Beautiful cabin w/private hot tub! Hike, fish, shop & more!
A quintessential cabin-in-the-woods getaway awaits at this one-bedroom Idyllwild vacation rental. Perfect for a quiet couples weekend or an extended getaway with friends, this log cabin has a private hot tub, a wood-burning fireplace, and plenty of space for up to six guests!
Located on Strawberry Creek in the San Jacinto mountains about 50 miles west of Palm Springs, this home sits in a quiet wooded location in the mountain town of Idyllwild. Take a short hike, crossing over the creek, to Idyllwild's town center to eat a great meal at Gastrognome, embark on a mountain bike tour of the local wilderness with The Hub Cyclery, or shop for some cool new threads at The Sage & The Butterfly.
A rustic cabin with updated appliances, this home is a great choice for the adventurous vacationer who wants to have a true wilderness experience without giving up modern conveniences. On a cold winter day, throw some wood in the fireplace and relax on one of the couches as a fire warms the home.
Read a book by firelight, or switch on one of the living area's lamps and gather your group for a fun board game. Lounge on the futon and take a relaxing nap while snow falls outside, or put in a DVD and enjoy an afternoon movie with your group. There is no Internet access at this home, so it's a great opportunity to unplug and enjoy the company of your family or friends.
When it comes time to eat, cook hearty meals using a variety of cookware and the kitchen's modern appliances which include a microwave, a stove, and an oven. Eat together with your group at the custom knotty pine dining table, or head onto the deck to dine al fresco if the weather permits. Admire the pine woodlands while you swap stories of your day's adventures and savor a fresh, home-cooked meal.
Take a post-meal soak in the outdoor hot tub or in the bathroom's clawfoot tub, sit on the outdoor deck and listen to the sounds of nature all around you, or head into town for some great shopping.
After a full day of activities you'll be plenty tired, so get the restful sleep you need in the bedroom's king-size bed or on either of two queen-size futons. Up to six guests are comfortably accommodated on these beds. With wilderness-themed decor, a space heater, picture windows, and even a deer antler chandelier hanging over the bed, the bedroom is a warm and cozy space in which you'll surely get a good night's rest.
Wake up refreshed and ready for a new set of adventures which might include hiking at Mount San Jacinto State Park, attending a play at The Rustic Theater, or shopping among clothing boutique, cafes, and funky souvenir shops in Idyllwild's town center a half mile north. There's also fishing, stand-up paddle boarding, and other aquatic activities on Lake Hemet (eight miles south).
If you're in the mood for a day trip, drive 23 miles west to Hemet where you'll find the fun Fingerprints Youth Museum (sure to be a hit with your kids), live music and theater at the Ramona Bowl Amphitheater, and boating on Diamond Valley Lake. Hemet also boasts golf courses, hiking and biking trails, and wildlife viewing in Simpson Park.
Ready for a rejuvenating mountain escape? Book this Southern California vacation rental and start planning a fun-filled Idyllwild getaway today!
I loved the beauty of everything that the cabin offered. However, the foundation is in serious need of repair work. The whole cabin leans inward which creates an awkward atmosphere. The deck railing is completely unsafe, held together hap hazard like, with bailing wire. There are minor repairs that need addressing like the hot water valve in the bathroom sink is broken. Because the cabin is lopsided, taking a bath in the beautiful clawfoot tub is near impossible, a real bummer. However, on the plus side, the grounds were beautiful, quiet and serene. Just what we were wanting for the perfect honeymoon. Everything was clean and ready when we arrived, no issues other than the stated. We really did enjoy our stay.
The deck has been refurbished, and the hot water valve has been repaired. We do feel the 'lopsided'-ness of the cabin has been exaggerated, but we do ask that guests keep in mind this is a 1920s cabin, so it is going to have some quirks. Thank you!
We stayed there march 2018. The pictures on the web were misleading. The property has great location, good outside hot tube. There was only one tv chanel and a dvd player. Had problems to maintain heat (nothing was mentioned on the web till we paid and booked it). Very old, dark and rustic inside. We would not be back there.
We are sorry to see this guest was disappointed with their rental. The home is indeed dark and rustic as it has been preserved to retain its vintage 1920s charm. We have inspected the cable and found it working fine as well as the propane heating unit and space heater. We wish the guest had called for assistance with these matters so we could have improved their stay.
We stayed for three nights. The cabin was clean and the heaters were running with the hot tube ready and clean when we got there. Plenty of clean towels. We walked to and from town crossing the stream.
Overall we liked the cabin and had a great time.
Great gem of a cabin with a great location for Idyllwild
Great cabin to just get away and be with nature, lots of room, great for families, has lots of hiking and a park behind the property, and close to town.No modern appliances, very old and small oven & stove.
We had a lovely stay - family of 4. The cabin was comfortable and roomy enough for the four of us. The kitchen was stocked with enough cutlery and crockery so that we were able to cook our Christmas dinner. Lots of blankets and pillows for the beds. Huge fire place to keep an open fire for warmth but there were also radiators and a wall unit so we did not get cold at all. Hot tub was clean and in good working order. Location was great, just 5 min through the woods and over a creek into town. In town there are lots of cute shops and some bars and restaurants so plenty to do. Loads of hiking nearby as well if so inclined!
Has everything you need and convenient location walking distance to town center
This cabin was perfect for my family. There were 3 of us and we enjoyed the rustic yet modernized cabin. It was super close to town and very comfortable. We would recommend this home and we loved Idyllwild.
The online photos don't capture the true vintage flavor if this amazing old cabin. The interiors look like they've been in the same family for generations. There are old books and games in the cupboards and tin spatterware dishes in the kitchen. The HUGE stone fireplace was the icing on the cake. Staying here feels like being in the woods but it's in the very center of town; walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. If you're looking for a getaway from the modern world this is the place for you.
I took my girlfriend here for her birthday (3 day trip) and we had the most wonderous time. I can't say enough about the accommodations, location and amenities. The private hot tub was a wonderful place to spend the evening holding her and star gazing. The entire experience was perfect and I know we'll remember it for the rest of our lives.
Would stay again if deck was improved
According to one of the neighbors, the cabin is one of the oldest in the neighborhood. Definitely some parts of it felt older - the porch is a bit rickety and the bathroom door didn't like to stay closed. Plus, the water heater was shot when we came (which was fixed- but still meant 2 days of cold showers). [Note on the water cooler - they offered to move us to a different cabin due to the water, but since we had already gotten comfortable we chose to stay.]
That said, it was still a nice, relaxing stay. It's a very short walk into town, where there are some nice restaurants and shoppes. There are other cabins around you, so you aren't completely secluded, but it's still very quiet and peaceful under the trees on the porch or in the hot tub (for a city dweller like myself).
After fees, I paid about $200 a night, but the place is huge. There were 3 couches, one was a futon (I think, didn't pull it out) plus a queen bed. The porch wraps around with some plastic lawn chairs. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything we needed. There's a stove, fridge, etc. There were plenty of clean towels, extra toilet paper and paper towels, an extra set of sheets (I assume for the futon), and so on. They were also very fast at responding to our phone call and working with us to get issues resolved.
We fell in love, this place is exactly like the photos and is so peaceful!
This cabin is within walking distance to the town center by crossing the little stream. It was amazing to walk through the woods to buy grocery and head back for dinner . The cabin is excellent for family and would come here again !
It was a pleasant experience over all, we will rent this place again for sure! It just needs some minor repairs, other than that it's a great place to stay :)
It is a great place and a perfect location close to town. The cabin is very cool for those who like rustic. we loved it. Be careful walking on the deck. It is very old and rotted out.
But we had to crawl under the house to light the pilot since we did not have hot water.
We apologize the pilot light was not lit. We did have maintenance on their way to address the issue when the guest decided to handle it themselves. We have double-checked the pilot light and all is well.
This cabin is in a great location! We loved being a short distance to town and we enjoyed exploring the creek just yards away. This was a great place to rejuvenate and relax mid-week.
We loved the cabin and location. Very charming and comfortable. Just needed to have the proper plug to use the bath tub and the spa didn't get hot, but other than that, was perfect!
Nice, quaint, cozy cabin near town.
Full disclaimer: I tried twice to reach out to Vacasa directly in regards to our stay at Twin Tree Lodge in Idlywild, Ca (1/15-1/17) as opposed to writing a disappointing review on the property but they NEVER responded, so here is my review:
I booked this stay in hopes of having a quite restful couple days with my girlfriend in Idylwild. However, when we arrived, half the lights and outlets did not work in the house. The first thing I did was call the number provided to get some help, unfortunately, no one ever responded, no call, no email, nothing (and we never got a response the entire time we were there). As it was then getting dark, I finally decided to search around for a fuse box, to see if a fuse had been blown. After spending time searching around I finally found it outside and indeed a fuse had blown. So I reset the breaker and some of the lights came on, but some still did not (and yes we checked to see if it was plugged in or the bulb was screwed in all the way), and some of the outlets still did not work either.
Ok we, can work with that, but then my girlfriend went to wash her face in the bathroom sink and the knobs for the hot and cold water both come off! Ok fine, I'm a handy guy, so I got my multitool out and fixed both the knobs so we could use the sink in the bathroom.
Alright, whatever, well let's draw a bath and chill out....but wait, what's this....why is there water leaking out all over the floor.....oh its because there is a substantial leak under the claw foot tub where the drain connects to the drain pipe (see attached photos they don't do it justice, but you get the idea). It was rusted around the rim and there was nothing to tighten.....so using the tub was not really an option as we didn't want there to be any water damage to the floor, but I still had to spend time cleaning up the water that was all over the floor form the leak since no one from guest services was getting back to us.
I'm a pretty handy guy but I don't want to spend my trip with my girlfriend fixing issues on the property we are paying to rent. I hate to say it but, these are all things that are not what you'd expect when renting a place like this and really ended up putting a damper on our time.
It bums me out to write a review like this, because I don't want to hurt the property owners rating of the property, but I reached out twice to Vacasa directly to try and make things right but never got a response. If I were you, I'd rent through another company who might actually be there in case something goes wrong or you need their help.
We are incredibly sorry to read about this guest's experience. Since this reservation the home has a new Property Manager and extensive maintenance has taken place at the home. This includes fixing all leaks and loose knobs, replacing all burnt out bulbs, and resetting tripped breakers. We look forward to sharing this home with our guests!
Geovanna M. February 2017
This cabin is an adorable place to stay!! Very rustic and private. It's near town and the fireplace and tub were huge highlights! Adored this cabin, I will definitely stay here again with my family!
Christina C. January 2017
My boyfriend and I spent a romantic weekend while it was snowing and the cabin was absolutely perfect. We loved how large and yet how charming and cozy it was. It was perfect for the two of us but we could also see it being good for a larger family. We really enjoyed the surrounding views, the board games, the large windows with lots of natural sunlight, the huge fireplace and the private hot tub was amazing especially while it was snowing outside! We had no problems with the cabin being too cold with the exception of the kitchen but once you start cooking it's not so chilly. We also put one of the space heaters in there which helped.
We really enjoyed cooking all of our meals at the cabin. The kitchen was really cute and well stocked for a rental. The only thing missing was a large skillet but we made due without a problem. The oven and stove worked great. The views from the cabin are stunning and there is a gorgeous creek right in the back. It's far away enough from the other rentals to feel very private yet close enough to easily walk into town which was super convenient. We look forward to staying here again soon.
We loved this perfectly located cabin! It turned out to be larger than we expected. During our 2 night stay we walked to the main area of town multiple times! Even walked to dinner in the evening and enjoyed the cool, crisp weather. We hiked during the day in Humber Park and saw some snow on our 3 hour hike! We plan on going back and hopefully bringing a few others :)
Our Family loves the outdoors and camping. We are used to small camping stoves and our sleeping bags are well used. That is where the heart of this review comes from. We did enjoy our stay in this rustic cabin. It had just snowed and we were in a winter wonderland! However, the cabin was freezing. The heat was only raidiant heat from a very old heating system in the living room- not sufficient for freezing temperatures and if you were to stay in the summer we could see how the heat may be a problem as there is no air conditioning but only a small box fan provided. While the kitchen did have a nice set of knives it is definitely not a five star kitchen kind of space- we found it a fun experience to figure out how to get meals prepared - a very hungry person may not( bring your own skillet from home if you are a breakfast person). There is a microwave, coffee maker and full size fridge and small gas stove/oven. The bathroom is perfect and the water is HOT. We noticed some other reviewers stated it was dirty and full of bugs- we did not have a problem as it was winter but we could see how bugs could be a problem in the summer. As far as dirty - no it was very clean. You are out in the woods for goodness sake not at the Hyatt. You should expect a little dirt and a few bugs. All in all we had a good time and will come back to this charming cabin again. In closing - remember your skillet and if you will be staying in less then 50 degree weather, bring a space heater.
very nice and quiet cabin
We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin . We highly recommend it for a relaxing , get away for the weekend .
This is an amazing cabin for the price. It could be lived in as a house because it is so complete. The large fireplace makes it cozy and the wood throughout really feels like a mountain cabin. This is much larger than a regular cabin though. The heater works well if you don't want to use the fireplace.
The cabin is very cozy and the area is quiet. Enjoyed very much!
We wanted to get away from the madding crowds of LA to celebrate our anniversary but we only had a couple of days. This rustic cabin was perfect for a quiet, beautiful escape. It's set on grounds that look as if you're stepping back in the time of the pioneers. And while this place is old, it's awesome. Loved the huge stone fireplace and the large room. We played Trivial Pursuit, drank wine not the deck under the stars and topped it off with a late night hot tub. A wonderful place.
A darling Rustic cabin next to a stream, park, and the downtown! We loved the hot tub!
This is a lovely cabin that I would definitely revisit. Kitchen had everything we needed, we were walking distance from downtown, and the hot-tub made for pleasant stargazing.
My boyfriend and now fiancé love this lodge. It's so romantic, roomy, isolated, and quiet. Enjoy a getaway and still be close enough to walk into town or go hiking minutes away. This lodge is cozy, warm, and has lots of charm.
This cabin is cozy and rustic, a perfect feel for the surrounding area. It's quiet and peaceful, perfect for an escape into the forest.
nice gateway from Palm Springs, relaxing atmosphere and great location.
Alexander T. October 2016
Whether it's a romantic get-away with your loved one, or you just want a some time in Idyllwild with friends, this cabin is perfect. When my fiancee and I arrived, we were surprised by how large the cabin was. The living room/fireplace area looks like something out of a movie, and the entire cabin is picturesque. I definitely want to come back.
Cabin has everything you need (but bring sugar!) and very lovely surroundings. It was particularly exciting for us to park the car for 2 days and be able to walk everywhere. Idyllwild is an enchanting village.
This was a very quiet cabin. No one too close and it wasn't far from the village. The decor was nice and felt like a cabin in the woods. I would recommend this property
Twin Trees Lodge is just the right amount of rustic with all the comforts of a hotel (good bed, linens, fully equipped kitchen) but the privacy and quiet of a large wooded yard, and sunny deck. We didn't use the hot tub or stove so can't comment on them, but the beautiful long dining table calls out for a gathering of family or friends. The furniture is comfortable, and the warm accents throughout make for a perfect mountain cabin experience. We'll be back!
A beautiful cabin in the heart of Idyllwild, close to everything. It is very cozy, clean, and charming.
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was a great getaway! So nice to spend time together in the woods and enjoy each other's company. You can walk through strawberry creek and end up right in the middle of town at around 0.6 miles. No need to drive once you arrive and park. The lodge itself is rustic with its exposed wood beams. It's a perfect quiet getaway with loved ones.
Beautiful, spacious, short walk to town over creek to right. Porch, privacy is good. I would go again
This cabin is definitely rustic. The property management company needs to spend more time cleaning and maintaining it. With new lightbulbs, a thorough sweeping outside and cleaning inside, repairs to the bathroom shower, and more care to clean the kitchen, this cabin would be a great, romantic getaway.
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are always finding ways to improve. With the information you provided, we were able to get our local operations manager out to the home to address your concerns. All burnt out light bulbs have been replaced, and the shower drain that was clogged is now clear and running properly. The dishwasher has been removed from the amenities listing, as it is no longer available. We hope to have you again soon!
This was a wonderful cabin with room to entertain. We played the board games and used the cute little kitchen. The bed was a bit stiff, but the hot tub was warm and ready right when we arrived. Couple minutes drive from town, very happy with our weekend getaway!
If you want a real cabin experience definitely the place to stay.
We had a great time celebrating our fifth "wood" anniversary at this charming cabin in the woods. The house was charming, the deck was lovely, the hot tub private and clean. A short walk through the woods took us into town. We loved it and will be back.
Authentic cabin,really old school.fire place and claw foot tub were great fun. Lots of hot water,and plenty of warmth with many space heaters available for use.The teeny tiny stove was adorable and fully functional but be carful lighting,not clear which burner is on ,a learning curve that can cost you some singed hair.
Cute cabin. Would reccommend.
Absolutely wonderful time in this cozy cabin. All amenities were delightful and the small and quiet town was just a stone skip away
A lovely old historic summer home with lots of charm and evident family history. Not insulated or weather stripped so very drafty and freezing cold in kitchen especially. Snow or ice on decent from road or on deck or steps can be hazardous , but the extremely large lot with large pines, a scenic wagon, and foot bridge, made for beautiful views. Quite private in winter. The main room is large, comfortable, and beautiful with warm light at night. Large screened doors that open onto the wrap around deck would be delightful in summer, but are drafty in winter. The fireplace actually heats the room and draws all smoke outside. Games and books available, and rustic art and crafts with solid pine or vintage furniture gives a sense of old time Idylwild. Just keep in mind, this wonderful old jewel has no insulation or weather stripping for cold weather. Keeping warm was a struggle.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to see that you were so cold and will see if we can get some extra blankets and space heaters in the home for the time being. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the picturesque location!
There is a second cabin on the other side of the property with its own driveway. The people staying at the other cabin got stuck in the snow on their driveway and dug a hole to get themselves out, then parked at the base of my driveway completely blocking it. They then covered the 5 foot hole they dug with snow. I drove in, noticed my driveway was completely blocked, so I pulled a little into the other driveway (at the base of it) so that I could park somewhere while I asked the other people in the other cabin if I could switch parking spots so that I could get into my driveway they were blocking. When I pulled into the base of the driveway, I fell into that huge hole I had no idea was there because it was covered by all the snow they covered it with. I tried backing out and getting traction, with no luck. The entire vacation was spent trying to dig my car out of that hole in the snow, and then spending the evenings hungry (because we spent daylight hours on the car instead of walking into town) and cold because the heater never warmed up enough. The last day there, we called a tow truck, which was a cost we were completely unprepared for.
This experience was awful, and could have been avoided if the driveways were maintained (especially if I could have used my own), the heater wasn't blocked at a low setting, and the shower wasn't painfully harsh.
We are sorry to see that the snow caused such an issue for you during your stay. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over HOA or city plows, but will do our best to see to it that the driveways are cleared out for our guests. We hope you enjoyed the home itself during the time you were able to spend in it!
Absolutely beautiful cabin! The fireplace was massive and we loved sitting in front of the fire. The living area is large yet still very cozy. Very nice hot tub which seemed brand new and also a good size. Well equipped kitchen and beautiful views of the trees from the kitchen. Walking distance from the town center but tucked away which is very nice. Just a super cute and cozy cabin - I will definitely stay here again!
I was planning a trip with my family and saw a picture of this cabin online. We thought the picture looked nice so we rented the cabin, only to find that the cabin was actually old and creaky, with badly tilted floors, broken furniture, not enough kitchenware, and a dirty and cold spa. Ive been to a lot of the cabins in Idyllwild, and i think this cabin wont be one that i plan returning to soon.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are very sorry to see that you did not better enjoy your stay. We will check the furniture to see what needs maintenance, we would love to receive specific input on what is needed in the kitchen, and we will be sure the hot tub is properly cleaned and warmed up for future guests! This is a great little spot for a romantic getaway!