USA Colorado Southwest Colorado Durango Listing #4085

The Park House - Durango, CO

Take a Virtual Tour
80 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 (7 adults) 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Sleeps 7 comfortably  No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Remodeled Victorian in downtown Durango w/ backyard w/hammock & covered patio!

With a fully furnished back porch, a hammock, and several shade trees, this remodeled Durango vacation rental makes for a great home away from home.

Located in downtown Durango in the shadow of Fort Lewis College, this home's great spot in a residential neighborhood keeps guests close to the familiar. It's just a quick walk to Main Ave.

This grand Victorian home still maintains much of its signature exterior with white porch railings and a soft blue hue, but its interior has been completely updated, with aspects of a log home like wood beams and natural wood furnishings.

The spacious living area has nice windows overlooking the front yard from the comfort of leather furniture. Cable is available on the TV in the cabinet, and there is WiFi throughout. In fact, there is a well-positioned desk by the window for those who need to catch up on some work.

Guests will love the well-appointed kitchen with stainless steel appliances, dark wood cabinets, and blonde wood counters. The kitchen is spacious enough for guests to cook together and includes a breakfast bar for casual cups of coffee and a dishwasher for ease of clean-up.

No need to go to a park for your afternoon barbecue: The back porch and yard include patio furniture, a hammock, and a gas grill.

This three-bedroom, two-bathroom home can sleep up to eight guests total (six adults maximum, please). The downstairs room has a queen bed and an adjacent full bathroom. There is also a laundry room on this level.

Upstairs are two bedrooms that share a bathroom. The master suite with a king bed has its own private balcony with French doors for that dramatic feel. The third bedroom has a king bed and a twin bed, perfect for a young family to share.

Once settled, you're in the best location to experience some of Durango's great attractions, from local brewpubs and delicious eateries to natural highlights like the Animas River. Book a guided fishing or rafting tour of the Animas, or simply purchase an inner tube for a good float.

Mountain visitors are only 26 miles from Purgatory Mountain Resort for snow sports like skiing and riding, or summer activities like mountain biking and Music in the Mountains. Road bikers are invited to take the challenging ride from Durango to Silverton. Non-bikers can enjoy the same trip via the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.

For a laid-back retreat to this fun little mountain town, book a stay in this Southwest Colorado vacation rental today!

City of Durango Permit #09-01 A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: There are 3 small parking spaces in the back of the property off the alley between the house and the Pine River Valley Bank. There is also parking in front of the house on the street. Please use the gate to enter the back or front yards. The main access point is through the backyard to the door on the back porch.

City/town permit number: 201402948

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



High chair


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining









Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Gas grill : Private



Enclosed yard

80 reviews

Thomas P. Jul 2021
The Park House is a well-maintained home in an utterly charming town. The home has wood floors, three spacious bedrooms, and a very good kitchen. The deck in the backyard is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the Durango evenings. The house has an air conditioner, something useful in the middle of summer. Further, the house is about six blocks from Downtown Durango, an easy walk. It is a few blocks from the walking path that runs along the Animas River from the north end to the south end of Durango.
Kimberly S. Jun 2021
Woodwork, design and location
Gary J. Apr 2021
Loved the kitchen and all the amenities. We cooked every meal and was able to use the pots, pans, dishes, and pyrex for our meals. The location was wonderful. Could walk to downtown and ride to mountain biking trails. So close to the Animas river trail too.
Kim B. Dec 2020
Nice location, darling layout. Easy check in/check out. Kitchen well equipped other then some food storage containers after cooking. During our stay, the upstairs remained very hot while the downstairs was extremely cold. Very hard to maintain a constant temp throughout the house. The bedding wasn’t very fresh in the master- maybe need some new pillows for freshness and laundering of comforter.
Michael C. Oct 2020
Great location - walking distance to downtown Durango. Everything was nice and clean.
Anita H. Sep 2020
Beautiful and well appointed house in an excellent central location in Durango. We especially loved being across the street from the playground, because we had kids with us. I would recommend this house to anyone and would love to stay here again.
Patrick R. Aug 2020
Loved the house - very nice set up for a four-night getaway. Big back yard and quick access to downtown by car. Very comfortable. The local management team was responsive to some minor issues - thank you, Dave, for the quick response!
Ann D. Aug 2020
Beautiful home...great space and yard and we loved the location. Lots of opportunity to sit outside and take in the awesome mountain air. This is a great space for a family or 3 couples as there is a lot of space.

Vacasa was very responsive. We would stay here again.
Kent W. Aug 2020
Spacious, lots of natural light. Close to the riverfront.
I Ruth Arnold R. Feb 2020
Comfortable house with well equipped kitchen right in town. There were a few maintenance issues promptly handled by Vacasa. And the second floor gets very hot when the heat is running.
Jeanne B. Oct 2019
Great location. Very comfortable.
Jeff C. Jul 2019
Loved the location in Durango, minutes from town. Great kitchen, well stocked. Interior very well remodeled.

Emily G. Jul 2019
I particularly liked the cleanliness and the cool countertops. I would recommend this house. The only problem is that the washing machine was broken. I called to report it, they said they would send someone to fix it.... but they didn't.
Manager response:
We are glad you enjoyed your time at this home! The washing machine has been repaired and we apologize that it was not done during your stay. We hope to host you again soon.
Dennis S. Jun 2019
Comfortable, clean, quiet Victorian home. Close to everything. Excellent home if you’re traveling with children. My granddaughters loved the small park across the street.
Sheri P. Apr 2019
Loved the location of the house and the spacious living/kitchen area. The rooms and bed space were perfect size. Plenty of room for our family gathering.
Christopher V. Apr 2019
The house was clean and we were in walking distance to the river trail and downtown. We would stay there again.
Ryan G. Mar 2019
Wonderful stay, the place was very clean and local staff were very responsive.
john d. Nov 2018
nicely redesigned interior, preserved Victorian exterior, thoughtfully equipped and prepared for our visit.
Daryl R. Oct 2018
Nice family house. Large enough for medium sized family. Super location
Vince G. Oct 2018
Loved our stay.
2 suggestions:
Leave directions on how to use the tv/ cable .
Need a light with sensor for parking area.
Alison F. Aug 2018
We stayed for three nights on a Harley trip and it was fantastic. There was great parking. The house was well equipped. And it was a fantastic location.
Shawn D. Jun 2018
Loved this place! Great for a weekend getaway. Big yard for backyard grilling, a hammock, and large wonderful kitchen. The inside of the house is updated/renovated and clean, but still has a cottage feel. One note to visitors - there was no detergent, laundry detergent, and not enough toilet paper, so be sure to buy these items upon arrival.
Brett W. Jun 2018
Updated nice house, great yard and porch, we loved being across the street from a park and playground for the kids.
Jason S. Jun 2018
Excellent house and location. Park right across the street. Walk to DT and the river trail. Great deal.
Rafael R. May 2018
The home is located close to downtown. It is across the street from a park but not a safe park for children to be sent there alone.
As we do several VRBO/ Vacasa rentals each year I can share our thoughts on this property based on experience:
- it is an old house that has had remodeling, but it’s ok inside. Various pictures we took reflect no care to details for guests. For example: when we arrived 4 windows were left open- poor security. Pictures will show severely damaged kitchen table chairs from age. The other chairs were mismatched.
- it’s called the park house because it’s across from a city park, a city park with unfortunate homeless sleeping there. We had no problems but not the best place.
- the bathroom downstairs has the washer dryer inside of it, not very attractive -& the walls next to the shower were damaged from past water runoff.
- there was ample parking in the back but the trees there dropped a significant amount of sap that requires the car to be professionally cleaned.
- the main tv was a small 30” flat screen tv with poor picture quality
- we were shocked to find Kitchen eating utensils dirty in the drawer with dried food particles.
- the Home does not have 2 king beds, just one upstairs. All beds seemed comfortable.
- the floors were in good condition and it was a clean home.
- the backyard sofa was a wreak with broken cushions and collapsed cushion seat.
- with the exception of the living room sofa all the rest of the furniture was old & mismatched
This is not a place I would recommend to stay and the price of each night was not appropriate based on the above.
Manager response:
We apologize that this guest did not enjoy their stay. We try to open the home up for guest arrivals to make the home more welcoming; this is not normally a concern as we do not have crime in the Durango area like that of larger cities. Our maintenance team has addressed the kitchen chairs, and we have asked the cleaning contractor to inspect the kitchen and other areas of the home after each clean. Vacasa has no control over who uses the park, but it's usually filled with children having a good time during the day. We have changed the listing to reflect a single king bed and spoken to the owner regarding the outdoor furniture. Thanks!
Karen B. Oct 2017
We had a fabulous time in Durango at The Park House! Three generations of family enjoyed laughs and drinks around the kitchen counter while visiting our son, who attends Fort Lewis College and plays on the Mens Soccer Team. The kitchen supplies were ample to make a big pot of chili, the accommodations were perfect for all three generations, and the access to downtown and river walk were an added bonus. We will return!
Audrey C. Oct 2017
Had a great time.
Kimberlee S. Oct 2017
The Park House in Durango is in a lovely neighborhood with easy access to the Animas river walk. The house is very spacious ,well decorated and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.
Kathleen C. Oct 2017
Beautiful house, and 5 of us traveling together stayed for 2 nights. Overall we enjoyed our stay. There was a very sweet cat living outside on the porch furniture, and it was obvious from the cat hair on the cushion that it had lived here for some time. The cat didn't leave for the entire time we stayed; I hope the management is taking care of this little guy!
William W. Sep 2017
three couples who enjoy the fall craft festival in Durango and also riding the Durango and Silverton spent three nights in the Park House this past week. Lovely home , central location - highly recommended
Chris M. Sep 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Park House in Durango. House is beautiful with a gorgeous kitchen and lots of charm. Lovely neighborhood in a park setting. Perfect for our group with close proximity to all the fun activities.
Brooke F. Aug 2017
My family just returned from our vacation in Durango and for the most part were pleased with this home. We found the Vacasa Customer Service rep we spoke to both friendly and helpful.
The furniture, figures, and house as a whole were all nice. There is plenty of seating for dining and seating for 5 in the living room (but comfortable dining chairs made for easy transition pieces).
We saw a bear in the backyard, which was cool, except that (s)he got in the garbage which is bad for the bear as well as no fun cleaning up after. This property definitely needs bear-proof trashcans.
The thermostat had per-programmed settings, which kept overriding my choices. This frustrated me, especially when I woke up one night to the heat running in August!
Nancy B. Jul 2017
Very nicely appointed; good beds and bath facilities. Convenient location.
Susan M. Jun 2017
The house is at it appears in the photos. It's updated and very clean. The location is great. My kids loved the park across the street and we went for a walk into downtown several times. The yard is great and private, but the outdoor furniture is deplorable. It's trashed and torn and dirty. I did not want to sit on it. Very disappointing as the weather was beautiful. Also, there is no DVD player which is strange for a vacation home. We were hoping for a movie night with the kids, but not to happen. There is only one TV, which was fine with us, but may be a problem for another group. Lots of clean towels and hot water though.
Mike W. Jun 2017
Very nice place to stay and great location !
David K. May 2017
We met up with family for a few days in Durango and loved this house. We have children and this house was perfect as it's right across the street from a park. This home was much nicer than we expected, the pictures do not do it justice. The home is located in a great area of town, just a few blocks from downtown. Wifi was great, beds were comfy, shower was nice, very impressive remodel. My wife liked this home so much she took photos of every room and drew the layout on paper so we could someday build one just like it.

We received an e-mail the day before checkout with an offer to extend our check-out time until 7pm for a small fee. It was a nice treat not having to rush on the day we were leaving. We ended up having a nice breakfast and lunch before having to pack up to leave later in the afternoon.

Barbara S. May 2017
Great house for entertaining, well stocked Kitchen, ,easy accessablility to Downtown Durango
Nikki T. Mar 2017
This house is perfectly located. It is off a side street so you have privacy, but it is just a very short walk into town. There is a park right across the street so if you have little ones, they will love the playground. The parking off-street was very convenient and we felt very safe. We had a wonderful stay!
Audra F. Mar 2017
Great home away from home with wonderful location and everything you will need on your vacation. House was very clean and well kept. Definitely check out this rental if you need a place to stay.
Brooke G. Feb 2017
Great place!
Jim S. Feb 2017
Property slept 6 very comfortably. Very convenient to Purgatory and downtown Durango.
Mark B. Jan 2017
We drove up from Albuquerque and stayed at the house two days while skiing in Purgatory. The house was comfortable, clean and very well maintained. The location within Durango is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
Mary Lynn O. Dec 2016
this was a great location and house for us. I would recommend it for a family or adults
Angela . Nov 2016
Very beautiful home with a great location.
David G. Oct 2016
Very much enjoyed our stay. the house was beautifully restored. We all loved it. Location was great. We walked to town and along the river. Spectacularly beautiful.
Thomas W. Oct 2016
Great location very nice property
John F. Oct 2016
Five of us stayed there last weekend and really enjoyed the house and its location (short walk to downtown). Parking (always a concern) was easy. Would stay here again if we're back in Durango.
Julie P. Oct 2016
Despite visiting the area many times, this was the first time we have opted for a rental rather than a hotel and it was a very positive experience for us. Excellent property, good location within easy walking distance of town, plenty of room for a family of five. Found everything we needed other than a hair dryer and appreciated the extras such as soap, washing detergent etc. Deer visiting next door's garden were a bonus. Great stay.
Angela B. Sep 2016
We'll be back
Jill J. Sep 2016
This rental was the perfect home away from home. It has been beautifully renovated and kept in clean and good condition. Very convienant to have a washer and dryer and full kitchen during our stay. It was located across from a park in s quiet neighborhood. It is a short drive to downtown and a easy walk to animas brewery.
Mary R. Sep 2016
Close to town and easy walking distance to all stores.
Spacious and comfortable home. We will return!
Amy R. Sep 2016
The house is absolutely perfect. If I could pick it up and take it with me, I would be forever happy! Realize, you are right next to a drive through bank, a few feet down from MAIN St., Wendys, Burger King, etc. The backyard is cute and fenced, but the street noise is loud if that bothers you. It is a victorian home completely and perfectly remodeled with lots of space and modern amenities and very comfortable beds, but NOT in a victorian, cute neighborhood although there is a nice park right across the street. The train "horn" woke us up between 8 and 8:30 each morning. There was no WIFI yet clearly there was a problem with it before we came from the piles of modem, routers and wires on the floor. Stayed three nights and had business (and teens) needing wifi. There is no DVD player either. More than the wifi issue is that although VACASA rents and answers the phone, they may not take care of issues. (I had qualms about this during booking where we had confusions with them and I mentioned that if anything went wrong I was concerned that it would be dealt with. Other reviews commented about this and unfortunately this ended up the case.) The second day they called a cheap local guy who played with the wires as I had already done and had told them, wasting two days. Another guy came who said they needed to call cable company for a new modem. They couldn't come until after we would be gone.

SO GREAT house. Know the other houses around (location) does't look like the snapshot. If nothing goes wrong during your stay, it could be a great place for your stay.
Manager response:
We are very sorry to see that this guest was not better cared for during their stay. The internet has been taken care of, and we do have more local team members now to assist our guests. Thanks!
Nancy C. Sep 2016
My Mom, Aunt, cousin and I were in Durango for a few days and this house was the perfect spot from which to enjoy our adventures.

From previous reviews, I was a little concerned about cleanliness...but there was no need to worry, this home was spic and span. The place was the perfect size for the 4 of us and could have easily accommodated a few more. Nice big kitchen with everything we needed and a big dining table for eating in. Even has a full size washer and dryer. Easy walk to downtown (20 minutes).

We'd definitely stay in this spot on a future visit to the area.
Ellen S. Sep 2016
A wonderful place to stay. Our family really appreciated it.
Erika L. Aug 2016
Walking distance to down town and the river trail. Plus literally across the street from park/playground if you have little ones. Nice yard and back porch set-up as well to enjoy the weather.
Elda S. Aug 2016
Good place to stay in Durango.
James T. Aug 2016
Good place close to town.
Brian T. Aug 2016
This is a very relaxing, comfortable home base for taking day trips to explore the southwest Colorado region. Easy day trips to Mesa Verde, Ouray, Teluride, Pagosa Springs, and of course, the Durango/Silverton Railway. The cleaning crew might pay a little more attention to details, but overall, this was a fantastic place for our group of six!
Andrea B. Jul 2016
Absolutely an adorable house, excellent back yard. Parking was great. Loved the bug kitchen. Perfect for our family of 6!
Kristian L. Jul 2016
Great location. Great house
Susan L. Jul 2016
Cute home, great kitchen space and large table for dining and playing cards, downstairs was spacious and clean, home has a great location across from a park and very near the downtown historic area of Durango. It had a nice patio in the backyard with parking for 2 average size vehicles. Bedroom linens left a little bit to be desired, and cleaning fee was pretty high, but overall a nice place to stay.
Jessica W. Jul 2016
This house has a great location to downtown and the park across the street is wonderful if you have little ones!
Juliet S. Jun 2016
This was a great house for our short stay in Durango. Close to downtown, easy to access with straightforward check-in instructions, and a great overall property.
Dee D. Jun 2016
The property and service was amazing, our family really enjoyed our time there. We would definitely stay there again.
Kenneth F. May 2016
Nice house in a nice neighborhood so we had a chance to mingle with the locals verses staying in a hotel and talking only with other visitors.
Sheri J. Mar 2016
Live the fantasy of old town Durango like you're a native. Walk to town, enjoy the historic neighborhood, and pretend you're part of the local scene. This charming remodel give you the chance to enjoy the magic of a small town in a bona-fide high end way - the home is finished beautifully and outfitted with love.
Ron P. Mar 2016
Convenient location and well kept victorian home with "good bones."
Don D. Feb 2016
This property had plenty of room to stretch out. The updates made the atmosphere comfortable and cozy in the cold.

Great kitchen area to hang out.