Virtual Tour
USA California Northstar Truckee Listing #5568

Ford Family Escape - Truckee, CA

23 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
1512 Logging Trail, Truckee, CA 96161

A private game area, close to slopes, on-site golf & shared pools and hot tubs!

Plan a comfortable and fun-filled North Lake Tahoe vacation at this three-bedroom Northstar home, where you'll enjoy a private foosball table and close proximity to ski slopes, golf, and other fantastic resort amenities.

This two-level mountain view home sits just one mile from the Village at Northstar, where guests will find a variety of restaurants, cinemas, and the base of the Highlands, Village Express, and Big Springs Express Gondolas. You'll be two miles from Northstar California Golf, eight miles from Kings Beach, eight miles from Truckee, and 11 miles from the lovely shores of Donner Lake.

Guests can also take the free resort shuttle one mile to reach the NPOA Recreation Center, which offers year-round and seasonal pools, hot tubs, saunas, a tennis center, a gym, an adult clubhouse, and a game room with air hockey, Ping-Pong, billiards, and foosball (for a small daily fee).

Step inside the living space to find an abundance of knotty pine details, which only enhance the cozy mountain atmosphere. Build a fire in the wood stove (wood is even provided), rest your ski legs on one of the three sofas as you read, or peruse the DVD and VHS collection for a favorite to watch on the flatscreen cable TV.

Spend each morning in the well-equipped full kitchen, using the mixer, blender, and waffle iron to whip up a homemade meal. And there's no need to rush as you eat breakfast at the dining room table for eight - the convenient dishwasher will take care of the clean-up.

With the Northstar shuttle just a phone call away, you and your guests can easily spend your days skiing, snowboarding, golfing, or exploring the facilities at the NPOA Recreation Center. You'll always come home to a private deck, perfect for summer relaxation among the trees.

This three-bedroom, three-bathroom home will sleep as many as eight guests during your Northstar vacation. The master suite has a king-size bed, an attached bathroom, and private access to a tree-lined balcony. The guest room offers a queen-size bed, while the kids' room has a set of twin bunk beds, a set of twin-over-full bunk beds, and its very own foosball table.

Worried about overpacking for this summer or winter getaway? You'll have a private washer and dryer to refresh your outdoor wardrobe, as well as free WiFi to help you monitor the weather conditions.

Whether you're planning a family ski vacation, a summer lake getaway, or simply looking for the comfort of a world-class resort community, Northstar is a place to enjoy the natural beauty of the Sierras. The mountain boasts 20 lifts and 100 trails across 3,170 acres - ideal terrain for intermediate skiers especially.

Come summertime, the Robert Muir Graves-designed golf course features 18 scenic holes, while the NPOA Recreation Center offers year-round fun for all ages. You can swim laps, watch your kids enjoy the summer splash pad, take a soak in one of the hot tubs, or practice your serve at the seasonal tennis center.

It's time to discover the wonderful amenities of Northstar for yourself - make this three-bedroom mountain retreat your home away from home!

AMENITIES

Activities

Golf Nearby

Basketball court : Shared

Board games

Game room

Golf on-site

Gym/fitness room

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Pool : Shared

Sauna : Shared

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : AT&T

Cable

DVD library

DVD player

TV

VCR

VHS library

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Shared

Balcony

Deck

23 reviews

Oraid R. Sep 2019
This house was perfect and just what we needed. It hadn’t everything too and the location was perfect too.
Tamiko E. Jul 2019
First step in the house and it was clean, smelled clean, the beds were comfortable, the amenities were sufficient. The location amazing! We spent so much time out of the cabin and I would have preferred more time just relaxing in such a beautiful home!!
Jennifer H. Jul 2019
We had a wonderful stay at this home. Great location, beautiful setting and we loved having the rec center passes. It’s not the most updated but very clean and very charming. Exactly as expected. Great communication and very responsive property management group. Thank you!
Murray Thomas F. Apr 2019
Just what we needed for a weekend ski trip with friends. Will consider this place again if we return.

JP B. Nov 2018
Great home with everything you need for a family getaway.
It’s right by Northstar which makes its real easy to get there using their shuttle service.
Will come back.
elyse c. Nov 2018
The best part about this cabin is the location. The shuttle service to/from the Village made everything very easy. The cabin is spacious, with comfortable beds and a large bunk room for the kids. Although it is dated everything was clean, organized, and in great working order.
Sarah C. Jul 2018
Awesome Home close To the Village! Very comfortable and fully stocked if cooking
For a crew. 3 Full bathrooms. Awesome rev center that is $3.00 per person w the guest pass
Allan J. Jul 2018
Comfortable accommodations in a beautiful setting, conveniently located near Northstar.
Jennie L. Jun 2018
Our stay here was overall an okay stay.
Cons:
Poor lighting - the master bedroom was very dark
Poor Furniture/Appliances - sofas and bed were a bit outdated and too soft. The shower head in the master bedroom was broken. We weren’t able to shower with it unless we held it up with one had. My dad had to tie it up for us to use it properly.
Air Conditioning - The ac wasn’t working on the top floor, which was dreadful for our stay there during the summer.
Pros:
Parking - there was loads of parking and was very spacious
Amenities - everything you could pretty much need was provided
Games - there are loads of board games and a fooseball table for guest to use. This was great for the kids.
Location - on a cul de sac in a quiet neighborhood
Manager response:
We would like to thank this guest for taking the time to let us know about their stay. This particular cabin gets its ambiance from the warm lighting and country decor. We are sorry to see it wasn't to this guest's liking and would like to encourage our guests to use the pictures and descriptions provided on the website to find a home that best suits their preference. We also ask our guests to please call us any time they encounter issues with our properties. We have local employees that would have been happy to help with the shower head and air conditioning during this guest's stay had we been notified. Thank you!
Wolfgang T. Mar 2018
The location in a cul de sac made it very quiet and private. Enjoyed the fireplace and shuttle service.
Tera B. Aug 2017
We spent one week in summertime here, and it was nice! The house and furnishings are dated, but everything worked and the house was clean. (The carpet was still damp from shampooing earlier in the day when we arrived) The house is a bit dark at night, but otherwise it was good. Some of the board games weren't all complete in their pieces, but the DVD player and TV worked. The kids loved the double bunk bed room with foosball downstairs. The location was great with easy access to Northstar mountain and relatively short drives to downtown Truckee and the Lake... We would stay in this house again, yes. 8)
James L. Aug 2017
Loved every minute of our stay this year. From the sunny 90 degree days to the occasional thunder storms.
Nicole M. Jun 2017
We really liked the location of this cabin. The neighborhood was quiet, and it was a quick trip to both the lake and Truckee. My husband and our boys enjoyed the foosball machine, but unfortunately, the Galaga game did not work. A small change that would make a huge difference, upgrading the comfort of the home. The upstairs mattresses were very firm and uncomfortable, and the couches were really uncomfortable as well. The outdated decor would be much easier to ignore, if new mattresses and couches were purchased for the home. I also underestimated the lack of cable TV. There's just something about being able to flip through channels at the end of a day spent outdoors. We brought our PS4 with access to online movies, but it just wasn't the same.
Manager response:
We apologize for any disappointments this guest experienced. At this point Galaga has become more a part of the decor as there are no plans to have it fixed at this time. Thanks!
Katie D. Apr 2017
My family and one other rented this house for a late-season ski trip/Spring Break. We had 7 adults and 4 kids. The house was a perfect size. The bunk room downstairs was wonderful for the kids - with their own bathroom, we didn't worry about them needing to come upstairs during the night. The location of the house was exceptional! It's on a court and only a 2 minute shuttle ride (which came in no time) to the Village. I would definitely rent this house again!
Catherine C. Apr 2017
We stayed here during spring break. Great location and sizeable place. Kids room/play room was particularly nice. The house is fairly big but is a bit dated. Nice to have a two car garage. There is no cable and I think Vacasa should have explicitly said that in the description. They said they didn't check the cable box in the litany of boxes and that is how they let people know. But many people don't look at the boxes and rely on a written description. There was also a missing key and I told them about it so I would not get charged. They were very nice about it. Overall very nice service from Vacasa.
Diane R. Apr 2017
The layout of the house is very well-suited to 2 families of 4. There is a fun foosball table. The location and Northstar shuttle are very convenient.
Connie A. Feb 2017
Loved staying here! Nice, clean house, close to everything!! Plenty of room for a big group! We will definetly stay again!
Alayna K. Jan 2017
Everything was very comfortable, the highlight for me was the beds, I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. The kitchen is well stocked but quality of appliances is very basic and there was no gas grill when we stayed there, so we probably would not have been quite so ambitious when it came to cooking. The carpet has some stains and the wallpaper is pealing in areas, but this didn't impact our stay there. There's also no snow shovel, which would have been useful. We didn't have quite enough towels, but that's okay.

The location was great and the shuttle service makes it super easy to get to the Village. While not the fanciest joint, it was a great option for our group getaway and perfect for relaxing after a day on the slopes.
Jennifer P. Jan 2017
I highly recommend using the shuttle service from the house to the village. It was very convenient being dropped off in front and not having to worry about parking.
Elle V. Sep 2016
We really loved our experience at Northstar and staying at this cabin. We were two families with 5 kids between us. The kids all stayed downstairs in the bunk room and the adults each had their own room. The layout was really great for two families with tweenagers vacationing together. The cabin was comfortable, casual and had everything we needed.

We used the shuttle service everyday which was very convenient and I was impressed with how easy it was to request a shuttle and how quickly it came.

Kids had fun at the pool and rec center. Our bigger kids loved the mountain biking while our little ones road the gondola and hiked around the mountain some. We made most meals at home but also enjoyed 2 meals in the village.

The activity pass for the kids (mini-golf, rock wall climbing, bungee jumping, etc) was a fun way to spend our final day and let the kids burn off some energy before we headed home.