USA California Sonoma County Sea Ranch Listing #5295

Donaldson Escape - Sea Ranch, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
81 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Waterfront Sea Ranch home w/ private hot tub, shared pool, & ocean views!

Please view the TSRA website for current information regarding the use of community facilities, such as the swimming pools, saunas, tennis courts, etc.: https://www.tsra.org/welcome-to-the-sea-ranch/
**To make a reservation and to review additional Policy and Procedure Information, please visit the TSRA Facility Reservation Site: https://tsra.simplybook.me/v2/
***Due to high demand and limited availability of facilities as managed by TSRA, Vacasa cannot guarantee that all guests will have access to the pools/tennis courts. Please note that no refund(s) will be provided in relation to the TSRA facilities.

Feel the crisp ocean air swirl around you, while you sip a glass of Annapolis Winery Zinfandel Port at this lovely Sea Ranch home. Oceanfront and close to the Scottish-inspired Sea Ranch Golf Links, fun and relaxation are everywhere.

Just steps from the Bluff Trail and a short drive to scenic golfing, this classic Sea Ranch home puts everything you need for a tranquil vacation right at your fingertips. Gualala is just about five miles away for groceries, a handful of eateries, and even DVD rentals.

Bright hardwood floors and crafted wood accents run throughout the home, adding an element of rustic comfort around every turn. The contemporary beach style beckons you to relax and unwind. Kick back on the comfy couch and flip through the cable channels, or watch your favorite DVD. Free WiFi is provided for your convenience.

Head out onto the private deck to fire up the BBQ and enjoy the stunning ocean views as you cook in the cool breeze. If grilling isn't your thing, the open-style kitchen has everything you'll need to create a culinary masterpiece. Have one of your guests chop up the veggies at the breakfast bar, while you get to work on the main course. Let the dishwasher do the cleanup while you get back to the party.

This three-bedroom, two-bathroom getaway has enough room to sleep up to six guests in comfort. With two master bedrooms, each boasting its own plush king-size bed, you'll be easily lulled to sleep. The third room has two twin-size beds, perfect for younger vacationers.

Wake up with the sounds of the ocean. Grab your hiking shoes and set off on the Bluff Trail and walk down to Stengel Beach. Sea Ranch also offers three rec centers, Sea Ranch Del Mar, Ohlson, and Moonraker as well as a number of smaller hikes like the Monarch Glen Trail.

Inspired by the classic courses in Scotland, the Sea Ranch Golf Links offers you the chance to enjoy a memorable round of golf. Just a little under five miles from your front door, this course is designed to highlight the beauty of the California coast and delivers an amazing round of golf.

Whether you're reveling in the ocean breeze as you drive down the fairways, or cuddling up with a good book as the waves crash in the distance, this Sea Ranch home puts serenity right at your door. A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Reservations with 1-2 guests will receive 1 parking pass (unless otherwise specified), 3+ guests will receive 2 parking pass. The Sea Ranch Association only allows 2 passes per reservation. Parking passes are for cars parked within the Sea Ranch (at the rec centers, hiking trails etc) and must be visible in the vehicles. Most but not all of our houses will accommodate more than 2 cars. For guests with more than 2 cars, any additional car(s) can be used to go to and from the house without a pass but will need to remain in the drive way otherwise. On street parking is not permitted. NO RV'S OR CAMPER VANS PERMITTED TO PARK ON SEA RANCH.Most of our house will not accommodate more than 3 cars.

Other permit number: 1921

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Stereo

VCR

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

81 reviews

Emery B. Jul 2021
The Donaldson house is right on the bluffs, great views and serene. The house is like a step into the 60's, both good and bad. The master bath is awkward and not worth using. The toilet runs, so we turned the water off when we could. The kitchen has a hodge-podge of items. Loved the Heath pottery. No cookie sheets or measuring cup. We knew it wasn't going to be luxurious, which he was fine. I loved being in the 60's. And the location can't be beat!!
Manager response:
Hello Emery, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are disappointed that our local team was not made aware of the issues you had with the lack of certain items. They would have been happy to assist. We hope to host you again soon!
Moranne K. Jul 2021
We had a lovely time at this home. Two couples with young children, loved having the expansive ocean views all day, even while doing dishing or meal prepping. Excellent access to trails and close to some of the better beaches. Had everything we needed and we would love to come back. Thanks for a great stay.
Carol A. S. May 2021
Would have given it a 5, but for a few oversights. Kitchen provisions are not the best. Minimal number of dishes, etc. for a place that holds 6. have to wash dishes by hand in between meals. No salt and pepper—that's a basiShould be a warning about raccoon invasion if any crack in low windows is made: they wiggle the latch and come right in! (This is serious!) The tub in master bath is a joke! Should have 2 showers. Bedroom window won't open (that's how the raccoon issue was discovered trying to get air into BR from hallway)
Despite all this, we will return and be prepared for next time. We loved the location so much that there will be a next time!
Manager response:
Hi, Carol! We are delighted to hear you would be happy to return to Donaldson Escape. We are working on placing signage in the home warning guests about the raccoons. The kitchen inventory has been bulked up. Thank you!
Chelsea F. Mar 2021
We had the time of our lives at this cute house! The view seemed fake! Doing dishes was fun because you can whale watch while washing. I would say it had everything we needed for a lovely vacation. The twin bedroom closet is LARGE if you need to put a pack and play somewhere quiet for kids to sleep. The master bathroom was outdated but I think that made it fun. It did look like recent water damage occurred, as the walls showed signs of it but it didn't smell or anything. Under the house had a big puddle (possibly from the recent storm) my husband noticed while using the hose to rinse his feet. Vacasa is VERY hard to get in touch with so hopefully they see this and can check it out.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Chelsea! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager to look into further. We have added additional staff and are continually bringing more staff on, to better assist our guests as quickly and efficiently as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can host you again in the future!
Meghan F. Feb 2021
I love this house so much--I think this is the fourth time we've rented it! It is not fancy, and it has an older Sea Ranch vibe, and that makes it so perfectly comfortable. The view is astonishing. I spent one morning watching a pod of dolphins play in the cove while I drank my coffee.
Lynn G. Feb 2021
Charming and comfortable in a great location with wonderful ocean view. We will be back!
Ashley A. Dec 2020
Donaldson Escape was perfect for a group of 5 - large kitchen, tons of space and unbeatable views! We'll definitely be back.
Marta C. Dec 2020
Nice layout and great views, and beds were great, Only small complaint would be the lighting during these darker winter nights especially for reading and cooking in the kitchen.
Michelle C. Oct 2020
Good location and layout. A little dated but the pricing is reflective. Bring your own cutting board
John M. Sep 2020
The house is centrally located in Sea Ranch and, by my measure, 25 paces from the edge of the bluff over the water. Views and sound of wave action is amazing. A very nice house, a bit dated in some regards but we won’t hesitate to return.
Ingrid M. Sep 2020
Needing a break from the heavy smoke pollution in Santa Rosa, we (two couples) arrived at Donaldson Escape. The home was warm and inviting, the bluff views were captivating, and the sea air brought each of us back to life. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils, and the separated bedrooms gave us ample privacy. There was no need for TV, as the daytime walks and night star shows were spectacular. We loved the comfort of the home and can’t wait to re-book again. . . next time staying for a few more days.
Framta S. Sep 2020
The home is situated on a peaceful hiking trail, close walking distance to the beach, and nice ocean views. Vacasa says they need 2 days to do a deep cleaning with Covid issues but while the home was comfortable, it definitely did not seem like a deep cleaning had been done (spiderwebs, dust, etc.). I stayed at another Vacasa property in Sea Ranch in July and had the same cleaning experience. We were visited daily by two deer, but also two rats living under the porch. From the twin bed bedroom, you can see the rats run out to eat and run back under the porch. Good news is it does not appear like the rats could get into the house.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with Vacasa! We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We apologize for the house not being cleaned as thoroughly as is our standard. Please know that local staff is available to assist with any cleanliness issues you encounter while in the home. We hope to get the chance to host you again! Thank you.
Neeti D. Sep 2020
incredible views and beautiful home. perfect getaway for our two families and three kids under age 5. exactly what I expected from a sea ranch home, very comfortable and beautiful stay. we would definitely come back!
Jan C. Aug 2020
The house is perfectly located with breathtaking views. It is well laid out for two or three couples. A sand beach and magnificent cliffs are nearby. We saw whales every day! We’re already planning our return!
Simon F. Aug 2020
The view is amazing--we can see dolphins and seals breaching in the water just outside the window. The house is cozy and unpretentious. This is the third time we've stayed here, and we will definitely be back.
Melinda F. Jul 2020
We loved the amazing views and great location of this house. It was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. Great layout with the master bedroom on one side and two bedrooms on the other.

The description of the house needs to be updated though since there is no BBQ.
Carolyn P. Jul 2020
Such a wonderful home and stay. Highly recommend!
Ashley E. Apr 2020
We spent a month here with our family and I can’t recommend it enough. The house was plenty stocked (was shocked by other reviews) and very comfortable. The location, the views, the community and the peace that comes with watching the waves all day is truly priceless. I wish we could live here forever!
Philipp S. Feb 2020
We had a lovely stay here, the house has great potential but is worn down and could benefit from a renovation.
Mark K. Feb 2020
The proximity of this home to the bluff trail and water make this place really special. Our King in the master bedroom was very comfortable and kitchen was well-equipped for all we needed.
Sandra P. Jan 2020
The Donaldson Escape is a great home for a family or group of friends. It is located at an ideal spot on the bluff trail where you have an ideal view of the ocean and breakwater.

The living room with the fireplace was nice and spacious. The open floor plan allowed for conversations to happen between people who were in the living room and in the kitchen which optimized laughter for my group of friends.

The rooms were spacious and airy and quite comfortable. Overall, I'd recommend this place.
Alexis R. Jan 2020
This is a truly classic Sea Ranch house. It's not been remodeled and shows some wear, but that's part of the appeal. The interior layout and location on the bluff simply can't be beat. And the view when you wake up in the morning and during sunset is fantastic. We stayed with small children and the living room was perfect to contain little ones while enjoying the house. Highly recommend this house!!
Catherine R. Dec 2019
We have been to this home several times and we love the layout, the view and everything about the location - we have come to sea ranch about 15 times and we know it all by heart, and this is one of the best locations. We are disappointed however that the agency does not seem to care about the overall maintenance of the asset - this house is aging fast and is in need of significant remodel - first step would be to change the fixtures, electric switches (some do not work) and bedding - secondary bedroom mattresses are really bad and sagging preventing our guests to sleep well. Longer term remodel is a matter of economic choice - but nothing has been upgraded for at least two decades. For example the thermostat is a collectible and probably a seventies vintage. Anyhow we love the house but we hope for improvements before our next visit.
Manager response:
Thank you for leaving your review with us, Catherine. We are glad to see you enjoyed the home. All beds have new bedding less than a year old, and we are hoping to have the mattresses replaced soon. We were unable to locate any switches that do not work as intended. The living room furniture has recently been replaced as have six window seals and the blinds in the living room and master bedroom. The thermostat works well and will be left for the time being. We do hope to see you again!
Jerry H. Nov 2019
Right on the bluff. Great view of white and blue water as well as plenty of seals. Furnishings are tired and not up to par for a property of this potential.
Marjorie W. Sep 2019
You can't beat the water views and trail access from this home. Best part was watching the moon over the water at night. That said, this is an older home in need of repairs: shower in master bedroom is a laugh--more like a stand up hot tub, toilets flush extremely slowly, direct TV didn't work, and one window was literally hanging off its hinges on the outside. But those views...if you can overlook the interior amenities you'll be happy here.
Manager response:
Hi, Marjorie! We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your accommodations. We checked the toilet and DirecTV and found both working fine. The window you mentioned has been repaired. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Gabriel R. Sep 2019
Really lovely house right on the bluffs. Perfect location and has everything you need for a great stay in Sea Ranch!
Jim H. Jul 2019
Spacious, well turned out, lovely view; great walks in either direction!
JR C. Mar 2019
Beautifully designed home for area. View is to die for. Connected to wonderful walking path along ocean. Very comfortable beds. While house is designed to take advantage of natural light during the day, the dim lighting presented a challenge in the evening, particularly the kitchen. But overall, we would come again.
Jon K. Jan 2019
The accommodations only enhance the stunning view of the Pacific. This house is spacious, cozy and not at all fussy. It's easy to feel quickly at home. Would definitely book again!
Kim A. Oct 2018
We have been going to Sea Ranch for the past 25 years. We decided to stay the Donaldson Escape for the first time for 1 week. We had family come and go during that week. The house was perfect for 6 adults. It was a great house, very comfortable and the view is amazing. They could use a lot more Kitchen items such as the utensils (tongs, new can opener ect.), But next time we stay I will just make sure that I bring along those simple items. We will be back to this house. Thank you for letting us celebrate our anniversary at your lovely home.
JoAnn B. Oct 2018
This was the 3rd time we have stayed at the Donaldson house. We have been impressed by its beauty, cleanliness, and helpful staff.
Daniel H. Oct 2018
Very much a late '70's style Sea Ranch house. Visitors should be aware of the well-marked steps in this three-level build. Nicely laid-out kitchen. It's hard to beat those west-facing windows for the ocean view and for whale watching. A little worn but clean and cheery. This is a very comfortable house. The WIFI was apparently upgraded sometime after our visit last year and the neighborhood now has decent cell phone coverage. The spa is vintage but clean and functional. The local raccoons know how to open screen doors and enter the house so lock up the glass patio door after dark. Deer travel confidently past the house but the real stars go to the Humpback Whales and Common Dolphins! Donaldson Escape is priced right and we will be back for a third visit.
Liz P. Oct 2018
We only had three days here, wish it was longer. Loved the house, kitchen, dinning, views were all
lovely. no it’s not perfectly pristine, as a few knobs were off, etc, but the supreme beauty and privacy was perfect and the hot tub works great! Nothing to complain about it’s gorgeous! Would love to return! Thank you!
Susan P. Aug 2018
If you want to see, smell and hear the ocean, this is the place for you! It is steps away from the crashing waves and great views from the kitchen and living room. Simply wonderful. If you want a luxurious house, this is probably not the place for you. It is a standard rental (albeit with a hot tub, washer and dryer, and a dishwasher), circa 1970.
Gordon F. Jul 2018
Location and view of ocean unbeatable! Home needs major updating.
Manager response:
The home owner is constantly working on updates to the home. Recently they updated the TV, couches, and flooring, and they are now sending new patio furniture as well. Thank you!
Karen A. Jun 2018
The view was amazing. Sitting on the deck in the morning and drinking coffee to the sound of the waves, can't be beat. We were blessed with beautiful weather and seeing the stars at night was breathtaking. The house was wonderful too and very comfortable. Can't wait to go back.
KELVIN C. Jun 2018
We loved our stay at "Donaldson Escape" - the view cannot be beat and the home was lovely. The woman who checked us in at the Vacasa office was especially helpful and answered all our questions from where to eat to where to run! We plan to return!
Sean G. Jun 2018
Everything was as described. We had an excellent time.
Soohyun C. May 2018
We enjoyed this house greatly. We will stay here again.
Richard M. Apr 2018
The moment I walked in I was in love with the amazing views ... so beautiful and we even seen whales almost every day
It needs to be cleaned really cleaned one of the rooms had a horrible smell we couldn’t get out and could use some upgrading but besides that I only wish it was my home to visit and love
I would come back again because I love the spot it sits in and how close of a walk to the beach as well as many other factors

And Did I say breathing views 😍
Manager response:
We have had the carpets cleaned and a deep clean is scheduled within the next couple weeks. We apologize for any unpleasant odor this guest experienced.
George S. Apr 2018
A great house right on the bluff with immediate access to the beautiful landscape. Perfect for a 2 night getaway for our family of four.
Deborah D. Mar 2018
We had a great 4 day stay. The gray whales swam north directly in front of the house each day and we took long, scenic hikes along the coast each day. The house was fabulous and we’ll definitely return soon.
Grant T. Dec 2017
Really enjoyed it -- gorgeous gorgeous view and running trail along coast.
Joe B. Oct 2017
This house is not only ocean front, it is one of the homes closer to the bluff's edge. Great view, very comfortable and outstanding charm
LINDA T. Sep 2017
Showed up about 30 minutes before check in and still got in fine. Seemed stuffy and hot inside at first but as soon as we opened up everything it was great. Wife could have used a blow dryer, maybe there was one but we could not find. Nothing negative to say. The kitchen set up was great looking straight at ocean when at sink. The 4 giant windows in front room were perfect for the view. The deck was a little small but awesome. From end of deck it is only about 30 feet to the walking trail and maybe another 10 to the edge of bluff. Side portion of deck helps if the wind picks up with still a great view of ocean and stars. Giant bush along left side of property when facing west, and houses on right side being set way back really added to the feel of privacy. Was supposed to only stay Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Did not want to leave so made a call and added Thursday, later added Friday night as well. Rented a house in Sea Ranch for our Honeymoon and thought it would be a great idea to return for our 30 year anniversary. So glad we did, the house was great as was everything about our trip.
David H. Aug 2017
It was a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Right on the coast. Limited cell service and no wifi, so bring a deck of cards or something.

The house is pretty old and typical of the area but is clean and well maintained.
Nearest grocery store is 9 mins away, but pretty well stocked.
Mark B. Jul 2017
Enjoyed a family birthday get together. Sea Ranch is so peaceful and relaxing. The ocean views, bluff trails, just sitting on the deck and enjoying the views.
Annie L. Jul 2017
This is a tough one because we loved our getaway and there was nothing about the house that was ruinous, but it wasn't perfect, either, and it would've been so easy to make it perfect - better pillows and bedding, Internet access, a little extra TLC. It's awesome to be by the ocean for a few days and we'd come back again.
Debbie Y. Jun 2017
Review was written on homeaway site
Danny Y. Jun 2017
Gorgeous property! RIGHT on the waterfront w/stunning views. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves. House could use some TLC tho - needs some new light fixtures, broken blender, kitchen tiles were falling off, needs outdoor furniture to fully appreciate the view. Would certainly return to Sea Ranch but likely book another house...
Manager response:
We appreciate having the opportunity to respond to this feedback. The owners will have the kitchen tiles repaired and a new blender in place by the end of the month. The light fixtures are a work in progress. While there are five chairs on the deck currently, we have asked the owner to consider buying a patio set.
Mark B. May 2017
Beautiful ocean front location. Enjoy the waves and sunset from the Living Room and Dining Area. Walking trails just outside the door.
Janet S. Apr 2017
The view is super but the heat went out while we were there in a windstorm. The skylight leaked into a bedroom during the rain.
The house has nice furniture and is located near the sea, which we loved.
The deck is not well furnished nor very useful.
Denise R. Feb 2017
Bring a can opener, house one is junk. Kitchen is in need of some serious love but you can still open a bottle of wine so it'll do. All in all, it wasn't bad but wasn't "nice". I've stayed in better for the same price and watched whales cruise by while sitting in the deck and couch; had a great long weekend so no worries!
Jennifer M. Jan 2017
Matthew G. Jan 2017
Great place to relax and take in the views. Great beach nearby for kids
Jim M. Jan 2017
We loved the location, liked the house well enough. It has not been maintained well so well and, while we did rent over Christmas week, it seems exorbitantly expensive for what it was.
Heather D. Nov 2016
A classic Sea Ranch house right on the edge of the bluffs. You can walk to a nearly private beach as well as the Ohlson Rec Center.
Stacey J. Oct 2016
Will be back again! Beautiful house and great location!
Blake M. Oct 2016
Beautiful property with amazing views, close proximity to secluded beaches, all the amenities, a hot tub, wood-burning fireplace, etc. Excellent for a romantic weekend and a very pleasant escape from the city.
Peter A. Oct 2016
First time at The Sea Ranch. Next time I would choose another home that has 2 king suites that both have ocean views when traveling with 2 couples and no children
Joseph L. Sep 2016
First time at Sea Ranch.
Can;t wait to return.
Jacques S. Sep 2016
This house has majestic views AND more privacy than most homes at Sea Ranch. The master bed is a good one, there are plenty of towels and lots of neat wildlife all around the house

The kitchen and master window blinds are a disaster !! So easy to fix.
We checked the " would stay here again" box but we would not recommend it to any of our friends unless these problems are resolved.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that this guest was so displeased with the blinds. The Property Manager has inspected them and found them fully functioning, though a bit dirty, and she has cleaned them up.
Dennis F. Aug 2016
This home had the best location in Sea Ranch. The views were stunning. The home really needs some care and updating.
Gregory S. Aug 2016
great location, beautiful ocean views and comfortable house for 3 couples
Jennifer R. Aug 2016
We enjoyed staying at your home. Thank you
Katherine M. Jun 2016
Vintage feel, breathtaking views, perfect hot tub and very comfortable master bedroom. We wished we could have stayed longer.
Bethany D. May 2016
This property is perched mere yards away from the beautiful Pacific! It is so serene and magical. There are beautiful beaches nearby (we hiked to Shell Beach, but Stengel is very close) and the house is situated right on the bluff trail. The closest rec center is a quick drive or pleasant walk.