Virtual Tour
USA California Yosemite Mammoth Lakes Listing #8528

Silver Bear 28 - Mammoth Lakes, CA

9 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 3 bathrooms No pets 
527 Lakeview Boulevard #28, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546

Third-floor rental with shared pool/hot tub/sauna & views of the pine forests

Up to eight guests will enjoy this roomy space that has all the modern amenities, including wireless internet, a laundry closet with washer and dryer, and a private underground parking space. This rental also keeps guests entertained with its five televisions placed throughout the living room and bedrooms.

This lovely ski rental is located in Mammoth Lakes, CA, just 175 yards from the Canyon Ski area. As a third-floor rental, it's just a short walk through the entryway and down some steps or to the elevator to get outside.

The open living area contains a living room, dining room, and full kitchen. Relax on a pair of cushioned sofas in the living room while you watch the flatscreen television with DVD player. You can also enjoy the warmth of the gas fireplace, which has a large river stone mantel. The well-equipped kitchen also gets plenty of light from large windows opposite the dining room, and it allows guests to prepare traditional meals in the stove or microwave after a long day on the slopes. There's also a dishwasher to make cleaning up a breeze.

There are two bedrooms with king beds placed on either side of the kitchen and living room areas. A set of pinewood stairs leads up to the spacious loft, which has two twin beds and a queen bed. Both bedrooms and the loft all boast their own private bathrooms.

As an ideal spot for a winter holiday, Silver Bear is a great rental for outdoor enthusiasts who enjoy skiing on the slopes and riding on the Village Gondola. During the warmer months, you can participate in outdoor barbecues and swim in the summer-only pool. Silver Bear also features a shared sauna, shared hot tub, and a public game room with an air hockey table.

Reserve your stay at this retreat today.

Mammoth Lakes TOT# 7608-0076

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Playground

Gym/fitness room

Features

Gas fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Elevator

Pool : Shared

Sauna : Shared

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable

DVD player

TV

VCR

VHS library

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Hot tub : Shared

Gas grill : Shared

Walk to lifts

9 reviews

Ty K. Feb 2018
My family first stayed at Silver Bear in 2002 and we travel back to Mammoth a few times per year. This was our first significant disappointing lodging at 6-8 properties, meaning that we are pretty easy to please. 1- fireplace gas off, 2- furnace not working properly (burning smell and wouldn't stay on, fire dangerous?), 3- shower in loft leaking into the closet space in bedroom below (so we stopped using it), 4- one of three beds in loft broken to the point of having to sleep on couch, 5- dishwasher soap dispenser not working properly, 6- elevator broke down with my wife and I in it. Next visit we will end up being the guest we all hate; complainers calling about ever little issue.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see these guests had a bad time of it. They did call in about the gas fireplaces which received immediate maintenance. We did not hear anything else from them and wish we had so we could have rectified the issues. We did find the leak and have called a plumber to fix that, but we did not smell anything burning when we turned on the heat, and the gas fireplace was working fine after maintenance was done. The beds seem fine in the loft, and the dishwasher did not have any soap residue. We hope to have another chance to impress. Thanks!
Tyla G. Jan 2018
Very roomy condo on 3rd floor corner with beautiful views from all windows. Plenty of room for the 6 of us and can accommodate 8 very comfortably. Beds comfy, 3 full bathrooms. Only one bath had tub the others just showers. Love the built-ins in living room where you can sit and look out window with a glass of wine or hot chocolate. Gas fire place that we had going whenever in the unit. Has a compact washer and dryer which we only used the dryer but worked fine. Dish washer worked fine. Kitchen needs some updating and was missing some key stuff like pot holders and coffee filters. As far as location it is a very short walk to canyon lodge which was great! Kids can also tube right next to condo as we watch them from window. I highly recommend this condo!
Manager response:
We are thrilled to see this guest enjoyed the rental! The oven mitts were being cleaned, and we missed getting them placed in the condo for this stay. We apologize for that inconvenience. We have placed them back in the unit along with coffee filters. Thank you!
Vanessa S. Aug 2017
I have been renting in Mammoth Silver Bear units for years. Unit #28 is extremely spacious and offers plenty of room for large families or multiple families. However, its best years were probably a decade ago. The furniture is no longer comfortable to relax on. The beds are adequate for sleeping in but the mattresses are not comfortable and neither are the pillows. You’d be hard pressed to find a unit at Silver Bear as large but it really needs some updates to compete with the other spaces available. The issues we had with hot water and parking I cannot pin on the unit but rather the management company.
Gail H. Feb 2017
Had we known how poor the conditions of this unit were, we would have stayed home. We have rented for 20 plus years in Mammoth and this unit was the worst we have ever experienced. Stay home before you spend this much money for a nice get away! Not worth it I'm sorry to say.
Gayle G. Feb 2017
The unit definitely needs cosmetic updates, but we felt the size, location, and price made up for the dated decor. Overall, we had a great stay and would come back to this condo. Quite honestly, the condo looked better in person than in the pictures. We loved the window seats and would sit there and watch the snow fall and kids sledding. The unit is very large - our party of 8 felt like we all had plenty of room. It's in a great location - walking distance to Canyon Lodge, where you can ski or take the (free!) gondola to the village. There is also a great little sledding hill behind the building. Perhaps the biggest pain was parking. There is only 1 guaranteed space and 1 space if there's room in the overflow lot (which is not very big). We parked our extra cars at the airport for $8/ day.
Alyson H. Feb 2016
This was a great Silver Bear Condo. Well appointed inside, comfortable and current furnishings. Garage parking was important as we left in a snow storm. The unit was clean and pretty quiet during a holiday weekend. This unit is on our favorite list.
Andrew C. Jan 2016
Silver Bear 28 came as advertised. The condo's location is very good, as it is only a short walk to Canyon Lodge. The condo itself was spacious and clean. I'm giving SB 28 a 3 star rating due to the dated appliances in the kitchen. If you're renting a condo like this for any length of time, you're probably going to want to utilize the kitchen for a meal or two. The oven and cook top worked well enough, but took a bit of practice to get the hang of because of the age of the appliance. Additionally, the dishwasher was quite dated and never seemed to work well, or at all, even when the dishes were pre-rinsed. A significant amount of time was spent cleaning dishes by hand. I'm saying this as a former owner of a rental property myself, not trying to be too nit-picky, but if the appliances in the condo were replaced, Silver Bear 28 would get a 5 star rating from me.