall this property was great for my husband and me and we look forward to staying here again.
Sean T. Jun 2017
Wouldn't recommend this staying here. First bad experience
Bobby C. Nov 2016
Stunning view!
Terri G. Nov 2016
The view is the best part of this location. The house is located behind an old motel.
The furnishings were shabby. Overall we felt the price was too high for what you get.
Manager response:
We're excited to report that the owner has replaced the furniture with a new futon. The home has been improved with new flooring, new paint and an updated bathroom. This bungalow is the perfect escape at the beach.
Amy C. Sep 2016
This house had an awesome view,the deck was great and the constant ocean breeze was superb! BUT, the inside of the house is really awful! Very bad musty mildew smell especially in bathroom and kitchen! Furniture needs upgrading,sliding door is difficult to close properly,blinds do not close,overall cleanliness was poor!
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconveniences this guest experienced during their reservation. Housekeeping is performing a fall deep clean of the home and will look for what might be causing any mildew smells, and the Property Manager is actively working on repairing the blinds.
Meenu J. Jul 2016
It's a good experience to live here. Beautiful views!!
Patricia R. Jul 2016
This was my first time using Vacasa for a vacation rental. I was really pleased with the email communication that included everything I needed to plan accordingly. This house was amazing and perfect for our family. We will be using Vacasa and staying at this house again in the future, thank you.
Winter H. Jun 2016
Not fancy, but clean and cozy with a beautiful view and not a ton of people around.
Joan & Torben P. Jun 2016
The crab shack was simple, nicely located, clean and beds were comfortable. It had everything we needed but the place could use a little TLC.
Amy J. Jun 2016
This vacation rental was fun! Good size for two couples and two small kids, if not a bit tight, but we didn't mind! The town and surrounding communities were nice.
Mark F. Jun 2016
Good value, was perfect for our purposes.
William M. Jun 2016
Great views cute place needs work and better cleaning.
Heather P. May 2016
Clean great little house. Best view, especially in the middle of the night when the moon shines across the ocean. In May there was virtually no one on the beach. This is a great place to stay.
Anna G. Feb 2016
Pros: Great location. Wonderful view in the winter time and a short walk down the hill to the beach. Cons: The motel next door had some loud tenants and there was a weird smell inside the house. The shack itself could use some cosmetic improvements inside. If you're over 6' tall the low ceilings might not work. Otherwise it had all the essentials.
Zalmai Z. Jan 2016
The place was fun -- spectacular view, efficient heat, comfortable, loved
the easy chairs looking out at the beach.
Patrick M. Oct 2015
Loved our stay at the crab shack....the sounds of the waves and the birds were amazing. The most comfortable beds! We would definitely stay again.
Erica H. Oct 2015
No complaint about the view, but the place could use some updates from stove to new(er) kitchen wares and towels. Easy access to market and the beach (within walking distance). Place is small but overall a nice experience.
Sharon G. Sep 2015
We had a great time at the crab shack! The view was amazing and we loved being able to see the ocean first thing in the morning. We also had a great time clamming on the beach. Would definitely come back. If I had anything bad to say it would be that the ceiling in the kitchen and the laundry room is short......so tall people beware.
Heather B. Jun 2015
An adorable cottage experience with an incredible view! Beach access is close and almost private. Thankfully, the house even has a set of sand toys. Our children were so delighted to find so many large unbroken shells! The wildlife was also impressive. We saw sea lions, fish, many kinds of birds, and live crabs and clams under the sand. Overall it was a fantastic family escape to the beach!
Kate P. May 2015
This little house was a wonderful retreat;) we had an excellent time and the staff was amazing. A bit dicey getting to beach, kinda intense for the little ones (4 and 5) but they did it!! We had a wonderful time;)
Beth L. May 2015
This is a perfect place for two - eat in front of the sliding glass doors and see the ocean from the bed. The beach is very close, down some steep steps, but the ocean is quite close visually. Definitely recommend to others.
Ron K. Apr 2015
The Crab Shack was exactly as described ! Perfect Bay and Ocean views from the living area and bedroom, fun to wake up with the window open and the waves crashing in the distance. Low key, solitary beach for two miles, amicable people visit and live here. Plenty to do here and in both directions.
Hazel W. Feb 2015
We had a great time last weekend at the Crab Shack; in fact, we agreed that this was our best trip ever. The house was filled with sunlight when we arrived, cozy, windows looking out over Netarts Bay with a great view. This is a small beach house, however, things are laid out nicely so that the sense of space is maximized. Our son loved the little patio; it was fantastic to sit out there at nightfall with a glass of wine and gaze at Venus and Mercury and those twinkling stars.... all in all, a great family time for us. (and Yes, as others have mentioned, this is near a motel and shares a driveway-- we came the weekend of the Netarts Chili Cook-off and even with the extra guests and their revelry, the noise didn't bother us at all and the guests were very friendly as we passed.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with Vacasa. We understand that many components can influence a trip, but are absolutely delighted to hear that the cute and cozy Crab Shack helped to make this the "best trip ever"! We are so glad that you were able to easily explore Oceanside and Netarts while taking full advantage of everything that the home has to offer - including a fully stocked kitchen, incredible view, and a patio that is perfect for stargazing! While there are always opportunities for improvement as we strive to make each home as enjoyable as possible, we really appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come visit again soon.
Joseph N. Feb 2015
Came here with my girlfriend for Valentine's Day weekend and it was everything we hoped for. A cozy shack right on the ocean with easy access to a romantic walk on the beach. A perfect getaway.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your Valentine's Day with Vacasa. We are happy to hear that the home was everything you expected, and love it.
Hanna P. Feb 2015
Needed some getaway time and this was a perfect fit.
Alissa F. Jan 2015
We had a great weekend getaway. The view was wonderful to wake up to! The house is simple and perfect for an Oregon coast weekend.
Corey H. Aug 2014
Gorgeous views of the changing tides from the balcony and one bedroom make this house work. Steep steps take you to a beautiful sweep of beach. One block walk to small market for basics.
Leslie C. Aug 2014
The four adults in our party had a marvelous, relaxing few days at this cozy property, in spite of foggy, drizzly weather. Netarts is a wonderful, out-of-the-bustle spot on the Oregon coast, while still being in easy reach of parks, ocean beaches and larger cities. The cabin has all the amenities any vacationer needs to enjoy himself/herself. I highly recommend the Crab Shack in Netarts for a relaxing vacation.
Corey K. Aug 2014
Better then camping :)
Michael W. Jul 2014
This is a wonderful place if you want a quiet out of the way spot to watch the tides ebb and flow, enjoy the misty mornings, and drive to area locations to do some outdoor adventuring. The only drawback is the fact that we had to share access to the house with a local rather rundown motel and that the beach access was too steep for less agile folk, like us. The facilities were more than fine, the views spectacular, star gazing wonderful. All in all a superior alternative to a busy beach town.
Beth L. Apr 2014
I really enjoyed my long weekend getaway at the Crab Shack! The pictures don't do the location justice. The beach is just a short trail walk down and you can walk for miles. I walked to Oceanside to eat at Roseanna's restaurant - what a treat. I also walked to Schooner's - yum! For cooking in, I got everything I needed at the market only a block away. I will definitely be back!
Manager response:
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay! It is great to hear that you were pleased with the home and it's beautiful oceanfront location. We hope you'll come back again!
Rebecca W. Nov 2013
This is the place to be if you are into simple clean vacation stays! This little place has all the ambience of the coast and little to none of the crowded tourist feel. Stocked to the gills with everything you might need too! Can't wait to come back here again.
Floyd S. Nov 2013
Good view, comfortable beds , great price, boat parking a little tight, but great shack well maintained,
Natalie L. Oct 2013
What a cute little cabin - complete with the most amazing view! It was mesmorizing to watch the tide come in and out in the bay. We spent most of our indoor time in the sunroom! While the path to the beach was steep, it was certainly accessible and convenient. Another highlight was our almost daily trip to "Cool Stuff" (a little vintage store about two blocks away) to see the new items that came in and to have a brownie.
Kimberly G. Oct 2013
We came to the West Coast for a family wedding. Having a week before the wedding gave us plenty of time to explore the area. The Crab Shack is a great location, perfect for my husband, myself and two girls. We could even fit two more if needed. The kitchen was stocked and having all the linens included was a plus. Also having a washer/dryer was a big plus since we than had to travel all the way over to Mt. Hood and down to Bend the next day. Thank you for a wonderful experience. If I could pick a place to live it would be Oregon!
Kent N. Aug 2013
Wonderful location, walk to everything, attentive staff, highly satisfied. Thank you Vacasa.



Doris H. Q. L. Aug 2013
The house was amazing. Our children loved the peaceful beach and the breath-taking scenery. Although the house was fairly old and a little small, it fit our family of five perfectly. It was cozy and gave a feeling of being at home. We definitely recommend this house to other families looking for a vacation.
Kimberly G. Aug 2013
We only had 2 days in Netarts but our experience was wonderful. The first night we experienced fireworks, beach fires, oyster spots! Sea Lions the next with warm ocean tides. The Crab Shack was a perfect choice. The Beach low tide gave a wonderful experience for my two girls to play and explore the ocean. The sunsets are breathtaking. We didn't want to leave even though we need to get back to Salem for a Wedding! If ever in the are we would stay at the Crab Shack.
Kimberly C. Jul 2013
This place has the greatest views
Pamela G. Apr 2013
Very nice place to stay. If u need a place to stay try a rental.
Mandy D. Jan 2013
My family (including a 5 y/o and 3 y/o) and my mother enjoyed a post holiday weekend. We picked this house b/c we wanted to storm watch but instead we had sunny skies and an amazing view from this house. The house was clean and I appreciate the few extras Vacasa provides like coffee, soap, etc. We could walk to the store and to the beach and my mother could easily drive to the beach for a more accessible path. Because the weather was so great we extended our check out time to stay on the beach. I am most grateful for the Vascasa staff when my 5 y/o son left his blanket he has had for 5 years they were quick to find it and ship it back. We would stay here again. It is a great spot and a great value.
Dick V. Oct 2012
The property is a very nice bungalow and we enjoyed the beach walks and the quiet area. The appearance is nicer than your photos since the exterior was recently painted. Overall it was a very nice weekend getaway.
Jordan P. Aug 2012
The beach views were the best and the beach access is really close by, those motivated can easily walk out of the bay away from the spit and on towards Oceanside where the waves are. Great little rental for the price. The renter at the house closest to use blocked our entry/exit twice though with her car this was annoying but after being assertive she stopped. The house comes with everything you need. When the washer stops it makes a loud metal on metal noise that will wake you up if not already. The house was stocked with all the essentials, paper towels, tp, laundry and dish soap, etc.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! I apologize for the rude renter next door, unfortunately it is not a home we manage or we would have been able to help a bit more. We will see if there is anything we can do about the washer noise at the end of the cycle. Thanks again!
Lindsey C. Jul 2012
This is a great, quaint place to stay that is central to lots of tourist attractions. The house is well taken care of and very clean. A great place for a couple or small family. Close to the beach and great views.