Virtual Tour
USA California Idyllwild Idyllwild-Pine Cove Listing #4282

Big Oak Retreat - Idyllwild, CA

40 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
54059 Montgomery St., Idyllwild, CA 92549

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Rustic cabin in the woods w/ private hot tub & convenient location - dogs ok!

Retreat to the woods with this dog-friendly Idyllwild vacation rental that's off the beaten path! With rustic charm yet boasting a private hot tub, you'll feel rejuvenated in no time as you unplug and unwind in this mountain atmosphere.

Tucked away among lush ponderosa pines, this cabin is private but only a mile from town. Please be aware that in winter the access road is sometimes difficult to traverse; fortunately, both town and the Tahquitz Pines Conference Center are within easy walking distance. For fantastic hikes, climbing, and more, the Idyllwild Nature Center is only two miles away.

The home has a welcoming charm, with wooden walls and wicker chairs. With no WiFi available, you'll be able to unplug and recharge. If you just want to chat with your friends after a long day, put some music on the stereo for ambiance. For those with a competitive nature, there are board games provided so that you can start a tournament, or books if you would rather have some quiet time.

A fully stocked kitchen is more than up to your cooking adventures. Brew some coffee to help with inspiration, then try a new recipe! When you're done, set everything out on the cheerful breakfast nook to eat.

At night, soak your cares away in the hot tub while enjoying the sound of the wind in the trees.

Two cheerful, well-appointed bedrooms have plush queen beds. A third bedroom, this one with a double bed, has an en suite bathroom with a standalone shower. With two full bathrooms, larger parties won't need to stress about long lines for the restroom. If you'd like to bring your canine companions along for a small fee, that's no problem!

Perfect for a girls' getaway or some couples traveling together, there's plenty to do in the area. Catch a live show at one of several local venues, or if you're lucky enough to be around at the right time, make sure to attend the Jazz in the Pines festival with world-class jazz musicians. In addition to the wonderful music in town, there are dozens of art galleries featuring paintings, sculpture, and ceramics by local artists.

Fisherfolk can spend hours at Lake Hemet, catching trout. (But make sure you have a valid fishing license!) For the hikers, try one of the many trails nearby, like the evocatively named Devils Slide Trail or Deer Springs Trail. Fans of mountain biking and climbing will also find plenty to catch their attention, with gear rentals available in town.

For a chance to get back to nature while enjoying amazing art and music, book this Southern California vacation rental today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

Property permit ID: RVC-077



Children's games

Heating & cooling

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining









On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games



Enclosed yard

40 reviews

Tom D. Nov 2019
fireplace and hottub were nice. no laundry as advertised and cable was out. one bed very uncomfortable. We shoukd hace paid half what we did for what we got.
Manager response:
Hi, Tom! We are sorry to see you were not fully satisfied with your rental experience. This home has no laundry facilities, and the cable will be fixed as soon as the provider is able to get to the home. Thank you for staying with us!
Richard P. Oct 2019
Sheryl R. Aug 2019
Close to town, saw deer every day. Vintage home. Very relaxing
Thomas D. Nov 2018
The kitchen door opens directly to the patio and fenced in back yard. The dogs loved being able to go in and out at their leisure. The house is spacious and private. My only complaint was that it did not have WIFI. I did not notice that when I booked it.
Anthony D. Oct 2018
this was a great getaway. had a great time, besides the power being out (no fault of VACASA or the owner) it was a great overall experience. this will be our go to place for rest and relaxation!!!!! town was great the first day, 2nd and 3rd day power was still off so forced us to enjoy mother nature. isn't that what we come up here for :). I would give this a two thumbs up and 10 + stars!!!!!!!
Russ W. Sep 2018
I posted on VRBO
loose nails and screws all over outside in the front and in the fenced in yard, as well as dangling between the boards on the deck

Stepped on one and dog tried to eat one
Nice little cabin in the woods if they just cleaned up a little.
Constance H. Jun 2018
Very comfortable home with everything in good working order. Vacasa placed us there after an original booking had gone very wrong. We are coming back.
Patrick W. May 2018
Nice place for a weekend get away. Close to town and to hiking. Very quiet, secluded place.
Luis R. May 2018
Great location, easy access to Idyllwild's Village. Our Family enjoyed our weekend bday get-a-way and look forward to our next mini vacay!!
Chenoa P. Mar 2018
This was my 3rd stay in this home and I can't wait to come back. Newly refreshed exterior yet it keeps it's rustic feel. I love the location because it's still close to town but awesome view of the forest. My husband and I spent our anniversary here and it was amazing. Bed is soo comfy too. And a new wood stove that was perfect. And you can't beat the hot tub of course!
Bond M. Jan 2018
Thank you so much for having this place available to our family! It was nice to have everyone there to just relax and have a good time! Our family absolutely loved this cabin! I have never been so happy to be somewhere! It’s a very cozy and nice cabin! One that our family will for sure be staying in again! Thank you again! We love it there! Second time staying there, and for sure not the last time!
Cheryl S. Nov 2017
Beautiful, "rustic" accomodations in a very private area...and even had a hot tub!!! The locals we met are incredibly kind, "down-to-earth" and made us feel like we were just 'one of the neighbors'. I cannot wait to return with more friends & family!
Elizabeth H. Oct 2017
Booked this place for my birthday getaway alone and it exceed my expectations. It’s so cute and cozy. My whole experience was simply amazing! Would definitely stay here again.
JASON I. Aug 2017
Loved it, not wasting time writing a review though... too busy.
Daniel G. Apr 2017
Easy walk to town.
Heating doesn't work in main room - fireplace is great though and bedroom heating was fine.
Hot Tub works but is so heavily chlorinated you can't really use it so don't go for this one just for the tub as we did.
Tv had to be plugged in across the room using an extension (the cable then goes across the doorway).
This property Generally needs a bit of love...
Manager response:
The heating and hot tub are being inspected very soon and will be fixed quickly. The TV outlet is controlled by a light switch which we have now labeled so guests can use the TV without inconvenience. Thank you!
Kristin P. Mar 2017
Comfortable and roomy cabin. Hot tub was wonderful. Nice walk into town.
Alan W. Feb 2017
We actually told some people about this [place as we were driving home from our trip and about what a fantastic time we had and that your company represented itself as exactly things were and we appreciated that you have been great to us and we look forward to our next getaway with you, we believe word of mouth can make or break a company and we had positive things to say regarding you and thank you again for making this family getaway a trip we will never forget and memories to last a lifetime may God bless us all
Julian S. Feb 2017
Nice location with a little steam directly behind it. The town is nice and people are pretty friendly. If you don't like hippies I'd go elsewhere.
Michael B. Dec 2016
My partner and I enjoyed a very romantic white Christmas together at the cabin. It was perfectly rustic and simple, but well appointed and comfortable. The fireplace is fantastic... but a lot of wood, you will need it! ???? Thank you so much for opening your home to us. We will definitely be back!
Amy C. Nov 2016
We loved the cabin, rustic but comfortable. Close walk to town.
Luis S. Nov 2016
Overall is a great location and was a grear experience i would definitely recommend this place to friends and family
TSZTIN C. Oct 2016
Great little cabin and a great escape retreat in idyllwild.
Christina C. Oct 2016
Beautiful, cozy cabin in Idyllwild. Would definitely come back again!
Eugene M. Aug 2016
We really enjoyed our stay...favorite part has to be the porches....back for the hot tub and the morning shade and the front for the coolness of the shade of that huge oak in the front... fabulous time.
Marc M. Jul 2016
This was our third stay at the Big Oak Cabin. We really like the location, within walking distance to town and away from a main street. There were a couple of maintenance items that need to be addressed, but those were communicated to Vacasa for attention. We will plan to stay there again.
Winston C. Jun 2016
We stayed the weekend and had a great experience overall. The place is very clean and generally in good repair with only a few issues encountered. The biggest one being that the hot tub apparently needs a new filter; the property manager came out within minutes of calling about the tub not working, and advised just using it without the filter and that was fine with is since the water was decently chlorinated, but be advised if it doesn't work this may be the issue. We didn't get the cable working while there but that wasn't very important because we had plenty to do otherwise, however the lack of DVD player was kind of a bummer. In general I'd say the place could just use some touching up and general updates, eg many of the electrical outlets are totally worn out and some lights didn't work and the "sound system" is pretty janky, but nothing about the place kept us from having a wonderful time, just plan to make your own entertainment if you stay here.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconveniences this guest experienced while staying here. The hot tub filter has been replaced by a spa tech, an electrician has been scheduled to fix the lights and outlets, the DVD player will be replaced, and we will inspect the cable box.
Jayna J. May 2016
Wonderful little cabin with 3 bedrooms and a pullout sofa. Great to be able to bring our dog. Fire place and jacuzzi were a definite plus. Playing games and laughing all night with the family was priceless. Thank you.
Cheryl S. Apr 2016
very cute and warm great for a family of about 6 to be comfortable .Large play area for the kids .Nice location
Karen G. Apr 2016
Overall good cabin but a bit more rundown than expected. Great location and appreciate that it is dog friendly.
Geoffrey D. Mar 2016
Overall, was pleased with cabin/property, especially considering the price, it is a worthy option in comparison to other properties. We had a family of 4 (2 young kids) + 2 dogs, and the cabin was plenty big enough for us. Was worried about the reviews preceding my visit, but thankfully these issues had been resolved by the time we visited. Note that this is a cabin, it's not fancy, but has all the creature comforts/amenities you should expect in a cabin these days and not much more (except for the hot tub, which was nice). And like all cabins I grew up with...things are a little bit aged and hodge-podge, but it's fine, its a cabin. We liked how there was a large enough yard area for the kids & dogs to run around and play. It's really close to town (walking distance), yet set off of main roads, also positives. There is no wi-fi, which I sort of enjoyed, but FYI for those that can't untether. If you are looking for a good price on a cabin to accommodate pets/kids, this should work for you, we had a really nice time.

P.S. the address is actually 54059 Montgomery (not 54509), that took a little while to figure out... ;-)
Christopher S. Feb 2016
There was no firewood when we arrived and since check in was after 4pm, we arrived at dark. We left firewood for future guests staying at the property and a long burning easy light as well. Just as a courtesy maybe for future guests to leave a log or 2 for the fireplace. We bought plenty to get the next guests started. For nearly $1,000 for just 2 nights, the beds could have been more comfy and something nicer to sit on in the living room than a wicker chair. But this was more like a very expensive camping experience instead of a nice cabin rental for the price.....Will most likely stay elsewhere in the future.