USA California Southern California Big Bear Lake Listing #5465

Chateau de Swan - Big Bear Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
50 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 1 King Bed, 2 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 5 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Open and spacious home w/ game room, close to the lake!

Featuring a vibrant game room, five lovely bedrooms, and great home essentials, this spacious Big Bear vacation house is perfect for your group of 12!

Painted a fun teal on the exterior, this two-story home stands out against the tall pine trees and white picket fences surrounding it. Enjoy the serene mountain feel by sitting on the vast front deck, or take a short drive to the lake for summer activities, and Snow Summit Resort for winter sports.

The huge great room brings the living room, dining room, and full kitchen together in one big, open space so everyone can chat, mingle, laugh, play games, and simply spend quality time together. Settle into the sectional, sofa, or chair facing the flatscreen TV to watch a movie or show for a lazy night in. Grab board games and head over to the dining table for eight.

The adjacent kitchen offers everything the chef of the group will need to whip up tasty meals to feed all 12 hungry bellies. A restaurant-style oven makes quadrupling recipes a breeze, and there is also a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, blender, and toaster for your convenience. Ample seating can be found around the hightop island and dining table indoors, or you could walk out to the deck to sit beneath the warm sun.

When the kids are being extra rambunctious, send them down to the brightly painted game room to play pool, challenge each other on the video arcade machines, and watch a movie. A washer and dryer are also located down here so everyone can pack extra light!

Upstairs on the main side of the house are two bedrooms, one with two twin-size beds and the other with a full-size bed, and one full bathroom with a tub/shower combo. On the other side of the game room and up the stairs is a room with two twin beds and a futon.

The remaining two bedrooms and full bathroom are just off the game room. A king-size bed is featured in one, while the second houses a full-size bed. Up to 12 guests can sleep comfortably here.

Big Bear is an ideal location any time of year! Bear Mountain and Snow Summit Resorts are just up the mountain and boast fantastic downhill skiing and snowboarding runs. In the summer, spend your days fishing, wakeboarding, jet skiing, and parasailing on the warm lake.

The Village is a short mile-and-a-half drive from this lovely home and houses eateries, shops, and arcades. Go bowling, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, or even visit the Alpine Zoo. Magic Mountain is a few miles away and has an alpine slide, water slide/snow tube depending on the season, go-karts, and mini golf to keep everyone happily entertained!

Start a new family tradition by booking this great Southern California home! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Three-car maximum. During winter season (November 1st through April 30th) four wheel drive (4WD) and/or chains/traction devices may be required to reach the cabin and to park in the driveway. Snow and ice can accumulate quickly, use care when walking and driving. Vacasa will clear snow from driveway and walkways - but only after streets are plowed by the city and snow has ceased accumulating on the ground.
Street parking is illegal during the winter season and cars parked on the street will be cited by law enforcement ($150.00 fine) and towed at vehicle owners expense (fees vary by towing company) - Vacasa accepts no liability/responsibility for fines and/or costs incurred by guests for violating city parking restrictions.

Water Access: Pine Knot Marina is 1.3 miles (approx. 4 minute drive) from house. Pine Knot Marina offers The Miss Liberty Paddle Wheel Boat tour of the lake and Rentals: Pontoon Boats, Kayaks, Fishing Boats, Fishing rods, bait shop, Stand-up Paddle Boards and Jet skis.
Bear Mountain Resort is 2.7 miles (approx 8 minute drive) from the house & Snow Summit Ski Resort is 1.2 miles (approx 6 minute drive) from the house.

City/town permit number: BCA-102359

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



High chair

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Game room


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter


Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Pool table : Private



50 reviews

carlos e. Jun 2021
It had more than enough rooms and beds for all of us, nice huge kitchen and dining room, smart tv, so you can stream from your own streaming accounts, it has a pool table and arcade machines for the kids, and much, much more, and an affordable price, can not go wrong with it, I would rent it again, we really enjoyed this place 👍😊
Anthony R. Apr 2021
I loved the house layout and theme. Very spacious, just not fond of nosey neighbors.
ramon c. Apr 2021
The place was nice the rooms are big living room exelent the pool table nice the only thing we did not like is that the pool table stick dindt have the rubber tips to hit the balls it makes it hard to play please fix them for future families other than that was nice
Manager response:
Hola, Ramon! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in this spacious home. We appreciate you bringing the issue with the pool sticks to our attention so that we can repair them for future guests. Please know that there are replacement pool tips in the home and in the local office, which can be contacted via the information provided in the check-in instructions. Thank you again for this valuable feedback as we use it as a means to improve. We hope to host you again soon for another great stay!
Carolyn R. Dec 2020
I loved that the kitchen was fully stocked from cookie sheets to a big pot for Menudo. Just remember trash bags and xtra toilet paper
Porfirio I. Nov 2020
The whole house was great, family had a great time and everything was near the house, will look into coming back during the summer time.
Gissel M. Oct 2020
The home itself is super cozy and has more then enough room to be comfortable and enjoy the time with loved ones. The game room is awesome however if the arcade machines worked better, it would make the stay that much more fun. Only advice I would give for future visitors would be to make sure to clean out the stove before using. The commercial stove in the kitchen it’s a great feature for cooking for large groups. Great hospitality.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Gissel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Chateau de Swan. We were able to get all of the arcade game working except one which will be repaired as soon as possible. We hope to see you again!
Alan V. Aug 2020
Joseph S. Aug 2020
The livingroom was big and that's about it! The house smelled and it was dirty! We found old trash left in one of the rooms an old Gatorade bottle under the couch. There were tons of flies and spiders. We booked mainly for the game room for our kids but that was a big letdown. 2 out of 3 of the video games didnt work. The pool sticks were broken and the treadmill didn't work. For $750 for 2 nights I would of expected more. I do not reccomend this cabin and wish we wouldn't of booked it there. Very disappointed that the pictures didn't show the true experience of the cabin. Do not book!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are sorry to hear the home did not meet your expectations upon arrival and we apologize for the home not being cleaned as thoroughly as is our standard. Please know our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should you encounter any issues during your stay. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to host you for a more enjoyable stay in the future!
Alicia I. Jul 2020
House is close to stores, good size home, enjoyed our stay there.
Eduardo C. Jun 2020
Do not use the ice maker or at least make sure it has been cleaned before use. Could have been cleaner give the current circumstances.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Eduardo! We apologize for the cleanliness issues, and that the ice maker encountered trouble during your stay. We have ensured it has been serviced and fully repaired, and that the home's future cleanings live up to the Vacasa standard we strive for. We hope for a chance to host you again!
Berenice R. Dec 2019
We loved the location of the house, it’s very central to different locations around. The neighborhood is very nice and quiet. The house is very big and comfy, so much room and a great game room.
marco a p. Mar 2019
The house is beautiful. It’s big and spacious. Plenty of rooms to accommodate a big family trip. It has a great lay out it just needs a good deep clean and needs a lot of upgrades and repairs to be done. The tile is broken and it’s such a safety hazard for kids. The comforters smelled. Luckily the sheets didn’t. The living room couch and papa chair need to be replaced big time. Some of the arcade games didn’t even work.
Manager response:
Hi Marco, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing stay you had in our home. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the vacation you had hoped for. We will continue to make improvements to our home. Thank you for staying with us.
Arilenne V. Jan 2019
The space was beautiful and accommodated my group and I perfectly. We had a large group of 12 adults and found the house had great sleeping arrangements. There is a room not pictured in the site that has 2 beds, near the game room. The neighborhood was also really nice and full of snow when we visited. Check-in and check-out was a very easy process which includes picking up a door code at their offices and simply placing the key back into its designated location afterwards. I think this is a great place, especially for its size and price. Would totally visit again!
Jessica S. Jul 2018
Lots of space , kool playroom with the exception of a pool table with missing /incomplete set of pool balls. Arcade games kept the kids entertained. Large kitchen with lots of bar stools for adult time or kids dinner time. We would rent again.... wish they added a jacuzzi though.
Sara H. Jun 2018
The cabin was perfect! Plenty of rooms and beds for a huge party! It has everything you need! We had a great time and felt at home. Plus it’s super simple to reserve and get to your cabin! There are instructions for everything and they give you a complete listing of awesome things to do for with your family!
Alma R. Mar 2018
Loved the open space it really helps when you have kids! Really nice house specially if you have kids I got to say the game room was our favorite!
Adrian L. Mar 2018
Cant pick a fav spot in the house! Every room is amazing
Maribel B. Jan 2018
Excellent location, spacious
Pablo D. Jan 2018
The house was perfect for our family lots of space and games for the kids as well as pool for the adults. location is good and central in big bear would stay again
Steve Z. Dec 2017
My family and friends and a beautiful stay . We will be vacationing with Vacasa again and again
Kendy C. Nov 2017
El hospedaje fue bueno, la casa muy amplia y con todos los servicios, a pesar de los detalles del colchón que si el primer día no fue bueno, el contar con todo en la casa nos ayudó a disfrutar del lugar.
Big bear maravilloso!
Mariela S. Nov 2017
La casa es muy acogedora para estar es amplia limpia y muy fácil de llegar a los alrededores la volvería a solicitar de nuevo
Cheryl W. Nov 2017
Six of us stayed here for a girls weekend. We rented 3 houses in the neighborhood and this house was by far our least favorite. Game room was cool and location not bad, but it is shabby, not well maintained and not well cleaned. We rent 3 houses in Big Bear every fall for 12 years and this was our first really disappointing rental. Would not recommend or stay again.
Manager response:
We have been working closely with housekeeping to get this house deep cleaned and the condition of the house improved. Cleanliness and maintenance of our homes is a top priority, and we will take steps to make sure the house is in better condition for the next guests. We apologize for any disappointments this guest experienced.
Madai M. Aug 2017
My kids had a lot of fun and we were so relax
Jenny L. Aug 2017
If staying during the summer please do bring your own fans or AC units. Downstairs floor mainly living room area was well ventilated and had lots of air, if staying upstairs you will have trouble because there is no air running upstairs no air flow, so it gets very stuffy and hot upstairs. Tvs, aside from the living room and game room are very outdated and does not have any cable channels. Plenty of pots, pans and utensils provided for your stay. Depending on your days of stay along with occupants bring extra rolls of toilet paper and paper towels. We as a group of 10 stayed from Friday night through Sunday afternoon had to go and buy at least 4 more rolls of toilet paper to feel comfortable for our stay. You do not have any access to the garage for parking but there's more than enough room to park your cars outside of the garage for at least 4 cars comfortably. You h have to gather all your trash and drive a good 5 to 10 mins to throw your trash in the dumpster.
Luis L. Aug 2017
Great location !!!
Srin N. Aug 2017
Gameroom, Popcorn machine, and Netflix was awsome!
Julie V. Jul 2017
This property has plenty of potential and was probably a great family home 20 years ago. Good sized rooms and the games room provided hours of entertainment. It is let down by being in serious need of refurbishment throughout the whole house, especially the kitchen. The wifi wasn't working when we arrived on 3 July, but by 5 July the agents installed a new router and signal booster, after which we had good connection. Ants got everywhere except inside the fridge and caused us to have to throw away most of the food we bought.
Manager response:
We are pleased to say that updates are on their way! The owner has new blinds installed, the floors will soon be retired, and the gas stove has been repaired. Thanks!
Brandon O. May 2017
House is in big need of minor renovations. Pool sticks were all missing tips and were bent and warped, kitchen floor tiles severely cracked and shift under your feet, being tin foil because the outdoor grill grate is rusted extremely bad. Don't expect the wifi to work either, wifi signal was not available and I tried to find the wireless router to troubleshoot but I couldn't even find that. The beds are extremely uncomfortable, all my guests woke up in the morning and complained about it, and I'll agree. I felt like I was sleeping on cardboard. The coffee maker also did not work and was fairly disappointing. The property does have a nice location though. Overall my stay was sub par at best, when we go up to big bear we won't be returning to this property unless the major issues have been resolved.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this stay was disappointing. The pool sticks and coffee pot have been replaced, and the router has been moved into the game room so guests can have better WiFi. The owner has plans to repair the tile, and mattress toppers will soon be placed on all the beds for better sleep comfort. Thank you!
Abrahem K. Apr 2017
Highly recommended to stay with family and friends.
Soraya R. Mar 2017
We had a wonderful time. Perfect place for 12 people. Nice place, big kitchen, it was space for everybody and we really enjoyed the game room. Definitely we will stay there again.
Vanessa S. Feb 2017
The house was very spacious, & the game room was awesome ! Perfect big bear vacay spot
Chris B. Jan 2017
Everything was great except for the being no pool balls in the house.
Maribel B. Jan 2017
Excellent location, very spacious. No one was bored because house has a game room appropriate for all ages. Kitchen, living room and dinning room connected making it really easy to entertain the family. Overall, will stay here again.
Vannida Y. Nov 2016
Despite the minor uncleanliness and outdated furniture, lack of communication from the local office prior to arrival, misleading signs at the house vs what the office told was a great place to stay at. My family and friends loved the huge space very much. If only we had went when it was snowing. I would recommend Vacasa to other friends and family.
Christina R. Nov 2016
Very happy and satisfied
Sang M L. Sep 2016
It was very great time for my family & friends.
Tim N. Aug 2016
This place had plenty of seating and sleeping room for 15 people and we would recommend again if at least some of following were fixed.
-The fridge never never got cold enough.
-The carpet tacks kept scraping our feet
- The broken kitchen tile kept tripping people
- The did player was broken
- Not all Windows opened
- The Pacman game kept cutting out
- The supernintendo didn't work because of the frayed wiring.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that there were some inconveniences during this stay. The refrigerator is working well, we have a kitchen rug over the damaged area until the owner can get the floor repaired, the DVD players are working, and the owners will check the windows and the arcade game.
Daniel A. Aug 2016
It was nice staying here I would here again Thanks
Shannon B. Aug 2016
We were so very happy with the game room that lead to hours of entertainment. The large table let us enjoy meals together and the well equipped kitchen make cooking a breeze. We are very grwatf for the memories we so happily made in this home.
Andrea A. Jul 2016
Very Pleased with our rental! Lots of space and everything we could possibly need while on our vacation.
SENIA S. Jul 2016
Had a very pleasant stay during the 4th of July it was our first time in Big Bear and we picked the perfect home!! It's location was perfect one block away from the grocery stores and on the same street as Kmart and CVS! For the 4th Of July we walked to the park to sit by the lake and watch a spectacular Fire Work show!! We will definitely be back next year!!
Dan R. Jun 2016
The house had plenty of space for our 12 people. The kids liked the game room. It was fully stocked with dishes, pans, utensils, etc. Other than food we didn't have to buy anything to support our living in the house.
Silvia S. May 2016
We went as a large group and stayed at this home. Adults and kids loved our stay here.