Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Northern Oregon Coast Manzanita Listing #59

Classic Beach House Vacation Rental - Manzanita, OR

93 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 (8 adults) 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 6 Twin Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
8505 NeahKahNie Rd, Manzanita, OR 97131

Cozy, family-friendly house w/ deck & views - near town, walk to the beach!

This bright, family-friendly home in Manzanita has a deck with ocean views and plenty of in-house entertainment like foosball, Ping-Pong, and cable, as well as a stereo, sound dock, and DVD library. The expanse deck offers a grill and a spot for an outdoor meal.

What's nearby:
The sandy beach and Neakahnie-Manzanita State Park are less than a half-mile away, and the Neah-Kah-Nie Mountain Trail is a little over two miles away. Downtown Manzanita is under two miles from this home, offering grocery stores, restaurants, and cafes. Nehalem Bay is ideal for fishing and stand-up paddleboarding, and Manzanita Golf Course is less than two miles south.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (with dishwasher)
Futon on lower level
Three adult bikes/one child's bike available

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Adult bikes

Board games

Children's bikes

Children's games

Foosball table

Ping-pong table

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Century Link

Cable

DVD library

DVD player

Sound dock

Stereo

TV

VCR

VHS library

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

93 reviews

Jason R. Aug 2018
Amazing house, would stay again
Lee M. Aug 2018
It was a great place for a family. Lots of beds, games, and a quick walk down the hill to the beach. Kitchen had everything we needed!
Sherrill K. B. Feb 2018
Great curb appeal... nice size house for 3 families and grandkids. The ping pong table was a hit. Bunks downstairs need to be replaced for safety reasons no upper rail...basement damp and cool. Kitchen pots and pans &dishes need to replaced as all scratched and mismatched. Very small refergerator and nice to have larger and updated. House has baseboard heat but the upstairs wood stove was a hit with my husband and a lifesaver to stay warm. House was decorated with a lot of personal family photos and belongings, kitchen food item and clothing in closets. Nice walk to the beach was great... nice wood supply in garage. BBQ nice on the deck ...
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback. The home is periodically updated by the owners who are currently taking this guest's comments under consideration. Thank you!
Debbie K. Sep 2017
This is a rental HOME. It is warm, inviting and filled with everything you need to enjoy your vacation in Manzanita. Our family of ten had a great time seeing the sights from Astoria to Cape Meares and Tillamook, but our favorite spot was the beach in Manzanita.
Coral D. Aug 2017
This house was perfect for our stay. Fit 12 adults comfortably, and was within walking distance of the beach as well as shops and restaurants if you don't mind getting some exercise in! I would definitely stay here again!
Gautam D. Aug 2017
Very well maintained and located, the only issue we had was related to the bunk bed stair that was broken
M H. Aug 2017
Sleeps nine comfortably within only a few short block up the hill from the beach.
Gemma H. Aug 2017
This was a lovely home with several bathrooms, a great patio with a large barbecue grill, a large washer and dryer, and lots of room. The beach is within walking distance down a short hill (about five minutes away). We were close to downtown where there were a couple of fully stocked grocery stores and lots of interesting shops.
Anita A. Jul 2017
A beautiful venue... a home at the beach. Perfect for large family or gathering of friends.
Karen W. Jun 2017
We traveled as a large family group and the arrangement of beds/rooms worked out well for the 6 adults and 2 kids with us. The walk to the beach, while steep, was quite manageable (5 minutes?), and the location was good. The home is clean and well maintained, but no-frills, and some furniture is showing signs of wear. Great selection of games to play with; loved the patio. Quirky, cheery artwork and décor which really suited our style. Lots of clean towels and extra sheets, and everything was clearly labeled for ease of access and use.

There's only one TV in the house, in the basement, but its a larger upgraded TV , nicer than is show in the photos. Apparently there are streaming options through the DVD player but I didn't figure that out and used an amazon fire stick that I brought from home.

Other than the upgraded TV, the photos on the website are pretty accurate in terms of furniture and decor we found in the home.

While the house sleeps a fair number of people, note that the dining table has 6 chairs, and the kitchenette has 4. I would love to see a larger dining table so that everyone could eat together. For the same reason, I wouldn't try to put more than 10 in the house unless there was more dining seating.

The downstairs game room with bunks has plenty of space to hold a large number of people, but the bunk beds need to be replaced. They are loud and squeaky, no rails on the top bunks, and (worst of all), the ladders to the top bunk were loose. Although maintenance (Eli) came out and tried to reattach them, it's not a safe permanent fix, and I'd worry about injury liability if I was the owner. I started my first night on one of the lower bunk beds but slept so poorly with all the squeaks that I ultimately moved to the futon. It wasn't terribly comfortable but at least it was quiet. The downstairs also has no place to keep clothes like a closet or drawers, so we lived out of suitcases scattered around the room. A dresser or wardrobe would be a welcome addition.

Also worth noting: the living room is limited to only two lamps for lighting. It could greatly benefit from can lighting in the ceiling in addition to the lamps. We also had problems with the BBQ grill and couldn't use it (wouldn't heat up much while on), although it had gas and is a good quality weber grill. With a bit of troubleshooting we could have done something to get it to heat up past ~200 , but I was on vacation and just cooked inside.

We had an enjoyable trip and the house overall really suited our needs. I would consider renting the same home again, especially if the bunk beds were replaced.
Dina O. May 2017
Stayed as 3 families, 9 adults and 3 smaller kids. The bedrooms and beds available worked out great. Short walk to beach. Enjoyed lovely Manzanita. Loved all the classic games to play, bikes, and large living room layout.
Prudence M. Mar 2017
This house was VERY clean and had plenty of room for our trip. Five adults, and five children. We had a great time and the size of the house was great for our rainy Oregon coast spring break. There is a great family room downstairs for the kids to run around and play. We enjoyed having fireplaces on both levels so we could warm up after our cold rainy hours at the beach. Our family found over 30 whole sand dollars in three days. This is a first for us. Supper exciting.
Gina C. Feb 2017
Nice house. Have stayed here a few times. First time having kids staying in bunk beds downstairs. Beds are super squeaky and one set does not have the ladder attached safely. The upstairs tub drain needs to be cleared. Otherwise it's a really comfy house.
Great with kids if bed fixes are made.
Ruth C. Jan 2017
Lovely house suitable for a large group with three bedrooms and a large family room in the basement. Well maintained. It has a wood stove in the living room and also one in the basement. The owners of this house even provided a good supply of wood for the fire. Our family would like to have more time at this vacation home.
Rebecca J. Nov 2016
The house was very homey and comfortable for kids and adults alike. The washer and dryer was much appreciated too! Great location - you can see/hear the ocean from the house, and we loved walking to the beach every day.
Donna & John H. Sep 2016
What a beautiful place and location to stay! This house is perfect for a large family, very very clean and welcoming. The Ocean waves can be seen from the house as well as the waves being heard, with about a half a block walk to the sandy beach. There's no doubt our family will return. The help and prompt replies we received from property management was excellent and friendly. Thank you so much from the entire Hall family!
Lucy E. Sep 2016
Lovely home, beautiful view. Fantastic overall for our extended family of 6 adults and 4 children.
Lindsey H. Aug 2016
We enjoyed the house very much. The only problem was the musty smell.. especially in the basement. Other than that, loved it!
Manager response:
We apologize that the musty smell was off-putting for this guest. Older coastal homes do tend to develop a musty smell, and we do our best to combat it by regularly airing out the home and using air fresheners.
Elisabeth I. Aug 2016
We visited with two other families--six adults, six children, and a baby altogether. The house was perfect for us. It was comfortable, clean, spacious enough for everyone, and casual enough for all our beach activities. The children LOVED their basement room and we loved the outdoor grill and dining table. We also loved how close we were to the beach--a really short walk right down the hill to an absolutely gorgeous coastline. I wish I could go back right now.
Sudha C. Aug 2016
a lovely house with a well furnished kitchen and lots of games.
Ancil M. Jul 2016
Nice property to fit 12 people in 4 Bedrooms. Spacious and well equipped. Close to Beach. Loved it.
H C. Feb 2016
Three families shared the house. The children were thrilled with the kids room in the basement. The beach is an easy walk down the hill and the ocean can be seen through the trees from the front rooms and the porch. The kitchen is well stocked.
There is an extremely strong mildew smell in the house. It is particularly bad in the basement. The dehumidifier might be helping but I suspect there is a source issue to solve- maybe it originates in the garage?
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing you review. We let our property manager know that you smelled strong mildew and they will make sure that it is not an issue for our guests going forward. We are so happy that you all had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!
Michelle S. Dec 2015
Great location with easy walking access to the beach. Clean and great layout for a family. No tv or DVD player. Only a vcr player (who uses that anymore?). Would have been perfect with a few minor updates in the kitchen and for electronics.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We will check the entertainment provided as there should be a DVD player for guest use. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the location!
Sarah C. Sep 2015
We loved staying at this house, and felt like we were staying in someone's beloved home. It has a well equipped kitchen and lots of fun games for all ages. Nice little view of the ocean.
Debbie M. Sep 2015
This was a great home for a large group. The added foosball and pingpong table were a plus! We had a wonderful time!
Patricia B. Aug 2015
We loved the location and the lay out of the house which provided a few possibilities of private space with a family. There were lots of places to sit, play, enjoy for people of all ages. The furniture and beds were very comfortable. There were plenty of books, games, puzzles, ample kitchen supplies (bring your own knives and a special pan). The kitchen is somewhat dated (old electric stove), but it all came together as expected in a beach experience. It is a very comfortable space. The beach is approx. 1/4 mile from the house and is down a hill,so not good for people who are challenged by a good walk. One caveat: there is quite a bit of mildew smell in the home, especially in the basement. The upstairs was fine, especially if the windows were kept open. There is a lot of wind in the afternoons at the beach, but it is just spectacular.
Sung K. Jun 2015
Beautiful inside and out. We had a reunion of 8 women from all over the us (California, Montana, New York, etc.) and they ALL loved the house. Quiet and private, quick walk to the beach and not far from the main strip. This house had EVERYTHING you could need. THANK YOU!
Carmen M. May 2015
Perfect distance from the beach, nice cozy cottage with sunny side porch area perfect combination of relaxing and hanging out. Kitchen had everything we needed as far as dishes, utensils and pans, etc. Fun, casual garage set-up with ping pong table! Really great spot for our family group to all come together at the coast, would recommend to anyone with a group of 6. Hope to stay again! Thanks!
James L. Apr 2015
The house had everything you need for one or two families to have a great time in Manzanita. Definitely will be back in the future!
Brent P. Apr 2015
Enjoyed the home immensely! Great place for a family gathering. Plenty of room for everyone and perfect location.

Thank you.
Roshella N. Feb 2015
We had a great time! The woodstoves on both levels contributed to a cozy warmth,
and everything we needed was there in the kitchen for meal preparation. We were 5 adults and 2 pre-teens (who especially enjoyed the basement bunks and foozball table! ) It's a very picturesque little town to stroll around, and the beach was only a few blocks from the house.
Sarah N. Dec 2014
this is the perfect house for adults with teens.
upstairs living room for adults and downstairs living room for kids.
the house was clean, organized and a joy to hang out in.
George B. Nov 2014
Wonderful. This is our second stay. All was well. Thinking about a Spring reservation. Like late April? Please contact us. Thank you.
Tom R. Aug 2014
This was our 5th consecutive visit for an August family reunion, which pretty much says it all as to our satisfaction. 9 to 10 adults handled comfortably.
Manager response:
Were so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Aaron K. Jul 2014
We really loved this house. It's on a quiet lane, up hill and only several minutes from the beach. You can hear the ocean and feel the ocean breeze. The house was clean and comfortable for two families (each with two kids). We'd definitely come back to this place, something I can't say for some of the other houses where we've stayed in Manzanita/Neahkahnie.
Marilyn S. Jul 2014
Our group of 8 was very comfortable at this house. It is well located within easy walking distance to beach and town. Beds are decent, and adequate bathroom space for all. Only negative was the musty smell, particularly in the basement. Opening all windows upon your arrival helps some.
Shari S. Jun 2014
Very comfortable house for several families with lots of kids. Separate bedrooms upstairs for adults and one big room downstairs with lots of sleeping possibilities for kids (bunks and futons). Lots of indoor entertainment with ping pong, fussball, games, DVD player. Very little noise between floors. Great location - without a seaview, but surrounded by greenery, and the beach is just a few minutes' walk down the hill on a quiet street. Easy, kid-friendly furnishings.
Manager response:
This is a great home for families! So kid friendly with games and lots of sleeping space for the kids and adults. We're glad that your group enjoyed the home and the easy walk to the beach.
Gail D. May 2014
We loved being off the beaten path and found the home inviting and restful. Sitting out on the p the deck was great because you can hear the creek and the ocean and it's private with the hedging. Loved looking out the big living room windows. The master bedroom queen was comfortable, but the other queen and twins were too hard for me. It's just worth mentioning because for older folks who are used to a little memory foam might want to bring theirs along to supplement if needed. We forgot OLIVE oil, but the little grocery store in town has EVERTHING, including great homemade desserts. We'll return!
Manager response:
We are so pleased that this home was a good match. It's so nice to be off the beaten path and having the ability to relax and listen to the ocean. Thank you for the feedback on the beds. It's great to read that you were comfortable in the master bedroom. We hope you'll visit again!
Rennie A. Apr 2014
We stayed here with our family (including 4 kids) plus grandparents. It was a great layout with plenty of space for everyone, and a really nice easy-to-use house. Thanks!
Travis T. Apr 2014
We had a great time at this house. We were three families totaling 5 adults and 6 teenagers and the house fit perfectly. The woodstove was great after long days of rainy spring surfing. Loved how many games were available. For the price, this was our favorite place we've stayed in the area over 5 visits.
Gloria B. Oct 2013
For the price, this place was fabulous as everyone in our party had their own bedroom. Loved the location as well. Very roomy.
William N. Oct 2013
This was the second time our family( 5 adults and 3 children) stayed at this location. We especially like the facility which has three bathrooms, master, first floor and ground floor. The roomy house has a place that the children can get away downstairs while the adults can relax on the main floor. The woodstove keeps the house toasty. The weekend was sunny so we enjoyed playing on the beach which is a short walk from the house.
Kristin B. Sep 2013
We loved our stay and found the layout of the home along with its close proximity to the beach to be the perfect getaway for the weekend! The beds were very comfortable and the home was well-equipped.
John R. Jun 2013
The house had everything we needed. I was surprised the kitchen was so well stocked with a variety of pots, pans and utensils.
Gail L. May 2013
An amazing place to stay!!!!
Dan T. Apr 2013
9 of us stayed here and could have easily slept more comfortably. We had an excellent time and would recommend this house to anyone.
Ryan D. Sep 2012
We had a large group and this home accommodated all of us very well. It has everything you need for a couple nights getaway. Just FYI...the missing ping pong table is in the garage, just off the basement. We didn't find it until the morning we left.
Tom R. Aug 2012
For three years we have come to this home for a family get-together. It suits our gatherin of 20 to a tee, that's why we return.
Tom R. Aug 2012
This was our 3rd consecutive year for a family reunion in this home--perfect for a group of 10. After a bumpy start due to a dead oven, things sorted out and we again enjoyed our time here. Manzanita is just right for our crew.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We are sorry for the issue with the oven breaking and we are glad we were able to replace it during your stay. We look forward to having you back again!
Linda S. Jun 2012
This home was quite comfortable with plenty of room for three couples. Lots of amenities in kitchen and game room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Kristi S. Jun 2012
The location on this house was wonderful. Just a quick walk down the hill to the beach and a short walk into town. The amnenites were nice too. The older kids enjoyed the ping pong table and foosball table while the adults could sit upstairs and talk. I was intially nervous about not having a TV with cable but it worked perfectly. Our only complaint was the musty smell downstairs. A little overwhelming and the weather in June was a little too chilly to open up windows to air out.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We keep the dehumidifier going all of the time and open the windows to keep it fresh in the lower level. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Laura M. May 2012
We had a great time at the property and enjoyed the close location to the beach. The property is very nicely decorated with a nautical/beach team which makes it cozy and homey. We were very comfortable and had a great time... thanks for sharing your cottage with us!
William N. Apr 2012
We had a houseful-but there was enough room for everybody to spread out upstairs and downstairs. Facilities were very comfortable and clean. Would recommend the house for families.
kristine c. Apr 2012
We loved staying at Manzanita! It was a great location from which to explore the Northern Oregon coast. The home was roomy, beds were comfortable, lots of games and books to borrow while we were there. The house is a short walk to the beach, and the house has extra jackets to borrow in case you forgot yours.
Amie G. Apr 2012
Great place for families, close to the beach, plenty to do inside when weather is yucky! Loved the woodstove and firewood! Thank you!
Lavelle A. Oct 2011
We had a good time and the house worked for us....but I learned I want a house with a view of the ocean. Perhaps one where I can hear the waves. Can't get that in this house so I will have to keep looking.
Tom R. Aug 2011
This is our second stay at this home. It was totally fine and we hope to return in the future.
Tristi T. Jul 2011
The property was perfect for our three-family getaway at the beach. The downstairs was a great retreat for the kids, with plenty of room to run and play. The house was clean and had many extra amenities we didn't expect including shampoo/conditioner in all the bathrooms, fresh soaps, etc. The deck is very peaceful and relaxing and the living room was spacious enough for all the adults to relax and visit. While it is a five minute walk to the beach, it is all uphill coming back to the house, so be prepared to drive down each time if you are hauling a lot of toys, kites, kids, etc. Also, our only real complaint was the house was very musty smelling, which we realized was due to some mold in various places throughout the house. Luckily we visited in the summer when we could open up the windows and air out the house. After the first day it seemed to subside . . . either that or we just got used to it. Overall, we would recommend the house and will definitely rent again if visiting
Manager response:
Sorry about the mildew smell - it's been a wet year, and we will install a dehumidifier in the basement to rectify the problem.
Julianna B. Apr 2011
Wonderful stay.
Jane S. Mar 2011
As perfect as it can get. Thank you !
Tom R. Aug 2010
Email directions to house a bit unclear. . .should key off Neakahnie Beach sign on 101, rather than instructions issued.
Rick H. Aug 2010
The house was very nice and comfortable and had everything we needed. Our only complaint was a musty smell that seems to originate in the basement. Opening the windows helped a lot.