Virtual Tour
USA Georgia North Georgia Talking Rock Listing #9370

The Bird and the Bear - Talking Rock, GA

11 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 5 Bedrooms 4 Bathrooms 2 Dog Max 
490 Finale Street, Talking Rock, GA 30175

Secluded forest home w/ private hot tub, decks & shared pool/tennis - 2 dogs OK!

Retreat to the privacy of this Talking Rock escape, a five-bedroom, dog-friendly lodge with a private, eco-friendly hot tub, an expansive deck and screened porch that look out into the forest, and access to a shared swimming pool and tennis courts.

This three-level home is beautifully secluded in lush woodlands with no other homes in sight, offering a tranquil getaway for families who love the great outdoors. You'll be less than a mile from a community pool and tennis courts, one mile from the special events facility at the Trout Lodge (which is available to rent for weddings and parties), and nine miles south of the Carters Lake Marina.

Enter on the second floor to find a well-appointed living space, where natural wood accents and large windows help bring the outdoors in. Catch up with your loved ones over a game of cards in the living room, use the free WiFi to share photos with the group, and find the perfect temperature in every season with the central air conditioning and gas-powered fireplace.

Spend the sunny days of summer and the colorful days of autumn outside on the wrap-around deck, where you can watch squirrels jump from tree to tree and light the gas grill for family barbecues. Prepare appetizers and side dishes in the full kitchen, which offers stainless steel appliances and beautiful wood cabinetry.

Sit down to eat at the country-style dining table, or bring dinner outside to the screened-in patio table on the deck. Let your dogs join you outside as you enjoy the golden hours, pass around coffee and dessert, and spend a restful evening in the hot tub (please note that a two-dog limit and a small nightly pet fee apply).

Back inside, the adults can take over the recliners in the living room for a night of cable shows and movies on the flatscreen TV with DVD player. The kids can pile downstairs in the den, which features a plush sectional sofa, a wall-mounted flatscreen with an additional DVD player, and an adjacent kitchenette/wet bar for storing midnight snacks.

With five bedrooms and four full bathrooms, Bear and Bird will accommodate 10 guests. The master suite sits up on the top floor, offering a king-size bed, a private bathroom with a soaking tub and a walk-in shower, a flatscreen TV, and a screened-in balcony. On the main floor, you'll find two bedrooms with a queen-size bed apiece and two full bathrooms.

Head downstairs to discover a fourth bedroom with a pair of twin beds, a fifth bedroom with a futon, and a full bathroom. Additional amenities include a private washer/dryer to take care of all your laundry needs.

Whether you're seeking outdoor adventure, quality time with your loved ones, or a bit of rest and relaxation, you'll find it all in Talking Rock. Spend your days swimming in the pool, practicing your backhand on the tennis courts, or renting out the Trout Lodge for a reunion on the banks of the Coosawattee River.

Take a short drive nine miles north to Carters Lake Marina, where you can rent 24-foot pontoons or 30-foot tritoons for up to 16 people. Time your visit for October to attend the annual George Apple Festival in the town of Ellijay 25 miles north, or head 38 miles east to spend the day hiking in gorgeous Amicalola Falls State Park.

Your unforgettable trip to North Georgia can begin today - book your stay at this Talking Rock lodge!

* Please note, the eco-friendly hot tub relies on radiant heat and might require a longer heating up time.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Fireplace

Gas Fireplace

Washer Dryer : Private

Central AC

Pool : Shared

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Cable : Dish Network

DVD Player

TV

Wireless Router

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Private

Gas Grill : Private

Deck

11 Reviews

Jazmine T. May 2018
We had an excellent stay! No complaints!
Todd M. April 2018
Lots of room and 4 baths was nice. Great views.
Julie R. March 2018
Awesome place to visit. Beautiful scenery. Great house for a large group.
Khadeidra L. February 2018
I enjoyed my overall stay, the view was AMAZING!!! My only concerns were the shower not clean when we arrived, the hot tub not getting hot enough and the downstairs speaker was broken upon arrival.
Manager Response:
We apologize for the inconveniences this guest encountered. Due to some water damage, there was work being done in the bathroom that was not completed as quickly as we had hoped. We understand this probably resulted in a rushed clean since there was not much time to prepare for guest arrival. The hot tub was also cold because it had only been filled that morning since all water had been turned off for the project. We appreciate this guest's patience with the situation.
Tawana W. December 2017
My family and I recently lost a 6 month old baby girl which affected us all Terribly!! She was just GORGEOUS and full of life and such a happy girl, and we all loved her so much. And miss her like crazy. We all knew Christmas was going to be hard. Especially for my son, which he was her dad. and she was my first and only grandchild. The best way to grieve was to get away with family and enjoy the holiday the best way that we could. And we did just that. My parents were first timers being in a cabin and they really enjoyed the master bedroom upstairs. The views were good...not too many mountain views but I love nature so it was fine for me just to see the leafless trees. It was a relaxing and joyful experience and a purpose that was definitely server. For those that are interested, just being comfortable sleeping bags or bean bags if you plan to stay upstairs on the main level. with a family of 10 it did get a little cramped and the furniture was a little uncomfortable. but overall, We will be back! :0)
Manager Response:
We are so sorry for this guest's loss and are so glad to see they were able to have an enjoyable family get together here.
Kevin H. November 2017
This makes for a great escape and especially if you want to stay put, which we did. We happen to be there during the end of the beautiful fall season so had amazing views all around the house. It was very remote and the houses are really spread out. Not sure how it would work if you plan to go to state parks or even a grocery store as they are quite far, but we didn't need to.
Brandon F. September 2017
Our stay was great, property is very well maintained and exceeded our expectations.
Brian S. August 2017
The home is very remote and if you want seclusion this is the location for you. We had hoped for mountain views, but with all the leaves still on the trees you had really no view. This may not be the case in the late fall/winter.
A highlight was the very frequent visits from several hummingbirds to the feeders mounted outside the main windows. We had a great time capturing them on camera and Slowmo video. Make sure you drive down to the end of the road to the Trout Lodge. The views here are beautiful and if summer months the water is clean and very nice to cool off.

If you plan on cooking the kitchen is well stocked with pots/pans/bowls etc. but make sure you grab seasoning as the house did to even have salt & pepper.

Overall a really nice home in the forrest of trees.
Amaris B. July 2017
My family and I enjoyed our recent vacation trip. If you like being away from the busy life and having time to relax, this is the place. I loved awakening early in the morning and sitting out on the screened deck. The sounds of nature, including the rainfall, was so relaxing. You are away from everything, which means you have to plan your day wisely. The home is very spacious and having four full bathrooms was great.
Kevin B. July 2017
Wonderful place to get away, clear your mind while having all the luxuries of home
Sridevi R. July 2017
The gate code provided in check in instructions did not work and the staff could not help. We were rescued by another party trying to enter the community. Pictures provided on the web gave a different impression then we what we actually experience. The furniture quality could have been better. Lack of dishwasher was a big inconvenience. Noticed a lot of pests inside and around the house. There was a damp smell in the bedrooms. the sheets on the futon was still damp and could not be used as a result.
Manager Response:
We are sorry for the difficulties this guest experienced. The buttons for the gate code must be pressed slowly and firmly. If there is a problem with the code, guests can use the electronic phone directory at the gate to locate Vacasa's number and have us open the gate for them. The unit has been bug bombed, cleaned, and scheduled for a pest control program. The home is in the woods so pests are to be expected to some degree. A dehumidifier has been purchased for the home to help with the damp smell, and we have followed-up with housekeeping on properly drying the linens. Thank you!