Virtual Tour
USA Georgia North Georgia Chatsworth Listing #7046

Cherokee Overlook Cabin - Chatsworth, GA

22 reviews
Max occupancy: 16 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Futon, 2 Sofa Bed 5 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
534 Overlook Drive , Chatsworth, GA 30175

Lakeview lodge with two decks, pool table, hot tub & shared swimming pools

Plan the group vacation you've been waiting for at this five-bedroom Ellijay lodge, a spacious North Georgia retreat with a private hot tub, a pool table, two large decks, and gorgeous vistas of Carters Lake and the Blue Ridge Mountains.

This cozy property is part of the Talking Rock Creek Resort, which sits just three miles from the marina at Carters Lake. You'll also be 19 miles southwest of Ellijay and 20 miles northwest of Jasper, offering easy access to shopping, dining, and outdoor recreation.

Surround yourself with exposed wood in the great room, which features lofty beamed ceilings, several plush sofas, and a wall of windows that overlook the Carters Lake Regulation Reservoir. Build a fire on crisp autumn evenings, use the WiFi to post a few photos, and watch a DVD on the first of five satellite TVs.

Prepare dinner as a family in the open kitchen, where you'll find granite countertops, modern appliances, and three bar stools for your vegetable-chopping sous chefs. Sit down for homemade meals at the six-person dining table or the adjacent four-person bistro table.

Spend your days lounging on the wrap-around deck, cooking on the gas grill, and gathering at the patio table for al fresco lunches. The Talking Rock Creek Resort also offers two seasonal swimming pools that are open from Memorial Day until Labor Day, a fitness center, and a fishing pond for your enjoyment.

And in the evenings, you can take a soothing soak in the private outdoor hot tub, gather for ghost stories around the firepit, or head downstairs to the family room for a game of nine ball on the eight-foot slate pool table.

With five bedrooms and three full bathrooms, Cherokee Overlook can accommodate as many as 16 guests. On the main floor, you'll find a master suite with a queen bed, a TV, and a bathroom with a jetted tub and walk-in shower, as well as a sleeper sofa in the great room.

The upper level has one king bedroom, one queen bedroom, and a bathroom with a tub/shower combination. On the lower level, you'll find one bedroom with two twin beds, and one bedroom with a double bed. A set of twin bunk beds and a futon are in the family room, and there's also a bathroom with a tub/shower combination on this floor.

Additional amenities include parking for a boat trailer and a private washer/dryer to keep your outdoor clothes clean and fresh.

Thanks to its wonderful location within sight of Carters Lake, this North Georgia retreat is ideal for boating enthusiasts, anglers, and all lovers of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Rent pontoon boats at the Carters Lake marina or spend the day fishing and hiking along the 62-mile shoreline.

You'll also be just 23 miles south of Fort Mountain State Park, which is known for its gorgeous trails and an ancient rock wall believed to have been built by early American Indians, and 38 miles from Amicalola Falls State Park, where you can catch a glimpse of the tallest cascading waterfall in the Southeast United States.

Begin planning your next reunion or group getaway today - this wonderful Ellijay cabin will give you a vacation you'll never forget!

* Please note: Minimum renter age is 25 years old. This applies to all guests that will be occupying the unit with the exception of multi-generational families.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Basketball court : Shared

Gym/fitness room

Pool table : Private

Tennis court : Shared

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Central AC

Disability access

Jetted tub

Pool : Shared

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable

DVD player

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

Scenic

Water view

22 reviews

Michelle R. Nov 2018
The house was basically ok but there could be lots of improvements. The bunk beds and double bed in the same room were very creaky. Under the beds was not clean. There were no wine glasses. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
We appreciate this guest leaving feedback. We have followed up with our housekeeping team, and they will pay closer attention to these details moving forward. The wine glasses have been replaced. We look forward to hosting this guest again soon!
Mae G M. Jul 2018
Very roomy. Private. Beautiful area.
Sandi M. May 2018
House was very homey and inviting. All you can need from a home love the bonus: location, view, hot tub, pool table and privacy. Will be back in the future.
Matt K. May 2018
This is an amazing cabin and is in a really great location with zero other homes in sight! Plenty of room and lots of towels ect that you will need. There were exactly 3 things that were not up to par.
1st, there is not a broom/dustpan so cleaning the floor during our week stay with kids was frustrating.
2nd, the internet was garbage. I was getting about 500kbs while being the only device connected. It was a DSL hook up so i'm not sure what the issue was.
3rd, it was tough to find at first because GPS does not take you anywhere near it. If you follow GPS you will need to ignore it when it asks you to turn into the main gate entrance. Instead go about a qtr mile up the road and make the first right. You'll see just a gate (no parking or any structures) use the passcode provided minus the # to get it to open. The cabin is at the end of the road, only drive way on the road.

I really hope this helps others!


Stacey S. Apr 2018
I loved it. No broom, and beds in basement we're a little uncomfortable. But other that that, we really enjoyed the privacy.
Dena M. Dec 2017
Cabin was very spacious with 3 levels. Nice granite in kitchen and baths. Pretty pine floors and walls. Bedding and linens were poor quality and made our stay less than comfortable.
Joyce L. Nov 2017
Please update the directions to the cabin, it took us almost 30 minutes and then the office had to assist us.
Lakshmi J. Oct 2017
Our group enjoyed the home very much. The kids enjoyed the hot tub and the game room. The fire pit was a great place to gather around in the evening. The house was comfortable and beautiful. Thanks.
Sharon S. Oct 2017
Beautiful cabin in wooded area with lake/mountain view from the upper deck. Lots of windows provide a great view of the outside. Ample seating in great room and downstairs game room for group together time. We used this location for a ladies church retreat and absolutely loved it.
Mark S. Sep 2017
A very comfortable house, surrounded by beautiful trees!
Lydia L. Aug 2017
We had 8 adults and 6 children in this big home on a very private lot surrounded by woods, with a lovely view of Carter Lake in Chatsworth for a family gathering. It was great to have space for everyone, and nice big areas for eating and hanging out together. The wrap-around porch was fantastic and the hot tub and outdoor fire pit were highlights. The kids LOVED roasting marshmallows together. We also enjoyed the pool at the nearby "resort" area.

We were disappointed, however by the area in general. We had thought that being right there by Carters Lake we'd be able to access all kinds of activities. But unless you have your own boat and/or other water gear, we found it hard to use Carters Lake. The Marina only rents out large pontoon boats for an entire day. We had to drive about 45 minutes to a small lake at Fort Mountain State Park to access anything like a canoe or kayak to get out on the water. In general, it just seemed like recreational options (we were also interested in tubing, horse-back riding, ziplining) were not close by - and would require at least ~1hr in a car to access - which ultimately felt inconvenient to family, especially those who had flown in from out-of-state.

The pool, playground, and other facilities are pretty basic, and it requires a short 5 minute drive to get to them (you can't walk there). It also felt like we didn't really have enough information to make the most of it these facilities. We didn't have internet access there, there were no pool toys or towels, no ping-pong balls.

The home itself felt a little bit un-loved, impersonal, and needs a few updates, including to the resort information. One room in the basement with two twin beds we called "the maid's room" because it felt a bit that way with the washing machine and dryer in there, also the furnace and other utilities partially hidden behind sliding doors which were actually off their tracks when we arrived. There were multiple maintenance issues including unreliable internet and a broken washing machine.

But I have to give kudos to the Vacasa Management team. They were so responsive, easy to work with and the online system was really helpful . Early check-in and late check-out were all easy to navigate. Jeffrey and the local management team responded quickly to our requests. They fixed items, looked into the internet, and even replaced the washing machine. Everything was clean when we arrived. There were extra clean towels in the dryer (we found these incidentally); and they had laundry detergent and washing machine tabs available for our use. I would definitely visit a Vacasa property again just knowing they have this great management support.
Manager response:
We appreciate this guest's patience as we worked on the maintenance issues they encountered during their stay.
Tom A. Jun 2017
The house was very nice and in an attractive location. We only stayed for a couple of nights but it was perfect for our needs. I would certainly stay here again and could really only cite two negatives. One is that it is definitely a remote location as it seemed to be at least a 20 minute car ride to anything. Not a huge deal but definitely meant that you needed to plan ahead. The other thing was that it is difficult to find. You have to follow the written directions provided exactly. GPS will not find the street address and there were no street signs or house numbers that I saw. I would hate to try to find it in the dark.
Donna C. Apr 2017
Large home with lake and mountain view!
Ashley N. Apr 2017
Wonderful house with great amenities....You will never have to leave the house. Pool table, hot tub, fire pit, plus lots of bed sleeping options.
Zach Y. Jan 2017
Located away from all the hustle and bustle of daily life, this beautiful and well-equipped cabin served as the perfect get away for our group of friends just wanting a nice weekend to hang out with each other. The staff of both Vacasa and the property were responsive and friendly. I would highly recommend a stay here!
Susan D. Dec 2016
Vacasa took over the management of this cabin just after we reserved it so hopefully they will immediately improve it. The overall layout of the cabin and bedrooms is fine but to shorten this review I would simply ask Vacasa if they could tell you everything they have done to improve the kitchen cookware, bedroom mattress/linens and pillows and ask if the electrical downstairs has been corrected in the cabin since acquiring the management. Oh, and be aware... there are no electrical outlets in the downstairs bathroom for hairdryers or nightlights.

As for the handicap assessibility... the ramp to the main deck and entrance is fine but they didn't take into consideration the threshold of the doorway so unless that's corrected you may need to bring a threshold ramp or something to get creative. And if you are wondering as we did.... the grade outside is a little too steep for a wheelchair to access the lower level so we couldn't get our family member to the game room.

The pictures in the video are the most accurate in viewing the property as it looks right now.
Manager response:
Thank you for the feedback you provided. Our local operations manager was able to provide some insight as to what changes have been made since taking over the management of this cabin. New living room furniture was purchased and installed in the home. The steps to the lower level were redone, and the basement was painted. The linens, pillows, pots and pans are scheduled to be replaced in February 2017. Due to the way the home was built, the electrical system is set up in a unique way. There is a switch in the lower level of the home that must be in the “ON” position for all of the other light switches to work in the lower area. This has been clearly marked with signage. There is not a quick or simple fix to this, so a resolution date has not been arranged at this time. The bathroom outlet concern has been addressed and is scheduled to have an outlet installed. We apologize if there was any confusion on whether this home was handicap accessible. We list whether or not a home has disability access in the amenities section of the listing, and this home does not. We hope this clears any confusion or concerns you may have had from your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!