Virtual Tour
USA California Groveland Pine Mountain Lake Listing #6067

Woody's Rest (08/017) - Groveland, CA

44 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
12366 Sunnyside Way , Groveland, CA 95321

Rustic Swiss-style cabin w/ lake and shared pool access. Close to Yosemite!

Come stay at this cozy Swiss chalet in Groveland with room for eight travelers and let the adventures begin! Access to the community lake, seasonal pool, tennis courts, and more are the cherry on top of having all the essentials of home.

Nestled in the great Pine Mountain community, the Pine Mountain lake, golf course, and community equestrian center are a short walk or drive away. Walking and hiking trails weave throughout the surrounding streets and are a great way to get a good sweat in before splashing into the shared pool. Yosemite National Park is 25 miles away for even more activities, and Dodge Ridge Ski Resort is 54 miles away.

White walls and carpeted floors help create a homey atmosphere to relax and spend quality time with fellow travelers.

The main living area on the middle floor is a perfect spot for gathering after a long day in the sun. Whip up delicious meals in the full kitchen, which even has a dishwasher, microwave, and coffeemaker! All you have to do is bring fresh ingredients and you'll have tasty meals any time of day! There is a dining table for eight on one side of the kitchen, and a laundry room on the other.

On warm evenings, head out to the wood deck to grill up burgers, stargaze, and simply enjoy being surrounded by nature. Once the sun has set, bring the party inside to wind down with a movie in front of the 55-inch flatscreen TV in the living room. Cozy up on the sofas and enjoy having cable, a DVD player, VCR, stereo system, and WiFi.

A master suite on the main floor features a queen-size bed, while the downstairs master has a king-size bed, twin day bed, and twin trundle. Even more sleeping space can be found in the open loft area making up the third floor. A queen-size bed is located there, which means all eight travelers will have a comfortable bed to sleep on. Two full bathrooms and a half bath are available so you won't have to wait in line.

Groveland is a charming, quiet town brimming with history. Walk through the main streets to browse local shops and dine on delicious food. This town is known as the gateway to Yosemite National Park, and boasts a surprising variety of restaurants, as well as everything else you might need.

Head into Yosemite for a grand day spent hiking and seeing some of the world's greatest treasures. If you're up for a heart-pumping hike, try Inspiration Point, The Mist Trail, and Mirror Lake. If you have younger children with you, you might prefer Glacier Point, Mariposa Grove for an up close view of the world's largest sequoia, and a hike through the Tunnel Tree, which the kids will love. Lower Yosemite Falls is short and takes you to the base of the tallest waterfall in North America. And in between exploring the trails by foot, try horseback riding tours, water sports, and even skiing and snowboarding in the winter. And for a little indoor fun, head to Black Oak Casino, just 27 miles north.

Make your next family or friend outdoor getaway one everyone loves and cherishes by choosing this rustic California vacation home.

* Please be aware that cell phone reception is very spotty in this area, and that guests must purchase a parking pass at a rate of $31 per vehicle. Thank you!

Read more Read less 



Board games

Children's games

Golf on-site

Tennis court : Shared


Washer/dryer : Private

Central AC

Pool : Shared

Wood stove








DVD library

DVD player





44 reviews

Rod M. Apr 2019
We spent Easter weekend at Woody's Rest so we could go into Yosemite to see the waterfalls. Overall the house was nice and comfortable for our group of 7. It's well equipped so all you need to bring is food. Just a few critical things worth mentioning:
It can get very cold downstairs and we could not figure out the thermostat for the "Heat Pump" so we used small area heaters to heat the downstairs.
The BBQ is cable locked to the railing on the deck under the eves and uses charcoal. Probably not the best place for this.
Some of the beds are really hard so you might bring a mattress topper if you don't like a firm mattress.
It might be 25 miles to the Yosemite gate, but it's another 20 miles to the valley floor.
Watch out for the tree stump by the driveway entrance. I clipped it in the dark on the first night.
When I filled out the online form for the vehicle pass it said the passes were billed to my Vacasa account, but when we arrived at the gate they had no records and we had to pay a higher price at the gate.
Not to be too critical, but if you know these things beforehand you will have more fun. We still had a great time.
Andrea W. Nov 2018
Lots of room for the family, everything you need! Groveland is a great little town, very friendly. Yosemite just an hour away.
Made wonderful family memories! Thank you!
Nick M. Aug 2018
Fantastic location in a private forest development close to the Yosemite National Park (around an hour or so drive). Great unspoilt views of the Forrest from the large front room windows and outside balcony. A lovely base for both visits to the national park and also the local lake and surrounding area. Only a short walk to the local lake where swimming and other water activities are possible and a local cafe is located - although this is the US so the concept of walking and sidewalks is alien, so watch out for cars on route! Plenty of room for the 4 of us. The kids loved the visits of local deer too. Great to have internet access as the local cell coverage is patchy in the area. Great private outdoor space for enjoying the view and a good BBQ. Decent availability of food essentials in the local store for self catering if fast food and pizza get a bit repetitive locally! A good range of kids games to keep everyone entertained if inside - although this place is all about being outside!
Cecile S. Jul 2018
Excellent séjour!!
john c. Jul 2018
Very nice home. Clean and great location. Would stay again. Good value.
REBECCA O. Jun 2018
What stood out over other houses we viewed is that it has 2 1/2 baths. With 7 adults, having the extra 1/2 bath helped everyone in getting ready in the morning. Unless you are able to find lodging inside Yosemite Park, this area is about as close as you can get. Wish we would have had another day or two to spend in the area.
Kevin S. Jun 2018
Frances c. May 2018
Run down cabin with old furniture, broken shower door, dirty accommodations for dishes and silverware . Driveway that is not have any pavement. I’d go elsewhere .
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was disappointed. The owner is adding gravel to the driveway this summer, we have a deep clean scheduled, and maintenance his taken care of the shower door. Thank you!
richard m. May 2018
We had some power problems but the issue was resolved satisfactorily. The cabin is lovely and we saw deer twice on the way there as a bonus.
Nelson A. Jan 2018
Woody's Rest was very nice. We enjoyed the big beautiful windows looking into the trees. We had 2 families sharing the space (7 people total). There was plenty of space for all. The kitchen is smallish but well equipped. The living space is large and open. Overall, a lovely place to stay.
Manuela P. Aug 2017
Our stay was wonderful, relaxing very quiet
Francois B. Aug 2017
You will enjoy it
Edwin B. Aug 2017
Loved the deer walking through the area.
Jana J. Jul 2017
This home should be removed from any potential of disappointing others from a happy vacation. The owner is obviously not willing to correct, repair or honor the vacationer's time in this home. Yes the furniture is outdated, but worse is the filthy condition of the place. Carpet was stained all over, look under the recliners for heaven's sake. The insects, spiders and cobwebs were just everywhere and no clue that any true sanitary cleaning happens in this place. It really is disgusting, then the driveway is a tow truck driver's dream. We bottomed out and eventually did get the Pacifica van back on all four tires but it was truly horrible to park here. ZERO stars. Even if it were a paved driveway, it's very steep and tricky to maneuver. Good luck! (you're gonna need it here)
Manager response:
We are very disappointed to read this review and hope we can alleviate any guest concerns. All furniture has been moved and been cleaned under, and carpets are scheduled to be cleaned. We have recently hired a new maintenance man that will assist in keeping the high ceilings free of webs and bugs. The frontage road has 2 entrances - one you can pull straight into one of the parking areas, and the other one you back in. The driveway isn't very steep, but it is dirt. Thanks!
Claire H. Jun 2017
We (4 adults) loved this cabin! It was cozy and convenient. Highlights of our trip included evenings out on the deck, swimming in the lake, having cocktails at the golf course, and our hikes in the Yosemite area. It was a fantastic vacation spot!
Brent W. Jun 2017
Was very clean, fully equipped, everything as advertised. W used as base to go to Yosemite and surrounding area, although Yosemite Valley takes a lot longer to get to than what appears on map, maybe a good 1 1/2 hrs. Groveland is ok, not much for restaurants. We were very pleased with the accomadations.
Barbara T. Jun 2017
The house was lovely and sitting out on the deck fabulous. We had some trouble with the heat/ac system. The downstairs bedroom was too cold and the loft too warm. I don't know if we just didn't figure it out correctly, but some instructions would have been helpful. As others have said, the driveway was tough to negotiate. Loved sitting out on the deck though with our morning coffee or evening drinks.
Kathy M. May 2017
Had a very enjoyable stay. The weather was perfect! We definitely will go back again!
Martin C. May 2017
Woodys Rest is in a lovely location, and its a big place with plenty of space both inside and out. We thoroughly enjoyed BBQs on the balcony in the evenings overlooking the trees.
Unfortunately we found the furniture to be a bit dated and tired and we felt it would benefit from modernisation.
Hanna E. Apr 2017
Overall was a great place for a cabin trip! 2 hours away from yosemite which is a bit of a drive if you don't leave earlier in the day, easy to get lost if you dont follow your original paths and all gps/signal is down most of the time for the whole area. The cabin itself was great and cozy to come home to! The system is very independent of staff interaction so follow the email instructions closely and ask around for any questions; the towns people are extremely friendly!
Behzad O. Mar 2017
Everything was good
David L. Jan 2017
My family and I enjoy every minute of it. We love it it had everything and the stuff were very great people. That why we are most likely returning for summer.
Scott L. Jan 2017
This is a well maintained mountain cabin for a affordable price. Well furnished, stocked with over a dozen board games, numerous movies (mostly G), and CD albums. Wood was provided at end of driveway for wood burning stove. Advice for future guests, the driveway has 2 entrances, drive in the top and back into the pullout. We rented in January and rain made it difficult to get out in the mud. Road is 2wd accessible. Highly recommend.
Maria F. Jan 2017
Great cabin to relax and rest with family. Great scenery.
Debi C. Nov 2016
Great location. A little older and smaller than the pictures showed but clean with all the amenities. We had issues with the smoke detector and carbon minoxide detectors had to replace batteries. Felt like no one had been in the home for some time. We would definitely return
Elaine W. Nov 2016
This is a very nice property, plenty of room, clean, with well equipped kitchen. This property requires an SUV preferably with 4 wheel drive
Alexander W. Oct 2016
Would definitely stay here again. Thank you for making it possible to spend a comfortable weekend in one of the most beautiful places on earth.
Sally H. Sep 2016
Beautiful, spacious cabin. Clean and well stocked with games and books, dvds, etc. It is 45 minutes to an hour away from the park entrance, without traffic, and can be longer with traffic, detours, and tree work, which we encountered.
Bruce L. Sep 2016
We stayed at Woody's Rest mid-September. We found the Woody's Rest to be the perfect place to just kick back and relax. The accommodations were wonderful and the surrounding grounds were beautiful and lent to the peaceful atmosphere. We enjoyed the place so much that we hung around on the rear deck literally to the last minute before vacating the premises.....
Cynthia H. Sep 2016
Lovely house! We enjoyed having a kitchenette. Great location.
Grace S. Aug 2016
We had a wonderful time! Check-in was easy, though very on-your-own. House was not difficult to find, but it was along a narrow, dirt road and driveway was quite steep. I'm not sure if a normal, 4-cyclinder sedan can easily get in and out of that driveway easily. Deer all over the place. House is smaller than it appears in the pictures but very cozy. You have almost everything you need. Kitchen is well stocked with spices, oil, etc. in addition to typical cookware and dining ware. Dish detergent, laundry detergent, etc. were all available. They provide hotel-like bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap. Top loft room has a half bath, double bed, and single bed. Room on main floor has a jack-and-jill full bath with a double bed. Room on lower floor (master) has a large king bed, trundle bed (2 twins), and a full bath. There are tons of games, dvds, etc. all over the house. Highly recommended for large families who don't care about luxuries, but need a nice place with almost everything you need. Good sized supermarket nearby (just outside the main gates). Check out does not require additional tasks, as characteristic of VRBOs. We just had to drop off the key at the office.
Lin K. Aug 2016
That was our first time renting a house, usually we use hotels in our travel. We were 2 families. It was clean and we found everything we need in the house. The kids loved sleeping in the attic. We will definitely stay here again. Also, we used the pool at the community complex with was great.
Lloyd E. Aug 2016
Very peaceful and quiet, the large deck is great, house was light and roomy and we really enjoyed our stay. The lake shouldn't be missed for a relaxing afternoon, downtown Groveland is charmingly historic and the oldest bar in California was a great stop.
Abhijit B. Jul 2016
This is an excellent property and turned out so much better than how we had imagined it. The location is nice and close to Yosemite & Hetch Hetchy. The owners have ensured you have a great stay there. There is cable + movies + books that you can relax with.

Wonderful place. Will definitely stay there again if we get a chance.