Virtual Tour
USA California Sonoma County Sea Ranch Listing #5324

Stoney House - Sea Ranch, CA

60 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max 
33733 Yardarm Drive, Sea Ranch, CA 95497

Dog-friendly oceanfront home w/ gorgeous views, a private hot tub & shared pool!

Escape away to the lovely Northern California Coast for a relaxing vacation with family or friends, and stay at this pet-friendly, private oasis boasting panoramic views, and a private hot tub.

This three-bedroom home sits atop the ocean bluff, providing great front row views and nearby beach access. This Sea Ranch home is in an ideal setting for a fun-filled vacation of exploring tide pools, hiking along the bluff, and capturing breathtaking sunsets as you settle down for the evening.

This three level home is cozy and inviting, with tall ceiling, and large picture windows throughout the main living area, offering impressive ocean views. Upstairs in the living room, there is a comfy seating, stocked bookshelves, and a fireplace creating an ideal environment for group entertaining.

The contemporary kitchen was renovated with modern features, while maintaining the home's original rustic appeal and classic Sea Ranch style. This space is sure to be a chef's joy, and includes a coffeemaker, dishwasher, microwave, and breakfast bar with additional seating.

On the first level, downstair, you'll find all of the bedrooms. The master bedroom has a king bed and its own private door to the secluded hot tub. Two additional bedrooms each include queen beds. The living room sofa pulls out into a queen bed as well. With three bedrooms, and two-and-a-half bathrooms, eight guests will rest comfortably and can easily manage their day and night routines.

If you need to work on the go - this home offers WiFi. A washer/dryer is available for added convenience, and guests will have access to satellite cable TV, and a DVD player, so family movie nights are encouraged. Up to two family dogs are welcome with an additional pet fee.

Adirondack chairs are strategically placed outside - watch the sun rise as you drink your morning coffee, or sit and watch for sea life peering out of the ocean waves.

Sea Ranch offers three rec centers with pools, tennis courts, and saunas. Guests staying at this amazing rental will have access to all the the trails and beaches that Sea Ranch offers. Golf is nearby at Sea Ranch Golf Links. The Gualala River is nearby and vacationers can purchase rentals for kayaking, canoeing, and more.

The Sea Ranch and its surrounding communities have a variety of small and unique shops, eateries (Trinks Cafe is a local favorite!), and art galleries to explore. For wine tasting, Annapolis Winery is open daily and under 10 miles from your door.

Guests can plan a fun-packed adventure, a restful retreat, or fuse the two for a memorable Northern California Coast experience with friends and family. This Sea Ranch vacation home truly offers something for everyone.

* For safety reasons, it is advised that children staying in this home be 12 years of age or older.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Pool : Shared

Propane/gas home : Propane

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Dish Network

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

60 reviews

Leila M. May 2019
clean, calm with amazing view.
Mark A. Mar 2019
Beautiful coastal setting to get away from it all!
Heather M. Mar 2019
The beds has memory foam toppers. The views were lovely.
Robert R. Mar 2019
Not being being Able to walk to the beach or trails is a downside, but the view from the living room windows is truly one of a kind. Extraordinary! Beautiful and cozy house that is easy to share with friends. Loved our time here.
Dianna G. Jan 2019
Talk about being "on the water"... this was lovely. The sound of the waves, the lovely white froth of the foam, the beautiful water visible from every room or the patio or the yard all made for a memorable stay. Plus the home was thoughtfully equipped in the kitchen. Thank you for a great stay.
Carlos P. Dec 2018
The layout was very nice with open floor plan bringing the togetherness feel for the family. While some kids were playing card games the other ones were reading enjoying the ocean view.
Joseph D. Nov 2018
The good: The house is easy to find, and has parking for multiple cars, and a covered car port for one. The location is spectacular. You would be hard pressed to find many better views from inside a home in Sea Ranch. The home feels very comfortable, and the layout spreads the incredible views throughout the house. The bathrooms were clean and accommodating. The hot tub is perfectly placed next to the master bedroom/bath, and there is a sliding gate you can open to view the ocean while you relax. Overall, we felt the best attribute of Stoney House is the location and incredible views it offers.

The bad: We had hoped to use the gas grill, but once we got it all ready for use we noticed it was completely out of propane. (Yes we opened the valve). Some of the kitchen utensils were on their last legs. (For example the French press should probably be tossed). The carpets felt a little grimey and we noticed the bottoms of our socks got dirty/discolored after a while just from walking throughout the house. (Carpets might be due for a steam cleaning.) The water pressure is sub par, and the room with a shower/tub is only really useful as a bath since the shower won't fully engage. The window latch in that bathroom was also stuck open/unlocked and had to be pulled shut to fully lock. It's on the ground level so it made us feel a little uneasy until we managed to fix it.

The ugly: All of the exterior lighting was burnt out or non-functioning, including the entryway and both patios (deck and hot tub). This contributed to the uneasy feeling regarding the window. The fireplace didn't vent properly (and we made certain the chimney was open). If you start a fire in it the house will eventually become very smokey inside. This was unfortunate, as we wanted a fire at night but there was far too much smoke getting inside. Taking this into consideration we found it extra alarming that all of the carbon monoxide detectors in the house are missing batteries.

In summary, the house is nice and cozy but in need of TLC. The location and view is spectacular. Some of the amenities were lacking and might even appall some more discerning guests. We had to rate it 3/5 because of our experience but this house could easily have garnered 5/5 stars if not for the few unpleasant factors.
Thomas O. Oct 2018
Besides needing a few updates (blinds, stove) we loved the house. The location on the cliff is amazing and the layout of the house is beautiful.
Jean D E. Oct 2018
Right on the bluffs killer views and ocean sounds
Ryan L. Sep 2018
If I could stay at Stoney House every time I came to Sea Ranch (which is a couple times a year) I would. You will not find a house closer to the ocean as this one. Listen to it all night. Plus, the carpet is so cozy you can lay on it. That's right, straight on the carpet! A lot of places that allow pets have hard floors that never let you feel totally at home. Not Stoney House! This one really is the best. Fireplace, hot tub, wonkey bed that is somehow more comfortable than anything (we're talking death sleep). I should really keep this to myself because it's already booked most times I wanna go. Consider this my gift.
Daniel N. Aug 2018
Stoney House is amazing. Well worth the money. The view is incredible, and the living room / family area is *magnificent*. We'll definitely be returning.
marian g. Jul 2018
Very relaxing house with all the necessities!
Paul R. Jun 2018
Love the view from the deck and the windows! I love to cook, but the kitchen is just adequate. The only drawback to this unit is there are no trails near the house. If you want to walk along the bluffs you have to drive or walk along hwy 1 for ~1mile.
Patricia H. May 2018
The most restful place with mesmerizing views. It was peaceful, private and calm.
Kenneth M. Apr 2018
Over all the house was good, might want to replace housekeeping crew though.
Really needed to wash the kitchen floor upon arrival, but nothing on hand to do so. Carpets were clean, but stained.... whale sighting was fantastic.........
June L. Mar 2018
Overall, this house fits our preferences and needs. There's no walking path for the dogs but the street is private and we prefer it for dog walking. In the past, we've met off lead dogs on the walking paths even though its against the rules. Loose dogs can be a problem for my own dogs.
Caroline K. Jan 2018
This house has one of the loveliest views I have ever seen
Peter K. Nov 2017
Location, view, space superb. Our family of 5 and dog thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd stay at Stoney. New propane grill and outdoor furniture appreciated. We had excellent cell and internet service
Adam J. Oct 2017
Solid little old and outdated you are paying for the view. Top floor smelled really bad of smoke. Look liked previous guest had a fire going in the fireplace but didn’t open up the chimney. Beds are way too soft. Not comfortable. Kitchen was nice with quality pots and pans. If you want a private place with a good view this is the spot.
Manager response:
The property manager has aired out the top floor; the fireplace is an open fireplace with a screen front. We are sorry to see this guest felt the foam toppers were too soft.
Scott R. Oct 2017
We stay at Sea Ranch once a year, usually at different houses. The Stoney house stands out as one of the best. Literally right on the cliff with great views of the ocean and cove right below you. On the down side there is no walking trails accessible from this house. You have to drive a mile or so North to get to the network of trails that go through the Sea Ranch.
JOY A. Oct 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. We saw deer in the backyard. The water view is absolutely breathtaking and very memorable.
Karen S. Oct 2017
Awesome house. Could be better appointed on main floor. See above. Main focus would be
Working lightbulbs/better lighting
Better kitchen equipment - pretty basic
Basic kitchen supplies - almost nothing; instill a discipline of reap something, leave something. What we experienced was reap nothing, instill alot.

Thanks for opportunity to provide comment.
Ron T. Sep 2017
Excellent ocean view from the living room and bedrooms.
Andrea S. Aug 2017
Amazing views of the ocean very tranquil ! Very comfortable beds . Just a few things to update , an icemaker would be nice in the fridge beach towels would be very convenient too! It doesn't have access to the cove. But all in all a super awesome place !
Mary Kay H. Jul 2017
Great for a large family, or two families. AMAZING view. Dog friendly.
Comfortably sleeps 10. We were family of 8.

While you couldn't walk out your back door on walk on a path, the view was worth having to drive a mile to the walk on the trails.

Daniel R. B. Jun 2017
relaxing
Steve P. Jun 2017
As per Patricia F in May/17 and Sherry B in March/17 the condition of this property is poor. Out of 6 lamps, two in each BR, only three worked. The turn switches were missing. Several light bulbs were burned out, or missing, with no spares to be found. To turn on/off the lamps, required unplugging/plugging in. This in the Bedrooms. Most of the bedroom windows would not function. They were corroded closed. If you wanted to sleep with the fresh ocean breeze and sound of the surf.... sliding door open was your only option. Some of us were not comfortable with that. Bathroom windows would not open. The view from the living room was magnificent... if only the large plate glass windows had been clean. They were dirty... VERY DIRTY, diminishing the views, sunsets. This from the "virtual tour" page: >>Adirondack chairs are strategically placed outside - watch the sun rise as you drink your morning coffee, or sit and watch for sea life peering out of the ocean waves.<< My wife and I actually talked about this and looked forward to it.... too bad it was really a Adirondack CHAIR! Our option to sit together was to drag a large, dirty, corroded patio chair down from the upper patio. The upper deck patio furniture was corroded, and uninviting to sit on, or even use. The Weber BBQ was long past it's useful life. The grill was thin, and rusty. It was located downstairs by the hot tub, which for the first night, meant we had to carry the food downstairs through the bedrooms to grill. The second night we moved the grill up through the house to the upstairs patio near the kitchen. The spa area had a garden hose strewn all over with onion skin and other BBQ leftovers laying about. And some fine charcoal powder that we walked through. Broken furniture in the back and the side of the house were on display. On the up side.... the property location is magnificent! Positioned directly on the bluff, the views are outstanding, provided you look at them from the outside. Other than that, I can not recommend this property.
Manager response:
A brand new table and chairs have been purchased for the upstairs deck as well as a brand new BBQ. Two new adirondack chairs are now available for use on the lower deck. We have also had the windows professionally cleaned inside and out. Thank you!
BIPIN S. Jun 2017
House is very nice and located on the ocean cliff. Beautiful view. Bedding must be upgraded.
Harriot M. Jun 2017
Walking through the front door and getting the first look at that incredible view was unforgettable. If you want an edge of the ocean experience that feels as if you are almost floating, this is the house for you. What a treat to watch the sunset from the point, then soak in our own hot tub. A beautiful, peaceful, nature-filled experience. We look forward to visiting again.
DIANA H. Jun 2017
Beds are very comfy. Not a bad views from any spot in the house. Kitchen has all you need. Blenders, cake and cupcake pans etc. Great location on a very quite street great for walking your dog. House is pet friendly and they do a great job in keeping it odder free.
John B. May 2017
The views are fantastic and the house is very comfortable and quiet. There were no neighbors so we had lots of privacy. My 91 year old dad came up from Palm Springs and loved the place. We had a great family get together. Our golden retriever did not want to leave.
Patricia F. May 2017
We were not alone! There were creatures in the house and it was very dirty. The beds were very old and were covered with a four inch foam pad. This house needs to be updated and thoroughly cleaned. They also need to remove the broken furniture and screens from the bluff.
Manager response:
We apologize if this stay was not everything this guest hoped for. We have checked for any rodent activity and have been unable to find any. All broken furniture has been removed from the home, and the screens are undergoing repair. Thank you!
John K. Apr 2017
Lovely house, right on the cliffs. The house is very spacious and well planned. The kitchen has ample counter space and was fairly well stocked for a vacation rental. Check-in and check-out was super easy and we had no complaints overall about a fantastic vacation.
E E. Apr 2017
1st time I stayed at the stoney was 17 yrs ago. The view is beautiful so I wanted to stay there again. Beds and furniture are very comfy. Kitchen supplies leave a lot to be desired! Note on door stating the water will be turned off Monday at 8am. We had it till Mon 11 am so we filled things up with water so we could flush toilets if needed and took our showers the night before. Sunday morning enjoying memosas on the deck when a lawn mower started up. When that was done a chain saw was started and I had enough. I waved the guy down and told him to stop right now, and he did. We are guessing they are planing to build a house next door. We have lived in associations before and that type of noisy work was not allowed on Sunday.Still had a great visit with my 3 daughters and love the view!
Janice K. Mar 2017
Our long weekend at Stoney House was perfect--well furnished, kitchen equipment galore, nice charcoal grill-needed nothing! Beds comfy, hot tub private and in great condition. The views are spectacular- how decadent but soothing to look out from reading a book in the living room to the waves crashing on the rocks below. Gualala grocery stores had everything we needed (we'd suggest bringing staples from home), Surf Market has excellent meats, seafood, wine, cheese--who needs more?? We've already booked our next family holiday there.
Keegan K. Feb 2017
Location is in Sea Ranch but still isolated from other house - what a relaxing place!
Carter J. Jan 2017
My friends and I very much enjoyed our stay here. The hot tub took a long time to heat up, but was wonderful once it was warm. The location, hanging right on the cliff, made for incredible views that are hard to beat. My only issue was that the main living room/dining room area was really rather dim. My friends and I all commented on it. A few more floor lamps, maybe ones with more powerful bulbs, would do wonders. If I stay at this house again, and i likely will, I will literally bring my own 100+ watt bulbs.
Constance M. Dec 2016
We had a mini family reunion here with three generations - everyone loved the house! Sea Ranch offered something for everyone - golf, beach, town, views, walks. The view from the living room and bedrooms was unparalleled. The house is definitely on the "want to come back to" list!
Lori H. Dec 2016
Needs updates! Your choice to balance view versus older accommodations!
David Z. Nov 2016
Will stay here again. Needs to be updated but great location.
Caitlin S. Oct 2016
My friends and I had a really lovely stay at Stoney House. The location was the main reason we chose it - because it was at the southernmost tip of Sea Ranch, and we didn't want to drive all the way up to Gualala. After completing the reservation process we saw that in order to check into the house, you must drive all the way to Gualala to get the key! This is a thirty - forty minute trip when it's all said and done! And upon check out, you must drive back up to Gualala to drop off the key! So this adds over an hour of driving to the already long trip. I cannot believe that Vacasa can't put a lock-box on the house. Ridiculous. Other than this annoyance, the house was gorgeous, well stocked and cozy.
Andy I. Oct 2016
This house sits on a cliff - literally! From the large floor to ceiling window you sit in a lazy chair and watch the waves crashing over rocks...for hours! So relaxing. Only complaint is that there are ~10 stairs going up to the living area or another 10 going down to the bedrooms from the entrance. NOT RECOMMENDED IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE WITH STAIRS. Also, the cliff sits about 6 feet from the bedroom doors - spectacular for sure footed adults - but not for unattended children. Dangerous but beautiful. Amazing sunsets. Great for a secluded get-away. But no trails near by - this house is perfect for sitting around and enjoying the view.
Suzanne G. Sep 2016
The house was beautiful and had spectacular views. I wish we could of stayed longer.
Jill F. Aug 2016
We loved the Stoney house. Beautiful views and access to surrounding beaches and countryside. A great getaway!!
Maryellen F. S. Aug 2016
This a world away from reality, relaxing, calm and peaceful.
Pete P. Aug 2016
Nice unit but there were some things that would keep us from returning to this unit. We like to go for walks and the street is short and doesn't allow for roaming around very much. The kitchen did not have a decent non-stick frying pan. Toilets flushed poorly. Overall, we liked it, but wasn't as nice as some other units we've stayed in.
Manager response:
We appreciate receiving this feedback. This home is located in a more secluded part of Sea Ranch where walking rails are limited, but seclusion is almost guaranteed. A contractor has inspected the toilets and stated that this type of toilet does flush slowly; we will keep on eye on them to be sure they don't cause any trouble. There are pots and pans available in the home, but none of them are nonstick at this point in time.
Ann K. Jul 2016
This house has an incredible bluff view. Dangerous property for young kids, due to the long steep drop onto rocks below. The house is at the opposite end of Sea Ranch from Gualala, so make sure there is a lockbox, which we did not have, leaving us to drive an additional 40 miles to pick up and return the keys. Check in is not until 4pm, which I felt is very late. The house is much nicer than the photos, but there is no photo indicating the stairways going either up or down upon entering the house. My sister isn't able to go up and down stairs without difficulty breathing, and I would not have chosen this house if I had known that she would face two flights of stairs when coming or going from the bedrooms.
Amy R. Jul 2016
Our family was just amazed at this beautiful home and location! It was very clean, and extremely comfortable. The view is outstanding from inside the home and we spent many hours gazing at the ocean and crashing waves. We are already talking about returning. We were here four days and could have stayed longer...
Daniel B. Jun 2016
The house itself needs some maintenance outside property needs some maintenance all in all we had a good time nice location great location