Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Depoe Bay Listing #52

Secluded Oceans - Depoe Bay, OR

71 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Dog Friendly 
95 SE Boiler Bay St., Depoe Bay, OR 97341

Secluded beachfront home with amazing views - dogs welcome!

This hilltop Depoe Bay vacation rental is perfect for large families or a group of couples. With breathtaking views of the coast from the front porch and deck and comfortable leather furnishings and a fully equipped kitchen back inside, you'll have everything you need to treat your loved ones to an unforgettable vacation. You can even spot whales from the kitchen!

What's nearby:
This home lies just to the south of Fogarty Creek, which offers easy parking and access to the beach, along with great spots for picnicking and hiking. The Otter Crest Scenic Loop provides a gorgeous drive with plenty of ocean views, while central Depoe Bay's shops and restaurants are a mile-and-a-half from your front door. You're also a quick day trip from the Newport Aquarium to the south, or Lincoln City's shopping and dining to the north.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Up to two dogs are welcome for a small nightly pet fee

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Washer Dryer : Private

Wood Fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Wave

Cable : Wave

DVD Library

DVD Player

Stereo

TV

VCR

VHS Library

Outdoor

Gas Grill : Private

Deck

Scenic

Water View

71 Reviews

Kassandra K. Sep 2018
The house was really spacious and had room for all of us. The downstairs smelled like mold. The windows downstairs had black mold in them. We didn’t even want the kids playing downstairs with the pool table because the smell was that bad. We also noticed there was mold in the master bedroom windows. Also the water smelled really bad like rotten eggs. I was told it was well water but never have I ever smelled well water that bad before. It was horrible taking showers. We didn’t even cook in the house because of it..
Manager Response:
We apologize for this guest's disappointments. The well water does have a sulfuric odor which is why the owner stocks water for drinking and cooking. The windows are oxidized, but there is no mold. Thank you!
Frank E. Jul 2018
The house was a nice stay.
It needed some updates and outdoor furniture.
Who ever stayed before us had animals that peed in the house, made for a smelly stay. We had to go purchase air fresheners to get by
Manager Response:
The carpet has been shampooed, and we have added some outdoor furniture. We appreciate receiving this feedback so we could make these improvements. Thank you!
Nancy S. Apr 2018
We stayed an entire week here. The views are amazing and during the migration we were able to spot whales right out the window. The home is very private and makes for a wonderful stay for a family. The only down fall was the stinky water and the construction next door.
Manager Response:
We do advise of the mineral water from the well in the description of the home and information sent to our guests after booking; we do apologize if this came as a surprise. The owner provides a case of bottled water for drinking and a couple of gallons for cooking to help. The neighbor has not made us aware of construction plans or timelines, but this has not been an issue during quiet hours. Thanks!
Laurie W. Apr 2018
I loved the view of the ocean. It was great to see if the whales. Everyone in my family saw them but me. Also having the pool table downstairs was awesome. The kids loved beating the grandparents and dad at pool
Nancy S. Sep 2017
Stayed for about a week and a half with family and friends and found the house to be very spacious. The bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen and dining room had great views of the ocean. The house is in a quiet and convenient location. One of the more affordable vacation rentals I was able to find for the duration and all the space and bedrooms we needed. However, some cleanliness issues were noted during our stay and the furniture in the living room and basement could stand to be updated. Also the description says the house sleeps 8 and that there is a king, two queens, and a sofa bed but we did not find a sofa bed (but did find a fold up twin in the closet of one bedroom). Overall our stay was wonderful and I was so happy to be able to bring my dog.
Roland M. Aug 2017
The House was dirty and had many broken items (chairs,sofa,BBQ was rusted out full of old grease) It looked like no one had cleaned the place in years. The decor was old and out dated and the carpet was so dirty. But the smell was the worst! we bought candles but it was really bad. I saw many mouse traps outside maybe one died inside. Not what we wanted for a family vacation.
Manager Response:
The owner has ordered new furniture to replace the couch, love seat, and recliners. These should be in place by the end of October. The chairs have been replaced, the owner is getting new flooring this winter, and we have deep cleaned the home. Thanks!
Vena D. May 2017
Great spot to stay! Very homey, had everything we needed, beautiful view
La Tonya G. Oct 2016
Very respected company and comes highly recommended. But needs to make sure each home is cared for in equal fashion. Then each family that vacations there is allowed the same experience as the one before them.
Manager Response:
We are very sorry to see that this guest was disappointed with their experience; the Property Manager has worked with them regarding the inconveniences they experienced during their stay.
Theresa K. Sep 2016
Nice view and big house
Corie H. Sep 2016
This property has amazing views of the ocean like right off a postcard. My son and his friend did walk to the beach from the property but the rest of us did not. To do so, you do have to cross Highway 101. The family loved the pool table in the basement and had many great games on this. It was very neutral to get to either Lincoln City or Newport in a quick, easy drive. And of course Depoe Bay is right around the corner and has many cute little shops. We were moved into this house last minute because the initial property that we chose did not work out for our family. We were so fortunate to get this home as it has such amazing views. I like the seclusion of the property so there's not people right on top of you but yet you're still close to everything. The home is well set-up and very clean and comfortable.
Daniel P. Aug 2016
House is in a great area. It's nice and quiet. Would be great for large families.
Lynda S. Jul 2016
Home is very spacious, comfy beds, all appliances in good working order, and lovely views for whale watching, but there is a plumbing issue that we had to wait to get fixed and the upstairs tub needs nonslip strips or an assistance handrail for us older folk. Living room furniture could use some TLC and pool table in rough shape.
Jeff T. Jul 2016
This house is in a good location with a great ocean view (not ocean front as it's on the east side of hwy 101).

Plumbing is horrible - showers don't drain, water pressure is very weak, water smells like sulpher. House needs work to be a good rental.

For the rental cost, this is a great rental, IF the issues noted above are resolved.

The house is at the end of a short road with lots of privacy. If you have a dog, it's a great place as there is plenty of safe outdoor space.
Manager Response:
We have had a plumber out to the house to take care of the plumbing issues. The water source for this home is a mineral water well with a sulfuric odor; filters are checked and replaced regularly, but the odor cannot be eliminated.
Clay H. Jun 2016
Secluded with a great view and easy access to anything you could need. We can't wait to go back.
Jenna M. Jun 2016
This is an older house with great views and an affordable rate but I can't even remotely recommend it. Just running the faucet in the the kitchen or bathrooms will stink up the entire house with the smell of sewage. We didn't want to risk drinking or taking showers with this water. If you look in the log book you can find it filled with comments for the past 3 years of people complaining of the water so the owners are aware of the issue.
Manager Response:
We apologize that the water was so unsatisfactory. The home is on a well, and the water has always been sulfuric in odor and taste. The Property Manager has replaced the filters and will begin supplying drinking water for our guests.
Vivek K. Jun 2016
This property needs to fix the plumbing. High sulphur and stinking water supply. Claim of >6 sleep is not entirely met as the quality of the spring bed in basement and the mattress provided is way below par.

Unsatisfied and dismayed that vacasa did no validation.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that this stay was not more enjoyable and will investigate the situation.
David S. May 2016
Cleaning fee was high!
Manager Response:
Cleaning fees will vary from reservation to reservation depending on the home and length of stay - please call us for more details.
Rhonda D. Mar 2016
Overall nice place to stay for the price and location.
Brenda K. Mar 2016
great view house could be up dated a little
Trudy L. Nov 2015
We loved the location of this home. The views are amazing! It was spacious for our family holiday gathering. The house & furnishings are dated and the water does smell. But overall we enjoyed our stay. The TV's had been updated to flat screens, the cable and videos were a nice amenity for game day and relaxing. This house does NOT have beach access. You can drive north on 101 to Fogarty Creek state park, which is about 1 mile away. We suggest the north entrance & parking. The beach is a short walk under the freeway on a paved path and there are restrooms.
Karen A. Aug 2015
The taste of the water was a problem for several of our party so we bought gallons of bottled water for cooking and drinking. The carpet needs badly to be cleaned. The shower door on the main floor was broken and barely hanging on. It was a safety hazard. Having said the negatives first, we loved the view. It was near to Depoe Bay. It has three good sized bedrooms. The kitchen is nice and has been well stocked with necessary things. The basement has a funny smell, but the grandkids didn't complain. It was relatively dated but we had fun as a family which was the whole point.
Raymond P. Jul 2015
The house was great, plenty of room. The only real issue is when we went to look for the hide-a-bed. It was no-where to be found. Our experience is that these beds are hidden in a couch., not in this case. We opened a closet door in one of the bedrooms and there was one trundle bed, and two twin mattresses. One of the twin mattresses was ripped open. My wife and I were able to make it work before any of the other guests arrived. Thank goodness. One more thing was the washing machine was broken, it had a note on it. Parts were ordered by maintenance. Thanks for sharing this home it was wonderful all in all.
Jonette S. Jul 2015
Even though the house and furnishings were very dated, everything was clean and very comfortable. The location was great for visiting the various beaches along the coast! Restaurants and stores were close by. We liked the fact that it was quiet (except for the road noise from the 101 of course, but which you only heard when you were outside) and private. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!
Christina R. Jul 2015
The beds were extremely comfortable. The boys liked having the pool table. We were very happy to see that the bushes had been trimmed so we had a great view of the ocean!!!! Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jill S. Jun 2015
We had a good time at this home. Enjoyed the deck. The kitchen was nice but did not have a garbage disposal. The home could have been a little cleaner and the bedding could have been nicer. The photos are a little misleading. The view of the ocean is obstructed by tall bushes. The view would have been beautiful if the bushes were trimmed. The pictures make the home look like it is on the beach side of the highway, however the home is on the other side of the highway. Good location, not far from town. The home needs fresh paint inside and out and maybe some beach décor. There were plenty of cleaning supplies but no garbage bags. Overall we had a good time at this house. The price was good and we did not have to do a cleaning deposit, so I would stay at this house again for that reason.
Manager Response:
Thanks so much for your review. Your feedback is extremely helpful to Vacasa and our guests. We're sorry that the bushes were obstructing your view, but we're happy to hear that enjoyed the home and were able to take advantage of the large deck. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Laurel C. May 2015
My husband, parents, 2 dogs and I spent 3 days at this home. It is older and comfortable and, most importantly, very quiet for a relaxing stay. The hedges/bushes are growing very high, so you can't see much of the ocean from the house (which was our main reason for picking this home), but there are gorgeous views nearby. Overall, the house is a little tired and not cared for (broken glasses and a broken chair set aside, instead of fixed or replaced), but it was clean and comfortable.
If you aren't picky and just want a decent deal for your group, I'd recommend it. If you're looking for fancy and fully stocked, look elsewhere.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and will be passing it along to the owners. We're glad to hear you all had a relaxing stay. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Debbie S. Aug 2014
Would like to see the hedges trimmed for better ocean view and electrical outlet by master bedroom bed needs fixing and outfitted with better bed side reading light. Otherwise perfect place for our visits to the Oregon Coast with our dogs !
Kathleen B. Aug 2013
Perfect retreat for our family of eight. Seven came from Florida and were so pleased to watch the sun go down from the deck after a day of charter fishing in Depoe Bay. The house was well equipped for cooking so preparing our salmon dinners was easy. Everyone said the beds were great and we enjoyed playing pool down stairs. Thank you for making your house available.
Robert G. Jul 2013
The house was fine, but not great. It is a quiet location, with easy access to Depoe Bay and Lincoln City, the nearest Starbucks. The kitchen was adequately stocked--about what I would supply if I owned a rental. We left a pot roast cooking in the slows cooker all day, and when we returned, it took 1 1/2 hours in the oven to be done. But we had plenty of room, slept well, and did not expect to play pool, anyway, so were not upset by the worthless pool table.
Ronald J. Jun 2013
The location of this property, Depoe Bay Oregon is an area of the coast that can't be beat. The location of the house was also great, however the trees do need to be trimmed. The condition of the house was of superior. We were completely satisfied dealing with the Vacasa staff. We have already recommended this property to our friends.
Diane S. Jun 2013
This home provided everything we needed except food-towels & linens, dishes, pots & pans, & even spices for cooking. Coffee beans and a grinder too :) The home is clean and well cared for. The furniture and beds were very comfortable. The ocean view is so nice. Our daughter, son in law, and granddaughter enjoyed the pool table downstairs too.
Katherine B. Mar 2013
Great place...clean, well stocked. You do need teaspoons...only had one, a jelly spoon and huge serving spoons only. We got a few plastic spoons from the Ice cream store to eat our cereal. We know you cannot fix the sulfur smell...didn't really bother me...we will definitely be back soon. The Browns
Manager Response:
Thank you so much for your input. We are happy you had such a nice time! We did get some teaspoons for the house before the next guest arrived. Also, apologies for the water - the house is on a well system but it is perfectly fine. Thanks again for your comments!
Sharron D. Jan 2013
We were very pleased with location and condition. The only surprise was no TV! It wasn't clear to us when we read the ammenities. We were there over New Years and had planned to watch the ball drop, take in the Rose Parade and watch a few football games. No could do!! We had planned to stay close to home but ended up going to Mulligan's in Lincoln City to watch the Rose Bowl. We missed the other games, as we didn't want to spend all of our time at a sports bar, even a nice one. Also, the smell of the water was hard to take, but we did happen to bring bottled water to drink. We would probably stay there again, depending on the tiem of year! We did catch up on a few movies we hadn't seen and watched some oldies but goodies!
kristian M. Sep 2012
I called about a last minute deal, and got this awesome home for a steal! I was shocked at how big it was, and glad to know I can host a reunion there, and still have extra parking! The view was awesome as well!
Leslie S. Aug 2012
WE ALL HADE A GREAT TIME AND I WOULD STAY AGIAN THE PRICE WAS GREAT VIEW AWSOME AND THE HOUSE HAS LOTS OF ROOM!!!
Michele J. Aug 2012
I WOULD RECOMMEND this property to others. I was a bit discouraged as we arrived as the exterior was not as well kept as the interior. There was only one glass (other than wine and plastic) There was no plastic wrap or tin foil. Other than these few items our trip and the house was GREAT!! The beds are so comfortable you may not want to get up for that early morning activity... The view is Amazing if your looking for a property that is not beachfront. There are plenty of pots & pans and all other kitchen necessities. I did not expect to see a pool table in the downstairs area (although there are tears in the felt). It is a very large home that is comfy and pretty well appointed.
Manager Response:
Michael M. Jul 2012
We surprised our kids with a coast stay after they got back from a stay in Texas. The property was amazing. From the amenities to the location to the view, this place was absolutely wonderful. We were able to do plenty of souvenir hunting in Depot bay, and even got to play with live starfish across the highway at Boiler bay. We had an amazing time, and it will become a yearly tradition for our family.
Wesley L. Jul 2012
Great House, really big with full basement and downstairs bathroom. Would be good for big family or two smaller families. Only downside is really need to drive to the beach (1 mile away) as walking didn't work with kids and traffic and rocky cliff trail to nearest beach. Beautiful kitchen views.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review! The nearest beach is quite scenic but it is difficult for small children or elderly guests. Parking at the beach to the north is usually very easy though.
Posey H. Mar 2012
We had a great time and enjoyed the house! It was a breath taking scenery and a great time all in all! We would love to stay again maybe next year!
Richard B. Feb 2012
The set up of the house was great. The kids played downstairs and the adults played upstairs. The deck was awesome and the view is great. The location is great also right between Lincoln City and Newport. Only a couple of minutes from Gleneden Beach where there's a store. The house has been partially remodeled and the water pressure was real low. I would say that was the major draw back. The price was really good though, so, due to that I would stay again.
Kent H. Aug 2011
Enjoyed our stay but only used the house to eat and sleep. Lots of cooking pans and silverware, not the newest house but for the price we were satisfied. Water pressure is an issue and there is no wifi, cable or direct access to a beach.
Amy F. Jun 2011
I found the property on craigslist posted with a last minute deal. The property management website was not calculating the total right, but after speaking to the extremely helpful staff, they took the reservation at the craigslist price and emailed me the info promptly.
The house was fairly easy to find, and we were immediately impressed with the view from the front deck.
Pros: The home is older and very expansive. The furnishings seem to be typical of a vacation rental- King Tut was interesting though-ha! . The bedrooms are pretty good sized and the layout is great. The kitchen was stocked quite well with appliances and cooking tools. The restrooms had clean towels, a good amount of beach towels and were stocked well with tp, etc.
The cons: There have been some updates, but poorly done and some not completed- unpainted areas, etc. The water pressure is bad. There were HUGE ants all over (we purchased a couple cans of ant spray and traps that we left as our gift to the
Mark B. May 2011
View was nice, but I would not use the term secluded in your description, it's not. Water pressure was poor, but the home furnishings were nice. Repair the pool table felt! A grand old slate table that deserves better.
Steve G. Jan 2011
We loved the pool table, telescope, games and movies. Enjoyed our time.
Judy S. Jan 2011
The house was everything we expected except it would have been nice to know it was on the east side of 101. Because it was winter it didn't make much of a difference. Other than that it was a great trip. The house was nicer inside than the pictures showed and the view was great. If we we plan a Christmas get-a-way at the coast again we will come back. The kitchen was really clean and it was comfortable to make our steak and lobster Christmas dinner for 6. We really liked how secluded it was. The beds were very comfortable for all. Our 2 !/2 year old Grand Daughter didn't want to go home. Thank You!!!!!
Courtney W. Nov 2010
had lots of extras, plenty of room, decent pool table downstairs,
Even with 5 dogs and 8 people everyone seemed comfy and had their own space. i would try to arrive during the daylight as the house can be hard to see. no place to excercise your four-legged friends, so make sure you bring your leash..the view come morning was breathtakeing!
Maxie B. Oct 2010
Very pleasantly surprised by quality of rental. Newly installed Kitchen w/all amenities & new laundry rm & appliances as well. Be prepared for a couple flights of uncovered steps for entry from either the front or 1 flight inside the hm fr basement dnstairs to access the main floor. Bedrooms are nicely appointed with a private 1/2 bath (shower only) in Master bdrm & a full bath miday between the 2 other bdrms on the main floor. An additional 1/2 bath conveniently loacted by the pool table/rec rm dnstairs. The main floor living rm was quaint, older design & style. Portable stereo system is a plus for playing favorite CD music & the view of Boiler Bay is unsurpassed! True also fr the large new TREKS deck off the kitchen. Only negatives were bathroom shower doors were a bit difficult to wrestle with; Kitchen trim/paint were incomplete & there were 1/2 doz areas in ceilings where unrepaired leakage had previously at some time occured.
Lori L. Sep 2010
just one item - instructions were to turn off water, but there was no access to garage to do so, it was turned on when we arrived, so left on when we departed - THANK YOU for a wonderful place to gather with family!
Manager Response:
Sorry for the confusion on turning off the water. That note wasn't meant for you, as there is no need to turn of the water between guests.