Virtual Tour
USA California Tahoe City Dollar Point Listing #959

Observation Deck in Dollar Point with Filtered Lakeview - Tahoe City, CA

30 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 (9 adults) 1 King Bed, 6 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
94 Tahoma Way, Tahoe City, CA 96145

Elegant escape w/lake views + shared pool & private homeowners' beach!

Perfect for the summer adventurer or winter skiing enthusiast, this three bedroom Dollar Point vacation home, just east of Tahoe City, offers lots of amenities and is close proximity to many popular Lake Tahoe attractions! This Tahoe City vacation rental includes seasonal access to the Dollar Point swimming pool, tennis courts, a beautiful clubhouse with games, fire pits, and, best of all, a private homeowners' beach.

***pool, tennis and private beach access are available for a per person day use fee.***

You'll have easy access to the bike trail that connects Tahoe City, West Shore, Squaw Valley, and the Truckee River. You will also be close to beaches for enjoying long days lying around on the sand. And when the snow is falling, the resorts of Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows are less than 10 miles away.

The open layout of this home is perfect for your family vacation, allowing all eight of you to enjoy an elegant meal around the dining table or relaxing on the comfy couches while watching the big game on the television in front of a toasty fire in the gas fireplace.

Whether you decide to sit down to a formal meal at the large wooden table or grab a snack at the breakfast bar, you'll find all the appliances you need to cook a delicious meal for either scenario in the fully stocked kitchen. There's even a slow cooker for all-day stews, a coffee grinder for freshly ground beans each morning, and a tea kettle for that afternoon mug of Oolong.

Of course, a vacation home called "Observation Deck" needs a big deck to do a lot of observing from, and you won't be disappointed here! Just beyond the dining table, a glass door leads out to a wood deck with views of trees and the lake, extra seating for outdoor dining, and even a grill for cookouts on summer afternoons when the sun is shining.

In the three bedrooms, you'll find a king-size bed, and two rooms, one featuring two twins and one with one twin and a set of bunk beds (top bunk should be for the kiddos only, please), making this a great home for a family ski getaway. There are also two bathrooms conveniently located throughout the house and a washer and dryer for keeping everyone in clean, dry socks while on vacation. This home will comfortably sleep 8 guests for a spectacular Tahoe trip, or up to 10 if you include the queen airbed.

The home is located right in the coveted Dollar Point community in North Tahoe is within easy walking distance to the clubhouse. Amenities available include tennis courts, a lap pool with diving board, bocce ball, shuffleboard, playground, Frisbees, and volleyball. The clubhouse offers WiFi, lifeguards on duty, private and group swim lessons, and a babysitters' lists, in case you want to go out for a night on the town without the young ones.

Just half a mile from the house is the private Dollar Point beach, with barbecues, picnic areas, beach volleyball, and perfect spots for swimming, sand castle building, and even crawdad fishing. Spread your beach blanket out on the sand in the morning, then select the perfect chaise lounge by the pool in the afternoon! Please note that some amenities are open seasonally.

Cyclists will love being able to explore miles of bike paths, one of which can be accessed just outside the community. Embark on hikes with amazing lake and mountain views, or visit Treetop Adventure Park for an afternoon on the zip lines and rope courses.

Are you a water sports enthusiast? If so, you'll be happy to know that Truckee River is nearby and is great for fishing, rafting, kayaking, and more. There's so much else to do, it's almost easy to forget you are right on scenic Lake Tahoe! Take a cruise on the lake, rent a boat and do your own water sightseeing, water ski - there are endless aquatic possibilities here. Those who aren't into water will still find plenty of outdoor entertainment, from golfing in Tahoe City to horseback rides at Alpine Meadows to shopping in charming Truckee. And, of course, Nevada's casinos beckon just nine miles away.

In winter, you'll find several area ski resorts to choose from. Alpine Meadows is 8 miles away, Homewood is 9 miles, Squaw Valley is 10, and both Northstar-at-Tahoe and Diamond Peak are 14 miles away. Closer to home, the Tahoe City Winter Sports Park offers both cross country skiing and snowshoeing, plus equipment rentals.

For lovely lake views, fun in the Tahoe sun, or a Tahoe ski getaway, this Observation Deck vacation home will delight your whole family with its Dollar Point location, community amenities, and comfortable style.

*Please note that renters must be 25 years of age to rent this home, and all other guests must be 21 years of age unless accompanied by their parent.

Property permit ID: 8664

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Foosball table

Tennis court : Shared

Features

Gas fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Pool : Shared

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : AT&T

Cable : Charter

DVD player

Sound dock

TV

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Patio

Scenic

Water view

30 reviews

Julie B. Jul 2018
We had a beautiful and relaxing stay. The house met most of our needs and the kids had fun. We were bummed when we planned to cook a pizza and found out that the oven didn’t work so hopefully that gets fixed. Also the “partial view” of Tahoe from the home itself is actually a pinhole view. The partial view occurs when you walk down the street. Finally, the house is definitely rustic with no upgrades. I ended up enjoying it because of its nostalgic feel of 1980s. Overall, don’t expect too much from the house itself and enjoy your time in the beautiful outdoors.
Manager response:
We were unable to take care of the oven during this guest's visit because they requested we not enter the home, but we did discover after their departure the oven was simply unplugged. We have removed 'lake view' from the home's description as we can understand how that would feel misleading. Thank you!
Reggie N. Jan 2018
Nice and spacious and everything works! We especially loved the large living room. It gave us plenty of space to relax and reconnect. The home is close to Tahoe City and we would definitely stay there again!
Tracy C. Aug 2017
had everything we needed and great location.
Andrew P. Aug 2017
This is a comfortable home in a good location. Decor slightly jaded, but the house feels cozy. Added bonus is access to a lovely private beach, swimming pool and tennis courts.
Carolyn L. Jul 2017
The location was great. Dollar Point is wonderful and the pool and beach club are fantastic. This home's living area is spacious, with loads of seating for a big family get together. The master bed was comfy and relatively new. The home overall is decades old and shows it. Things are very worn and have a hand me down feel. The frig is quite small and the kitchen supplies are hit and miss. Stay here for the location, but know what to expect...
Yi W. Jul 2017
Platero E. Dec 2016
Overall My family and I had a great experience and of course we going to choose Vacasa for our next year trip thank you.
Lisa B. Dec 2016
Thank you - we had a fabulous time are your home
George C. Oct 2016
This is an older home but it is better than the motel room we initially booked for our stay at Lake Tahoe. It was clean, quiet and comfortable.
In the kitchen, there are plenty of appliances, pots, pans, dishes, cups, cooking utensils and silverware to make meals for a large group. The only thing missing is a knife sharpener for all the dull knives.
The mattress in the master bedroom appears to be brand new and it was very comfortable to sleep on. The furniture is old, dinged up, worn and scratched up but still usable.
Most of the window blinds do not work properly. The ones in the master bedroom do not go all the way down, fortunately the gap is covered by a dresser. One of the blinds in the living room was rolled up and zip-tied. We found a light blanket to cover the window for the duration of our stay.
The property description states there is a "screened view of the lake". The lake is barely visible through the trees and should not be used as a selling point.
Previous guests commented about the broken dining room chairs. I made it a point to check all the chairs when we arrived, set the bad ones aside and only used the good ones. I attempted to move one chair and the whole back rest came off. My wife and I were vacationing alone so it was not really an issue, but it would be for a group of six or more.
While not a 5 star accommodation, we liked having the full kitchen, fireplace and extra space so we did not feel cooped up.
Manager response:
The furniture in this home is older, but still functions well, though chairs have been repaired that did need some work. A deep clean has also been performed at this home which has taken care of any cleanliness related issues.
Ron And Sharon D. Sep 2016
Great management
Joni T. May 2016
The house was clean and bed was comfy. Location was perfect. Very quiet!
Carolyn P. Mar 2016
Loved the location. The photos make this place look a bit nicer than it is. If management pays more attention to detail it could be great. Didn't love the fact that the shower door doesn't close.... broken closet doors and puddle just outside the main entrance because the porch roof leaks. Also, we got there and there was nothing in the cabinets. No sponges or dishtowels. Not even salt and pepper. That was a bit of a surprise. Otherwise, great location. Cozy blankets and everything else was really great.
Manager response:
We apologize that this stay did not go as hoped. The Property Manager has been advised of the issues and will address them as quickly as possible.
James W. Mar 2016
Nice group area in the main room...very open.
Carolyn M. Mar 2016
Ultimate in Tahoe living. Spacious and comfortable for larger group. Easy location.
Tawny P. Feb 2016
We stayed here for a family vacation. the house is great, large dining and family area. only negative was we are families and there was only one queen bed. so the two other couples were not able to share beds. Other than that, I definitely recommend this home. it is a walk to the lake which is beautiful!
Seth P. Feb 2016
The property was exactly as advertised. We had a wonderful time and would stay again.
Mirela A. Jan 2016
We stayed in this property for a week with 6 adults and 4 kids. The location was good, quick access to amenities and ski resorts. We were hoping for a view but the lake is not very visible from the front deck, perhaps it is better during the summer.
This is quite an old cabin that needs some updating, including the furnishings - several dining room chairs had broken legs and were not usable, which was unfortunate as the beautiful dining room table that could accommodate our party was one of the features that attracted us to this property.
However, age of the property can be overlooked but the cleanliness was a huge issue. Given our experience with that I would not recommend staying at this cabin.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We regret to see that you did not better enjoy your time here. The Property Manager will work on the dining chairs, and housekeeping will take care of the cleanliness issues. We hope you had fun enjoying the games!
Danny S. Jan 2016
Overall the unit was good and we were happy with everything. The only thing which I specifically requested was hottub. However there was no access to hot-tub or the clubhouse as it was closed for the season. It was very disappointing as this was something that was asked for.
Sonya O. Mar 2015
We have a family of seven...2 adults and 5 children. We stayed 2 nights and 3 days. The place was great. Big enough for our 9 year old to do cartwheels in the living room. There was something for all to do....from going on a walk and exploring the neighborhood and private beach, to sitting on the deck enjoying the view of the lake, to relaxing by a fire and drinking a nice glass of wine. This house had everything our family needed, from clean linens, to a full working kitchen, even a barbeque grill outside! The only downfall for us was that the clubhouse was closed until May...we were looking forward to enjoying the pool and hot tub. Regardless of the pool/hot tub...we had a much needed family trip that was relaxing and adventurous! We were able to head out into town and also drive to play in the snow and snowboard. We will be back again. We left a bottle of wine from our neck of the woods-Napa Valley for the owners, we are hoping that you were able to enjoy it! Thank you SO much!
Jessika H. Mar 2015
We really liked the open floor plan of this place. The larger dining room table was the great to have as we could all sit down together and enjoy our meals. The TV, Roku and fireplace was great to wind down the night. The negative would be that the kitchen amenities were lacking, which would be my biggest complaint. There are no steak knives, very dull chopping knives, limited cooking utensils and a small fridge. With that said, we did really enjoy our stay; we loved the private beach access, nearby snow park, it is close to several major ski resorts, discgolf coarse and lots of stores close by.
Judy F. Sep 2014
You always take a chance when you rent a place without seeing it first. This house met and exceeded our expectations. It was modern, clean, light and cheery, lending to an overall pleasant experience.
Candace A. Aug 2014
this place was perfect for the weekend with friends. The place radiates comfort. And the location is wonderful, between Tahoe City and Tahoe Vista (by all the best Beaches)
Manager response:
Thank you so much for the great feedback. We thank you for staying with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Liliya K. Aug 2014
We loved our stay at this house; it’s big and spacious and located in a beautiful area with tennis courts, large warm swimming pool and access to private beach. It takes about 10-12 minutes to walk to the beach from the house. It takes longer to walk back because it’s all the way uphill which was a little difficult with a stroller but it was a good exercise for all of us. We saw squirrels and chipmunks and rabbits around the house, just beautiful nature overall. The house is clean and fully equipped for a comfortable stay. The TV sets were a little outdated but it wasn’t a big deal as we practically never used it.

The customer care was perfect: we couldn’t find the recreational pass to access the beach and tennis courts and called the customer service center. A person came within 20 minutes to show us where we could find the pass. It was great. Definitely recommend this for families with kids for quite peaceful vacation.
Lisa B. Jun 2014
I have to say that I was a little worried after I booked this property online without knowing exactly what I was getting into. The house was so well priced and in such a great location that I was worried it would be a dump upon arrival. To my relief, it was in great condition and easily accommodated our family of 4, plus extra friends and family that popped in over the week. We were very happy with the location and little to no traffic on our street. It was nice to feel safe letting our kids walk to the pool and/or beach with ease. There was some construction going on across the street, but they usually didn't start until after 8 in the morning and were very friendly people. We chit-chatted with them a bit about the surroundings and things to do in Tahoe City. We are planning to reserve this house again for next year because we loved it so much.
Thank you,
The Kelly Bellue family
Manager response:
We are so happy that this wonderful home. It's priced fairly and in a great location... it's also very well maintained. The home is comfortable, safe and perfect for a Tahoe vacation!