Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #724

Thunderhead Lodge #201 - Government Camp, OR

59 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
87554 Government Camp Loop Rd. #201, Government Camp, OR 97028

Historic lodge w/ a shared game room & decks - just steps from Ski Bowl!

This cozy Government Camp vacation condo includes access to community amenities like a heated geothermal year-round pool, a rec room with wood-burning fireplace, wet bar, pool table and foosball, coin-operated laundry facilities, and outstanding views of Mt. Hood and Ski Bowl from the wraparound decks.

As one of 10 units in the historic 1941 Thunderhead Lodge (originally built as the terminal for a gondola between the town and Timberline), this efficiency condo makes for great lodging for mountain-goers.

Your own private getaway within the lodge is fully equipped with everything you might need to enjoy a ski getaway or mountain biking weekend. Lounge in the living area and watch cable on the TV. There's a DVD player for relaxing movie nights. The free WiFi is available on the first floor of the complex only.

The kitchen has all the essentials: fridge, oven with stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, and enough pots, pans, dishes, and utensils to whip up a hearty breakfast before a day on the mountain. Of course, if you don't feel like cooking, the brewpub and restaurants of Government Camp are just a short walk from your door.

There is a comfortable queen bed and a sleeper sofa and a full bath for up to four guests. Given the cozy quarters, this home is best suited for close friends and families.

You can walk to skiing at SkiBowl, or drive just a few miles further up the mountain to Timberline and Mt. Hood Meadows! In the summer, the area is surrounded by hiking and biking trails, alpine lakes, wildflower-filled meadows, and amazing scenic vistas of the mountain.

Stay in the heart of it all here at this Mt. Hood vacation rental!

damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games

Common areas

Game room


Washer/dryer : Shared

Kitchen & dining






Walk to lifts


Internet : Century Link


Cable : Century Link

DVD library

DVD player

Sound dock

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Pool : Shared

Pool table : Shared

Foosball table




59 reviews

Ken R. Mar 2020
The condo was nice, not sure about some of the more negative reviews but it had everything you’d need and it was all in good to great condition. Views were great and house is good for a small number of people. Building is older, but I’d also historical so was what I’d expect. Would definitely stay again!
Alyssa Maria Lovelle C. Oct 2019
The access to the lodge was very easy. They emailed us detailed instructions on how to get in, how to access other amenities, and how to leave without talking to other people! The place is beautiful. It's like a really really really really really nice studio apartment. They have a kitchen with the tools you need (you just buy the food), you have a nice bathroom and they give us a basket full of towels (including beach towels when you go swimming), Vacasa also provided a portfolio of the place, and the things you can do around the area, places to eat, and just general information for your stay. They also have some board games you can use. It was perfect for our rainy day. They have a rec room with TV, foosball, and a pool table. We were the only guests in the lodge and I appreciated that they have the heated pool on even if it was just us staying! Overall, I love the place! It's so nice, the bed is comfy, and it we were taken care of.
BRIAN C. Aug 2019
Little longer walk to downtown but easy, pool is amazing, rec room is a life saver with the laundry rm. , rm 201 would be great for a winter stay but is a little warm in summer with no a/c or ceiling fan. Will stay again.
Thomas M. D. Sep 2018
Great unit, great location.
John W. Aug 2018
For an older unit it was surprisingly comfy and homey. The building has a rustic cheery feel to it with plenty of skier scars on the floors and walls confirming the presence of previous patronage of happy peeps. Every thing is close by in the way of food and activities. There are hiking or mountain biking trails with direct access from the back of the lodge.
Aaron L. Jul 2018
Not bad for a few days on the mountain. It is dated, but clean, functional, and comfortable. Great location for Government Camp area activities.
Greg W. Jul 2018
A little dated, but price was right and clean. Walls are thin and you can hear neighbors, but if you are a heavy sleeper, It won’t bother you.
Ron P. May 2018
Well equipped studio near Government Camp with hike/ski trails out the door. Cosy, perfext accommodation for two, stretch for four. Vacasa does a nice job in prepping and maintaining unit. Kitchen fully equipped for light cooking, porch with couch to relax and take in fresh forest scene.
David T. Apr 2018
Liked the condo, clean and good location, only about 18 mins from Mt. Hood Meadows, where we went skiing for the weekend.
Elsie L. Mar 2018
Thunderhead is a historic building but it still keeps in perfect condition. You can enjoy to cook your meals yourself after skiing.
Jürgen S. Mar 2018
We loved our stay. The house is quite old but really charming. You can get all you need.... I liked it.
GARY A. Mar 2018
Served the purpose for our family ski getaway for a few days. Heated pool was awesome as well as the game room with REAL fireplace. One frustration was the unit above us - must have hardwood floors. from 10pm - 12:30 am it was like they were doing a walk-a-thon in high heels. I was just about to go upstairs and knock on their door when it finally stopped. Other issue for future renters - there was a notice taped to the from door that the property has been sold.....
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest had to deal with a loud neighbor. This is not usually the case, and most of our guests have a lovely time. The 'sold' notice the guest saw does not pertain to this unit. Thanks!
Consuelo P. Jan 2018
Location is great, nice to have access to a full kitchen. Bathroom could use a little TLC in terms of a good scrub to remove toilet and bathtub stains, and new flooring.
Aside from that, comfortable for 1 couple and 1 adult who slept on sofa bed. Plenty of restaurants around for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Tao P. Jan 2018
The room has everything! very comfortable. but the e-code to open the room door was wrong. I have to call 3 times to acquire the new code.
Vivian L. Jan 2018
The property is in a very good location to access the ski/snowboarding areas. The heated swimming was great. Close to Government Camp to visit a couple of taverns and mini store.
Jennie C. Dec 2017
We had to leave our sliding glass door unlocked so we could get in and out of our room. Initially, we could not get through to management, so another guest let us go through their room to get to the main hall to get to our room. Then we had to leave our sliding glass door unlocked so we could get in and out of our room. Both of us tried every variation of the key lock to try to get one of the four lock boxes unlocked so we could get a key to the front door but we could never get the front door key or get it open.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the confusion and agitation that occurred because of the lockboxes. We have relabeled them so it is easier for guests to locate their specific lockbox and get into their units. Thank you!
Cindy S. Oct 2017
This is very close to Hood Mt Ski Area, and Timberline Ridge. There are many nearby hiking trails.

This was a nice place to stay if you are looking for a large space, with a queen size bed and a fold out couch. It has two TVs, both of which have a DVR, and one which has a Sony 2 Playstation. There is a full size dining room with a large table too. There were some movies and games in the room which was nice with the rainy weather. The bed is right next to the couch though, so I guess if you used both TVs someone would need to use headphones.

We stayed at the end of September and the pool was closed already. They did not tell us that when we booked the hotel.

The rooms are clean, but old. The carpet should be replaced. The kitchen is well stocked with a full size refrigerator, stove and dishwasher. It was nice and clean!

It is right on the highway so you will hear traffic when you are trying to sleep, especially since you must leave the windows open to cool off, there is no air conditioning.

You retrieve you key from a lock box. There should be better lighting so you can see what you are doing. There is no one on site to help you if you have issues. We had the whole place to ourselves the first night. It is the off season at the end of September apparently.
Mischa C. Sep 2017
Its all pretty old school but perfectly fine. Everything worked, the bed was comfy and close to everything. What else dose one need.
We had a great time with the kids at Ski bowl adventure park.
My daughter and I went in to look at the pool and then discovered that we were locked in. The gate handle was broken. She climbed over the fence and let us out. Next time we went for a swim we propped open the gate with a towel. No big deal, we laughed. Pool was clean and very warm.
James A. Aug 2017
This place is well suited for skiers, it's close to all the Mt. Hood winter sports areas. It's not the Ritz, it's not Best Western either, but it is roomy and has a real kitchen. We stayed for a few hot days in August, and the pool was covered with bubble wrap. Not sure what use a pool is if it's not open on hot days. If I was in my early 20's and had 2 or 3 skier friends looking for a place to sleep at night, this is just the place, you could crash a 4 skiers here easy, as long as they are willing to sleep on the couch or floor too. If you're looking for a nice vacation get away type place, you might be a little disappointed here. The furniture is functional, and the bed is pretty comfortable, but it's all seen better days. There's no A/C, so hot summer days aren't going to be fun inside. It beats sleeping in a tent or pickup truck/van though, so just expect a basic place and you'll be satisfied.
Angela O. Aug 2017
Nice to stairs not to noisy
Debbie H. Jul 2017
It's ALL about the location. If you want to ski at Timberline this place is very convenient. The studio room was surprisingly spacious. Two adults and 2 teens with a lot of stuff worked just fine. Yes, we skied in July!

Almost too many dishes, in the kitchen. No room for groceries. The place is out dated and didn't "feel" really clean, it had a slightly musty smell, It could be that it's just old. If all the floors were redone, it would make a big difference.
The deck screen door is ripped and there is no handle on the outside. Chairs on the deck would be nice. The pool door handle is broken too Al's though you could get out. The pull out bed mattress is a little to be desired.
The place has huge potential if a little money was put into it.
All in all it worked out fine. I was more disappointed than the rest of my family.
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback. The screen door handle has been replaced, extra dishes have been removed to provide more storage space for guests' groceries, and we will speak with the owner about deck chairs and the sleeper sofa mattress. Thanks!
Michelle V. May 2017
Overall, our stay was fine. We had a bit of trouble obtaining the key from the lockbox and quickly discovered that the key only worked for the back door. Considering we were two ladies traveling alone, having to creep up the back stairs late at night was not ideal and was a little scary. Definitely a personal safety issue to keep in mind if you're planning to rent.

Other than that, the place was clean and well provisioned - lot of extra pillows, towels, and blankets. The kitchen had everything we needed and there was even a bag of extra supplies, including corkscrew, waiting on the counter when we walked in. The only thing missing was an iron.

All-in-all, we our stay was good. The place was super quiet and close to everything we needed.
David A. Mar 2017
Place was easy to locate, convenient location and the game/lounge room was perfect place to wind down. Ashley (on-site manager) was extremely helpful. The only downside to our stay was they were working on the cable/internet therefore bad reception was the only negative otherwise great place to stay!
Qian L. Mar 2017
We had little worry seeing the review online, but when we arrived there, it is nice and clean. The only downside is the sofa bed is not that comfortable, but considering the price paid, it's ok. WIFI passcode provided in the email is not correct, and figured out based on the hint left by previous renter.
Meghan C. Feb 2017
We love the location and we're very happy overall. It was the perfect size studio for me and my young daughter. It has become one of our new Mt. Hood winter getaways. The building and kitchen feels a bit dated, but for our purposes it was just great. Location is excellent and we were able to relax, enjoy the outdoor heated pool, walk to town, cross country ski, cook simple meals and get a good rest. If you are looking for modern accomadations, big screen tv's or a gourmet kitchen , you might not like this rental as the building and unit feel a bit older (late 80's maybe). But we will happily return over and over!
Nicholas D. Jan 2017
Me and a couple buddies went up to the thunderhead Lodge for the weekend to do some snowboarding and was pleasantly surprised with spaciousness and overall set up of the room. We honestly spent most of our time on the slopes or at the local watering holes but the time we did spend there, no one had any complaints. We did go down to play a couple games of pool and started a fire. Pretty cool little spot. Would definitely recommend.
Ashley O. Jan 2017
We stayed here for the weekend to celebrate New Year's Eve. We were able to walk to Mt. Hood Brewery for dinner, to Ski Bowl East for Cosmic Tubing, and we went snow shoeing just outside the lodge. The amenities were a little outdated and the pull-out mattress was a little uncomfortable, but it had a cozy cabin feel and was perfect for a weekend getaway. We would definitely come back!!
Rebecca K. Jan 2017
Great spot right in Government camp. It was just what we needed for our small family.
Risako Y. Dec 2016
Old doesn't mean bad. Old could be comfy and warm.
Dawn R. Dec 2016
My husband and I took our adult sun on a snow adventure. We cross-country skied, right out the door, snow-shoed, and played games in the game room and unit. Our son took a swim as well. Everything, including the conditions, was perfect!
Ralf R. Oct 2016
Great location
Debra M. Aug 2016
Clean and well stocked with everything you would need.
Danielle K. Jul 2016
Nice and clean unit with everything provided.
Meredith C. Mar 2016
Almost everything about this place was great. The bed was comfy. The pool was great. However, even though there was a router in the room the wifi did not work at all. Upon further investigation we noticed that it says the signal might be weak and to use wifi in the common area. This wasn't of interest to us. So sadly, we were disappointed with that.
CATIE J. Feb 2016
Enjoyable condo
Tiffani R. Jan 2016
Overall location was great! The room it self was okay. Pull out couch definitely needs a new mattress! Very uncomfortable. I was given the wrong code to get in and that was irritating. Loved how close everything was.
Christy C. Dec 2015
We've stayed at the Thunderhead three times now, and it's always been good. The rooms and furnishings are never fancy and sometimes the furniture is a little rough, but it's totally budget friendly, you can't beat the location, and the pool is awesome. It was way warmer and more fun to hang out in than our friend's pool in the resort across the way. We always come back to the Thunderhead!
Jason K. Dec 2015
My wife and I spent our One-Year Anniversary in this cozy room. Upon entry, my wife jumped for joy and exclaimed "It's Perfect!" The Vacasa staff did a wonderful job cleaning the condo. And the location was perfect - it's the halfway point between the main town and the brewery (which had way above average food and beer). Just behind the unit, there is a great hiking trail. I didn't have snowshoes, but my wife and I both did the hike in our regular shoes and couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. The two TVs in the room were a nice touch too. Kudos to the owner!
Brenna K. Dec 2015
We **loved** this apartment/condo/whatever and can't wait to come again.

-Balcony with view of snowy forest
-Hiking trails in the back
-The pool was heaven
-More than enough room for 2 people
-Rec/common room is awesome (pool table, foosball, fireplace, wireless, bathroom)
-Can walk to everything in Gov't Camp, including Skibowl

-The internet in the room doesn't work
-I want to live here but I don't
Arun S. Jul 2013
Wonderful location, close to many Mt Hood attractions and very clean. I would like the future visitors to be aware of two things. These are NOT complaints but facts which may be okay for many visitors.

It was supposed to sleep 4 comfortably but in reality there was only one queen bed.

Also being a suite with a kitchen, it was on the third floor without an elevator meaning there was a lot of carrying things up the stairs and carrying them back while checking out esp if 4 people are staying and you are bringing in everything upfront and cooking all the meals.