Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Pacific City Cape Kiwanda Listing #727

Dory Days Beach House - Pacific City, OR

104 reviews
Max occupancy: 11 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms Sleeps 9 comfortably  No pets 
34195 Seaswallow Drive, Pacific City, OR 97135

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious home w/ a private hot tub & ocean views, one block to the beach!

This classic, wood-shingled beach home in the small town of Pacific City offers the perfect location for a memorable family retreat. Spacious and charming, Dory Days is ideally situated just one block from the ocean and an easy walk along the beach to the famous Pelican Pub in town, where you can grab some beer and dinner while you watch the Dory boats come in!

As you enter this beautiful house, the hallway opens to a large living space with detailed custom features like tall, slanted wood ceilings and a built-in, stone facade fireplace. Walls are adorned with colorful travel art and a comfortable blue sofa (also a sleeper) is the perfect spot for relaxing and watching DVDs on the flat-screen TV. Cozy leather chairs provide more seating in this cleanly-designed space, inviting you to settle in with a book for some quiet reading time after everyone goes to bed. A deck off the living room is outfitted with bright red Adirondack chairs, as well as a private hot tub that provides an especially lovely spot for taking in the view.

On nights you don't hit the pub, the main open space includes a wonderfully-sized kitchen with stainless steel appliances and all the epicurean tools and gadgets needed for delicious meals, snacks and everything in between. Stylish green cabinetry, recessed lighting, a large farmhouse sink, dishwasher, and plenty of counter space will have you preparing everything from blueberry pancakes to spicy seafood-filled cioppino in no time. Off the kitchen, there is a deck with built-in seating and a picnic table.

On this main level there is also a nautically-themed bedroom with a wood framed queen bed that guarantees a restful night. Down the hall is a kid's room with twin bunk beds, plus an additional twin bed. A full bathroom with a tub and shower combo is also on this level. Other amenities include WiFi throughout the house and a stackable washer and dryer in the hall closet, perfect for drying out everyone's clothes after a fun-packed day at the beach or that mid-vacation load of laundry so the family won't run out of clean socks.

Upstairs is the elegant master suite complete with ocean views, a comfortable king bed, stylish black and white photos on the wall, and an ensuite bathroom with a large soaker tub. A private oasis for unwinding after a day of beach fun, you'll want to sleep in, read the paper in bed and enjoy those relaxing vacation mornings, while the rest of the family enjoys their own space downstairs.

The third floor contains what may become your most favorite room of all -- the Crow's Nest loft. This cozy spot has the best views of the ocean and offers a quiet place to relax and catch up on your magazine reading, meditate or just enjoy a private moment or two. The sofa in the crow's nest is a sleeper as well, so if you don't keep this prime location to yourself, it can sleep two additional guests. The three bedrooms, two bathrooms, and two sleeper sofas in this house can comfortably accommodate 11 guests.

Dory Days Beach House is located in the Kiwanda Shores community in Pacific City, a perfect spot for surfing, shelling, clamming or strolling the sandy beach. The home backs to a wildlife preserve so you will often see deer and other local wildlife grazing in the back yard! Crabbing is also a popular pastime here, with locals finding it amazingly easy to catch the daily limit of fresh dungeness crab.

The city is also famous for a challenging and fun hike to the top of its large sand dune. In town, there are a number of eateries in addition to the Pelican Pub, including coffee houses, bistros, and pizzerias, as well as a vibrant collection of small shops and galleries. Outside of the immediate area, Cape Kiwanda State Park is about a mile to the north and Bob Straub State Park sits a mile south, giving you so many excursion options you may need to flip a coin to decide what to do each day! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

Property tax ID: 02694



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : DirecTV

DVD library

DVD player

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games



104 reviews

Diane K. Aug 2020
As a family with small children, we liked having the deck on the back so the kids could be outside. The house beach access is great. There is a large sand dune to get to the ocean. The views are beautiful. The house had everything we needed. The community of houses has nice walking paths with plenty of deer to see. It’s also a short walk to the downtown area. I would stay in this house again.
Cherish A. Jun 2020
This was a wonderful and clean house with a delightful hot tub. We loved the gourmet kitchen and spacious rooms. We had never been to Pacific City and the beach was great and the people friendly. We would love to come back!
Mark S. Sep 2019
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Dory Days. The house was very clean and had everything we needed for a great vacation. Thanks!
Allison B. Sep 2019
Pros: The house was located close to the beach and there was room for everyone to spread out. This house worked well for two adults and 3 children.

Cons: The sheets in the downstairs bedroom with the queen bed were full of sand and obviously had not been changed prior to our arrival, which I didn't realize until I was putting my son to bed. This was obviously very gross. Also, the A/C was broken and didn't work; the house was close to 80 degrees inside downstairs because of the afternoon sun. The upstairs floor was even warmer. I couldn't find any way to communicate with the owner or property manager and we were only there for 2 nights, so the A/C was never repaired.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry to see you experienced any negatives during your stay. This home does not have central air conditioning, which is why you were not able to get anything. There are rotating fans available to help with the heat on those warmer days. We did find out there was an issue with the dryer causing sand to get trapped, and we apologize it ended up in your sheets. The dryer has been repaired. We hope to see you again!
Brittany S. Jul 2019
This home has everything you need! Vacasa is a great company.
Wendy B. Jul 2019
The size and location were great for our group. The hot tub was a nice amenity. Overall, we were satisfied with the house and would stay there again.
Jacob S. Jun 2019
Clean affordable and very simple experience
Jennifer H. Jun 2019
The house was great— clean and comfortable, and the bedrooms are arranged so that sleeping arrangements could be flexible (lots of twin beds, good space. Hot tub was lovely, Beach 100 yards away and the walk to Pelican Pub was perfect— all in all a great place! My ONLY gripe was a shortage of glasses.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback! We have passed along your suggestion for more glasses to the local team.
Lucy M. Apr 2019
This house is very well located, quite comfortable and just right for a small family reunion. Would stay here again.
Ian B. Feb 2019
My friends and I had a great time. The hot tub was fantastic, the beach was right down the street, and the house was nice and comfortable. Great place to stay :)
henry S. Oct 2018
House was really great, couldn’t have asked for a better location. Only problem is the leaky sink! Needs to get fixed or that water bill will skyrocket.
Susan W. Jul 2018
This was a great second house for my large family. Kids loved the bunk beds. Hot tub was well used by all and the kitchen was well appropriated with lots of plates and silverware. Close to the beach and nice walk into town on the beach or the walking bath. Definitely keep it in mind for our beach trip next year.
Sharnel M. May 2018
The home is on a small lot, so in order to maximize the space available the layout is on a series of levels. The main level has a bathroom and two rooms (one with bunk beds). The next level has a huge master en suite with a closet converted to a mini-bedroom for a young child or toddler. The next level is more of a loft with a TV and couch. It would be better to use this space as an extra "bedroom" although one would need to traverse two flights of stairs to access the bathroom.
Overall the kitchen amenities were fine. The electric stove worked well. The oven needs a thorough cleaning, and an updated coffee maker would be great!
Nice stay for two families. Would be too small for three families.
Manager response:
We'll get the oven during our spring deep clean. Thank you!
Jessica W. Mar 2018
We loved our stay! The home is clean and well maintained and the access to the beach is very close. We loved Pacific City.
SarahLouise B. Mar 2018
Loved the hot tub. the short trek to the dunes. the view. the frogs singing at night. thank you! happy birthday to me!
Linda A. Nov 2017
Eating family style meals was difficult with the limited preparation items in the kitchen. Kitchen needs to be restocked with useable items, not canning jars and plastic.
Catherine M. Oct 2017
We stayed here with several kids and adults. It was a blast. The home is comfortable, clean and spacious. The hot tub was a huge hit. Overall, the weather is perfect at the coast this time of year, so it worked out perfectly.
Alexandra G. Aug 2017
This little neighborhood is so cool. It feels plopped in the middle of a deserted beach. The house was clean and cozy with a large kitchen and plenty of outdoor space. Hot tub after a swim was amazing.
Meghan S. Aug 2017
We had a great time at the beach
MICHELLE E. Jul 2017
Whether you are looking to relax in solitude or go party at the beach, this place is it. I love the nature preserve behind the house!! Hot tubbing while listening to the birds and owl was the best!!! Only made better by watching a beautiful family of deer stroll by. Cape Kiwanda is a close walk and a great beach to explore!
Kara C. Jun 2017
We had a nice time on our vacation but, given how much we paid, the house really wasn't in great condition. Our weekend was very hot and a majority of the windows were broken and wouldn't/couldn't be opened. There were signs in the loft saying not to open windows because there was no way to shut them. This made the loft an unusable space and we were counting on it. All the furniture in the living room was broken including the denim couch and leather chair. One of our guests literally fell right down to the floor in the leather chair. Also, it appears that the garage was locked off to guests. We would have liked to use it for bikes and things like that. But, the location of the house to the beach was pretty awesome and we love Pacific City so we still managed to have fun.
Manager response:
Per owner request due to guest misuse we have had to remove the window cranks. The home does have central air conditioning so the house can stay cool. The leather chair has been removed. Thanks!
Melanie J. May 2017
Hot tub was a bonus kids loved it!
Carmelita L. May 2017
Perfect location, just a short stroll to the beach.
Emily G. May 2017
Four years ago we went as a family to Dory Days. Special memories. This time we came back. I have stage 4 terminal, and had a yearning to return. Even tho it was wet and cold, we walked the beach and finalized some much needed conversation.
If I'm here next year, we will return. Faith is an amazing gift.
And a home that offers everything you need and more, is hard to find. You won't be disappointed. Try to go in good weather. A great front porch to sit out on.
Audrey D. Apr 2017
Needs a deep cleaning and a bunch of odds and ends fixed. If I were in college staying with a big group it wouldn't bug me in the least. But I like things clean now, especially at this price point.
Scott T. Mar 2017
The house was perfect - only a short walk through a quiet neighborhood to the beach, a clean and spacious hot tub, and enough rooms for everyone to sleep comfortably! The kitchen is well supplied with most utensils and easy to navigate. I would certainly stay here again!
Laura K. Jan 2017
Dory Days Beach House was great. The kitchen and living area was perfect for our group and there were plenty of sleeping options. The house was so close to the beach!
Michael P. Jan 2017
The Dory Days beach house is a clean and conveniently located home. It is an short, easy walk to the beach. The house itself is fairly well maintained and clean. The bedrooms are especially cozy, especially the massive master suite. The hot tub is a great place to relax after a beach walk or on a chilly evening. Any issues we had were quickly attended to and resolved by Vacasa staff. Overall, a fine beach rental for the price.
Jen T. Nov 2016
Wonderful property in a great location, well kept and tidy. Offers many amentities, as well as charming place to settle down in at the end of the day!
Hannah F. Oct 2016
This house is in the perfect location, just one block from the sand. The neighborhood is safe-feeling and calm with a nice walking path coming from the town area just north of the homes. We loved all the amenities the house had, including the hot tub, porches, and tv/sound system. I would recommend this house to any mid-sized group or family looking for a luxurious but not over-the-top vacation spot.
Elliott J. Oct 2016
We had a great time in Pacific City. The house and it's location were perfect for us.
Craig C. Sep 2016
Keys would not open the front door - after 1 hour we received a call saying hold the handle pull then push hard!! After that we were not comfortable locking the front door when we went out. Don't let the lock box on the garage confuse you - this is the back up....look behind the bench!!
Manager response:
We apologize that the door lock was difficult for this guest and will look into what can be done to ease entry into the home.
Kramer D. Aug 2016
This was a great house in a beautiful location but definitely could use some maintenance. The fridge wasn't working which was horrible to deal with. The blender didn't work, the grill was dirty and had no propane, the oven wasn't cleaned and smoked up the house when being used. Some windows didn't open because the knobs were broken off. If these inconveniences were fixed this would be a 5 star house. Hopefully this all gets taken care of soon.
Manager response:
We apologize that there were some inconveniences experienced during this reservation. The Property Manager has fixed the fridge, cleaned the grill and filled the propane tanks, and has cleaned the oven.
Mika W. Aug 2016
Fold out couch was broken so it only comfortably sleeps 4-5 adults and 2-3 kids. Great location just minutes from the beach. Nice large kitchen with a nice long dining table. Would have been nice to have a bit more seating in the living room.
Manager response:
Unfortunately, there is no more room for additional seating, but we do plan on having the sofa bed taken care of by mid-September.
Gary R. Aug 2016
We stayed for 4 nights. The house was clean and very comfortable for 4 adults and 2 children. The children enjoyed the upstairs room that had a place to do puzzles or watch TV. The hot tub was enjoyed by all. The kitchen was well stocked. We'd love to stay there again!
Gordon K. Aug 2016
Very nice family place with easy access to beach.
Claudia W. Jul 2016
We gathered in three houses for a memorial celebration. Pacific City is our "place" to go at the Oregon coast so we really enjoyed our time there. Kiwanda Shores was a great community with easy access to the beach and sand dunes. This house was very nice accept for the sofa sleepers and bed in the loft. I'm sure they will upgrade and then will be great!
Loraena T. Jul 2016
Very lovely house and we enjoyed our stay very much.
Erica C. Jul 2016
Property needs some TLC but we had a great time and loved Pacific City.
Terry H. Jul 2016
We stayed several nights. Close enough to drive to visit the tide pools, Tillamook Cheese and the crabbing areas. Lots of local shops.
Bradford G. Jun 2016
We enjoyed our recent 5 night stay at Dory Days Beach House. If you're looking for a quiet neighborhood with private access to the beach, this is an ideal place. There is plenty of room for everyone to spread out. The house is warm and inviting and is centrally located on the coast to explore to the north as well as to the south. The town of Pacific City is definitely low-key, so if you're looking for a wide variety of night life and dining options (or big stores close by), you may want to keep looking. On the other hand, if you're looking for a great place to be close to the beach, ride horses, or just hang out with friends and family, this is a property worth looking at. Highly recommend!
Nicolas Q. Jun 2016
Enjoyed the stay very nice vacation home. We will definitely stay again, thank you for letting us enjoy your vacation home.
Katie F. May 2016
Watch out for hidden non-refundable fees and the cancellation policy. The online process was very misleading.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see that there must have been some miscommunication regarding our policies and fees. Please call us at 503-345-9399 or see our FAQ section to learn more about how we work.
Tigran K. May 2016
Place was great for a nice getaway weekend at the beach. House was in short walking distance from the beach and short drive from the Pelican Pub and store. House was well suited and equiped for our crowd. Amazing sound system too and jacuzzi. Would recommend to anyone and plan on coming back soon.
Ben H. Apr 2016
The home was large and great for multiple families. The hot tub was definitely the highlight. Overall, good experience!
Suzanne F. Mar 2016
We enjoyed our stay and it is a beautiful environment. The house needs a bit of updating and minor fix-ups. Bring extra blankets and an air mattress or two as the pull out couches are broken and/or uncomfortable.
Manager response:
We apologize that the sleeping arrangements were uncomfortable - the Property Manager will inspect the sofa beds and provide more bedding.
Shelley B. Feb 2016
We held one of our annual girls beach trips here. It was very comfy to stay in this house. Great location, so close to the beach. Loved seeing the deer off the back deck.
Simon S. Feb 2016
Great house with lots of room and amenities to entertain the whole group during a rainy Oregon coast weekend. Close to the beach, and a short walk from Pelican brewery. We would stay here again.
James E. Jan 2016
We found this home great for our toddler as they were already setup with the small bed and everything was kid friendly.
Morgan C. Nov 2015
House was in a gated area and VERY close to the neighbors. It was beautiful inside and out. The living area was really strangely small in comparison to the gigantic house. It was a lovely time regardless.
Lori S. Oct 2015
Great place to stay - clean, well-furnished, lots of character in its decor, close to the beaches (just one block), many choices for sleeping arrangements, lots of deer. Fun weekend! Highly recommend!
Mark Q. Sep 2015
Lot's of sleeping arrangement options and great location.
Kim S. Sep 2015
This home worked out beautifully for our family. 4 generations under one roof for a mini vacation to the Oregon coast. The facilities were top notch, beautifully decorated and the kitchen well stocked. Even with small children/older adults the stairs were not a problem. There are 2 bedrooms and a bathroom on the main level so there would not be a need to go to floors 2 and 3 if mobility is an issue. Main bedroom on the second floor is spectacular. Almost like a small apartment. Has a king bed, its own sitting area and bathroom. There is also a hideaway room, a cozy spot for a child or grandma. The upper floor has a wonderful view of the ocean, pullout couch and TV-DVD. Wi-fi was easy to access. The beach was about 3 blocks away, an easy walk for all of us. The beach is sandy and we all enjoyed playing in the sand and waves. Our only comment would be no outside water for hosing off after being on the beach. We tried to be careful not to track in sand, but almost impossible without outside hoses available. The washer and dryer is on the main floor which is convenient to use. Dryer has a high pitched squeal when running which did get irritating. We are already talking about planning another trip next summer and would specifically stay here.
Chris H. May 2015
The Dory Days beach house was a nice choice for two to three families. It was well-equipped. The hot tub was a treat!
Andres M. Jun 2014
Lots of room , relaxing ocean sound and breeze , kid friendly , overall a really good house !!! We had a blast at sand lake then coming back to hang out and relax after riding .
Ann W. Apr 2014
Thus is a beautiful, comfortable home in a gated community close to the beach and town. It is very well appointed and there is lots of sunlight. Great for families.
Erin K. Jan 2014
We had a phenomenal time at Dory Days. The proximity to the beach and the town were amazing. A great place in a quiet little town. Not a lot of tourists,with breathtaking views
Paul G. Aug 2013
We loved the house and the location. Everything was very comfortable. We enjoyed morning walks on the beach, lunch at the Pelican Pub, and some great evening meals with fresh salmon, tuna, and crab from the local grocery. The house was very roomy and the kitchen was fully equipped to make evening meals a treat. Teh beds were so comfortable... every night was a dream. There is even a small group of deer that freqented the back yard and we enjoyed sitting on the back deck watching them. We had a great time that was over quicker than I would have ever imaginged. The vacation was like a great massage... it was awesome but ended way too soon!