Virtual Tour
USA Idaho Valley County, Idaho McCall Listing #581

Fernhaven - McCall, ID

59 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms  plus loft 2.5 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
964 Fernwood Street, McCall, ID 83638

McCall getaway with outdoor fire pit & pool table - dogs OK!

This gorgeous McCall vacation lodge on the western side of Payette Lake offers privacy and is close to the lake, as well as shops, restaurants, and activities in the surrounding area. Loaded with amenities, this dog-friendly rental is perfect for your next getaway.

What's nearby:
Downtown McCall is less than two miles south with breweries and eateries. Payette Lake is less than a mile away for anglers, and flyfishers can head to Payette, Salmon, and Snake rivers. Davis Beach is a little over three miles away for relaxing, swimming, sailing, and water skiing. Payette National Forest and Ponderosa State Park are nearby, with spectacular views from Osprey Point and trails for hiking and biking. McCall Municipal Golf Course is three miles away. In the winter, Brundage is 10 miles away, with Tamarack 23 miles away for skiing and boarding.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (with dishwasher)
Two dogs welcome for a small nightly fee

Read more Read less 



Board games

Children's games

Pool table : Private


Washer/dryer : Private

Wood stove







Internet : Cable One


DVD library

DVD player




VHS library

Wireless router


Gas grill : Private


59 reviews

KARLA B. Jan 2019
We really enjoyed the quiet location and how organized the home was. It was exceptionally clean on arrival! We had everything we needed and were comfy in every room.
Liliana D. Nov 2018
We enjoyed the spacious, beautiful cottage. The only, but non-negligible, problem was the intense amount of minerals/iron in the water, which made all appliances, especially toilet bowls and showers, unsightly and the water undrinkable.
Mark S. Aug 2018
We loved the set up of the home. It functioned very well for our family of 7 adults and 2 kids as well as our dog. There was enough sleeping space, with left overs! The openness with large kitchen and oversized sofa was perfect. Also close to town, lake, biking trails and so much more. The home could use some minor repairs but all in all it was a great vacation spot.
Senad B. Jun 2018
First THANK YOU for opening this Gorgeous home to Dogs.. Had friends in town from Maui it was their first time in McCall and they came on such short notice. Finding a cabin that excepts dogs was extremely hard. So when we found this house we couldn’t believe that it is excepted.
Everything we needed this house had.. Nice view.. back patio.. Nice bed/mattress with clean bedding sheets.. so much space through the whole house..
Will definitely recommend it to friends and when needed a cabin will definitely rent this one again. And thank you again for opening the door to dogs..
william m. Apr 2018
Just as advertised. Loved it!
Connie S. Mar 2018
Enjoyed our family get away.
Keean T. Feb 2018
The house is not bad at all, a little dirty and we found several spiders. I am not the type to complain about little things at all. The biggest problem I have is that in the ad is says there is room for snowmobile trailers and vehicles. Not exactly true. I have a 24 ft enclosed trailer, and my friend has a 12 ft trailer. The 12 ft trailer we had to put in the garage to make room. we spent about 2 hours shoveling snow and breaking ice so we could barely get my 24 ft trailer out of the street. once that was done the 2 trucks barely fit in the driveway. I have been a commercial truck driver for 18 years and I think that is the only reason I was able to back the trailer into the small area at this rental. That being said, the house is in a great location for snowmobiling. I will go back again next year, with my snowblower to help clear an area. I hope they clean more and get rid of some spiders. The house is great for a couple of families there is plenty of room.
Manager response:
We apologize the plowing service missed the side of the drive. We have adjusted the parking notes to better describe the parking area, and we will ask that the side be cleared. Thanks!
Nicholas E. Jan 2018
This place has everything and is close to the ski areas and lake.
Caitlin C. Oct 2017
We enjoyed a long fall weekend at Fernhaven and enjoyed the floor plan and deck. The lake view is perhaps a bit overstated, and it's too bad you can't actually use the beach area, especially in the off-season. The place was comfortable, nothing fancy, and quiet, and we had a great time.
AULIA S. Aug 2017
Very well equipped, lots of space, loved the big porch!
Frank B. Jul 2017
Great location close to downtown McCall and the lake!
Todd E. Apr 2017
The house really feels like you're at home. That was the best bed I think I've slept in away from home.
Mark H. Mar 2017
Great little place to stay needs some minor updating due to wear and tear but nothing that was two bad. Will stay again.
Joni H. Feb 2017
Close to everything you need to do. Good amount of bedrooms and fun things like a pool table to keep the kids happy.
Linda H. Nov 2016
We really enjoyed our weekend at Fernhaven in McCall, Idaho! The kitchen was well stocked and large enough to cook our Thanksgiving dinner. We enjoyed the amenities of the house and the easy accessibility to town. We will do this trip again!
NEIL H. Oct 2016
Excellent place to stay. Reservations, check in and checkout were easy. Good location also.
Leslie M. Oct 2016
Nice home, well located, McCall great.
Bryce L. Aug 2016
Natalie C. Jun 2016
We had a great time. There were plenty of beds for everyone.
Linda J. Apr 2016
We recently met our kids and grandkids in McCall for a family getaway. The house very spacious with a great layout, well-suited for larger groups or multiple families. The bedrooms and living areas are large, it has a nice open kitchen, and large gameroom. The upstairs master bathroom could use an update; but overall, the home is a great choice and very good value! I would return and/or recommend this home to a friend.
Terri L. Apr 2016
We enjoyed the roominess and close proximity to Mccall
Gary P. Mar 2016
We were in McCall to watch some Jr. Hockey games. The entire process was seamless and loved that they offered a late checkout. The only downside was that the location listed having a waffle maker so we did our breakfast meal planning based on that info. However there was not waffle maker or griddle on site and pans were too small and non-stick coating was flaking off. Ended up purchasing a griddle to make pancakes. Everything else was fantastic!!
Would highly recommend.
Nathan A. Feb 2016
Great place.
SUMMER T. Feb 2016
There were two families in our group and we had plenty of space to spread out. Our only complaint was the parking situation. The road had not been plowed which made access a bit difficult especially with a trailer. We came to McCall to snowmobile. The cabin is close to great trails and off trail riding, however it didn't offer a place to park truck and trailer.
Jessica R. Feb 2016
Great, open property. Close to town. Lots of room inside. We would rent this house again if we come back to McCall.
Shannon B. Jan 2016
This is a nice place in a nice location. It could use some updating a thorough cleaning but all in all it was fine. However, early in October and well within my cancelation period, I tired to cancel my reservations and requested a refund. I reached out to the owner 4 times and never got an acknowledgment . Next thing I knew a message appears on the website that says "no refunds." I could have fought this as my contract is clear but I chose not to and we had a good time. Both the renter and owner have to honor the rules or these types of rental won't work. I wouldn't rent from him again. I rent from owners who honor their contracts. this guys isn't one of them
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any confusion with refunds. We do allow refunds for cancellations (minus a 5% cancellation fee) for reservations that are cancelled more than 30 days out. Once within 30 days we can only offer refunds if Trip Protection has been purchased and the reason for cancelling falls within accepted reasons that can be seen on our FAQ page. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the home and are delighted to see that you had a wonderful time while staying here!
Jennifer M. Dec 2015
Fernhaven is very relaxing, roomy, and a great location. I like that it's not directly in the middle of downtown, but literally a 2 minute drive from it. The flow of the house worked very nicely, especially for 2 families staying together (9 people total). There were minor inconveniences (lightbulbs needing replaced in living/dining areas, and no firewood as specified to be available); and I would double-check when booking to find out if the cookware has been replaced - as we could not use the flaking nonstick pans - to make sure you don't have to bring your own. Despite these things, the house was well kept, clean, and overall, a relaxing place to retreat! Lastly, the family that stayed with us left some personal items behind, and the Vacasa staff quickly remedied the situation and had them shipped to them directly in no time! They were so grateful for the prompt response; and as the person who booked the vacation for all of us, I was grateful as well!
Dave & Judy H. Sep 2015
Very warm and comfortable home to stay in for a getaway to McCall! Will definitely stay here again.

From Aliso Viejo - Orange County. CA
Lisa T. Jul 2015
We loved the cabin and love McCall. We would stay again for sure. The only problems we had were as follows: the rafts leaked so we couldn't use them. Also, we washed a load of whites and all of them were ruined. We didn't use bleach, only the detergent packets provided, and all the clothing had yellow blotches all over the fabric. They had to all be thrown away. I have no idea why that would happen. Otherwise, we loved everything and would come again.
Manager response:
We are very sorry that your clothes were ruined in the washing machine! We will look into how that happened and will take care of the rafts. We are glad to see you had a great time otherwise! Thank you!
Ryan C. Feb 2015
We recently went on a snowmobile trip with 9 guests and the house could easily handle and sleep more. It is in a very good location for us and everyone enjoyed the housing. Parking was a little tricky and would have been tough with more snow, but we would definitely rent this house again.
Janie B. Aug 2014
The house was very well maintained. We did have plumbing drainage problem in downstairs bathroom. We did report this and the very next day the problem was taken care of. We did not have washcloths for the bathrooms, which would have been nice. The location of the house is very quiet and permanent neighbors were also quiet. Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely.
Manager response:
Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate you calling us promptly to report the plumbing issue as this allowed our property manager to quickly address and fix the drain. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come visit again.
Joe B. Jul 2014
The property was very nice. didn't like That you couldn't go to the beach by the house. The fire extinguisher was out of service. Might want to fix that. The over all stay was awesome
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. While we are sorry to say that there is no beach access for renters right at the home, there are 5 public beaches in town, the closest being 1 mile from the home.
Carrie H. Mar 2014
We used to own a Cabin around the corner from this Property and love the area. Easy access to everything.

The Cabin was awesome!!! Warm, Bright and Inviting!!!

It was the Best Weekend!!!
Sandra K. Oct 2013
Very nice comfortable home with comfortable beds. Plenty of seating. Nice view. Nice and close to town with privacy as well.
Kristin K. Sep 2013
We had a family reunion on a very rainy weekend in McCall, but the rental was perfect. The kitchen had EVERYTHING we needed to cook dinner for 7 of us! I love that our dogs were able to join in the fun as well. We will definitely look to stay again sometime!
Manager response:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy you had a great time for your family reunion. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
David H. Aug 2013
We've come to McCall many times, but this year's trip was the best. Our stay in this beautiful, clean cabin definitely helped make this trip so memorable. We didn't have to bring anything with us except our clothes. The property's location couldn't be beat; we love the properties on the lake side of Warren Wagon Road. It is peaceful, it is forested, and perfect for a relaxing vacation (even though we didn't relax much). I can definitely recommend VACASA, their helpful staff, and this property.
Tim L. Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our family vacation in McCall. People were friendly. The town is very nice. Lots of beautiful recreational options. Gorgeous lake and scenery. Vacasa Rentals is extremely helpful and well-run. We were impressed and we plan on returning next summer.
Laura S. Jul 2013
We were VERY pleased with Fernhaven and would highly recommend staying here if you are a large family or a group of several couples with a few children. It has a well-stocked kitchen with all the plates, utensils, glasses, pots, pans, etc. that you would need to feed a large family or a sizable group of friends. It was clean and tidy and felt like home. You are close to just about anything that you want to do in McCall and the surrounding areas.
Dan H. Jun 2013
We were in McCall for our son's wedding and the ease of the reservations and property access made for one less thing to worry about. This is a beautiful and well maintained property. It was a great experience and Vacasa Vacation Rentals has an outstanding staff. Top notch customer service.
Peter D G. May 2013
We visited with our son, daughter-kin-law and three young boys - everyone had a great time and loved the space and flexibility offered by the property.
Joni H. Mar 2013
We loved this place. We had three families with a variety of ages that came together for the first time and it suited all our needs. We will come back here again!
Lynn G. Feb 2013
My mom, sisters, and I along with all the kids had a great time. We loved the spaciousness of the house and how well lit it was. The pool table was a big hit. We also really appreciated the sleds in the garage. Watching the kids have such fun was definitely the highlight of the trip.
Velvet W. Feb 2013
The house was very nice and clean. It was conveniently located close to town. I enjoyed that it had extra amenities that you may have forgotten, i.e. toothbrushes, hair products, etc. It did have quite a few spiders which made some of our guests a little uncomfortable, but that would be an easy fix.
Manager response:
As Fernhaven is located in a woodsy setting, it's sometimes hard to keep the critters at bay, but we will be addressing the spider issue immediately. Thanks for staying with us!