Virtual Tour
USA Georgia North Georgia Sautee Nacoochee Listing #6609

Forest Haven Cabin - Sautee Nacoochee, GA

95 reviews
Max occupancy: 2 1 King Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
245 Monroe Ridge Rd., Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571

Dog-friendly log cabin w/hot tub, screened-in deck & heart-shaped jetted tub!

Escape to nature in this charming dog-friendly Sautee Nacoochee cabin! Discover serenity and relaxation with a screened-in deck, hot tub, seasonal wood-burning fireplace, and jetted tub.

This custom-built log cabin is a wonderful home base for your Georgia retreat. Since nearby Helen offers so much in the way of outdoor fun, this home is perfect to come back to at the end of a long day exploring.

The living room is cozy yet well-lit and boasts a large flatscreen TV and WiFi. French doors lead out to the screened-in deck, where you can take a dip in the hot tub, fire up the gas grill, or sit at the small table to take in the sounds of birds and crickets.

Outfitted in white appliances and cabinetry, the kitchen is open, making meal prep simple. What's even better is that the dishwasher will handle the cleanup for you. Enjoy a quality meal with your loved one at the two-person table near the kitchen or on the deck.

With one bedroom and one bathroom, this home sleeps up to two guests, so it's perfect for a romantic getaway. But don't forget about your dog companion either (up to two are allowed for a small nightly fee). The bedroom features a king-size bed, plenty of natural light, and nightstands with lamps. There's also a bedside jetted tub for relaxing your muscles after a day spent sightseeing and hiking.

Helen is a Bavarian-inspired town, so its architecture and cuisine are distinctly German. Be sure to try this delicious Southern-meets-German food and shop at nearby boutiques to rack up on some memorable souvenirs.

If you're visiting the area in the fall, you'll want to make it to town for Oktoberfest, the largest festival of its kind in the Southeast. If you'll be visiting Helen in the summer, tubing on the Chattahoochee River is a wonderful experience for everyone.

Booking this home is simple but definitely worth it! The sooner you book, the sooner you'll be on your way to the paradise that is Helen, Georgia.

AMENITIES

Features

Central AC

Fireplace

Jetted tub

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

VCR

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

95 reviews

Shannon G. Oct 2019
The area of location was great . But over all my two things I look for when booking is the hot tub and fireplace . The hot tube does not work . We reset it from the breaker box , it went through it’s cycle and no warmer . Let’s say we’ll was not even warm . And then tryed to use fireplace which should be easy turn the fume to the right as instructed , the smoke continue to feel the cabin . We had to sleep with eyes burning and coughing after spent several hours keeping doors open, anyway we could try and vent the area. So today I’m at the md office with cough and smoke filled lungs .
Manager response:
We are very sorry you had some issues during your stay and wish you had called us for assistance. We inspected the hot tub after receiving your review and found nothing wrong with it, so we are unsure of what could have been happening during your visit. The guests after you did not have any issues with the fireplace, but we will check to see if the chimney might need to be swept. Thank you!
Oscar C. Oct 2019
thank you , great cabin
John R. Oct 2019
This was the best couples cabin in the mountains! We loved everything about it and would recommend this to anyone!
Shirley M. Sep 2019
The home was very pleasant but we did have some issues. First of all the hot tub ran all night with the blower waking us up often. I read the instructions given for the hot tub but could not put it in the sleep mode. The only thing I could do was lower the temp in how's it minimize the nose. We were there for seven nights and would rather have not had the hot tub. There were no chemicals available for the hot tub. We personally owned a hot tub at home and know that every time it's used you're supposed to add some bromide. There was no floater with the tablets to sanitize the water. That did not make it feel inviting not knowing if it had been treated at all. Secondly the private road where this home is located had huge crevices in it. We were driving a Mercedes Benz. When I contacted Vacasa and told them how bad the road was, they informed me that they were aware of it but needed to get with the owners association to try to have it repaired. Apparently it is a private road with shared cost of the owners to maintain it. I literally hit the bottom of my car and was terrified to go out. If I had known how difficult it was going to be the navigate in and out, I truly would have chosen a different location. if you have an SUV or a truck, you probably wouldn't bat an eyelash at it. If you book it make sure that you bring extra towels. We booked it for 7 nights for two adults and they left only three bath towels and three washcloths. There's no washer and dryer in this unit so that was a stretch with the towels. The end result was we actually did get some much-needed rest. We literally stayed home two days at the end of our stay because I didn't want to drive on the road and it forced us to be still and rest. Lol not exactly what we planned. We did love the area and in spite of everything I did like the cabin. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. If you plan on cooking any meals at all, be sure to bring some basic spices. The only thing that was there was salt and pepper. I actually purchased oregano and I left it there for the next guest. It had a good supply of pans and such. Location of the cabin was great in regards to travel into Helen and surrounding areas. I know you maybe saying how can you give it 4 stars with all the negative comments you've made, I didn't feel right giving it a 3-star because we did actually enjoy our stay and it was a restful energy being in the cabin and sitting out on the screen patio feeling like you were in a treehouse. The noises we got used to and started sleeping through it so it wasn't the end of the world. I hope this helps other visitors make a wise choice.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Shirley! We do wish you would have reached out about the hot tub so we could have helped you turn it off. This hot tub does not have a sleep mode and does need to run periodically to filter the water and maintain temperature. We use granulated chlorine in this hot tub, and it was cleaned just prior to your arrival. We leave two towels and wash cloths per person, plus two hot tub towels. We would have been happy to bring out fresh towels had we been notified of the need. We hope to see you again!
Benjamin S. Sep 2019
Book this cabin!! We could not be more happy with our stay. Amazing place. 24/7 customer service helped us multiple times. The location is perfect. This is our first experience with Vacasa cabins and we will be back.
JODI C. Sep 2019
The cabin was immaculate and finely furnished. I would happily stay here again! I’m so impressed with Vacasa that I will seek them out first whenever I travel.
Susan L. Sep 2019
Loved the screened back porch and open floor plan. King Bed is a treat and good wifi signal.
Michael B. Aug 2019
The cabin was a perfect retreat after our daily adventures! The location was quiet and even though there are a few other cabins in the area it gave you a very private feel! The trees and canopy give a nice seclusion of the back patio as well. The cabin is very cozy and the open floor plan offers easy conversation no matter where you want to relax. This cabin is well maintained and clean.
Jocelyn K. Jul 2019
Every Vacasa cabin we've stayed at has been perfect. Quiet, comfy, and relaxing.
John B. Jun 2019
We were pleasantly surprised with the quaint cabin upon our arrival. It was a perfect size for a couples night out.
Very quiet, we were able to really relax and enjoy ourselves.
Wife loved the heart shaped tub!!!!
susan b. Jun 2019
Great quiet place to stay! Clean, comfy, and good location.
Michael O. May 2019
While not a 5-star hotel, it was clean, well maintained and cool. The large tv was nice also. The road leading in is rough so you need an SUV or truck with some clearance. Bring your own pillow.
Sheila W. Apr 2019
Peace and quiet Pleasant and a clean place
Del H. Mar 2019
Everything was great. The kitchen wasn't really stocked, there was no cutting board but other than that it was amazing! I am definitely booking again.
Casey W. Mar 2019
The cabin was clean, smelled great, and decorated very nicely. There were plenty of towels, and the hot tub was SO relaxing after our long day of hiking and kayaking. We bought ingredients for breakfast, and the kitchen had everything we needed to make a fancy breakfast of pancakes, eggs, and sausages, the next morning. The second night we were there, we discovered that if you hike to the top of the road that the cabin is on, there is an absolutely perfect spot to watch the sun set behind the mountains. It was beautiful! The cabin itself is located in a thicket of trees, which offers plenty of privacy. There are other cabins close by, which we thought would bother us, but it didnt. After another long day of hiking and zip lining, we rented a red box movie and watched it at the cabin with popcorn. All around excellent experience, perfect for our anniversary celebration.
Trudy W. Feb 2019
Loved it
Sarah B. Feb 2019
The cabin was great! We will for sure be visiting again.
Jenna S. Feb 2019
The cabin was clean and well kept. There was a dog bowl and doggie bags for my
small dog that was along. The only thing that was not satisfactory is that one side of the jacuzzi tub outside didn’t work. Also, it was not as secluded as we are used to. Other cabins were fairly close . We enjoyed our short stay and the cabin was clean.
Manager response:
Jenna, we are so glad you enjoyed the cabin. We apologize the hot tub was not working properly. We thank you for the feedback. The local manager will have the hot tub checked. We hope you return soon. Thank you!
Sean C. Jan 2019
Simple and relaxing! Perfect little cabin for our quiet relaxing weekend. Not to far from the strip to have to get up early and drive. Will be visiting this one again!
Katie T. Jan 2019
My husband and I enjoy these cabins so much! We always get away to Helen at least once a year and it never disappoints. You can’t beat the cabin prices and amenities!
Markeytta D. Dec 2018
Everything
Maria A. Nov 2018
La tranquilidad
Scott C. Nov 2018
The cabin was just what we wanted quiet, private, convenient and rustic! If you stay here in the fall be aware that falling acorns on a Tin Roof are a bit startling at 2am {:~)>.

We loved out time but wished we had booked more than 3 nights...
Joseph M. Oct 2018
The Hot tub was amazing. The cabin was cozy and the privacy was spectacular!
Allyson B. Sep 2018
It was a very nice cabin with lots of privacy. We booked it for our honeymoon. The only draw backs were a mildew smell and having to drive our trash in our brand new car to the dumpster. If there was one closer it would be better!
sonya n. Sep 2018
Private, cozy, very relaxing
Morgan W. Sep 2018
Hot tub wasn’t working correctly, everything else was great. Nice and peaceful.
Jeff S. Aug 2018
Nothing
Manager response:
We apologize for the experience this guest appears to have had. We have inspected for mold and found nothing, but we will keep an eye out. Thank you!
Jessica W. Aug 2018
We had a wonderful time and the cabin was everything we expected. Thank you.
Thomas E. Jul 2018
Piece and quite, hot tub , screened in porch.
Kimberly H. Jun 2018
I found that the cabin was perfect for a quiet getaway for me and my husband.
Teresa S. Jun 2018
I loved everything about the cabin. It is secluded and private. All the appliances were in working order and the furniture was clean and comfortable. The cabin is adorable, this was our 5th stay in the same cabin so we obviously like it a lot. There were only two problems... the coffee maker has been there forever and really needs replaced, it works but it leaks water on the counter. The other problem was the lady in the black SUV type car that kept driving up and down the road, we weren't sure if she was lost, stalking the neighbor, or casing the cabins to see when no one was there. By the time we left, we figured out that she must work for the rental place but it is creepy to feel like you are being watched. That has never happened before. If it is a security thing then please put a sign on the car. Other than that, as always, we had a fantastic time and loved the cabin.
Manager response:
We appreciate the guests feedback. Local staff has ordered a new coffee maker for the home. Unfortunately, our housekeepers do have to drive down the roads to see when the guests have checked out so that the homes can be cleaned for the next guests arrival. We apologize if they frightened the guests.
Luci S. May 2018
Cleanest cabin we ever stayed in. Very quiet, cozy and exactly what we needed. We’ll definitely be back!!!
Ann C. Apr 2018
This is the perfect cabin in the woods. It had everything we needed for a quiet, restful stay. We loved the construction and the simple beauty of the cabin. The kitchen was small, but had everything to prepare simple meals. The hot tub on the screened porch was terrific. The bed and pillows could use an update, but were fine for a few days. The parking pad was scary, but we managed.
Tim J. Apr 2018
It was small, nice for me and my husband....just the right size....we really enjoyed the hot tub.
Conner C. Mar 2018
Overall the cabin was great, though it is clearly meant for a couple. Has all the major necessities that you could ask for and it is close to Helen and Anna Ruby Falls. The only complaint I have is regarding parking, which while usable is certainly lacking. Two cars would be hard pressed to fit. If you are a couple and travel in one vehicle it is a fantastic cabin that I would recommend!
Corey A. Mar 2018
We loved the cabin, just the right size for our family and everything was in great shape! Right close to town but also far enough you are in a quiet area!
Cleotis R. Feb 2018
Everything was clean and quiet. Great get-a-way.
Rachael Z. Feb 2018
Loved it.... very relaxing. Can't wait to do it again 😀
Zachary M. Feb 2018
Awesome cozy cabin! Perfect for a couples retreat!
Annette T. Feb 2018
We we're very impressed with the cabin and loved the hot tubs and the view.
Gerald M. Jan 2018
The cabin itself is very nice, secluded, and cozy but the quality is gone and amenities are old, not working, or missing.
Manager response:
This guest provided us a list of things that needed attention that we have been working off of. We appreciate this feedback so we can make these kind of improvements. Thank you!
Faye W. Jan 2018
As stated above, it is very cozy and attractive, and the décor is nice. Great hot tub. Reasonably priced. But overall, the inadequacy of the heating system made the visit less than pleasant. There are maintenance issues to be dealt with, as mentioned above. Unless some improvements are made, chiefly adequate heating, we would not stay again or recommend it to any one else.
Manager response:
The cabin has a reverse cycle heat/AC unit in the wall which is typically adequate for the winter. Due to the unusual cold this area has been experiencing it hasn't been performing as well, but there is a wood burning fireplace and portable heater for supplemental heat.
Cinnamon D. Dec 2017
Amazing! Stunning! Romantic! Private! Clean! Everything works, is clean and more than satisfactory. I would do it a thousand times again. My girlfriend and I absolutely loved every minute. We were sad to leave.
Steve W. Nov 2017
enjoyed the stay
Nick H. Nov 2017
The cabin was fantastic! Perfect for a couple.

Pros:
-Hot tub
-Full kitchen with plenty of cook ware.
-Very spacious
-Cozy
-TV
-Everything worked


Cons:
- no garbage disposal in kitchen sink. Makes cleaning a bit of a pain, but not a huge deal.
-Driveway. To get to the cabin you have to go down a steep, narrow and unpaved road (if you want to call it a road). We made it fine in a 2012 Honda civic coupe, but I would never attempt that if there was even the slightest bit if snow on the ground. Just a heads up to people.
Catie D. Nov 2017
Great trip for my husband and I. There are other cabins close by but this still gives a great feeling of privacy! You won't be disappointed!
Cynthia K. Nov 2017
Decor rustic and relaxing. Heat & Air unit very load. Mobility of the t.v. viewing was convenient. Open floorplan. Place needed some maintenance but we still enjoyed ourself.
Robin P. Oct 2017
Exactly what we were looking for when visiting nearby Alpine Helen.
Michael B. Sep 2017
We had a good weekend at the Forest Haven Cabin. Ate our meals there and enjoyed the hot tub. Never turned TV on.
Cindy B. Sep 2017
Great cabin, but next time I will call to make sure all hot tub jets are working, tv working etc..
All in all very nice cabin- very quiet, relaxing trip!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were problems with hot tub jets and TVs and wish the guest had notified us so we could be of assistance. The property manager will inspect these items to ensure they are working.
Heather C. Aug 2017
Photos are true to this place! Quiet and relaxation at its finest! Will definitely visit again!
Greg W. Aug 2017
It was nice.
Keith E. Aug 2017
overall nice trip would do it again in a heart beat
Rich S. Aug 2017
Pro’s
Close to Helen and parks in the area for hiking and activities, but quiet.
Screened in porch with gas grill
Plenty of hot water
Plenty of room for two people
Clean

Con’s
More expensive than previous places we have rented.
Not much in the way of dishes, pots, pans, and utensils. No oven mitts. Barely enough to make it through the day if you eat several meals.
No light over kitchen sink
Blinds are see thru
Very little places to put stuff (Food, etc.), Very few cabinets
Parking, one space at an angle next to property. Most other cabins we saw had better parking.
The kitchen table is quite small even for 2 people, really needs to be bigger if you cook meals with multiple dishes.
Have to take garbage to another location, not far but have to go down the road 1-2 miles.
Can’t hear the TV very well with the AC running, even when at highest volume setting.
Julius F. L. Aug 2017
Pretty setting, very private. Near Helen and Unicoi State Park. Lots of fun things to do in area.
Jason F. Jul 2017
Very nice place to stay!
Lee C. Jun 2017
A cute cabin to visit for a few days in the north Georgia mountains! When you are sitting on the deck or relaxing in the hot tub, you feel like you are actually in the forest!
Karen R. Jun 2017
We enjoyed our two night stay at this sweet cabin near Helen, Georgia. The accommodations were wonderful and we especially liked the hot tub.
Zakiya D. May 2017
Went on my first cabin trip alone very easy , I actually booked it a few hours before going easy check on no extra charges. Paid $15 to stay an extra 7 hours. Great area and very fun and quiet. Loved the jacuzzis and spinning tv in the living room to the room love love love.
CYNTHIA B. Apr 2017
The cabin was great, no problems. Very quiet neighborhood. Felt just like home.
Joseph H. Apr 2017
Nice cabin very relaxing
Jillian D. Apr 2017
Second time I've stayed in these cabins & will keep coming back! Love it! Hot tub is my favorite part!
Chauney M. Apr 2017
Cool property!!enjoyed the staycation!
Scotti M. Apr 2017
This cabin was perfect for our romantic getaway. We loved everything about it and will definitely be back soon.
Jonathan H. Apr 2017
We know we could have called maintenance at any time but there would've been people in and out of the cabin our whole stay. One side of the jets in the hot tub did not work,& the dishwasher is almost completely warped. It's rusted and parts of it are breaking and it doesn't clean the dishes so we had to hand wash majority of them until we left and didn't care, almost all of the pots and pans are bent. The bed is highly uncomfortable as well as part of the bathroom door frame is coming undone so it catches on the door. Also the drain plug on the bathroom sink doesn't come up much so the sink fills up quickly. Not to mention the view the picture shows is only part of the view. The rest of the view is a house in the background and a cabin right beside you. Also parking pad sucks. Good distance from Helen though , about 10-15 minutes.
Reinaldo C. Jan 2017
The Forest Haven cabin was the perfect little spot for our first time taking a cabin vacation. The size was just right, loved the TV on a swivel stand to be able to view from living room or bedroom area. (only wish there was a foot rest or something else for the couch... we ended up using the dining room chairs to rest our feet while watching movies. Heart shaped tub is cheesy (and kinda creepy) so we didn't use it - but it didn't detract from the property.

Be warned its a steep drive up, and this particular cabin has a very tricky parking spot especially for first timers. Luckily we rented a truck and were able to get to the house just fine but at night you have to go very slow and pay careful attention. Also, follow the directions given by vacasa because the house location isn't accurate on gps.
Darrin S. Dec 2016
These would've just would've been helpful pieces of information to have had prior to arriving:

Most things in the area close at 9:00pm, and it's 30 mins to the nearest Walmart/larger grocery store.

Shelley P. Dec 2016
Nice off the beaten path get away. Enjoyed our stay with only a few complaints
Timothy S. Nov 2016
Nice place to just unwind and enjoy yourself
Ann S. Nov 2016
Really nice and secluded but not to far away from all the stuff. Very clean and roomy. Blanket on bed really sucks bring your own, also the jets in the bath tub dont work however it was still a very nice place to stay!!
Manager response:
Maintenance has inspected the tub jets and reported that all are working fine; guests can call for assistance if they need help getting the jetted tub working. Thanks!
Elizabeth S. Nov 2016
We love this cabin and the way it is setup. Great place for a couple to get away and relax.
Jo Anne G. Oct 2016
Enjoyed our stay!
Richard G. Oct 2016
Perfect, relaxing get-away from the business of life!
Chad M. Oct 2016
My wife and I stayed here for 2 days and could not have been happier. Close proximity to Helen but far enough away where it was peaceful. We will definitely come back. All you need to bring is food. Perfect weekend getaway.
TERRANCE B. Oct 2016
We go to Helen every year for our anniversary, and it just so happens to coincide with Oktoberfest. The cabins are quiet and clean. Some are a little more secluded than others for that private time atmosphere.